Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Petrol Price To Drop Again Before Hari Raya Haji

Petrol Price To Drop Again Before Hari Raya Haji PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 December 2008 09:03

(Bernama) The second reduction in petrol price since Nov 18 will be made before the Hari Raya Haji, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad disclosed Monday.

"Definitely before Hari Raya Haji," he said when met by reporters after closing a seminar on business development for small traders and entrepreneurs, here.

The drop in price, he said, would not be more than 15 sen, while indicating that it would be for petrol only.

"We are now facing an extraordinary situation where the price of diesel in the global market is higher than that for petrol and because of this, the government is still giving a subsidy of RM1.43 for per litre of diesel.

With the latest decision, RON97 petrol is expected to drop to RM1.85 per litre from RM2 now and RON92 to RM1.75 from RM1.90.

On Nov 17, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak announced the reduction of RON97 price from RM2.15 per litre to RM2, and RON92 and diesel from RM2.05 to RM1.90.

Shahrir, however, said the decision on the mechanism to fix fuel price could not be discussed at the National Economic Council meeting in Putrajaya today as the focus was on the security situation in the country.

"We may discuss it at the next council meeting after Hari Raya Haji," he said, adding that the government was considering whether to use the floor price mechanism or continue with managed floatation to fix the fuel price.

On complaints on traders refusing to reduce the prices of goods despite the oil price reductions, Shahrir said currently traders selling goods coming from the factories were unable to do so as the prices had been determined at the time the orders were made.

"But the traders have assured that the manufactured goods would be cheaper in the first quarter of next year," he said.

On complaints on the spiralling prices of food at eateries, Shahrir said consumers could help reduce the prices by not frequenting such eateries, hence lowering demand and the prices.

written by miracle, December 02, 2008 09:20:05
said they price will be revise every two weeks. today oil drops to US50. want to eat more of the rakyat rights and telan alone. when increase dont have to wait for "hari raya" esok tetap 12mn naik turun tunggu la nanti i ummum tunggu la mengapa nak rush rush kena la tunggu dia ummu nanti TUNGGU la.PEROMPAK
written by orangmsia, December 02, 2008 09:45:40
Really bullsh*t by Shahril again. Reduction of RM0.15 only?? You must be joking. The price should be less than RM1.50/L as cruel oil price is less than USD50/barrel now. BN pirates
written by Chialat, December 02, 2008 09:59:02
the petro price is to drop most likely one day before the by-election in terengganu!
written by Lostsoul12, December 02, 2008 10:00:47
Currently, we over pay the petrol by more then RM 0.60 per litter, plus the RM0.30 government subsidy, the government (or should I said umno) sucks almost RM0.90 per litter from rakyat! Wonder where all the monies go?
written by oceanuz, December 02, 2008 10:07:15
It's time to cut that 30% bus surcharge as well.
It's killing the common folks.
written by Democrats, December 02, 2008 10:10:57
Pleaselah sharir..... we, "the greedy rakyat" demands a bigger drop in fuel price!" I admit, "we are greedy". But what about the government? aren't you "greedy as well"?
written by antiilluminati, December 02, 2008 10:29:58
Can someone organis a Nation boycott for such irresponsible act of the Govt with regard to Petrol Subsidy ?.
I would like to think of not hitting the road for 1 day as the silent protest. Can someone think of such a move ?.
written by sisa, December 02, 2008 10:44:59
Do not divert attention by accusing or mentioning others on price reduction. Just do your path and reduce accordingly - the others will follow. Even as the economy is slowing down and Rakyat is suffering, you are talking nonsense even as oil per barel is below USD50/=.
Do your path before pointing fingers at others.
What a MEGA sisa -fighting for his own political survival.
written by IbnAbdHalim, December 02, 2008 11:21:55
Hike time it shot by 30 sen and then by 78 sen but going down time it takes a snail's pace by going down 15 sen in each exercise. The "Menteri 15 doit" label suits him well.
written by Apache, December 02, 2008 11:49:04
WE should all boycott all petronas petrol stations for 1 day.
Then it will hit them hard. Looks like we are being treated like beggars with comments like we aree greedy la, wait la.
Idiots like shahrir who talks via his ass said review every 2 weeks?
where is the ****ing promise, now postoned to Raya haji? berapa banyak u nak rompak

Lets boycott petronas stations
written by Rozlan, December 02, 2008 12:49:43
It seem the BN govt is dilly dallying with the price reduction..Now we the unfortunate Malaysians were subsidising the petrol.In other word we had been indirectly being imposed fuel tax by BN govt.. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 02, 2008 13:21:21
They say every 2 weeks fuel prices will be review,why they are delaying to 3 weeks.Talk cock!You all are bluffing us.Your fuel is free while we have to pay.Is this fair!
written by pixieface, December 02, 2008 13:58:43
Its recession. When will there be an announcement for all govt ministers
chief ministers, excos have their salaries and expenses SLASHED !!!
written by Apache, December 02, 2008 14:02:22
HI pixieface?

What recession? in bolehland we are not hit unlike the world.
Are you dreaming? salaries in expenses slashed in BNend gov?
youre joking?
only the common public like us have to tighten our belts and beg for price cuts and reductions

written by Apache, December 02, 2008 14:03:09
we should boycott all BN / UMNO held business