|
By Pat Lu, Co-Founder, Pahlawan Volunteers The writing is on the wall. The MALAYSIAN Wall. The verdict will be delivered at the next poll.
While waiting for morning coffee yesterday, I wrote on my Facebook Wall: Mukhriz barking up wrong tree! FIRST abolish race- and religious-based political parties the root of all evil n disunity, not vernacular schools! Duh! 7:32am Comments posted on the "Wall" (by whatever name you call it, a forum or discussion board) are similar to coffee shop talk during our parents' time. From light banter to passionate or reflective discourse on the subject matter till the kopitiam turns off the lights to let you know it's time to go. Been through numerous of those as a child with my dad. :) It is the same today as it was yesterday. The hot topic of the day discussed at every table in every coffeeshop nationwide sometimes till wee hours of the morning, thanks to 24 hours mamak stalls. Only difference is, in cyberspace - the largest "coffeeshop" ever - EVERYONE gets to "hear" what everyone else is "talking" about at the next "table."
Articulated in different ways, the conversations or messages are similar. So imagine yourself as a fly on the wall listening in to one such "coffeeshop table talk" as seen at my wall below. :D Hey, you can also "listen in" at other "tables" on the same topic: ► Mukhriz: Scrap vernacular schools, one system for all ► Mukhriz says vernacular schools should be abolished Conclusion, gold nuggets can be found everywhere pointing us to the right direction. The people will no longer tolerate race- and religious-based politics. I hope the politicians and wannabes get it... evolution and revolution are much faster-paced today than yesterday. No time to walk. Run the MALAYSIAN Talk. Do the right thing now. The writing is on the wall. The MALAYSIAN Wall. The verdict will be delivered at the next poll. Pat Lu Saya Anak Bangsa Malaysia. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- THE WRITING ON THE WALL Thanks all, for sharing your thoughts at my wall. nbsp; Pat : Mukhriz barking up wrong tree! FIRST abolish race- and religious-based political parties the root of all evil n disunity, not vernacular schools! Duh! 7:32am - 29 Comments -------------------------------------------------- Eugene Chung at 7:54am December 2 Not only that, he is peeing at the wrong tree too. -------------------------------------------------- Teddy Ho at 7:58am December 2 nothing suprising, the end results are expected.......he mastered well from his old man!!! -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 8:08am December 2 via Facebook Mobile just too well. One minute he says one thing, the next minute he says something else. Weh, he's on my fb list. I couldn't even bother to comment on his wall as i practically know what a jerk he is. This country is based on pure racism, pure racism. I myself find it rather awkward staying here these days. And that resulted me being barred from any form of social expression. -------------------------------------------------- Eugene Chung at 8:10am December 2 As if he cares to learn his own mother tongue and I don't mean bahasa! He rants about unity but he brings in the race issue. He says, "Despite all that has been said on the issue of Malay supremacy, the Malays do not feel in any way superior or the master when it comes to the country’s economy,”....of course they are not and neither are the other races, for that matter. When will Msia be ever led by non bloody fools? -------------------------------------------------- Eugene Chung at 8:21am December 2 Hey brother Azraai....Msia needs people like you. The future of the country lie in the hearts of of people like yourself. Speak your mind and from your heart. Truth fears nothing and no one. -------------------------------------------------- Pat Lu at 8:51am December 2 Mukhriz: "We are one nation but we have so many systems. There is a need to induce unity"... He said a SINGLE school system would help check racial polarisation. "If you want equal rights then you cannot have a different school system. You cannot have your cake and eat it too"... "If they reject this suggestion, then they should say why they are against it.” Apply the very same thoughts to our political system. We need to change to a two party system. And if UMNO reject this suggestion, then they should say why they are against it. Friends of Mukhriz, please post this on his wall. The more the merrier till we get the message through. Thank you. -------------------------------------------------- Henry Chew at 8:52am December 2 an alternative to M. M suggestion should be 1st implement in National School. 2nd, fair share of fund shld be distributed to vernacular school. Government shld encourage Malay to study in vernacular school. As these additional language skill is beneficual economically & Malay do dominant Malaysia population. -------------------------------------------------- Eugene Chung at 9:09am December 2 Where have I been all these years?!?! 'Mook' has friends?!?! Wow! So, what is next? If we want equal rights, should there then be only one religion? If 'Mookey' is for or against this, tell us why? If one religion, can we nominate the "Tom Cruise" religion? If not, why not? -------------------------------------------------- Pat Lu at 9:16am December 2 Henry, it's NOT about the school system. It's the political system. And using Mukhriz own words, "If UMNO reject this suggestion (for a two-party system), then they should say why they are against it." The sooner the political system change to a two-party system the better. Everything else will fall in line accordingly. This is the way forward for Malaysia. -------------------------------------------------- Teddy Ho at 9:28am December 2 agreed with PAT's comment, very true. as many proclaimed...the BODOHLAND boleh style as long as those morons will easily get whatever they want. -------------------------------------------------- Pat Lu at 9:29am December 2 Teddy, indeed nothing surprising. It's UMNO Elections. Being a race-based political party, he has to talk the race talk to win votes within that race. Try race-talk if it were a single multiracial MALAYSIAN political party, he would get no where. Our political system has to change. Either all component parties within each coalition merge into a single party or lets form another political party to challenge them all. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 9:41am December 2 eugene, why should i have fear? i was a very fearful person those days but not anymore. i rant when i need to rant about something that is right in accordance with the basis that our rights are correctly spelt in respect of our country's sacred constitution. i can relate on this wall what fear means to all of you, from my personal experience. i am coming out of that. thanks to pat lu, my tai kar chieh. we do not need a singular voice, we need the voice of the nation. this nation would only change if all of our voices are heard. -------------------------------------------------- Eugene Chung at 10:08am December 2 Of course, you have nothing to fear, Azraai. With your Tai Kar Chair leading the way, what is there to fear. Not singular, not multilingual, just ONE voice, Az, just ONE common VOICE. That is all Msians of all races, ONE national RACE, the Malaysian race, not malay, not chinese, not indian, not eurasian, just MALAYSIANs. -------------------------------------------------- Jarod Kok at 11:08am December 2 Unity. I find this word appear to me when ever I think of Malaysian. Talking about vernacular school, MukZ is also another moron. He just think of uniting the bumiputra, and forgetting the rest. Hello. Why is Vernacular sys such a burden unto u? Uniting people must take off the school? You give me damn GOOD education system and I can give you the permission to abolish it. However, that is only my permission. Not others. Uniting people can be from all ways, not necessary coming from this baseless ideas of yours. it seems to me some of you are trying to save his butt. UMNO has to go on leave lah... so many years d.. I want some LOGO change!!!! Everyday see Umno LOGO, not bored? :D -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 12:24pm December 2 this vernacular system is rather absurd, appalling and there is not even a single state of confidence it renders. it breaks people apart. i m getting a message which whispers into my ear that would enable me to say that it somehow drives all of us out of the country per se with the message he is trying to sent or otherwise. look back into the times before singapore broke off from malaya. we had three different party of three different races playing the same role-UNIFICATION OF THE BODY MIND AND SOUL OF MALAYA IN ACHIEVING HER INDEPENDENCE. put malayan union and the rest aside. these doesnt fascinate me. the CONCURRING SIMILIAR GROUND FROM THESE 3 EMINENT PARTIES GOT HOLD OF HER ON 31.8.1957. its called MERDEKA Now, are we saying that in the near future, our sons and daughters won't have a chance to mix with the indians, chinese, malays and sit and play together in their kindergartens, schools and universities? the bottomline is simple, scilicet, DICTATORSHIP! -------------------------------------------------- Henry Chew at 1:47pm December 2 the Moonkey though he is General Napoleon. -------------------------------------------------- Patrick Wong at 2:03pm December 2 he is doing exactly what the old block did to rise up the ladder....such tactics cant work any more in present times -------------------------------------------------- Navalan Parkunan at 4:23pm December 2 I guess what he said is timely, why is it necessary to have separate chinese/tamil schools?(we needed them b4 indepence)...lets have 1 single system and you are still allowed to study you mother language! & on top of that you study maths and science in english! What more do you guys want, I honestly don't understand why do we have to study history in chinese or tamil, when it is already distorted? There is nothing to be proud of this schools?, the chinese having better economy might be able to support their schools but certainly not the indians parents! Having 1 system will definetly allow children to be united from young & parents would have no choice but to instill sense of intergration from day 1. Its being practiced in France, England, Germany, and America, why not here, Being from tamil school, I know what are the shortfalls and you have to waste 1 year in remove class. I beg to differ and I am no UMNO fan but what Mukhriz said is certaintly an eye opener. Cheers everyone -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 4:52pm December 2 via Facebook Mobile navalan, certainly you're not an umno supporter but you sound rather close to that...err, mic or ppp supporter. I beg to differ. Now, learning the current political situation, as you were saying, it was needed before independence. Now, this question arises here. I submit this fact-who owns dbp? Whom are the translators in dbp and who instructs them to translate these books according to their napoleonical ideas? You tell me. It's another way of saying, we study in one school provided we must learn the malay language. Yes, it literally translates that we still suck up to the malay supremos. Don't you think so? Thinking of having fun with a certain degree of curvaceous ideas then tendering it in here with your piece of mine concerting ideas that mukhriz is right is totally wrong. This issue was never brought up at all. Check all your blinking archives and tell me since after the days of tun ismail. Having said my piece, i'm not buying up his regimental ideas nor stories -------------------------------------------------- Jarod Kok at 6:43pm December 2 we can have one single system, but currently, i do not see a good system that gives the competitiveness to prepare our young generation. Not National school. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 9:57pm December 2 Part 1- there are 3 issues that we are talking about here-RACE, RELIGION & POLITICS. And these 3 issues sums into one-THE CURRENT SITUATION The current situation that we are in now comprises a country that is built up of so many different indigenous people and races, we speak of our forefathers whom had travelled across nations and landed onto this very piece of land. they harvested lands, mined the earths and built a foundation for all of us known as Malaya. This Malaya we live in does not only speak of one particular fragment, it speaks of fragments, fragments that mix and match like jigsaw puzzle that frames up a picture what we call today as MALAYSIA. The Malaysia that we live in has never been divided, never been divided by colour, race, gender, religion till the very recent times. Deliberating this would be very painful. Our constitution is a written one, in which this piece of sacred document was designed and engineered for EVERY SINGLE PERSONS LIVING ON THIS PIECE OF LAND. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 10:12pm December 2 The Federal Constitution was designed, formulated, encrypted and engineered for every single being called Malaysians living in Malaysia, not so much of whether one is a malay, chinese, indian, eurasian and so forth. With due respect, i must say this. the REID COMMISSION did an extremely interesting job, if you look at the majority of its members, mostly consist of whites. These people understood our needs, respecting and accustomising to our rights, practice and tradition, in whole MALAYSIA. I must state that most of us are rather appalled with the current political and economic trend that we are facing. I believe each and everyone of us here would somehow or rather hold to our beliefs and tradition, that in no time someday, in the near or ever far future would disappear as malaysia progresses with its development that it would make no space for traditions to be in line with the developments taking place. Keeping in mind that once a tradition dies off, restoration works fails. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 10:20pm December 2 The word restoration alone means to preserving a foundation that is wrecking off. But thats not the point. Even with so much of techonology taking shape here, restoring ones traditions and belief would never be the same again. But what is rather important is when one preserves the tradition handed down from generation to generation. Time after time... Read More, we have made plenty of mistakes that so much of platforms would wreck off immediately without realising. In short, we speak of closing down vernacular schools. what are vernacular schools? we have plenty of schools here, and indeed is plenty of them. one of it is sekolah jenis kebangsaan and so forth. It caters to the needs of the minorities-chinese, indians, eurasians and indigenous people in the state of sabah and sarawak. according to my understanding, schools were built for these people to cater their needs. what was their main objective? -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 10:27pm December 2 As we travel down through time, long before KLCC or KLIA or Pavilion were built, our nation was a plantation nation. Besides, we had the largest export of tin mine in the world. If you look at it clearly, these people who worked in the plantation estate or mining area had families. These families had kids. I strongly believe that many of them wanted the best for their children. So, schools were built for these people. Reminding myself that the jenis kebangsaan school were built in accordance with the majority race group living these area. Example, a chinese school was built for the chinese community around the mining area and an indian school built for the indian community in the plantation estates. These schools not only provided education but somehow, built and harnessed a platform for many successful people today in Malaysia. That doesnt mean that one goes to an elite or ivy league school, one will definitely do well in his career. Lets move to the next point. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 10:33pm December 2 Closing these schools would be of great effect. This means taking away their rights. Assuming we close down a chinese temple or bulldoze a hindu shrine right in front of the eyes of the devotee, that would mean that we do not have utmost respect for them. These schools have been in existence for ages, since adams before parliament associated us with their hansards and bills. Skulking through and through again and looking in depth at this situation, it would mean no less and it is rather painful a topic to speak about or harp upon, not so much of of closing down the schools but the confusion and the disunity that in in store. I commit myself dearly to preserving these schools as having an option of closing these schools down would mean so much degrading to the community around. imagine that one could not afford even to take a bus to school and could only afford to walk to school...sparing a dime would mean saving in their piggy bank for their rainy days. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 10:39pm December 2 remember, these schools means so much to them, whether its a school comprising of 5 teachers and 20 students or 1 teacher with 2 students. it doesnt make any difference. what matters most these days is that these people must be given the continuous support to maintain these schools and these schools has built forefronting legacies for these minorities that so much so in time to come, say in 100 years, my great grandchildren would be able to see how fortunate they are where these little schools built in shacks and huts brought a few far in life, to mention that these shacks and huts had built a nation 51 years ago and till today, these little shacks and huts still stand tall and proud. Remember, we have this privilege because of the shacks and huts that were built for our forefathers and that is for the sake of our nation's pride and destiny. -------------------------------------------------- Pat Lu at 10:54pm December 2 Waaaah, Azraai, you writing thesis ar? For a moment I thought RPK wrote at my wall. ;) Is that all? Where Part 2? -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 11:21pm December 2 I came from a school which was originally a hut by the side of the sea. that was way back in 1852. then, it was built into a prim and proper school building. during the world war 2, the building was destroyed. then sometime later, it was rebuilt again. now it stands tall. you see, its not about the shack and hut that matters. one would travel in a mercedes-benz and park in front of a gigantic white elephant but the delivering the quality of education stops there. literally, it stops there. its rather sad. the immense contribution made by these people when they served as teachers in these huts and shacks metaphorically, specifically and in many ways have shaped the nation's integral line of relationships amongst races. In malay, i would sum it as INTERGRASI NASIONAL. we have lost that and we are continuously losing that day after day which have somehow brought us up to where we are today. -------------------------------------------------- Azraai Andrew at 11:32pm December 2 From this, I learned to accept that there is a God. It was not a matter of knowing but just a fundamental acknowledgement and suppliant acceptance. I was taught to be honest and that reputation is what others think about one but character was part of my essential makeup. It was ingrained into me that I must not do unto others what one does not wish others to do unto me. It also meant that I interacted and behaved with ease with everyone, who were not family kin, not of the same social milieu, not of the same cultural background, not of the same religion, and not from the same ethnic stock as myself. I had learnt self discipline to uphold the truth within myself. At the same time I had been taught at home how to be tolerant of others and to respect them. What we must understand is that the Malaysian nation was not formed just by the words and articles in the written Constitution. -------------------------------------------------- All welcomed to continue this "coffeeshop talk". Come! Join in! Yes, YOU reading this! :D Waiter, add more chairs please... ______________________________________________ PAT LU, Co-Founder, Pahlawan Volunteers, a Malaysian Voluntary and Advocacy Group. Join Pahlawan Volunteers at http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=33559455073
|