Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The state of higher education in Malaysia

The state of higher education in Malaysia PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 13:35

The Ninth Malaysia Plan tells us that in order for the country to be competitive on the world stage, we need to develop Human Resource which is knowledgeable, highly skilled, flexible, creative and imbued with positive work ethics and spiritual values.

Towards this end, a number of key development thrusts have been identified:

(i)    Comprehensive improvement of the education and training delivery systems

(ii)    Strengthening national schools so that they become the school of choice for all Malaysians and through this strengthen  national unity

(iii)    Implementing measures to bridge performance gap between urban and rural schools

(iv)    Providing greater opportunity and access

(v)    Creating universities of international standing

written by ahmadneil, December 02, 2008 13:43:51
If our education system is good then we won't have our students going across the causeway to Singapore.It should be the other way round.
written by ahmadneil, December 02, 2008 13:47:19
Fight for the best education ,not in Malaysia,but abroad ,if you can afford.You wouldn't have regrets.
written by lamakawan, December 02, 2008 15:05:00
The state of higher education in Malaysia is just pathetic. You have so many graduates walking in the streets that they decided to form an association called The Unemployed Malay Graduates. Their objective is to stir the racial hot pot in the country. Why? Because they are unemployed and had nothing to do and this is excitement for them to stir the hot pot.

written by citizenmy, December 02, 2008 16:07:17
Give my children a seat and full scholarship for the local University. I will still refuse to send them there with the current pathetic state of our universities.

written by cllim123, December 02, 2008 17:26:00
As long as the top non-bumi have to slog for the small number of seats allocated and find themselves rejected by the majority, and we also find that lower entry grades are admitted for bumi by the thousands, you will find the local university standards going down. When the system does not give credit to merit but give face only to race, we will be in the sewers. See UiTM, what standards. Compare with ivy league and OxCam.

This is Malaysia Bodohland!
written by Msian Idol3, December 02, 2008 18:45:30
Kerajaan ini cakap sangat pandai, tipu dengan slogan lagi pandai, buat docktor statistik lagi-lagi pandai, hormat janji lagi3 pandai, BODOH dan tak MALU lagi-lagi x 10 pandai. Macham ini standard di Msia boleh.
written by densemy, December 02, 2008 21:12:31
Thats a plan which should have been put into operation 50 yrs ago. Instead Malaysian education has moved in the opposite direction

To think that overnight you will overcome the effects of 50 yrs of deliberate neglect is about as realistic as thinking that the Koran is due for a rewrite
written by Old Man, December 02, 2008 21:28:14
When entry into our Universities is not based on merits, what do you expect the results to be? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Darth Vader, December 02, 2008 23:14:04
"Higher education" hahaha. i nearly die laughing.

I strongly agree with ahmadneil,we must send our kids abroad to study. Our university can even make Top 100 ranking!. University in our neighbouring countries over took us in terms of ranking.

Education minister should be put to shame.

Question : Guess where the children of the Education Minister study?
Answer : in a private school in Cheras.
Question : Why in Private school? No confidence in our public school?

Figure it out smilies/grin.gif