Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Play Fair Mukhriz!

Play Fair Mukhriz! PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 20:37
Mukhriz Mahathir’s statement in this article calling for the scrapping of vernacular schools would cast doubt on his reputation as a more enlightened type of Umno politician like Zaid Ibrahim. It is now becoming almost a perverted type of race for UMNO politicians to harp upon Ketuanan Melayu-ish like issues in order to gain political currency but I was hoping Mukhriz would rise above all this in his quest to continue Mahathir’s legacy.

I do concur that is a real pity that we need to have vernacular schools because at the end of the day, the psychological gaps between the races will be widened further but here we must ask why? Why is it that some of  the our fellow Malaysians who are of Chinese and Indian ancestry refuse to enter national schools? Have the Malays been so wonderfully fair to them and even so, they refuse the bahasa Melayu medium?

I would argue, no we haven’t.

If schooling in national schools is what it was like in the 80ies and 90ies, then what we’re looking at here is an approach to Bahasa Melayu which does not invoke passion but rather frustration. Instead of Bahasa being taught to kids as a gift of language which has been passed down as a national legacy to be enjoyed and benefitted from, Bahasa has come to be associated with a rigorous examination which could determine if one passes or fails the entire high school certificate (SPM).  This rule makes no sense whatsoever due to the content of Bahasa’s syllabus which includes royal language and euphemisms which hardly anyone uses.

Being a Malay myself, I find the study of Bahasa Melayu and immersion into Malay culture as something beautiful but I only found this to be so after my schooling years. Bahasa has now a deep repository of literature which reflects the changing world generation after generation of Malays lived in. So I highly suggest a relaxation of such strict examination rules would paradoxically produce greater numbers of Bahasa lovers.

Another thing we need to ask is, why are Mandarin and Tamil not considered to be Bahasa Malaysias (that’s right, in plural) as well. If DSAI can say ‘Anak cina, anak saya. Anak india, anak saya’ then I say ‘Bahasa Mandarin, bahasa saya. Bahasa tamil, bahasa saya (the latter of which is not exactly ethnically untrue!)’ because lets face it, at least 70 percent of our nation speak these two languages and it would be a gesture of solidarity and goodwill for the Malays to learn these two languages.

The above suggestion may provoke a somewhat hostile response from a Ketuanan Melayu fanatic. ‘How can we learn the language of these pendatangs! They must learn our language instead!’. Well I would respond to that by asking another question ‘where do you think Bahasa Melayu came from’. Bahasa Melayu is the result of a long history of cultural encounters but more importantly, cultural accommodation. Lets never forget this. The pendatangs from Arabia and India contributed much to the Bahasa diction.

And since when has learning another language been detrimental? Each language has its own peculiarities and by learning other languages, we build the dexterity of mind which will contribute to the Towering Malay our PM has now forgotten about.

I highly suggest that we consider teaching at primary and secondary level Mandarin and Tamil. This can be at least at conversational levels with an option to study further Mandarin and Tamil literature. This would be a first step in producing a truly Malaysian child who respects and adores the cultures of his fellow Malaysian, even if they are not ethnically his.

So to Mukhriz Mahathir, I would say, unless we are prepared to accommodate and nurture the Chinese and Indian cultures which have taken root in our great nation, your suggestion to abolish vernacular schools amounts to nothing more than cultural suppression. No nation can ever prosper by being oppressors.

- Farouk A. Peru

www.farouk.name

written by HamChak, December 02, 2008 20:40:53
Just like his bloody old man, Fairness is never in his vocabulary.
Same Bloody RACIST.
written by HamChak, December 02, 2008 20:43:31
I will like to suggest to Mukhriz that he should go and learn
Maleilam. After all that is his ancestery language. Don't la
lupa your own root.
written by LukeJr, December 02, 2008 20:47:01
2nd generation.

He will carry on his father's Racism legacy
written by chanatak, December 02, 2008 20:47:59

This is the typical UMNO recalcitrant behavior. Note that neither the PM nor the DPM has the gumption to rebuke him. Just like nobody ever rebuked that pockmarked faced melayu from penang who caused a similar ruckus and got away with it.

Therefore whatever the DPM or the PM says about reforms in UMNO is a bunch of bullshit. They know it. They don't believe it, but they think we non melayus are dumb enough to believe it. So they will keep mouthing these crap, all for the sake of mental masturbation.

Let someone now say let us do away with the islamic schools, and let us see how these UMNO B######ds will come out with their foaming in the mouth vitriol. But this is the mindless UMNO culture - i.e. "as long as we are in power, we can bash you as much as we like. We dont need no rationale or reason".

Havent we seen enough? Think UMNO can prove me wrong ?

written by PeacefulMalaysia, December 02, 2008 20:49:36
"chip of the ole block"

hello - if he want the Melayu's vote, dont scoop so low to lick thier asses.
remember your father screwed up the whole country - today he is talking of money politics.
Let me tell you - the number one trators in the world are the INDIAN MUSLIMS especially the KAKAs

Let ALLAH lead you to HELL - Mother Fcking BASTARD
written by FFT, December 02, 2008 20:50:04
Mukhriz has proven himself to be just another pile of diseased droppings carried forward from the Mahathir era. Societal lepers like Mukhriz should not even be touched with a 10-foot pole.

Latest news is that he is now trying to backtrack and "clarify" his statements. Typical of the sniveling little coward that he is, with namby-pamby behavior right up there along with his cowardice in debating Khairy and Toyo, and his "begging" to Khairy to have his rice bowl re-instated after all the bluster against Badawi.

Clearly, Mukhriz's place in society is not in national politics, but in a drag queen troupe suitable for a girly-boy like him.
written by Fuminari, December 02, 2008 20:54:13
the way he puts it jus show how shallow n hollow this mukhriz is!jus no difference from the other umno munafiq.
he clarified that his proposal is meant for national unity,come on;all umno got to do is treat every malaysian equal,fair n square,calling a spade a spade...n unity would prevail!!
written by Bloodhound, December 02, 2008 20:57:57
On a positive note, I can say that learning Bahasa Malaysia, we had gained another language in our communication skills.

Whatever is spoken in Bahasa Malaysia, we can understand but unfortunately for my Malay friends, whenever we speak in our Mother tongues, they are at a loss at what we were talking about. This is why we always have the advantage over our Malay friends because we can actually speak in front of them without them knowing what we are talking about. This is crucial especially in the commercial world because it could means making a profit or incurring a loss on a transaction. There are other implications as well.

If the reverse was true and Tamil or Chinese was a requirement at school, then, the Malays would have gained the upperhand and the Chinese or Indians would have been disadvantaged in their pursuit of knowledge.

As always, nothing comes free, a lot of hardwork and sacrifices is required to master a new language... but, nothing is too difficult when you maintain a positive attitude in life. So, unfortunately, the only ones who had lost out are the Malays.
written by Bloodhound, December 02, 2008 21:00:55
The main cause of disunity in Malaysia are the Tata Biro Negara bastards. They use fear and punishment tactics to deal with those who refuse to be subjected to their racist approach to brain washing students into propragating racism.

Vernacular schools were here well before Mahathirism and every segment of society then were engaging with each other sincerely, happily and wholeheartedly until Mahathir came to power. From then on, it was downhill for race relations all the way. So, guess who's to blame. Point fingers at the right direction!!

There should never have been any necessity to use force to get students to attend the national schools because its free and accessible. Ever wonder why children of our politicians and elite segment of our society choose to send their children overseas to pursue their education and their dreams? Ever wonder why our poorer segment of society choose to send their children to venacular schools?

First and foremost, if the standards of our local education system is of comparable quality as that of pre-Mahathir days, the glory and attractions of venacular schools would not have shone so brightly and they might have died a natural death or may not be as popular after 50 years of Merdeka. But, the fact remained that our education system had been flushed down the toilet by successive useless Education ministers and in the process churned out generations of useless graduates.

When even our own Education Ministers and elite group sends their children overseas for their education, it speaks volumes about our education standards here in Malaysia. There is no urgent commitment to improve our education standards for the simple reason that a failed system would not affect their childrens' future as they are not in the local system to be affected by such deterioration. Do we still need to further elaborate the reasons why venacular schools are still proving to be popular with segments of our society?

Ask Mukhriz if he has gone through our local education system during his school days or was he one of those who went overseas! We already know the answers, don't we? Otherwise he would be one of those who "speekling no ingleesh"!

What is the use of education if after graduation, the graduate remained ignorant, incapable and unemployable? What future is there for such people and their children??

Venacular schoolings are by choice. People choose to send their children to these schools mainly because they have a perception that such choices will give their children a better chance of a brighter future.

The question to ask is why such perceptions. Once the question is popped, the next obvious course of action should be to ask why our national schools are not perceived in a similar way. Then, and only then, will they acknowledge that our national schools are in a shamble - the quality of teachers, the quality of way of life and the quality of competitveness and fairness is lacking.

Competitions brings out the best in us. Non competitive qualifications are worth less than toilet papers so, it's no wonder that vernacular schools are still well supported.

Our children's education MUST NEVER be gambled with because they have only one shot at it and it's a matter of a good life or death of a comfortable future for them and their future generations - the choice is always yours and it's a choice worth fighting for!

written by lamakawan, December 02, 2008 21:02:52
Mukriz, what is your head made up of? Coconut water encased with coconut shell.
written by Sudahlah tu, December 02, 2008 21:36:11
sungguh tidak terfikir yang hutang zalim tdm akan ditanggung oleh anak ini ....
dia yang sebenarnya yang paling lemah semasa krisis 1997 kini sudah belajar kezaliman bapanya dengan begitu fasih dan cekap ....
apa boleh buat , keturunan zalim ... pasti ada satu yang ikut juga.
baguslah , kini hutang kezaliman tdm sudah ada warisnya ...
written by Just Gan, December 02, 2008 21:40:04
Mukriz,

We know that you are making all this racist statements now to show that you are more Malay than the real Malay. You believe that by taking a racist and ultra-UMNOite position, you will win the Umno Youth Chief post. This is the formula which your father had applied on numerous occasions to hoodwink the Malay masses to vote him in as UMNO president and PM. It worked for him, so it will surely work for you. Your father is certainly the brains behind your campaign. He started off by saying that KJ will go to any extent to win the Youth post - in reality he meant that YOU, via your father, will go to any extent to win the post. The next strategy your father employed was to announce loudly that many aspirants for the top posts (implying KJ) are bribing UMNO delegates and members to nominate and vote for them. In order to again hoodwink the UMNO members, your father went on to say that he has a list of the people who are giving bribes to win in the UMNO elections. He went on to say that he would reveal their names and the evidence at the right time. Of course, we all know that he was saying all that to divert attention to others such as KJ so that you will be seen as a "saint" who does no wrong. A point to note here is that it is the real thief who will point to others when there is a theft - honest people will not accuse someone of a crime unless they know for sure. Of course, your father is an expert at blaming others for crimes and misdeeds that he is actually guilty of. He is worried that you are no match for KJ, also a racist and an ultra-UMNOite but who is smarter, more cunning and more articulate than you. Without your father behind you, you do even stand a chance to be elected as branch delegate.

While discussing the issue of money politics, can you please explain how you achieved the spectacular win in Jerlun in the last GE. In particular, please explain the 'magic' that was used to ensure the record turnout of 95% (a record which should be in the Malaysia Book of Records started by your father) of the voters in Jerlun so that you would be voted in as the wakil rakyat for Jerlun. The 95% turnout is truly spectacular. That percentage is only possible if the sick, cripple and those living overseas (and possibly even those who had died) had turned out to vote you in as their wakil rakyat. Please share this 'secret" so that other "honest" politicians can also achieve such spectacular wins.
written by Just Gan, December 02, 2008 21:45:48
correction

... Without your father behind you, you do NOT even stand a chance to be elected as branch delegate. .....
written by MalaysianUnited, December 02, 2008 22:06:56
Farouk A. Peru,

Sanskrit is the mother to our bahasa..not Tamil.

Get ur fact right bro, ok?..
written by Saint, December 02, 2008 22:13:20
Vernacular schools must be closed, but many other amendments must go along with it.
1. Mothers tongue language must be made compulsory and taught by teachers of the respective race. Language is just not only alphabets and words.
2. A single system of learning and school system for all. All the MARA & Matriculation rubbish must be done with.
3. A guarantee that Vernacular schools be brought back if the above does not work out. (Some political parties say something but implement some other thing).
written by Darth Vader, December 02, 2008 22:22:03
The above suggestion may provoke a somewhat hostile response from a Ketuanan Melayu fanatic. ‘How can we learn the language of these pendatangs! They must learn our language instead!’.

On the above, these people behave like Malaysia is an advance country like France and Japan. The rest of the world must learn their languange. Hello Be End gomen, look at the mirror before you speak. If you dont have mirror, just take a pot and urine in the pot so that you people can see yr own reflection. No shame.

Mu Keris, you talk so much about racial integration, then answer this :-Why is it call Bahasa Melayu? During my school days, it is called Bahasa MALAYSIA. Did you go to school at all?

To me you are a racist. You can call all yr Bahasa Melayu speaking goons to challenge me BAHASA MALAYSIA and i can be sure that i can beat the hell out of them. I took Kesusasteraan Melayu in my 6th Form and did very well.

FYI, i am not a Malay!

You and Kerismuddin is the same. Both all the word KERIS in yr name.

Ptui
written by PRman, December 02, 2008 22:39:50
I always thought he is different from the dictator old man. I certainly want to rethink about it now. He is prove to be nuisance to the Malaysia plural society.
written by KotaDamansara73, December 02, 2008 22:51:53
I realise after shouting HIDUP! MELAYU! HIDUP! ISLAM!, the Malays still remain very unprogressive. Is a SAD THING, that UMNO has held the Malay's progress. IT IS A VERY SAD THING.
written by Aizad 234, December 02, 2008 23:28:27
YEah. belajar mandarin seronok juga. bule 'flirting' ngan amoi-amoi.. Amoi Chantek!!
written by cruzeiro, December 02, 2008 23:36:35
Mukhriz,
Although in priciple, I'm inclined to agree, as strictly speaking there appears to be nothing wrong with the suggestion. While logically it (your suggestion) should be the way to unite the people, current circumstances dictate that it will be used to discriminate.

Anyway, I'd also say that it's a good idea that you came up with to crucify yourself - and your dad, to a lesser extent!
Firstly you're just trying to be controversial (like your old man) for publicity. Secondly, your trying hard to play up racist sentiments to fracture society.
Third, your timing sucks!

It would be the ideal way to "incapacitate" the non-Malays through teaching of gibberish in BM. BM isn't taught in schools to promote competition, but rather to stifle it. Who needs classical lingo to communicate - leave that for those who wish to study literature!
I remember that we used to have two papers for English (121, 122) - why can't we have that for BM?
No - you morons think that school kids need to know gibberish as a hurdle in exams, and to "communicate as proud Malaysians"! That's what breeds the resentment towards BM.
I suppose you'd come up with the idea of making Jawi compulsory, as proof of "Ketuanan Melayu".

Should you be sincere in what you suggest, you'd be condemning the education system which is mired in mediocrity, first.
Quality, Excellence and fair competition would determine the viability of any education system, rather than legislation/ policy. If the SKs provide excellence, it goes without saying what "survival of the fittest" would render the other systems of education.

For that matter - your suggestion is unconstitutional.
written by yy88, December 02, 2008 23:46:13
We can't expect much from the scion of a pseudo malay racist ex-PM.
The leopard never lost its spots, what more a cat trying to be a leopard.
written by wood, December 03, 2008 00:08:39
Mukhriz, no matter what you say now , I would like to say thank you to you for showing us truly who you are and what you believe. Enjoy yourself while you are still able to !
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by malaysiana1957, December 03, 2008 00:20:09
Vernacular school NO! No! No!. Vernacular U! YES! YES! YES!
Please see the logic. No to Chinese and Tamil schools. Yes to UiTM to be for Malay nazis?
written by freedom to speak, December 03, 2008 01:41:49
BROTHERS & SISTERS
MooKris is playing the POLI-TICK game.
Like father like son! (Maybe it was Mah-Ah-Thir idea!)
They want to de-STABLE race relations.
DON'T FALL FOR IT. IGNORE THEM.

UMNO trying to survive the only way they know....EMERGENCY RULE!!
written by Angela Ooi, December 03, 2008 05:17:36
Think about the economic factor too. India and China with its huge population and potential to grow alot faster than many other developed countries. If UMNOputras are not so short-sighted and willing to cut their noses to spite their faces, even they will realise the value of keeping these schools...and probably send their children there too. After all, learning a language spoken by so many people will always be an ADVANTAGE.
written by cekikdarah, December 03, 2008 07:13:58
That's one opinion to foster a Bangsa Malaysia identity.

Come on, everyone talks the big game, let them have their says as well.

CekikDarah.com
http://www.cekikdarah.com/medi...biles.html
written by c53k, December 03, 2008 09:48:40
The dragonheart,

Some people r just very single minded even though they might be 'educated'!

Get this: vernacular schools r the scapegoat to 'separate young kids from tender age to young adults is the main issue of un-united Malaysia.'

The religious zealots & the racist bigots r!

Under the current 'ketuanan' settings, the young children of the different ethnic groups have been forced to face the nefarious effects of racial discrimination even when they r under the same school.

Primary school children r colour blind even when they have not much chance to mix among the the different ethnic groups. They r less impressionable about adult issues. In fact when they r back to their village, kampong settings they tend to mixed. This has been proven in the 60s when national schools & vernacular schools co-existed. Racial tolerances were the highest & the best among children then.

These children had not problem to mix when they were combined in the secondary schools, under the English medium education.

Fast forward to late 70s, when the education policies tended toward 'ketuanan' mindset. The perception of our children about race took a huge free-falls. In SMK, when the 'others' started to learn that academic excellency did not guarantee a place of choice in Unis, skin colour did. Our children started to drift away from each others.

Meanwhile in primary national schools, the forceful single religion implementations, the lackadaisical attitudes of the teachers compounded with the low standards & qualities forces 90% of the 'others' parent to send their offspring to vernacular schools.

The rest of the story has been repeated umpteen time & yet sound like falling onto deaf ears.

Or more likely, the messages have been lost within the subconscious sieged mind, reinforced subtly by years of BTN indoctrinations.

NO?