Malaysia abuzz with debate about the practice of yoga PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 09:54

Melissa Goh, Channel News Asia

Malaysia has been all abuzz with debate about the practice of yoga in the predominantly Muslim country. An outright ban has since been relaxed to allow Muslims to practise just the physical exercises. 

A group of Muslim women, mainly young professionals, have been practising yoga regularly for over a year. They said they've benefited from this ancient form of exercise which has its roots in Hinduism.

"It really gives me a sense of peace as well as I feel much healthier," said one woman.

Another woman said: "I am still a Muslim, I didn't convert."

Mazlifah, who is trained as a doctor, said she’s not about to give up practicing yoga despite the controversy surrounding the exercise.

She said: "At the moment, I don't think it's affecting my faith. I will continue."

Malaysia's national fatwa council recently shocked the multi-racial country by issuing a blanket ban on the practice of yoga among Muslims.

The council held that the practice of yoga as a whole would lead Muslims to deviate from Islamic teachings.

The edict angered many yoga instructors especially those who are Muslim.

The ruling has since been relaxed to allow the practice of yoga as long as it doesn't involve chanting.

Intan Suraya Hashim, director, Studio W, said: "Our place itself, we have got so many Muslim women and nobody has come up to me to say ‘we are not comfortable with it’. We instructors have been careful to eliminate these kinds of points."

Roslin Mohd Daud, Yoga instructor, said: "Even the chantings are not religious. If you translate the chants, it just means ‘may we both be nourished, may we both work together with great energy, may we not hate or dispute each other.’ It finishes with the word "Shanti" which means peace.”

The ongoing debates have highlighted the widening gap between the conservative and liberal Muslims in this country.

While some are appealing to the national religious council to stop micromanaging their way of life, the conservatives fear that this may undermine the authority of national fatwa council.

written by Democrats, December 02, 2008 10:03:25
Is it me or does the normal people from every walk of life seems smarter than those we put into power to dictate our laws and our way of life?
written by Motherchell, December 02, 2008 10:06:53
This clearly states this about Malaysian Govt Agencies.
1) Not tuned to the the Intelligent World.
2) Raked in self interest to fan support thro the gullible.
3) Clear cut abuse of power, the ones barking out about loss of rights ,and ones who say they uphold the Sultans as head of Islam.
4) No drought in PHD's with the so called Islamic scholars--- i mean dropouts!
written by Hakim Abdullah, December 02, 2008 10:10:11
You are right, Democrats,truly ordinary Malaysians are street smart, well educated and very tolerant towards each other...it is the bloody idiots that we stupidly voted for as our so-called leaders that screwed up our Country!
written by smeagrooo, December 02, 2008 10:32:15
Debate over Yoga issue? Just great rite? No debate on corruptions, misuse of funds, petrol hike when petrol price soared, etc. BUt debate on Yoga?

Will it put food on my table? Maybe i can put my foot on the table la ala yoga style.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 02, 2008 10:57:26
See?? This is what can happen when Fatwa are not well thought out, and debated, before being unloaded onto the public.

Once again, there should be a Fatwa to punish those who blindly and hastily issue Fatwa without due consultation and debate. And for making fellow Muslims look ridiculous to non Muslims.
written by Hitenwolf, December 02, 2008 12:32:01
It's nothing more than a show of power. The National Fatwa Council wants to show the Muslim who is the boss when it comes to Islamic affairs. NFC wants to show to the Muslim that they can't do anything even if it dabbles with the personal and micro conduct of the Muslim. This is a classic case of shoddiness in the implmentation of an edict against rationality and an individual's personal freedom as enshrined in the constitution.
written by tanwi, December 02, 2008 12:53:41
MalaysianUnited, u obviously dont understand the concept of free speech. CNA is the number one hits website in Asia just to let you know. But thats besides the point, the point is that anybody including news agency can say what they want (but note that CNA did not 'state', they just 'reported'. Also its obvious that your English is pretty bad so you should brush it up before commenting 'how about people who agree' as u obviously misunderstood the whole news.

As to the article statement

Another woman said: "I am still a Muslim, I didn't convert."

I dont think that a Muslim person can convert to another religion despite the Federal Constitution saying Freedom of Religion as the Syariah Courts would not allow it. Correct me if im wrong.
written by arazak, December 02, 2008 17:21:00
For UMNO,"Shanti!" (peace) is an obscene word. They do not understand the concept of peace!
written by maran08, December 02, 2008 19:06:32
Hey we Malaysian we eat nasilemak, khuey tiew, roti canai. Yaga nothing wrong man .... Because we Malaysian.

Fatwa let it be to Corruption, abuse of power, ISA.....
written by mountainking, December 02, 2008 19:10:52
just go and check the National Fatwa Council members whether they got still watch porn or not lah?

i haven't even asked the question, have you ever had extra-marital affairs or fornication.

hypocrites... munafiq , munafiq , munafiq.

written by Davy McChester, December 03, 2008 09:50:58
Jakim should demand on the Indian Govt. for the terrorist bodies as the Indian muslims have refused to have them buried in their cementaries.These are true muslims,not converts. Any take ?