To write comment, please LOGIN at content-page.

• RPK's defamation trial - 2 July, Jln Duta Sessions Court
  • RPK's sedition trial - 17 July, PJ Sessions Court

Mukhriz has committed the offence of sedition in proposing closure of Chinese/Tamil primary schools PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 13:27

Mukhriz has committed the offence of sedition in questioning one of the four “sensitive” issues  entrenched in the Constitution which has no parliamentary immunity – and he can be disqualified as MP on conviction

UMNO MP for Jerlun and candidate for Umno Youth chief, Mukhriz Mahathir, has committed the offence of sedition in questioning one of the four “sensitive” issues entrenched in the Constitution which has no parliamentary immunity and on conviction, he can be stripped of his parliamentary membership, disqualified from taking part in parliamentary and state assembly elections as well as barred from holding office in any society for five years.

However Mukhriz twist and turn, there can be no doubt that in his press conference at the Parliament lobby yesterday, which he repeated in his speech in the House last night, he was in fact calling for the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools, hence the following headlines:

•    “Sekolah satu sistem – cadangan ke arah menggantikan pendidikan berbeza aliran” – Utusan Malaysia

•    “Mukhriz: Scrap vernacular schools, one system for all” (Star online).

•    “”Abolish dual system” (Star in print).

•    “Mukhriz: Close down vernacular schools” (Malaysiakini English)

•    “Mukhriz saran tutup sekolah vernacular” (Malaysiakini Bahasa Malaysia)

•    “Mukhriz says vernacular schools should be abolished” (Malaysianinside)

•    “Change all school medium to Bahasa Malaysia” – Nanyang

•    “Abolish Chinese and Tamil primary schools to check polarisation – Mukhriz” – (China Press)

•    “Standardise all primary schools with Bahasa Malaysia as medium of instruction” – (Oriental Daily)

My purpose now is not to discuss the merit or demerit of Mukhriz proposal for a single education system, the validity of his contention blaming the vernacular school system for the polarised society which allegedly caused the poor understanding of the “ketuanan Melayu” or Malay supremacy concept among the non-Malays and his view that the disunity in Malaysia arose from the different education system.

The Constitution Amendment 1971 entrenching four sensitive issues and imposing an absolute prohibition from any questioning, even removing the parliamentary immunity in parliamentary debates, by classifying them as sedition offences under Section 3(f) of the Sedition Act, does not allow anyone to propose the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools so long as Article 10(4) on the entrenchment of the sensitive issues is not repealed.

If Mukhriz wants to be able to publicly pursue his proposal of a single education system resulting in the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools, he must get the Constitutional provision on the four entrenched sensitive issues amended and repealed.

Similarly, no one can question the special provision for Malays and natives in Sabah and Sarawak in Article 153 such as asking for its repeal on the ground that the Reid Commission had originally proposed a 15-year sunset clause unless the 1971 entrenched sensitive provision in the Constitution is amended or repealed.

The same applies to the other sensitive issues – the sovereignty of Malay Rulers and citizenship rights of non-Malay Malaysians.

The law is very clear as there had been decided cases – Melan Abdullah v Public Prosecutor (1971) where Utusan Malaysia was found guilty of the sedition offence for its editorial subheading, “Hapuskan Sekolah Beraliran Tamil atau China di-Negeri ini” and Mark Koding v. Public Prosecutor where the Sabah Member of Parliament was found guilty of sedition when he spoke in Parliament in October 1978 calling for the closure of Chinese and Tamil primary schools.

As it is, anybody can lodge a police report against Mukhriz, and if there is a rule of law with independent and impartial administration of justice, Mukhriz would be charged and found guilty of sedition, stripped of his parliamentary membership as well as disqualified from taking part in parliamentary elections or holding office in any society for five years if fined RM2,000 or jailed for a year.

Lim Kit Siang

written by ahmadneil, December 02, 2008 13:33:02
Musa Hassan,you must immediately arrest this son of Racist mahathir and put him in Sungei Buloh,together with Aminah murderers.Walk your bloody talk!
written by blackpea, December 02, 2008 13:41:16
Dear Uncle Lim,
You dont raise to much hope that they will use the country Laws against one of them, if anyone other then those UMNO putras(munafiq)says it, god know what will happen to him or her, I believe the Ramlan Abu Bakar of the Malaysian People's Reform Movement (Reformis) will send his "death squad" to bomb their home already. What a sad day for all Malysians.
written by Racheljansz, December 02, 2008 13:41:23
Ya ya Mr Lim, you are right about the law but as we all know, those laws are for the Rakyat NOT UMNO.
written by hakuna, December 02, 2008 13:51:13
LKS - Mukhriz does not know head nor tail regarding the constitution. He only knows one thing and that is Ketuanan Melayu which he interprets as Ketuanan UMNO.
LKS, you should conduct tuition classes for these idiots who are there not because they deserve to be there but because their fathers, mothers, in-laws, or what ever crap manner they are related to.
We need to get rid off all these rubbish.
written by padhma, December 02, 2008 13:54:14
There we go again. In this country everything is politicised. Why can't people be more rational about the topic? I expect intellegent comments from Mr.LKS and not straight away jump on sedition. What is so wrong with a mere suggestions?
If Mr.LKS believes in openess then this subject should be carefully thought about. Why jump and attack Mukhriz?
We all know that our education system needs to be revamped. It has lost the competitive edge. If you believe in Bangsa Malaysia then we should start looking at every angle with a Malaysian heart.
What can we have one system that teaches the various languages in Malaysia. Why do we need seperate school?
We say that BN is adopting and practicing the divide and rule principle. Well, by having diferent schools for different ethnic group then they are seeding the seeds at a very early stage. Lets divide them from young and continue dividing them. MCA and MIC can have a strong grip on their respective ethnic community.
Mukhriz did not say that other languages shouldn't be thought. He is just suggesting that have one system and incorporate the various languages.
I expect people from Pakatan Rakyat to be more rationale about the issue. I don't expect people from Pakatan Rakyat camp to start speaking like MCA or MIC.
Stop politicising and start thinking.
disagree 43
written by NickChan, December 02, 2008 14:05:55
i support mukhriz's call
let anyone learn mandarin or tamil in integrated schools. we don't need to divide. why can't we learn from indonesia or thailand?
disagree 42
written by varvoom, December 02, 2008 14:23:00
I don’t support mukhriz's, but I concur with the idea of one educational system, I will even go further, that the medium of instruction should be in English, with compulsory mother-tongues subject taught up to form 5. .
written by Ray, December 02, 2008 14:31:08
Uncle Kit,
We must suggest to change Mukhriz head cos it is bald and full of shit inside.
written by ssathia, December 02, 2008 14:35:33
How about leadership by example? If Tamil schools and Chinese schools must make way for one system, would Mukhriz show a good lead example by transforming the Islamic schools, UITM and all those special schools, colleges, training institutions, school hostels, university hostels etc that are funded from public money but catering only for Malays into places of learning for all Malaysians as what any credible governement would do in the world? Does Mukriz have the heart or guts to allow the teaching of all religions in Malaysian schools for all students? Would that not create mutual appreciation of all religions and languages? If a Muslim is ignorant about Christian, Buddhist or Hindu philosophies how could he ever develop respect for Non-Mulsims and vice versa? Rarely do these disappointing politicians come up with well thoughtout solutions for all people and tend to shoot from their hips wearing blinkers. How could Mukhriz appreciate the goodness in other languages when he does not know even his father's language of Malayalam? Or does he? We should reject all psuedo-leaders.
written by Newkidonblog, December 02, 2008 15:47:02
Let's close down all Malay school, Malay Colleges, Islamic Colleges and all other Islamic or Malay centres.

Mukhriz should then become the future Education Minister, creating a new education system with English as the main medium. All Melayu needs to learn English (LOL!)

Make sure it is fair to all MALAYSIANS!
written by riversnail, December 02, 2008 16:09:25
how about the sekolah agama?if this also to be closed then i support for the 1 education/school system.
written by Sinewy, December 02, 2008 17:00:41
My two elder sons attended the national primary school. They can tell you how racist the school administration and most of the teaching staff are. The teaching quality and standard are very disappointing. Many teahcers are more interested to do some other things than teaching the students. The young minds feel the discrimination in this type of schools and the seed of disunity is planted by the national schools and not necessary the vernacular schools. The last straw is when the adults in the national schools start shouting NEP to the young minds of the non bumi students on the way things must be carried out in the school to conform to such discriminating policies. When my sons posed the questions on such discriminating action suffered by them in the school, what do you expect me to tell them? That they are from less superior race? Finally I sent my third son to the vernacular school and now he is attending the national secondary school and he enjoys friendship from all races and have activities together. So for heaven sake, it is the NEP and the discriminative policies promoted by the government that divide the youngs from the early age. It also divides the whole population in this country and the politicians are blind not to see it. Or they purposely turn a blind eye so that such policies do wonder to their political survival.
written by Liberace, December 02, 2008 17:01:28
Let's start with all cabinet ministers pulling their children and grandchildren out of international schools and foreign schools and putting them back into our local public schools.
written by tanwi, December 02, 2008 17:01:41
Haha, i actually dont agree with Kit Siang but i guess he is just giving hell to the ruling party what they are good at ie claiming people make seditious remarks on any of their remarks.

Mukriz, if you are looking for an agenda to promote your status, heres a few (which are REALLY on most Malaysian minds)....

1) National unity - but wait a minute, it was BN (or was it UMNO) who came up with NEP and Ketuanan Melayu... so.. i guess theres not much you can talk on this...

2) curb corruption - another toughy too... during your d*** time, powerful people (no names for my own protection!) in MAS/Celcom, UEM, MITI etc have been appointed and siphoned god knows how much from the rakyat.. another touchy subject.. oh ya forgot to mention.. some of these idiots are still running office till today!

3) Improve public transport - 50 years of merdeka and all we have is LRT. In Singapore, even LRT was deemed insufficient to cope with the demand of the public.. whatelse MALAYSIA!! oops forgot to mention it was the GOvt (BN) who approved the whole LRT idea....

4) Reduce crime rates - dont know where to start on this.... in just a few words... our police force is sadly underforced and not managed properly... and YES they do discriminate on arrests.... the arrest of RPK, ISA vigil etc and the NON ARREST of Ahmad Ismail and Malaysia Bar Council protestors is the GLOWING example....

5) Abolish ISA - my fingers are tired so ill end it here. Only thing i will say is that Malaysians are not stupid so give us a little respect. Till today im still waiting for an intelligent response from the govt on why ISA should stay. yes Singapore has it, but noone cares cos they dont throw writers, politicians to ISA camps.

Oops, looks like u cant talk about any of the above, which would mean you got no propoganda!!
written by PRman, December 02, 2008 17:28:05
lol.. if he is arrested for his stupid mistake yesterday, that will show our police force is becoming more impartial. maybe they should really haul him up. but knowing our police force, 99.99999% nothing will be done to our dear EX PM son.
written by mykantree, December 02, 2008 19:15:45
This Mukhriz's agenda of proposing the closure of Chinese and Tamil schools is more than meet the eye.The actual intention is not racial and social harmony amongst all malaysians; but that the Chinese and Indians is to be taught by a common school system that preaches the idea of Ketuanan Melayu, and that the Chinese and Indians must be taught to accept that as a fact of Malaysian life.This is a dangerous man!
written by mali, December 02, 2008 20:50:07
dear brothers & sisters of MT-readers,
normally i wont post comments here, as twould be plenty of comments especially in such "big" suggestion.
but i felt compelled to offer new perspective after reading few readers whom "agree" with Mukhriz's idea.
COME ONN PEOPLE, dont be such a NAIVE!!
if there's only one school, it's so much easier for "them" to brainwash or kids & eliminate the other non-malay roots!
i would support such suggestion when the nos. of non-malay teachers, headmaster & government officers reflect our country's ethnic composistion.
but then, with project ic & influx of immigrants espcially indons & bangla whom are muslims, the chinese, indians dll can "kiss" the 60-40-10 % goodbye!
uncle lim is merely using the racists "sacred bible" (ie. Perlembagaan) against their won.
so long & so much have we hear that "hak2 keistimewaan melayu tidak boleh dipersoalkan di bawah Perlembagaan.."
written by Just Gan, December 02, 2008 22:10:04
Mukriz,

We know that you are making all this racist statements now to show that you are more Malay than the real Malay. You believe that by taking a racist and ultra-UMNOite position, you will win the Umno Youth Chief post. This is the formula which your father had applied on numerous occasions to hoodwink the Malay masses to vote him in as UMNO president and PM. It worked for him, so it will surely work for you. Your father is certainly the brains behind your campaign. He started off by saying that KJ will go to any extent to win the Youth post - in reality he meant that YOU, via your father, will go to any extent to win the post. The next strategy your father employed was to announce loudly that many aspirants for the top posts (implying KJ) are bribing UMNO delegates and members to nominate and vote for them. In order to again hoodwink the UMNO members, your father went on to say that he has a list of the people who are giving bribes to win in the UMNO elections. He went on to say that he would reveal their names and the evidence at the right time. Of course, we all know that he was saying all that to divert attention to others such as KJ so that you will be seen as a "saint" who does no wrong. A point to note here is that it is the real thief who will point to others when there is a theft - honest people will not accuse someone of a crime unless they know for sure. Of course, your father is an expert at blaming others for crimes and misdeeds that he is actually guilty of. He is worried that you are no match for KJ, also a racist and an ultra-UMNOite but who is smarter, more cunning and more articulate than you. Without your father behind you, you do not even stand a chance to be elected as branch delegate.

While discussing the issue of money politics, can you please explain how you achieved the spectacular win in Jerlun in the last GE. In particular, please explain the 'magic' that was used to ensure the record turnout of 95% (a record which should be in the Malaysia Book of Records started by your father) of the voters in Jerlun so that you would be voted in as the wakil rakyat for Jerlun. The 95% turnout is truly spectacular. That percentage is only possible if the sick, cripple and those living overseas (and possibly even those who had died) had turned out to vote you in as their wakil rakyat. Please share this 'secret" so that other "honest" politicians can also achieve such spectacular wins.
written by BennyG, December 02, 2008 23:10:49
Strange. No NGO filed a police report so far. Does that mean that all the NGOs are pro-UMNO?
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 03, 2008 00:25:13
Padhma, if it is mere suggestions as you see it - then it is ok. But it is not. Don't you learn critical thinking in university?

Read in between the lines of what Mukriz is saying and look at why he is saying it. He is not a stupid guy...he is trying to get political mileage...from his own clan...
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 03, 2008 00:46:53
Oh yes, we should have a one school system. so away with all other schools, including mission-based schools, islamic ugama schools, Chinese schools and Tamil schools.

Then it will get rid of the problems we are now facing - all mentioned by Mukriz. But how does he know - are his children studying here?
If the one system school can allow for Indians to speak tamil and learn tamil, Chinese to do so to and any other practices and beliefs by the various races professing their various religions, then I am all for it. Because that will prevent, the current shut-down of chapel services, bible-studies, statues of Mary and Jesus being taken away and thrown right in front of Catholic nuns ( due to taklimat from Ministry ). That will prevent some harassment of Chinese students who bring lunches to school and being asked by prefects - is that pork, it is not allowed here and their lunches being confisticated and they are given some slaps or warnings? The Hindus don't go round looking into other lunch boxes and ask , is that beef? you are eating something in front of me that we are npot supposed to eat. As a prefect, I must report you to the Headmaster and you will get whacked.

Well, that is the national school for you. If a one system school can have a good impact why not? We can have a truly bangsa malaysia school with a good harmony and tolerance like that of post war times. No one barks at you for eating what they eat and no one acts like they are the the holy people and no others have the right to believe otherwise.

Perhaps, we will have Hindus praying their mantras, the Chinese their prayers, the Christians their chapel services and the muslims theirs all with great tolerance. Perhaps we will have more balanced and psychologically sound teachers who don't call their students names and mark them with phrases akin to dogs and pigs. Perhaps the teachers would come with the noble call of wanting to be teachers and not because they can't find a better job to do and it is their third option for a career?

Perhaps we will have better history books and the real history being taught which includes the history of the world as the world see it and not as how "we-the-UMNOPUTRAs" want people to see it. Perhaps we won't have our children learning just the wonderful Nabi and his work and his campaigns and Islam only for two penggals and be tested on it for the monthly test and the term test and also the penggla akhir test. I guess it is good but then it is good for a Muslim but what good for the non? Perhaps it is good so that they can understand the Muslims better but than they do not understand real history?

Maybe Mukriz's suggestion is good. Just maybe he should tell us how he wants it done and what he wants to achieve and perhaps we will vote for him the next round and he can be ...the guy to change all that his old man has done to us all.
written by Sean E, December 03, 2008 10:21:27
Mukriz, before you open you big mouth.

Come to Sabah and pay a visit to a few Chinese primary schools.

You will be surprised that quite a sizeable percentage of the students are from other races, Kadazans, Malays and even Indians. If Chinese schools are no good, why the enrolment is so high, most classes are bursting at the seam with up to 50 students. Why so cramped, because these are not fully funded by the goverment. The BN government prefers to built huge schools in the middle of nowhere (Satu lagi projet from BN that became another white elephant).

So what racial polarisation.

Then make your visit to government departments. There you see most of the staff are from one race. So who promote racial polarisation?

It is your own UMNO goverment.