Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA slams Mukhriz's suggestion to abolish vernacular schools

MCA slams Mukhriz's suggestion to abolish vernacular schools PDF Print
Monday, 01 December 2008 20:58
By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

MCA president Datuk Ong Tee Keat has wasted no time in condemning Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir's suggestion to abolish vernacular schools.

"Mukhriz is just one of the many who are now repeating the same polemics that are a few decades old, simply because of the advent of their party's poll," the Transport Minister said.

"It is saddening because politicians cannot think out of the box," he wrote in a blog posting.

In a press conference in Parliament today, the candidate for Umno Youth chief in the March party elections said that all schools should teach subjects in Bahasa Malaysia except for language subjects.

He said the proposal to have one unified school system could help address the problem of non-Malays misunderstanding the concept of "Ketuanan Melayu," or Malay Supremacy, which has become a source of tension between Malays and non-Malays.

Mukhriz argued that such misunderstandings were a result of a lack of national unity, which he blamed on the existence of vernacular shools.

Also in Parliament, MCA vice president Datuk Liow Tiong Lai said there was no reason to change the education system as the current one was accepted by all.

"The present system is still the best to ensure unity and harmony in our multiracial country," the Health Minister said.

He added that it was an old fallacy that vernacular primary schools caused unity problems.

He reasoned that at secondary level, the students were still able to integrate.

"He might not understand that teaching in your mother tongue is more effective at the primary level," Liow added.

Comments (60)Add Comment
written by binarytan, December 01, 2008 21:02:45
Ketuanan Melayu is everything, you MCA just shut up and shake your tail.

Wait I will throw u a bone and go away!!!

Fcuk off MCA and UMNO, don't act in front of our eyes. Capture those MCA and put them under ISA then we will say AMENO is fair. Talk Cock Sing Song only.

MCA is becoming uglier under OTK empire

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 21:07:33
OTK, I dare you to repeat this inside Parliament and tell Mukhriz to shut his mouth.Write him a official letter from MCA and condemn his action in the strongest possible term,then you have my solid support from ahmadneil.
written by binarytan, December 01, 2008 21:08:48
Ahmadneil, sorry OTK does not have balls!!!

Talk cock sing song only this MCA. Long time we also never heard of the other ball-less MIC.

written by rajaphillips, December 01, 2008 21:08:56
INILAH dia Mukhriz a/l Mahathir Mohamed Iskandar Kutty. Bapak borek anak rintik. The true colours of an INDIAN MUSLIM behaving like a Malay. IN Malay culture (which is alien to the Mahathir family except Marina) THIS IS CALLED KURANG AJAR, BIADAP. Like father like son
written by Zym Zym, December 01, 2008 21:10:59
the problem of non-Malays misunderstanding the concept of "Ketuanan Melayu," or Malay Supremacy, which has become a source of tension between Malays and non-Malays.

The problem of Malays not understanding the concept of Muhibbah is that all Malays should go to vernacular schools instead.
written by lamakawan, December 01, 2008 21:11:22
AN APPEAL TO ANY MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT WHO IS FROM PAKATAN RAKYAT TO FILE A POLICE REPORT ON MUKRITZ'S STATEMENT THAT VERNACULAR SCHOOLS BE ABOLISHED.
IF AFTER THIS POLICE REPORT MUKRITZ IS NOT ARRESTED UNDER ISA, THEN ISA MUST BE ABOLISHED.
written by kingelvis, December 01, 2008 21:12:01
Your grandfather was mmamak so was your racist dad so you now melayu kah?
Ask daddy which part of India he's from and you know your true ancestorship. So if majority of malaysians are indians then you and your daddy will be fighting for ketuanan india?
You fakers really can fool the malays. They really must be stupid. And I am ELVIS. smilies/grin.gif
written by Liberace, December 01, 2008 21:14:03
As long as you call it Malay Supremacy, there is nothing to misunderstand. The term is self explanatory. It means that the Malay race is supreme, i.e., better than the rest of us. If that's not what you mean, then call it something else. Is it easier to call it something else or to abolish a major institution? Mukhriz is just doing himself a favor to win an election. Shameless like his dad.
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 21:16:03
The bus conductor is shouting at the traffic warden for his puncture tyre.
written by Old Man, December 01, 2008 21:17:34
How come Muhkriz and Co continue to send their children ( with their great fluency in ENGLISH ) to Universities in overseas? Even a great number of ordinary Malays are left out with such privilege! smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by disgruntled, December 01, 2008 21:20:29
tHE SON OF mAHATHIR mUKRIZ is shouting that vernacular schools be abolished. This is the most explicit statement of sedition. Mukriz must be arrested under the ISA. he has instigated the non malays by saying their vernacular schools be abolished. What are you police out there doing? May I ask th IGP to reply here?
written by KARMANNGHIA, December 01, 2008 21:21:48
Too much rich food from M***K stalls can make you giddy.

so.

Boycott M*M*K Stalls.

written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 21:25:28
The son and father is farting again.Their dirty habit have failed to stop.We must never again let them fart in our face.
written by Awaken64, December 01, 2008 21:29:12
Once an educationist mentioned... the school system divides and creates a major identity issue to forge a Bangsa Malaysia. After 6 years in a mono cultural environment these students are asked to integrate as one.

We fail to observe Thailand, Indonesia even Vietnam all these nations have broken barriers that are race based and stand tall as Thai, Indonesian or Vietnamese.. However when we are overseas we have the sticky start to explain how we are Malaysian and then Chinese and Indian. There arising the question of a national identity.

The sacrifice and efforts of the founding fathers of Malaya may not be consistent with the current generation partly due to the scars of the past race riot in 69.

Many a younger generations have no such fear and integrating with friends of different race or religion is a common step IF PARENTS DO NOT create ill judgment in the young minds.

The way forward is to break perceptions, false belief and ill will. May the future generation bring about a new Malaysia. It is a possibility as what happened to South Africa.

Let there be faith and hope
written by justme bc, December 01, 2008 21:31:15
What does Mukr**z know about education system? He should go to his father's bakery and learn how to make roti. This young idiot does not even know his ancestors are from India.
written by fletcher, December 01, 2008 21:41:39
The only way to go forward in education is every race have to sacrifice by adpoting english medium school.
written by cheekhiaw, December 01, 2008 22:07:04
In a country run by thieves, liars and murderers, the reason why so many balk at having their children educated in schools run by people appointed by the first group is more than just political.

Only idiots cannot see that...

written by truthbespoken, December 01, 2008 22:07:50
Mukhriz is speaking against specific provisions of the Constitution! He should be charged for SEDITION! He cannot equate the Ketuanan Melayu issue with vernacular schools. There is no provision for Ketuanan Melayu in the Constitution! It's that fcuking simple!
written by Adrian, December 01, 2008 22:25:48
Ya.... it is bcos election is just around the corner. Please vote for those who can bring Melayu out of poverty without bringing others down.
written by 1351, December 01, 2008 22:33:31
S/O matir,

Here let me help you out. Just days ago, billionaire publisher Rupert Murdoch in a feature entitled "Fortune favours the smart" - this self made man who has been round the block in both Aust and the US, has come out to voice the importance of acquiring additional skills(language) for kids to be better prepared in an increasingly borderless world.

Let me share excerpts from the article with Murdoch's emphasis(in his view) on how public education in Western economies have come to fail students. Murdoch starts by saying .....

"As a rule, we spend too much time on avoiding failure. The real answer is to start pursuing success"(keris boy take note)

"Developing countries seem to understand this. When I travel to places like India and China, I do not hear people making lame excuses for mediocre schools. Instead of suggesting that their students cannot learn, they set high standards and expect they will be met. And they have crash programs for more and better schools".

This next para is both the where the meat is as well as a disclaimer, the justification of his view.

"I am not saying that Chinese education is perfect. It certainly is not. But it is clear that in a system where you are expected to perform, there is less slacking off. Maybe that¹s because poor people in China know that doing well on tests and getting a good education is the ticket to personal progress. Or maybe they know that the consequences for failure are much more severe than they are in, say, the more comfortable societies that are America and Australia".

And by the way, Rupert Murdoch sent his two youngest daughters to the one and only bilingual public school in Manhattan, NY - Shuang Wen. Famous last words from Rupert ....

"Not many American children have a school day or school week that goes as long as Shuang Wen. But instead of repelling students, the school is attracting them. African-American parents are clamouring to get their children into this school. They know that the hard work and sacrifice Shuang Wen demands of its students is their children’s ticket out of poverty and hopelessness".

Don't listen to me heck, what do I know but when Rupert or Warren Buffet or even Soros speaks - it is best to keep a inquisitive ear out. Many of us may or may not achieve our ambitions this life time but at least we have the requisite to ensure our kids are given ample opportunity instead.

Lastly, son of Matir - you can steal from us but education is one area where we will resist to the hilt. Try doing away with vernacular schools, just try it and you'll soon be shaft up your old man's arse, believe me.

Regards all,
written by Ulan Benson, December 01, 2008 22:37:01
Don't talk cock la, OngTK. You have MCA, Semi has MIC, and then of course, there will be UM=NO.

As usual, you like to one thing, then do another just the Chinese said..."Hang out a star fruit at your door, Sell dog meat"...You are a transport Minimonster, but you are just another big time crook. Those in the education industry know that you has a personal '$$$ collector by the name of Chuah' to collect funds for you if they want to promote their schools in China...and nobody dares to touch this guy as you are the man behind the scene.

Only you willing to dissolve MCA, and no more racist party...then the stupid menatlity of Malay government will cease to exist. But this is unlikely as you are a nothing but a double headed snake...to be precise, nothing else but a crook who seeks fortune for yourself only.
written by megahyper, December 01, 2008 22:42:51
Muslihat sang mukris.

1st) He is no Educationist. He is a politician. A pure opportunist. Why do you think he raise this subject at this hour?

2nd) If he's that "concern", wouldn't he sound out on our overall education standard, which is sliding and continue sliding? Do you think he care?

3rd) remember sabah CM? They rotate and rotate. When it's their turn, they stop rotating.

You think this botak believable?
written by belantai, December 01, 2008 22:47:40
We know the response.Even to close a school at Batang Berjuntai due to lack of students those greedy guys want it to be replaced or transferred to Subang Jaya!They want the number of venacular school to be the same or even more.Those greedy lot will never want to trade the school in the name of national unity.Solly Malaysia will remain this way in the next 100 years.One of my staff stopped halfway after bombarded with questions during a presentation at Putrajaya 'Velly solly my Bahasa and English is no good I call my boss to answer all the questions!'Well done Mukhriz at least you got the gut not like the others like to discuss behind closed doors.
written by jchantw, December 01, 2008 22:52:03
What I do not understand is why is UMNO insisting on Malay being supreme in one breath and then in the next breath they are insisting on the NEP for life. Where is the logic and common sense in that. Unless, as everybody can see, it is just a scam to fatten their already fat bank a/c.
written by merchant222, December 01, 2008 23:06:27
UMNO is not what it was before. The new UMNO "resurrected" by Mamathir means "UNSCROUPLOUS MAMAKs NATIONAL ORGANIZATION". It is all about them being PENDATANGS and PENUMPANGS trying to fool the STUPIDS (BUMIPUTRAs) into believing that they MAMAKs are the ULTRA-BUMIPUTRAS in protecting the rights of BUMIPUTRAS!

Mamaks in Bolehland!
written by merchant222, December 01, 2008 23:08:49
Wah, now the Mamas (*****s) word also cannot use ah? Why?, ok-lah, Keralanese still can use lah!
written by Rhan, December 01, 2008 23:23:35
We have no choice, we need a good education system like the vernacular school to produce a quality workforce who could stand on our own and at the same time feed the parasite.
written by ssathia, December 01, 2008 23:25:54
Did Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir suggest that vernacular schools be abolished? Id so, what did he mean when he used the term "vernacular schools". If he had studied English and knew how to use English, then he could not meant Chinese or Tamil schools. Why?

The term "verna" originates in Latin and it means a slave born in the master's house. Vernacular language means "a language native to a region or country rather than a literary, cultured or foreign language".(Merriam Webster Dictionary). It also means vulgar tongue of the masses. (hyperdictionary)

The whole world knows that Chinese came from China and Tamil came from India and Sri Lanka. They are definitely not native to Malaysia to be qualified as vernacular language of Malaysia. They have more than 3,000 year history each and have well developed writing, grammar, epics, philosophy, science and mathematics and fine arts recorded in them. No right thinking human on earth would say that they are vernacular languages in any sense of the word. They are highly cultured and established languages.

What about Malay? Only a few politicised local Malays claim that they are native while the rest of the world knows that Malay too did not originate in Malaysia and is found in Vietnam, Cambodia, Philippines, Brunei and parts of Indonesia. On the other hand, Malay does not appear to have had its own alphabet. In the olden days it used Indian writing and then later switched to Arabic and then to Roman writing all in matter of a few centuries It is a also a language of the masses. So, you decide if Malay is a vernacular language. If you say Malay is indeed a vernacular language, then does Datuk Mukhriz wants to do away with teaching in Malay?

Moreover, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir could not be asking for abolishing Tamil schools that teach a language which is ancestoral to Malayalam that in turn runs in his family blood. One would have thought he might be sensitive and would care a little about his personal history and the ways of his ancestors,

Is he then calling for abolishing the teaching of true native languages of Malaysia such as those of Orang Asli, Kadazan and Dayak? if so, that would be bad, really bad. If they do not teach these native languages in Malaysia, where else can they go to? All these native languages will die needlessly.

Please Datuk Mukriz. You have a moral and legal duty to protect your ancestoral language. You have a moral and legal duty to protect all languages of Malaysia. If not, you cannot hope to become a respected true leader of Malaysia but perhaps be spurned as another racist dictator that the world would soon like to forget.

Be a creator as a true leader, embrace all people as your brethren that you would care for and the world would love you for that. If you are English educated, then there are many books that can you could read on how to become a good leader. If you care to learn Malayalam, perhaps you have already done that, you would find that there are many good books in Malayalam too on leadership.
written by Anak_Asia, December 01, 2008 23:36:33
Perhaps Mukhriz can define the proper meaning of Ketuanan Melayu in all major newspapers to close the issue once and for all.

Btw, the freedom to learn mother tongue is a form of human rights.

written by zackzeni, December 01, 2008 23:38:31
sudah la bro....another wayang kulit by umno and mca to regain the rakyat's support. don't think that we are stupid to fall into your cheap game. aku tak nampak pun masalahnya ada sekolah jenis kebangsaan. mcm mana kalau kita hapuskan sekolah kebangsaan, tentu org melayu pulak marah. so same goes to other races, because education is something vital to the continuity of any races (bahasa melambangkan bangsa. jangan kaitkan sekolah dengan politk atau isu perkauman.
written by Sinewy, December 01, 2008 23:52:25
Stop the Nazi Supremacist and South African Apartheid in Malaysia and Unity will prevail.
written by Rhan, December 02, 2008 00:01:09
We defend the vernacular schools because we know that there is some stupid who never realizes what is mean by choice.
written by 1351, December 02, 2008 00:36:12
Hello Rhan, makan already ?

I'm not Chinese educated and I'm just as lost as many illiterates given a menu in Hong Kong and Taipeh. Fortunately I use to sit down an watch Hong Kong Cantonese serials with my grandmother - can survive with my Cantonese and very bad Hokkien.

It is a smart choice to have a child learn/attend Chinese school at primary level and then have the choice of being able to switch beyond that. Those 5-6 years of schooling would prove priceless, the best gift a parent can give a child - my personal point of view. More affluent families in London today engage Chinese nannies instead of the usual French, German, Swiss au pair - just for the opportunity to expose the child and pick up an additional skill.

Public school systems in richer communities in California have been emphasizing an additional 2 hours a day for the teaching of Mandarin but here in M'sia, UMNO and the many nay sayers continue to deride vernacular schools.

Heck, if I didn't care, if I don't 'sayang' your kids - I'll tell you send them to govt schools, go attend ITM, no need English lah and become an UMNO thief just like Mat Tyson and Khir Toyol.

Regards Rhan and all out there

written by cpchen, December 02, 2008 00:40:25
Mukhriz has hurt our feeling, he don't see the real problems in Malaysia. He can only see a tree and not the forest with his eye wide open. The racial problem are man created by those in power. The kampong folk live harmoniously no matter they are Malay, chinese or Indian. They have no problem living in harmony with each other until those fellow like Mukhriz who want to fight for UMNO youth chief and start shouting : Close down the vernacular school, they divide us but no body will believe in him because everyone known that he is a liar....
written by binarytan, December 02, 2008 01:06:06
Mama* son, let me give you a better option how to deal with it.

Abolish all mother languages including Mandarin, Tamil & BM, all schools only use English which is the international most prominent language.

Sack those lecturers, teachers without good qualification in English.
Sack those politician without English speaking.
Sack all religions teachers
burn all books in mother language, like Emperor Qing Shi Huang
Ban Mandarin, BM and Tamil in all TV programmes.
Ban Mandarin, BM and Tamil Newspapers.
Ban Mandarin, BM and Tamil Road Signs.

Then Malaysia will progress rapidly towards better tomorrow as complete UMNO gang will be sacked.

Just to learn Bahasa Malaysia alone is only good inside Malaysia, you could not even communicate well to China and India.

Fcuk off Mama*thirism

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by MalaysianUnited, December 02, 2008 01:47:50
Zym Zym,

Before we speak about MUHIBBAH..can we go to UNITY first?..

What u say bro?.. smilies/smiley.gif
written by MalaysianUnited, December 02, 2008 01:51:39
padhma,

Why are people slaming Mukriz? His suggestion is worth considering. Of course it has to be researched carefully. How many vernacular schools you find in Europe? Or other parts of Asia? or even Australia?

cos they just want to fight for their own interest..that all..

Malaysia..unity..???..

NEEEEEHHHHHH!!!!

Also we have strangers from other country..
written by Semut Jantan, December 02, 2008 03:02:24
He is the product of the Malay school.

Just look at him.

Ptui!!!!!
written by The dragonheart, December 02, 2008 03:53:03
"He might not understand that teaching in your mother tongue is more effective at the primary level," Liow added.

Hello Datuk Liow,

I don't know how u become a politician... so ignorant!!

Have u been to an international primary school?? see how Malaysian kids speaks English and did well in their studies?

Have u seen a Malay or Indian boy or girl study in Chinese school? do they have problem with their mother tongue?

I have seen Malay child in Arab, french and German school ...all got no problem about mother tongue ...

We are talking about Malaysian unity... unity starts from young... if u separate them during primary level, they will never unite at secodary level..

DAP is talking about Malaysian Malaysia, MCA is talking about separation and diverse education from small age...

podah... macam ini sampai bila2 pon malaysia tak akan unite... Ur excuse isso lame
written by nothing less, December 02, 2008 06:30:32
I have got only one message for you Mookriz, NO WAYYYY!!
At least with the vernacular schools, you will have 1 Chinese and 1 Indian Education officer in all District and State Education Offices and Departments. If you take away these schools, it will be 100% Malays. As it is now nearly 99% Malaysa from the ranks of Security Guards to the State Director or District Head.
written by CoolMama54, December 02, 2008 06:38:40
For the Tamil kids it'll be like changing jobs from being slave-driven in a chinaman company to a better working environment in a multinational company.
written by adan, December 02, 2008 08:31:18
Great suggestion- One school to develop one -tracked closed-up mind.!! MIC, MCA have LOST almost EVERYTHING- eductional and job opportunities, places of worship, soial,economic ,politcal and basic human rights . The ONLY ISSUE that they have managaed to preserve during the 50 odd years is the vernacular schools- and the mother-tongue. .Take this away and complete the death of MIC AND MCA... We don't want parties led by self-serving scums to continue to survive.Worse still we do not wish to see thses spineless mosquito party leaders continue to provide support and strength to a prehistoric party with prehistoric ideas and concepts.!!
written by educationist, December 02, 2008 08:59:38
There is no confusion over the Ketuanan melayu issue because of the vernacular school system.
He is taking after the mold of his father , twisting and turning facts to suit his political motives.
Yes, there's tension, there's lack of national unity but the real cause is the divide and rule policies of the UMNOputras.
written by batsman, December 02, 2008 09:08:35
Frankly I think Mukhriz is about 200 years ahead of his time. In future there is no doubt we should unite completely, but Malaysia of today is not ideal. It is far from ideal. For eg. the incessant quarrels in New Era College show how immature some Malaysians are. Maybe it is time for wiser and stronger people to make the decisions? But stronger also means use of force in most cases - which I disagree with.

Anyway, this MCA - UMNO sandiwara over Ketuanan Melayu and vernacular schools shows how much wiser and cunning MCA/UMNO is compared to stupid Malaysians. they are just heating up society and making everyone angry for worse things to come and stupid Malaysians are playing into their trap.
written by Rhan, December 02, 2008 09:29:29
Hi Casper,

Besides greeting “makan already?” the Chinese another priority is education. Our forebear in the Nanyang region never cease to donate to education though some of them always tak cukup makan. And will never pardon us if we will to hand over our next generation education to a bunch of parasite and thieves who until today can’t make up their mind which language work best for them. Look at their policy on language for science and mathematics, if our Chinese Educators will to back down, we would become the super idiot like the one in Sekolah Kebangsaan.

We beat them 1000 to 0 even if the medium of language is in whatever language be it English or Malay as long as their leaders treat education as part of politic. The sadden part is that after many years, the ignorant general mass still allow this parasite to fool them in the name of ketuanan and kebangsaan.

The Malaysian Chinese opponent and major competitors is the mainland capitalist. Ask any Singaporean parents who occupied the top position in their children school examination, the answer are kids from mainland China. And our kampung boy still not willing to wake up.

To survive, we can’t rely on this parasite.
written by Kacang Tanah, December 02, 2008 09:34:49
We will have fewer problems if we scrap off UMNO and Mukhriz.
written by Democrats, December 02, 2008 09:36:01
OTK needs Chinese School. Or he cannot fill up his timetable of opening ceremonies as MCA president....
written by Bigjoe99, December 02, 2008 09:48:44
This is just dumb of Mukrhiz. If he wins the UMNO youth job, he cuts himself off from a top ministerial post especially the education one. No way Najib can give him a top job because it would look real bad for MCA, MIC and Gerakan..

But it does show some younger leaders of UMNO are so out of touch and have no clue about the other races.
written by Navigator, December 02, 2008 09:50:00
Imagine the level of intelligence of such UMNO aspirants to power. It is a shame when foreigners look at our infantile politicians.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 02, 2008 09:52:31
"Mukhriz is just one of the many who are now repeating the same polemics that are a few decades old, simply because of the advent of their party's poll," the Transport Minister said.

WELL THIS IDIOT HAS TO LIVE UPTO HIS OLD MAN'S REPUTATION AND MAKE SURE WE SINK LOWER THAN MUGABE'S ZIMBABWE
written by Kacang Tanah, December 02, 2008 10:02:12
The government:
……………. divides the people into Bumi and non-Bumi
……………. allows only Bumi to enter UITM
……………. limits non-Bumi into matriculation

I don’t see the government is genuine in uniting its people. So Mukhriz, please don’t talk cock
written by miwaki, December 02, 2008 10:28:56
I think the only way to unite the people of malaysia is to abolish national schools and all study Tamil instead because there is 5000 years of wisdom in this particular language.

You can't unite people by abolishing vernacular schools,you change the government and everything will be great.
written by hiro, December 02, 2008 11:31:32
The idea of having a unified school with compulsory mother tongue subject is worth consideration. The biggest set back is vernacular schools have more discipline and better teachers. To absorb them into the public school system is to let a minority group of dedicated teachers doing work for the clearly under-performing majority, some whom can't even string proper sentences together - resulting in a NET LOSS of total education quality in the country. So before you abolish vernacular schools, please reform the public school system first so that there's no reason for vernacular schools to exist in the first place.
written by Cinakelate, December 02, 2008 11:51:00
MCA! be warned. This Anak Ketuanan Malayalam intend to be PM one day. If that ever happens, he will implement it. Get the hell out of BN, have nothing to do with UMNO.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 02, 2008 11:51:46
First and foremost, will the government assign two additional language teachers (for Mandarin & Tamil) to each and every school?
Also, isn’t there a shortage of teachers in this area at the present moment?