Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Syed Hamid says ISA stays, hits out at Kayveas

Syed Hamid says ISA stays, hits out at Kayveas PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 03 December 2008 08:43

(NST) PUTRAJAYA: The Internal Security Act will not be repealed or reviewed soon.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said the act had always been used in a just, fair and ethical matter.

"It has never been abused or used for politics," he said in reply to People's Progressive Party president Datuk M. Kayveas' threat to take the party out of Barisan Nasional if the ISA was not amended or repealed by the next general election.

Syed Hamid said the law had proven very effective in ensuring public order and national security.

"Malaysians sometimes don't know how lucky we are in that we have not experienced what is happening in Mumbai and Bangkok now."
He said that when he became home minister, there were 75 people under detention. but this had fallen to 48 people.

"If we find that the detainees have been rehabilitated, or no longer pose any harm, of course, they will be released."

He warned Kayveas not to resort to threats but to adhere to the BN team spirit.

Syed Hamid was speaking to reporters after receiving Singapore Law Minister K. Shanmugam at his office here yesterday.

He said Shanmugam shared the view that preventive detention laws were still needed.

"We both know that we are not out to silent detractors or the opposition. But they must not advocate conflict among the public, or raise sensitive issues."

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by batsman, December 03, 2008 08:48:38
munafiq.. munafiq.. munafiq
written by michael chick, December 03, 2008 08:49:00
No UMNO member has ever been arrested for Corruption, now ever brought to Court even for Trial. Perhaps they all swore, and that was good enough. Well, that may be good enough for UMNO, but not the Law. And strangely, in Malaysia, the Law seems to be merely just a "suggestion"
written by DreamLady, December 03, 2008 08:50:09
Hamid, I see that you have fallen in love with ISA. How about spending some loving time in Kamunting to get the feel of love with ISA? It is a matter of time when law of average shall catch up with your heartless soul

Watch out, Hamid, be afraid, be very afraid as the fires of Hell are calling out your name in earnest
written by ahmadneil, December 03, 2008 08:52:59
Shit Hamid,you bullshit,never have ISA been used justly and fairly.We never trust what you bark!
written by MaleAsian, December 03, 2008 08:53:55
wat a load of crap coming frm this incompetent minister...nincompoop!
written by batsman, December 03, 2008 08:54:40
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/wor...761315.stm
The above tells what the US is doing in Gunatanamo. what do you think the Malaysian Govt is doing in Kamunting? The ISA is UMNO's security blanket.
written by ellyna, December 03, 2008 08:59:27
Does this bald headed camel have the sole right to say ISA will not be repealed or reviewed?? As usual, he is talking crap. Perhaps a permanent holiday for him Kamunting may put some sense back?? This retard should be banned from making such statements.
written by Concerned Malaysian, December 03, 2008 08:59:32
Botak,botak...hang buka mulut setiap kali lu cakap bodoh!
"Malaysians sometimes don't know how lucky we are in that we have not experienced what is happening in Mumbai and Bangkok now."

You are lucky being a Minister in Malaysia if you were in India or Thailand you would lost your miniterial position a long time ago! Go and do kenduri bersyukur.
written by loosecannon, December 03, 2008 08:59:39
"It has never been abused or used for politics,"

Hamid, you're a disgrace to intellectually handicap people.
written by ylcc, December 03, 2008 09:06:37
July 1965: There were rumours of a move to arrest Lee Kuan Yew. Deputy PM Toh Chin Chye whould not say who had issued the instructions,
"... but I would say that those in the Central Govt who are responsible for such matters know that we know. We urge the Central Govt not to believe that with Mr Lee out of the way, the Ministers of the PAP govt will quietly acquisece in his detention. The Alliance leaders must realise that Malaysia will break up, if any such repressive actions is taken."
Acting PM Tun Abdul Razak denied the alleged attempt to detain Lee.
Wasn't Syed Jaafar Albar the Home Minister then? Not used for politics??? Was it really a rumour?
written by ryan giggs, December 03, 2008 09:06:38
Botak hoi botak !!! Kenapa otak kau pun botak ????? Kau ingat kita ni budak kindagarden ke ??

I agree with Concerned Malaysian........this botak will never make the cut in those countries.
written by batsman, December 03, 2008 09:11:52
The ISA is UMNO's security blanket. It is stained with blood and has not been washed for several decades. It is filthy and needs to be burnt to prevent disease of the soul.
written by truthbespoken, December 03, 2008 09:25:49
Syed Hamid, you are sounding more and more like a loose cannnon, blasting everyone on sight. Is the presssure of being a Minister too hard on you or are some screws getting loose up in your head? Don't force it too hard otherwise you may spoil your own life as well as others along the way.
written by Sudahlah tu, December 03, 2008 09:29:16

Jangan perli keadaan negara lain dan membuat bandingan sebgini ...
rakyat bukan sebodoh dahulu lagi.
Kami tidak ingin hidup tanpa bertulang di dalam jajahan kezaliman umno yang mempermainkan sendimen perkauman dan melambatkan perpaduan negara.
ISA digunapakaikan oleh umno untuk kepentingan diri dan bukan kepentingan perlembagaan negara dan kemurnian negara.
Tanap ISA dan politik wang yang haram , umno sudah lama hilang di bumi Malaysia dan rakyat sudah lama hidup berdikari dan berbangsa murni.
umno sahaja merupakan jenayah zalim negara dan agama yang harus kita hapuskan demi masa depan generasi muda Malaysia.
written by tanwi, December 03, 2008 09:40:11

MUAHAHAHAH my lovely morning dose of comedy from the IDIOT. I cant see the relevance of ISA and the incidents above. Please use the ISA to catch terrorists dumbo and not writers, politicians AND CITIZENS.

"If we find that the detainees have been rehabilitated, or no longer pose any harm, of course, they will be released."

Can we put you in there the same time as RPK was and see your reaction? We are CITIZENS! you cant just kick us in a cell and take your sweet time to investigate us!! RPK was out because of a court injunction and not because of your discretion. Another statement meant for the IQ of kindergarden kids.

Btw, Singapore NEVER used the ISA against writers or citizens!
written by Counterpointer, December 03, 2008 09:40:33
"Malaysians sometimes don't know how lucky we are in that we have not experienced what is happening in Mumbai

Malaysians or Terrorist Plotters lucky?

There was an alleged link that 9/11 was planned in M'sia and our country was again mentioned in the Mumbai attacks. But these bad guys knows how lucky they are because the ISA is meant here only for harmless people like reporters, members of parliament and bloggers and never for them .

Another pea brained comment from Mr. Pea Brain himself.

written by Goostee, December 03, 2008 09:44:59
Tuan Syed,
To my knowledge it is unIslamic to detain people without giving them a chance to defend themslves as is administered under the ISA. Since the Islam I learnt is believed to be the same Islam introduced by your Yemeni forefathers, surely you know better. Hence, how right are you when you say ISA is fair ???
written by steviewonger, December 03, 2008 10:09:57
If this baldy goes back to his kampong in Yemen and talk like he owns the country, he will be shot by gunmen and left to rot by the ro***ide liken a dog.
written by michaelT, December 03, 2008 10:16:39
Who says that we are fortunate not like Mmbai and Thailand. Syed Hamid and UMNO are lucky and not the people. You have muzzle the people from self expression so directionally the ISA must GO! You do not have the Spiritual and Street WISDOM to function as minister. You talk cleverly by appeasing the rakyat that ISA is to protect them from home security threat but instead it is a protection for you and the UMNO Clowns. Who utter Racist remarks that break the tread of unity. Yet they got away from ISA. Damn it shut your bloody mouth and just finish your term.
written by malgal, December 03, 2008 10:24:39
and what happens to accusers who wrongly accused? what rehabilitation or reprimand awaits them? like the one who hauled a reporter into detention without even an apology? refer RPK's munafiq munafiq munafiq and so say all of us MUNAFIQ article on what the koran says to that.
written by cheekhiaw, December 03, 2008 10:25:35
ISA is law of thieves, by thieves and for thieves. It suits certain people perfectly. That's why they want it to stay.
written by ms.blogger, December 03, 2008 10:26:54
I suggest you follow the footsteps of your counterpart in India, resign and go away.
written by unomalaysia, December 03, 2008 11:00:42
Yes, Syed Bodoh, please keep the ISA so that it can be used against you and your amno, mca, mic henchmen. If you have any brain you will quickly advocate getting rid of the ISA as it is a double edge sword. The next Home Minister from Pakatan Rakyat may just decide to arrest and detain you for your own safety (from the rakyat throwing shit and piss at you) smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by arazak, December 03, 2008 11:03:21
Everytime this Botak ex-Yemeni opens his mouth, it stinks to high heaven!

Man, this stink is creeping out of the computer I am looking at now.

Honey (my wife). . .!, can you bring the air-freshner in the room! It kind of stinks when I read these statements from. . ., well you know who! And, hurry up please!
written by ohuat, December 03, 2008 11:15:11
Any laws which is unjust, if in the hand of a dictator will have a deadly consequences. Abolish ISA before it is too late again.
written by Kopi37, December 03, 2008 11:47:45
Look at that, how uncouth is the pea head Minister Syed Hamid uttered like a frothing mouth hyena! "It has never been abused or used for politics," he said. He does not befit to compare himself with the Indian Minister who had at least the courage to resign immediately when failed to prevent the terrorist attacks in Mumbai, whereas our big mouthed Botak useless mule still talk so great about his lack of wisdom used of ISA against the innocent journalist, Teressa Kok and the populist Hero RPK!

Malaysia is no better than Thailand and now we can see, the yellow army of Bangkok has won their battle against the unwanted government in the law suit, justice has been prevailed in their judiciary system untainted and beyond the powers of the legislative branch! Over here, our judiciary system has been made only a tool and at best having the power of a jury, in the British system, can simly be bought to vote for a prescribed verdict! Wouldn't it shameful for the idiotic Botak to compare his tiny fish ball with the big apple of Thailand?!

If only having harsh laws that is the reason which can save our Nation from the unwelcome terrorists or undesired elements, how about drugs trafficking? Has it been totally deterred and there is no one single case of international drug trafficking been arrested in our domain? The fact is, the notorious syndicate will still risk their ways through be it here any harsh law or not, only when they find it they can outsmart our authority, they will do it and they will dare the harsh law knowing that they still have the plentiful of tars(money) to help them plug the loopholes of local made laws!

There are more other reasons that our Nation is temporarily saved from the unwanted Mumbai tragedy, amongst others, a friendly state perhaps in the eyes of the lunatic fringe! Those are the peoples so much being obsessed and miscarried and they have become insane and do you Botak think that they will be scared of any law when they are already the outlaws and that the so-called draconian laws which mostly used to suppress and subjugate the unarmed civilians, will serve any purpose on them? If they could dare the super powers like the Americans and the nuclear powers like Indian Government, what is ISA to them, merely it's effective to scare off the peaceful and unarmed civilized populace, which is only trifling to the embolden extremists and terrorists!

It seems that Botak Hamid is still lack of an iota of remorse in admitting his stupidity and continue to challenge the patience of the dissidents to the mal-administration with its draconian laws, soon enough he will realize, latest until next GE, when Umno has been changed and he will be the first one who will regret, he will be put in the lab like a guinea pig to test on how bitter and cruel the ISA akin to venom when used on him!
written by Saint, December 03, 2008 11:49:42
Syed Hamid's view is that all in UNMO are "angels by character"; and the rest deserve only hell.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 03, 2008 12:36:25
Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said the act had always been used in a just, fair and ethical matter.
"It has never been abused or used for politics," he said in reply to People's Progressive

WE HV HEARD OF FREAK STORMS, FREAK ACCIDENTS, BUT NOW WE HV A FREAK MINISTER MAKING A FREAK STATEMENT. SO UMNO IS AN ANGEL PARTY FOR THE LAST 20 ODD YEARS AND WE MUST HV SAINTS LEadING IT! WOW.
written by RumahPanjai, December 03, 2008 12:53:30
"Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said the act had always been used in a just, fair and ethical matter."
By arresting a news reporter under the ISA on the pretext that it was for her protection goes to show your mental faculty needs fine tunning. He needs to go to the mental asylum for daily check up. Thats "a just, fair and ethical matter" up his arse!
written by HHKim, December 03, 2008 12:56:33
I am terribly disappointed that Syed hamid don't even know how to differentiate ' TERRORISTS' and ' ordinary people' when ISA is being applied.

How sad this country can be if a minsiter uttered nonsense in the public.
That goes to show he has no brain to think at all.
written by archie, December 03, 2008 12:57:37
"The act has always been used in a just, fair and ethical manner." "It has never been abused or used for politics."

Like detaining peaceful protesters, a Member of Parliament (for her personal safety), a journalist (who was doing her job), and bloggers (who might mislead stupid Malaysians).

The BN government doesn't know how lucky it is in that it has peaceful and law-abiding citizens who don't resort to violence to achieve their political objectives.
written by PRman, December 03, 2008 14:09:57
Please follow the fine example of India ex-minister to step down after the security breakdown at Mumbai, cos your performance is even worse than this minister.

What have you done good so far besides issuing ISA to detain journalist, politician and blogger? Detained a journalist to protect her? Shouldn't be sending cops to protect her make more sense? Did you detain the UMNO big mouth at Penang? Was there any arrest made to the Penang big mouth when he threatened the reporter?

Your police force even set up unnecessary blocks to create traffic havoc, which disturbs the citizen and business communities.

Can you do any good? Malaysians seriously doubt so. Well, maybe as our dear Najib said, its only the perception.

JOKER!
written by alpha100, December 03, 2008 15:05:55
PM dept and those ministers are deaf or still have not learn to listen constructively!
No worry though! Come next election, the rakyat will change the Goverment! Can't have them continuing governing can we?
Then maybe our TSH can impose ISA in his own house loh!
written by Debbie, December 03, 2008 15:21:59
hey guys.......dont even have to comment.........let these bn buggers fight among themselves, let the country run on auto pilot and just let the PR zooom in when they are still squabbling over trivial matters.

Attack from the rear, when these fellows are stilling fighting for the pie,,,,,,,,the rakyat shall take the cake icing and all trimmings

shalom and greetings for the special season.

Debbie
written by SL Chan, December 03, 2008 16:23:38
A real idiot he is
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 03, 2008 16:39:25

Yes, that Fat Head (and arse) Ex-Yemenis Home Minister is very2 correct.
UMNO does not know how very lucky that Malaysians don’t carry out mass protest to demand for the resignation of their grossly corrupted, incompetent, and inefficient government like has happened in Thailand & India.

Yes you bloody idiot, at least you admit how lucky your UMNO government is!
written by Jit Dharma, December 03, 2008 21:29:48
Albozo, betul-betul bangang.Come to where the retarded live,
come to Albozo country.Never? Sure? Okay I believe you, because
my name is Bangang anak Bodoh.
written by chiongguo, December 03, 2008 21:44:26

If that is the case then why are you so afraid that your "just,fair and ethical" manner be reviewed by a judge ?

Many countries do not have such preventive detention and yet do not experience what happened in Mumbai and Bangkok.

Please don't treat us like small children.

written by wood, December 03, 2008 23:40:51
Syed you better pray very very hard nothing serious happens in Malaysia and ISA works all the time !
written by mikewang, December 04, 2008 06:44:12
The ISA is an act to keep UMNO in power.

The reasons given of their use eg. for one's own protection, are laughable.
It has rarely been used in recent years to contain terrorism.