Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Selangor Sultan unhappy with politicians exploiting race

Selangor Sultan unhappy with politicians exploiting race PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 14:03

"Malaysia belongs to all races, not just the Malays. The country is what it is today because of the contributions of all races and that is something we must acknowledge," he said.

By Leslie Lau, The Malaysian Insider

The Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah says he is disappointed with the manner in which some politicians exploit racial issues for their own agenda.

Speaking to The Star newspaper in an interview published today, the Sultan's remarks comes amid a heated debate sparked by a raft of recent public comments about race relations and the concept of Malay Supremacy.

His comments are also the latest sign of a more vocal royalty which appears to be filling the vacuum left by a lack of political leadership.

The Sultan said he was disturbed by how some politicians preferred to dwell on what he called trivial issues instead of focusing on dealing with the economy.

"Malaysia belongs to all races, not just the Malays. The country is what it is today because of the contributions of all races and that is something we must acknowledge," he said.

He also acknowledged, however, that it was his initiative to have the recent Conference of Rulers issue a statement defending the social contract, which has also been the subject of roiling debate recently.

"People need to understand that the social contract is the primary basis for the formation of Malaysia. Let's not debate it because it is better for the rakyat to understand the history behind the social contract," he said.

He said the rights of the Malays were well protected and could not be taken away without the consent of the Rulers.

But he said the Rulers also felt that non-Malays should not feel apprehensive over their rights as these rights are also guaranteed.

written by Frankfurtguy, December 02, 2008 14:16:52
UMNO just want to play the racial card this will distract the rakyat from scrutinising and follow up cases like eurocopter, mongolian lady and submarine, correct-correct-correct case, ISA, Hindraf etc Smart rakyat will not be blinded by this trick
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 02, 2008 14:17:31
For such statements, your Royal Highness, you have my respect and relevancy in Malaysia.
written by johanssm, December 02, 2008 14:33:46
Royalties must tell and ask all Malaysian to accept bangsa Malaysia instead of concentrating on races. In Malaysia , there's no such thing a races as we are all similar to " Rojak ". Who else do not have have Indian within their family, who else do not have malay in their family , who else do not have chinese in their family, who else do not have kadazan , iban in their family. To those who replied "no" , wait till your son or daughter marries one not from your own race. Therefore it is absolute must to have equalness. put a stop on umno and their merry men spinning stories about ketuanan karut and get back to real politics.

I have seen enough of royalties racing down the streets in their 'royal " Ferraris . Pakatan Rakyat better relook at giving immunity to such royalties.As such immunity can and able to create havoc.
written by temenggong, December 02, 2008 14:34:33
I hope the sultan visits a chinese temple, a hindu temple, etc, and make a token donation of say, RM 500 to underscore Malaysia's multiculturalism.
written by Zapper, December 02, 2008 14:36:25
Daulat Tuanku....you have spoken from wisdom. It is the hope of all rakyat Malaysia that we have such wisdom from our politicians.
written by Sagaladoola, December 02, 2008 14:43:16
It is indeed strange. The Sultan of Selangor, His Royal Highness understands his citizens better than these petty politicians. Most of my Malay friends are not concerned with all this Lordship (Ketuanan) thing. Corruption, Living Costs, Economic Crisis.. they are more concerned with all these.

If Sultan, who is the Symbol and Leader of the Malay Tradition and Culture, can understand his citizens (Malays, non-Malays alike), I do not comprehend why certain petty politicians can still make noise about all this Ketuanan Melayu. It will be even more surprising if some petty politician calls for the closure of vernacular schools because of the Ketuanan issue. Go and check out whether anyone in UMNO said that.

I dedicate my support and respect for Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, the leader of All Malaysians (yes, that includes both Malays and non-Malays).
written by malsia1206, December 02, 2008 15:38:57
With all due repect to HRH, I'd say the majority of the Malaysian rakyat has strong reasons to believe many politicians (including a few non-Barisan politicians) do not behave, conduct and speak honourably in and out of Parliament. For these politicians, they thrive on racial and religious issues day-in, day-out to sustain their own survival in the minefield. This is the sad but realistic situation. No two ways to deny it. When this racial divide is brought more by some Federal Cabinet Menteris themselves, it shows a situation how sick this Government is. A Government NOT of the people, for the people.
written by educationist, December 02, 2008 15:41:15
I'm glad the motivation behind that statement by the Conference of Rulers has now been made public.
To be honest, I have never been very proud of our nation's institution of Sultans but events since the March 8 elections have caused me to reevaluate my position.
Daulat Tuanku! X 3
written by clarity, December 02, 2008 16:47:31
I would award the champion trophy for 2008 racial politics player of the year to TDM and the runner-up to Khir Toyo. Is my choice wrong?
Let's hear from you guys.
written by kingelvis, December 02, 2008 16:51:03
Can someone explain how we can have special rights for 1 race and preserve the rights of others? Contradiction in terms! Here special rights means gomen jobs and gomen contracts for 1 race and other races well...screwed!
Who conferred the special rights...British or natives? British could not do that so leaving the natives who certainly did not!
written by johntyc, December 02, 2008 17:04:43
Yeah I know, non-Malays rights are also guaranteed but someone systematically taking them away bit by bit.
written by Margeemar, December 02, 2008 18:02:20
Something smells here. With DPM Najib Razak poised to become PM by March next year, it may well be within his evil agenda to stir up racial unrest now and make it reach into a boiling point before declaring a state of emergency to 'save' the Nation from destruction.

By doing so, Najib will get abolish Parliament and rule by decree during which the Pakatan Rakyat and its leaders will be rounded up under ISA and be blaimed for the 'racial unrest'. Why do you thing that rabid barking dog MP from Pasir Salak continues to utter seditious remarks?
Mahathir is definitely the brains behind this diabolical agenda of Najib. We the Rakyat (People) must not let this happen.

We can't remain still and be armchair observers and allow PR and the NGO's to battle this Beast alone. We need to act now before Najib realizes his evil agenda. Let us not fall for this Sandiwara (Charade) that the BN is playing before us. We, the Rakyat, must reject any Party or individual that belongs to or is affiliated to BN. Lets boycott them. Lets Hartal now!!!...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
written by ssathia, December 02, 2008 18:14:51
How many of the politicians who behave badly, utter racial slurs, use ISA indiscriminately against peaceful protestors, who deny passes to peaceful demonstration, break up temples of worship, deny educational opportunities based on race, deny licenses based on race, pass anti-Malaysian remarks, full of corrupted, who disobey rules of the country openly, who smoke in Parliament houses and in Ministries defying laws against smoking in airconditioned areas etc, etc etc have ever been stripped of their titles by the Sultans or the Kings?
written by ylcc, December 02, 2008 18:53:08
I am presently into very very old books on history. As I trudge along, and as articles on MT related to what I have read crop up, I would like to share with you some quotes:

Queen Elizabeth's message to Singapore on 16 Sept 1963.
"At this moment it is fitting to remember those of EVERY RACE who, over the past 144 years of close association between Singapore and Britain, HAVE CONTRIBUTED to the development of the great commercial centre and industrial complex into which this City Sate has now been fashioned."

MM Lee Kuan Yew - 9 August 1965:
"We are going to have a multi-racial nation in Singapore. This is not a Malay nation, not a Chinese nation, not an Indian nation. Everybody will have a place in Singapore, and we will continue helping the Malays in competition with UMNO. We unite regardless of race, language, religion or culture."
Hmmm .... so opposition to UMNO's policies trace back even then!
written by maran08, December 02, 2008 18:56:39
LONG LIVE SULTAN, exactly what the rakyat want.... save this country from another racial game.
written by ylcc, December 02, 2008 19:05:21
MM Lee Kuan Yew's message 20 Jan 1966 to the Chinese on CNY:
"But in the midst of this rejoicing, abundance of good food and good clothes, and free from the stifling shroud of silent intimidation and the threat of oppression, let us remember our friends and relatives who are struggling to achieve the ideals of human equality and justice which guide our own society. For in the end, our destinies cannot be separated."

Hari Raya message on 22 Jan 1966:
"In independent Singapore all men are brothers. All men are equal citizens and their cultural, religious and linguistic heritage will be respected. On this Hari Raya Puasa I send my good wishes to all Muslim citizens and wish them security, progress and happiness in the years ahead. The happiness of the various communities in Singapore depends on their ability to be tolerant of each other as well as of the different habits of life and religion."
written by Fuminari, December 02, 2008 20:21:48
with the global economic melt down now setting in into our economic in such a fast manner,u can jus sit there n looking at more n more of typical umno racist stuffs from the umno goons!the pace would pick up as their party election comes nearer...why??these umno goons are jus not the cut out material to run the country in proper with their in-born 'thief, robber n bandit' DNA,with the kind of calibre they hav in hand!! they could get no way out but could only exploiting the racial issues to hoodwink n divert attention from the main matters!
as a matter of fact,this kind of sensible statement from our DYMM sultan of selangor is jus timely n precisely right!!his highness deserves the highest respect n support from the rakyat,n we are hopeful n looking forward to this type of kind n sensible rhetoric from the other royals as well.
written by Old Man, December 02, 2008 20:41:39
Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah deserves the highest respect from all Malaysians when his simple and straight to the point speech, "Malaysia belong to all races, not just the Malays..... " Hope that the Racists and Extremists esp the one of a kind Politicians stop their nonsense! Hope that the present PM and future PMs take note of our wise Sultan's golden speech!
written by kingelvis, December 02, 2008 21:26:09
IF ALL GOMEN CONTRACTS AND JOBS ARE FOR MALAYS WHAT ARE THE NON-MALAY RIGHTS????
CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN?
written by DreamLady, December 02, 2008 22:05:44
The sudden emergence and voices of our Royal Highness, the Sultan of Selangor, is seen peeking into the political arena bring a great sigh and relief to everyone as His Royal Highness speaks his mind loud and clear.

GOD BLESS OUR SULTAN OF SELANGOR, GOD BLESS THE RULERS AND MALAYSIA !!!!
written by Saint, December 02, 2008 22:30:36
Daulat Tuanku.
written by EYFF, December 03, 2008 16:14:46
There are the Malay's Malay, Indian's Malays, Indon's Malays, Chinese's Malays, Turkish's Malays, Arab's Malay's, European's Malays, etc., etc., etc.

In Malaysia Malay is a definition and not a race!!

Some Malays are more Malays than others!

Are we comparing apples to oranges???? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif