Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kit Siang slams Muhyiddin for not being inclusive

Kit Siang slams Muhyiddin for not being inclusive PDF Print
Monday, 01 December 2008 18:49

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang has shot back at Umno vice president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin for asking Datuk Zaid Ibrahim to explain his presence at the PKR congress.

"The favourite in the contest for Umno Deputy President and therefore Deputy Prime Minister-designate next March should be an example of inclusive thinking, greater openness and tolerance," Lim said.

Having resigned from the Cabinet recently and making several appearances at opposition functions since, the former de facto Law Minister's presence at the opposition party's congress has fuelled speculation that he is ready to cross over from Umno.

"Is 'loyalty to Umno' so brittle and fragile that it must be invoked against any Umno member for attending an opposition function?" Lim said in the Parliament lobby today.

Calling the International Trade and Industry Minister "exclusive, intolerant and petty-minded," he cited examples of bipartisan dialogue to attack Muhyiddin.

He said that he had attended the official opening of the Umno building at Putra World Trade Centre in the 80s and Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz also attended a DAP seminar on First-World Parliament in May 2004.

"Was my loyalty to DAP ever in doubt for attending an Umno function? Why didn't 'loyalty to Umno become an issue when Nazri attended the DAP function in 2004?" the Ipoh Timur said to reporters here.

"If Muhyiddin is so swift in issuing an ultimatum to Zaid, will he be equally swift against Umno Seberang Jaya assemblyman Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah, who was the Barisan Nasional candidate in the Permatang Pauh by-election, for saying he is at the crossroads between staying in Umno or joining Pakatan Rakyat because of 'blatant power abuses'?" Lim questioned further.

ALSO READ: Zaid Ibrahim must explain presence at PKR congress: Muhyiddin

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by Hitenwolf, December 01, 2008 19:05:18
This Mud-yiddin hasn't even become the deputy prime minister and he has started to flex his muscles. Imagine what will happen when he becomes the DPM? So no more BN men attending their friends' functions who're from the opposing camp or they'll be branded as showing disloyalty to BN. What kind of narrow-mindedness is this mud-filled headed fellow trying to show? Anyway, in UMNO, the big wigs can do and say anything they like so long as it serves their agenda. Mud-yiddin is giving a sneak preview of the crabs the citizens can expect when the new team takes over the management of the nation.
written by Krepot, December 01, 2008 19:12:39
Muhyiddin still think like village idiots!
That is the quality of UMNO leaders, sadly.

When will they ever grow out of "UMNO and Opposition Parties cannot sit together in at table" attitude.

After all, what are both sides of the divide working for?
For a Better Malaysia
Get that concept into your thick head, Muhyiddin!
When you speak, it clearly shows how dumb you really are.
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 20:02:52
Ya lah,who is he to talk like this!He is only a trade minister.What so great about him!
written by cheekhiaw, December 01, 2008 22:11:34
Kit Siang,

Even amongst tuans, there are people that consider themselves bigger tuans. That is what inspires them...

written by doggone, December 02, 2008 01:14:25

So what do you want the rakyat to do during all the rayas when you fellas have open-houses? I voted for the opposition, so I cannot attend yours and you goons should not come to mine? Fark !

Muh ah Muh..., you should start behaving like an intellect even if you are not one. How do you expect our foreign investors to respect you when you talk like this.

PUT ON A MUZZLE AND STOP FLEXING YOUR MUSSELS. oops..

written by Hakim Abdullah, December 02, 2008 10:43:14
our hope for a tolerable leader just went down the drain....