Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Petrol, diesel down 10 sen

Petrol, diesel down 10 sen PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 18:07
(The Malaysian Insider)  Pump prices of petrol and diesel will drop by 10 sen starting tomorrow.

RON97 petrol will now retail at RM1.90 per litre, while RON92 and diesel will be at RM1.80.

This is the lowest price in years since RON97 was pushed to RM2.70 per litre in June from RM1.92.

This was announced in a statement by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi this evening and is due to the drop in global crude oil prices.

“The government has decided to speed up the reduction in retail prices to allow the public to enjoy the savings,” the statement said.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 02, 2008 18:12:16
UMNO/BN gomen is robber of the century. Raised fuel prices drastically and bring it down slowly and still the price is above the real pump price.
written by Sudahlah tu, December 02, 2008 18:12:47
kadar penurunan yang tidak munasabah dengan harga dunia.
dia kini takut kerana keadaan ekonomi dalam negara tidak bergerak langsung dan anjing -anjing umno terpaksa mengeluarkan wang haram sendiri untuk menampung penyaraan konco-konco mereka hingga tidak tahan lagi.
satu penipuan haram daripada umno lagi.
haramkan umno daripada politik Malaysia.....
written by Apache, December 02, 2008 18:22:56
10 cents reduction in petrol? The BNend gov thinks we are beggars and stupid fools? Where is the diff in the fuel price going to?

world crude oil price goes up, drastic sharp increase world crude oil price goes down, price drop like bird shit every 3 weeks
written by Apache, December 02, 2008 18:24:39
If the price drops any further,
in 2 weeks time bodohlah and najis will further reduce the price of oil by 5 cents i believe.
written by malaysianohope, December 02, 2008 18:25:04
Bravo barisan,
This is one goverment that simply has no clue how to manage the economy. In a matter of less than 6 months the petrol price dipped below the RM1.92 last June. By hitting Malaysian with one hit of 40% increase or 78 sen all essentials prices spiralled out of control. Had Bodoh done it gradually I'm very sure we would not have faced the problems that we had. Bunch of idiots!
written by chanatak, December 02, 2008 18:36:00
BN Ministers! Do something about all the prices that had gone up because you idiots did a sudden big jump on the price to RM2.70. We are still suffering from the inflationary effects of the jump, despite all these price reductions.

Stop fishing for compliments and appreciation until you also bring all those other prices down.
written by mikefonz, December 02, 2008 18:48:32
Some don't know how to do equation. 10 sen ? nonsense and no sense.
written by boeytahan, December 02, 2008 18:49:59
Malaysian sodomised again! USD120 per barrel, pump price RM 2.70
USD45 per barrel, pump price RM 1.92

How to balance up the coffer if not being calculated this way.
written by Evol, December 02, 2008 18:56:13
10sen my foot, not even enough for a candy!!!!
what a big joke, first we have Fatwa on Yoga and Pengkid, now we got the petrol price!!
written by mountainking, December 02, 2008 18:56:18
Pls refer to the below 2 websites for world crude oil prices

http://finance.yahoo.com/futures
http://www.nymex.com/index.aspx

the price is hovering between USD48-49, how can the petrol be only down by 10 cents. is ridiculous.

i hope the rakyat will spread the news to everyone including those in kampung and the Rulers to let them know our present UMNO led govt is crook and robber. robbing us during this hardship by charging us RM1.90 per litre when the actual price could be around RM1.45-1.60.

I hope many of the UMNO politicians will receive the punishment from Allah to strike them .....
written by ahmadneil, December 02, 2008 19:02:44
With your lousy decision to rapidly increase the price of fuel to a level so high,resulting in a chain reaction,the prices of all essential goods and food rose to record levels.
Today your small inconsistent reduction of the fuel price didn't result in any reduction in the price of goods and food.
This is the result of the gov't inconsiderate action.
If the original oil price ,before the increase ,have been maintain for a bit longer, we wouldn't have face this dilemma.
We,the rakyat hold the gov't full responsible for this catastrophe.
written by SeriousLy, December 02, 2008 19:16:20
Najib logic: When government give contracts out to contractors, it will provide jobs for thousands and they will stimulate the economy? Only THOUSANDS!

My logic: When government subsidised the petrol, millions of Malaysians will find money to invest and stimulate the economy! These millions of Malaysians will also provide millions of jobs! Local or foreign companies will want to expand or invest in Malaysia! Because the petrol price is stable and transportation is cheap!
written by diff2view, December 02, 2008 19:18:40
the goverment should have done the feasibility study before increasing the petrol price radically..flip flop decision causing the public pay the severe price..can somebody tell me when this government will let go their grip..PR plz do something.
written by MasterYoda, December 02, 2008 19:50:45
its all about the by-election not really about the people's welfare. see the timing.

NOTE: Rest of comment deleted for violation of posting guideline
written by Taufique, December 02, 2008 19:58:28
Yeah, reduce now, so what? Every other prices have increased. And they are not really decreasing according to all BS mainstream news reports. Supposedly the hypermarts have reduced prices by 30%. My foot lah reduce.

last I checked (yesterday) at a popular hypermart, quite a number of items were actually higher priced than my local moms n pops stores. So much so that I had to really reduce my purchases.

Now what is your bloody 10 cent reduction going to do now? Goods and services cost a truckload more you bloody UMNO buffoons!! Don't the common penniless UMNO blokes feel the pinch? Dumbass.
written by Tan Tan, December 02, 2008 20:20:49
When the government decided to increase the price to 2.70 per litre, they are cause the price of everything else increased. So what good is it now that it drop down. They did a misjudgement before and the impact cannot be solved. Tell hypermarket to drop prices. Are u sure they really dropped?

For this, next election, I will vote them out. We need smart leaders.
written by lynn, December 02, 2008 20:37:56
All across the country, the poor & middle class suffered from massive price increases across the board on electricity & necessities. Umno, you don't like our comments here, right? Can't handle the truth, right? Then call for new elections. We the people will decide whether you remain in power. If you win fair and square, from then on, I will shut up. Of course, the rakyat had to be retarded, brain dead morons to let you continue another term.
written by pixieface, December 02, 2008 21:19:11
Savings My foot. Petol was 1.92 then hiked up to 2.70. All barang NAIK!!!
Tommorrow 1.90. BUT BARANG STILL NAIK. Who suffer? The man in the street
SUFFER. The actual saving is only 2 bloody cents and the 'barang naik'
still exists. So what the hell are you talking about!!!
Who caused the inflation???
written by lamepug, December 02, 2008 22:09:16
Shit~down 10 cents...

Where my latest TNB bill...

SHIT!!~ STILL THE SAME NEW PRICE!!!

Shame on you... ummnoputras, you are worse than those pirate!
written by citizenmy, December 02, 2008 22:09:51
oklah, better than nothing.
turun sikit sikit, terimakasih sikit sikit..undi sikit sikit
written by The Hammer, December 02, 2008 22:44:20
Tenaga must reduce the tariff immediately or the rakyat will force Petronas to stop the gas flow to your power stations. Since the Fartwa boys have nothing to do they can help by passing all their farts to run your power generators!
written by cheekymate, December 02, 2008 23:29:04
Thank you Kuala Trengganu! It is because of your by-election we get the HUGE discount of TEN sen for our petrol. Remember voters, take their miserable cut in petrol price but don't forget to VOTE THEM OUT! Show them who's boss, ok? The BEnd is desperate for your oil rich rigs so that they can continue to milk you dry. Your residents are getting a really raw deal. They siphon your millions and millions of oil money and give you back 10 sen for it. Remember, remember, remember...VOTE THESE ROBBERS OUT!
written by SamYap, December 02, 2008 23:37:31
Has anyone here wondered what would have happened if BN had managed to retain its 2/3 majority and did not lose Penang, Kedah, Perak and Selangor?

If BN had won the 2008 elections with a huge margin, today the petrol price would remain at RM2.70. BN government would come up with some stupid excuse and ram it down our throats like they used to do in the past.

No doubt, all of us have our own way of calculating what should be the right pump prices, but we cannot denyn the fact that those of us here who slapped BN in the face in the 2008 elections deserve some credit for putting some fear into the bunch of thieves and liars in BN.

By the way, think about this: BN would have allowed some of the toll road operators to raise their rates if it had not been for the huge election losses suffered by BN.

It takes little imagination now to know what we, the rakyat, can achieve through the power of the ballot box. So next time, no fear, just cast your ballot for Pakatan Rakyat and give the BN buggers a good kick in the arse!
written by mikewang, December 03, 2008 06:05:45
What about electricity charges ?
Those charges were raised at the same time when prices at the pumps leaped.

Now that price of gases which are used to power our generating plants had also plunged in world market, the gomen have a responsibility to ensure that those rates are also brought down.
written by Kamikaze, December 03, 2008 13:08:34

Retail petrol price has gone down another 10 cents to RM 1.90, the sixth downward adjustment since August 08. (The Star paper dated 3 Dec 2008 misreported that "this is the fifth time petrol and diesel prices have been cut since retail prices hit a high of RM 2.70 a litre in June")

At current price of below US$ 50/ barrel (US$ 47 at the time of writing), let's us see how much extra are the Malaysians paying.

Assume crude oil price US$ 50/barrel,
RM/US$: 3.6375
1 barrel of crude oil: RM 50 x 3.6375 = RM 181.875
1 barrel = 200 litres
Crude oil per litre = RM 181.875/200 = 0.909375
Processing cost/ litre = RM 0.0954*
Profit for refinery companies/ litre = RM 0.05*
Commission for petrol station operators/ litre = RM 0.1219*
Note: *(obtained from a posting by a columnist on page 4 of Sinchew Daily dated 23 Nov 0smilies/cool.gif
Theoritical retail petrol price/ litre = RM 1.18
Subsidize to government/ litre (Government said it should be named tax revenue for government. Whatever...) = RM 1.90 - RM 1.18 = RM 0.72 (a hefty 61% tax revenue!)

Let's compare with our neighbours, Indonesia and Singapore...

Malaysia is still a net oil exporter country while Indonesia is no longer an oil exporter country in middle 2008. See http://www.iht.com/articles/ap...a-OPEC.php

Based on the above table dated 18 November 2008 on fuel prices across Asia, even after deduction of another 10 cents yesterday, the retail petrol price in Malaysia (an net oil exporter country) is still not cheaper than Indonesia.

In Singapore, no doubt the retail petrol price is much more expensive than Malaysia's.

Take Shell Formula 98 (98UL), the price is S$1.67 (S$1.587 after discount). At currency conversion rate of RM 2.3786/S$, it works out to be RM 3.97 (RM 3.77 after discount). If we make a relative comparison of purchasing power and the fact that on average, Singaporeans are earning 5 times of Malaysians salary, then it is more "affordable" in Singapore. Furthermore, the public transport system is so convenient in Singapore and the citizens have the choice not to own private vehicles. Do Malaysians really have the option?

"6" and "1". Which is bigger? Well, "6" and "1" are about the same. See below...

On government's statement that the downward adjustment of pertrol retail price has to be done gradually as sharp drop in petrol retail price will have destructive economy impact to the country... (The government didn't say that when they had abrupt 40% upward adjustment to petrol prices)

Let's see the chart on the movement of cude oil price...

The rate of price decline is much steeper than the price increase. But in Malaysia, the overnight price increase of 78 cents is much steeper than the 6 times reduction of 80 cents in total.

Why didn't the government raise the petrol price gradually knowing that the sudden increase in petrol retail price is worse than the sudden drop in petrol retial price due to price stickiness (The petrol price has dropped about 30%. However, there is resistance in the downward price adjustment of general goods)

COME ON LAH!