Mukhriz: Scrap vernacular schools, one system for all PDF Print
Monday, 01 December 2008 18:42

By Sa'odah Elias, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno Youth chief aspirant Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir has called on the Government to abolish the vernacular school system as a means to enhance unity among people of various races.

He said a single school system was the only way to check the racial polarisation that was getting out of control in the country.

“The government should consider introducing only one school system with Bahasa Malaysia as the medium of instruction, except for Science and Mathematics which are already being taught in English.

“Of course, pupils should then be given the option to study their mother tongues. Under this system, the Malays will also have the option of studying other languages like Mandarin and Tamil and this will further boost unity among them,” he told reporters at Parliament House on Monday.

The Umno Youth exco member said it was time for Malaysia to do away with the dual school system, which was practised by only a handful of countries in the world, as it had contributed to the problem of disunity in the country.

He said over 99% of countries in the world practised a single school system.

He expressed hope that leaders of Barisan Nasional component parties would not take his suggestion in a negative light as it was only meant as a suggestion to resolve, once and for all, the problem of racial polarisation affecting the citizenry.

“If they reject this suggestion, then they should explain why they are against it. How is it possible for them on one hand to talk about unity and question Malay rights, while on the other hand still insist on having a different school system for their race?

“If you want equal rights then you cannot have a different school sistem. You cannot have your cake and eat it too,” he added.

He also urged all parties to stop harping on issues that could create tension among Barisan component parties, including on the issue of Ketuanan Melayu or Malay supremacy.

Lately, he said, there were many statements made by leaders of component parties that had the potential to create anger among the Malays and Umno members.

“If they insist on making statements on that issue, then do not be surprised if the Malays start talking about the economic supremacy of the non-Malays.

“Despite all that has been said on the issue of Malay supremacy, the Malays do not feel in any way superior or the master when it comes to the country’s economy,” he said.

Comments (63)Add Comment
written by Knight, December 01, 2008 18:46:25
I agree, but the matriculation system and MCKK must be abolished also. Have one single unified eduction system for all, and one single examination based on absolute meritocracy, without reference to creed, colour and race. Can Malaysians accept this challenge?

written by nana tanjung, December 01, 2008 18:51:20
i totally agree. in the spirit of malaysian malaysia, if we really want to strive to become one malaysia, the first step is to stop funding the vernacular school. ( should not ban their existence though, in the spirit of freedom to attain preferred system of education).let all government schools have a single uniformed system. we cannot be hypocrite.
written by avaaz, December 01, 2008 18:54:48
Excellent, Then would schools and universities accept enrollment based totally on MERITOCRACY?
Would there be enough funding for Mandrin and Tamil studies? Forgive me for being suspicious of your good intentions, or would Mandarin and Tamil slowly and systematiclly be wiped out from the syllabus, somewhere along the line??
Food for thought???
written by MsLim, December 01, 2008 18:56:13
Yes I agreed. The ministers also must send their children to the "One System School". They MUST NOT SEND THEIR CHILDREN TO INTERNATIONAL SCHOOL.
written by Hitenwolf, December 01, 2008 19:11:31
Scrap your bloody head bald first before you start to think rationally. Racial polarisation in this country is not just caused by a one-medium instruction schooling system but the inequalities, manipulations and abuses brought about by the divisive NEP. When the race is hardly supreme in any sphere why are you so insistence about Malay supremacy. It's only an illusion that blinds you from the path of reality and true existence. No wonder UMNO is driving the Malays to live in a dream world filled with deluded thoughts.
written by Littlebird, December 01, 2008 19:11:35
Yes Little Mahathir...maybe you should write "Ketuanan Dilemma". First, have prayer session for all religion in the school and not one single religion. Have teachers care for all not like the one who said "lelaki india got no balls etc etc". Stop subtle religious spread by various activities. Let the children eat food of their choice. By the way, kan vernacular school part of the social contract. Didn't the rulers tell not to question the social contract. smilies/grin.gif
written by peace, December 01, 2008 19:12:03
Can be done if the national school can proved that they are giving better educational system than the Chinese school. If not why so many bumiputra in Sabah send their children to Chinese school? Bcos they fed up with the lousy and incompetence school teacher from national school. Low quality and racist when teaching.
written by Sudahlah tu, December 01, 2008 19:15:32
dengan kekayaan haram awak tu , mana anak dihantar ke sekolah tu ?
jangan buat rakyat bodoh lagi ...
sendiri tidak tahu nilai insan dan kemurnian agama , sekarang nak tunjuk arah pelajaran dilaksanakan .... tengoklah anak sendiri ... tidak bermoral langsung dan bergaya macam orang asing .... mana pergi kejatian bangsa melayu tu ... bapa tak ajar awak dan cucunya ke ?
sebagai ketua bangsa , awak sudah menghina kemautabatan ketuanan melayu ..
bapa awak menyediakan sistem persekolahan yang lemah dan tidak berdaya saing langsung untuk generasi mudamelayu hingga mereka masih digelar bangsa lemah ...
jangan tipu rakyat lagi ... tolonglah ..
cukup dengan bapa awak tu .. kita sudah bosanlah ..
boleh duduk diam diam dan kiralah wang haram awak itu selalu ... mungkin cepat masa akan berlalu dalam sehari hidup awak tu.
written by Victory or Death, December 01, 2008 19:18:58
Dear All,

Are you all accepting Mukriz's assumption/assertion that availability of vernacular school systems is the cause of racial polarisation?

Are you all accepting Mukriz's assertion that with a single school system , racial polarisation will disappear?

Surely, you are all more smarter than that!!!!!!!!!!

Who and what is the cause of racial polarisation????????

Even if a single school system is agreed by all to be implemented, then perhaps it may be accepted by many people if everybody including the rich and previleged (including the children of politicians and tycoons)is compelled to attend the single school system without exceptions.

Nobody should be allowed to send their children overseas to study until they have completed at least Form 5 locally.

Do you think the politicians ,the rich nad previleged will agree to this?
written by KKchan, December 01, 2008 19:28:39
The proposal deserves consideration and not brush aside because it comes from 'little Mahathir'. I remembered reading a piece on this a few months back propounding the merits of a single school system. We have at least 4 educational systems in operation in Malaysia, if we include international schools which now accepts locals quite readily. If Chinese school system is better, then adopt or adapt it for the national curriculum. There will be immense resistance and it will be a tough sale. But look at Singapore. It did away with the vernacular system.
written by humanist, December 01, 2008 19:29:31
Haha !

This is a good example of,

If you cannot be as good as they are, try to make them as bad as you are !

-Al
written by belantai, December 01, 2008 19:40:48
This is the first time an UMNO MP talks sense,well done Mukhriz.This should have been done a long time ago.It should start in 2009!before it is too late.Make sure the civic syllabus is emphasised.Currently the students are far apart and when they go to the universities or colleges. You can hardly see them mixing around.My partner (from Chinese school) all this while thought the Muslims are exempted from paying income tax!This is a good suggestion
disagree 21
written by asiseesit, December 01, 2008 19:41:36
a single education school system? why not!!

i agree with the system and doing away with the vernacular schools. but easier said than done.

creed, race and religion was never an issue when you put children together. it is always the politicians who seemed trumped up the issues. furthermore, teachers too have to be appropriately trained to educate all on cultural differentiations to the young minds and not divide them.

it should not be limited to just primary and secondary schools. what then when these students leave school and faced with the daunting task of securing a university placement because of the quota system still in place.

MARA too have to be opened to all malaysians. one can't expect compliance if the entire system only resolves one aspect of the process but failed terribly when it comes to the final most critical future undertakings.

i am all for it if the quota system is totally abolished for this single school system right up to universities.

written by karyeowl, December 01, 2008 19:46:55
I am a 4th generation Malaysian Chinese and I have 3 daughters. I do not send my daughters to Chinese school but to Sek Keb.

I want them to feel like being Malaysian, interacting with all other ethnics.

Meantime, we have to upgrade our national education standards too.
disagree 19
written by fletcher, December 01, 2008 19:49:17
I beleive can be discuss provided the following are fulfull.

1) There will be no more master and servant relationship
2) Everyones are equal and only preservation of the monastry
3)Racial discrimation law impremented
4) Multi religion, multi culture,multi racial policy
5) Meritocracy for all either in private or goverment department
6) Free quota system.

With all this condition fulfill, I believe then we can receive alot of suuport from the rakyat.
written by shan, December 01, 2008 19:49:32
Shut the F up you otak lembu ::,.,You want to emulate other countries at your phims and fancies.,.Emulate by all means ,,and don't create ruckus when a non malay get the top job in the state.,.You self centred idiotic numbskulls have got no sense of direction and will never appreciate anybody else who is not from UMNO doing a good job.,..,
You father rewarded a clown who swam the english channel in the absence of the media and that too with a safty net,.,.What about the boy who did the same feat in half the time and without a net,..Racial intregations is it .,.My Balls!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by lamepug, December 01, 2008 19:51:21
believe me...saying is easy, doing it is another thingy..

before agree on these...wanna ask datuk, are you 7 or 10 years old?

do you really understand what in 7 or 10 years old pupils mind?

i strongly agree that our current education system needed to be change or upgraded

because now day kids are facing both physicals and minds abuse.

look at the school books bag... it's forced to get bigger every years, try the weights...

the whole mind set of the education is wrong... we send our kids to school to learn and UNDERSTAND but all this kids learn was knowing only.

our teachers teaching really in doubts, are their own mindset really makes teaching understandable or just regardless they have qualification to be a teacher where he/she read in front and the pupils read at the back of the class.

i came across lots of pupil and asked they to read a word, 10 out of 10 can read but spell it, that very good. but when come to when or how to use the words... 9 out of 10 do not understand.

knowing and understand are two different things.. conclude all in one is not a bad ideas, but seeking education is not like going to shop to get a all in one shampoo.

and before all that, do we thinks of the person involved can bare such weights of life .... and the person we refer to is...OUR CHILDREN~
written by shan, December 01, 2008 19:52:13
Where are you kids studing now? England,USA or Australia.,.You are not worthy of you words and this goes to all the BN dogs.
written by Msian Idol3, December 01, 2008 19:56:32
Fully agreed. National integration should be top priority.
written by zanie, December 01, 2008 20:00:20
For the first time I agree with what he says. It's not easy you know..But our curriculum must be amended to meet the demand of the different races in Malaysia. I have long ago gave this idea a thought..How nice it is if the system provides learning of major languages like mandarin, Tamil and Arabic.Of course with English as the second language. I would love to learn Mandarin if given a chance. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by Tlau, December 01, 2008 20:14:24
Why can't we emulate Singapore - medium of instruction is English, and chinese language is compulsory to the chinese, BM compulsory to the malays, tamil compulsory to the indians? they can also take up other languages if they want.
written by sarawakian, December 01, 2008 20:19:05
a single school system would be a good idea IF it was taught completely in English with students taking extra classes if they want to study other languages like Mandarin and Tamil. we could also make BM one compulsory language subject. hmm.. this begins to sound like when i was still in school in the 80s.

and this moron Mukhriz would be surprised to know that over here in Sarawak, I for one have seen MANY Malay and other non-Chinese parents sending their children to Chinese vernacular primary schools. interesting isn't it??

“Despite all that has been said on the issue of Malay supremacy, the Malays do not feel in any way superior or the master when it comes to the country’s economy,” he said

what a stupid way to slap oneself. no prizes for guessing why all the hot air of Malay supremacy doesn't get the Malays anywhere. the idea of Malay supremacy is used by UMNO to keep themselves in power and control the flow of money which doesn't end up in the hands of the common Malay anyway. poor suckers.

written by hamid, December 01, 2008 20:19:36
Yes i totally agree with you, so can we start with closing down Islamic school. I think Islamic school is a mother to all problem smilies/wink.gif
written by densemy, December 01, 2008 20:34:37
Good idea in principle, but by retaining BM as the language of education you relegate Malaysia and Malaysians to the dark ages ...
And what for... Nationalistic Pride???

How about you use some common sense for a change

It might be a good idea to abandon the whole religiocentric base of Malaysian education while you are at it
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 20:44:51
There is a room in the seventh floor hell,reserved for you and your dad. Pack up and go!
written by agadam magadam, December 01, 2008 20:47:09
Firstly, for all these suggestions to take place... Revamp the present day politicians... Then we talk..
Like someone here said, all the goons and bigots send their children to International Schools or for studies overseas. with the Rakyats' monies that they squandered..
In all honesty can these monkeys take the first step and do it..?? If not, little idiotic Mamahtir, just shut up..

Moreover, if we go ahead and agree, can they in all sincereity, allow the children of various races to practice their religous classes with freedom, like the good old days, when we had our religous services at the school chapel before classes.??? The Brother's Schools, where they produced top notch students..
Or not, we don't have to have religious classes at all, during school hours..
Have these classes on Saturdays or after school hours, and it should be optional to the students..Not forced upon.. That way, we breed less fanatics..
Go back to the '60's.. Life was so beautiful.. No religous problems...

It's Politicians who are to blame.. They create problems.. Separate religion from business and day to day running of the country.. Then we will not have all these problems..
After all, isn't it one race and group that has all these problems>>?? and we are sucked into it as well, forcibly... ??

The culprits ARE THE POLITICIANS... So Mukhriz,like I said, just shut up and go....squander more from the Rakyat.. You will have your day in HELL>

written by bradwell_estate, December 01, 2008 20:59:56
hey mukhriz - a**hole! yr oldman tried to stave the vernacular school to its non-existance but fail. now you try to be malay hero! have you not got any other matters to play up to get yr political support? don't be a low life!
written by chiramjeevi, December 01, 2008 21:10:22
NEXT EDUCATION MINISTER IN THE MAKING FOLLOWING THE FATHERS FOOT STEPS TO EVEN MESS UP THE EDUCATION SYSTEM.

WE NEED ONE EDUCATION SYSTEM AND WE CAN ACCEPT IF THE SCHOOL'S MAJOR SUBJECTS ARE TAUGHT IN ENGLISHAND EVERY RACE IN MALAYSIA CAN OPT TO TAKE UP THEIR MOTHER LANGUAGES, I AM SURE THE SABAHANS AND THE SARAWAKIANS WILL BE MORE COMFORTABLE.

WHILE EVERYONE IS GOING GLOBAL, THIS PERSON (MUKHRIZ)IS ONLY THINKING NATIONALLY FOR HIS BID FOR THE UMNO POST. EVERYTHING BOILS THE SAME THING.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, I HAD ENOUGH HOW ABOUT YOU!

written by roadbarra, December 01, 2008 21:22:44
uhuh....like father like son.
written by citizenmy, December 01, 2008 21:24:47
Mukhriz just lost my vote permanently today.

If he had suggested to scrap vernacular schools, and replace with 100% English medium school, I would have raised my hat for him. He is not fit to lead the country to survive in the globalisation era.
written by apa jadi, December 01, 2008 21:25:48
Well, well, well...It seems that all aspiring UMNOputras who want getting elected as a leader has to play a racial card. See the examples: Mahatail,Kera Jantan, Najib, H-is-a-mudding,etc.

The very call for scrapping vernacular school is racist in disguise. In drumming up this issue, this Putra a/l Mahatail thinks that he will get extra mileage in the popularity contest against his opponents. He forgot the quality he has as compared to the father. Getting elected is one thing, sustaining through the who of the power game is beyond his capability. Has anyone forgotten how he wetted his pants in a Prai hotel for an attempt pressured by his father to trying to force Pak Lah to abdicate? So much so that instead of using his mouth, he had to use an "open letter" to calling Pak Lah's abdication. I wonder who actually wrote that letter.

The racial chasm we have today is not that simple as just scrapping the vernacular schools. It is the Ketuanan mentality that hastened the racial polarisation. I cherished my colour blind childhood days.It is no more be seen. Was it the fault of the vernacular schools?
written by onnetline, December 01, 2008 21:28:28
Mukhriz,

You honestly think that Bahasa Malaysia as a medium of instruction can truly give our citizens and country a global competitive edge in skills and trade ? Please advice further !
written by alpha100, December 01, 2008 21:31:19
Cakap sahaja! Won't work when it has been establised for decades. What is important is to open all schools eg. UITM to all races. And also you leaders (politician) esp UMNOputra stop talking about Malays rights, ketutunan melayu; to win malays votes. On one hand; we want a united Malaysian but on the other hand you spoiling everything by instilling into malays mind the need for malay supremacy. Frankly speaking a great majority of Malaysian (inc malays) are happy with what they have. It is you politicians and leaders who raise issue for your own political agenda and promoting malaysia to live on racial lines.
written by angkasawan bocor, December 01, 2008 21:38:26
Abolish NEP and racial quotas in education, employment, industry, etc. and practice meritocracy first before talking about abolishing vernacular schools. The problem of disunity is not due to the vernacular schools but due to the unequal treatments of the various races by the gomen. Treat all races equal and unity is automatically achieved.
written by Futurist, December 01, 2008 21:39:08
Just make it a ruling that whoever sends their children to other than national schools have to pay rm1 million/child. Then we can see if the ministers' children enrol here or send them to overseas boarding schools.
written by Kuda Belang, December 01, 2008 21:45:48
I throw my support behind Mukhriz, but first demonstrate what you say through action. For a start,

1. Disband the divide-and-rule BN and form one party for all races; that way, the factional parties will no longer harp on racial issues to be seen relevant;
2. Stop islamization of national schools,
3. Stop well-to-do Malays from continue to reap the government benefits under the guise of NEP, and channel the fund to the poor and needy.

Action must reflect what is spoken, otherwise it is just another rhetoric.
written by non conformist, December 01, 2008 22:03:35
This double-tongued Mukhriz politician said 'there is a need for induce unity' and then he said non-malay must understand the concept of 'ketuanan melayu.'

'Ketuanan Melayu' is the ANTITHESIS of racial unity...

'Ketuanan Melayu is obscenely offensive to any rational and logical mind that one ethnic group should ARROGANTLY and SELF-CONCEITEDLY claim supremacy over other ethnic groups... That was the reason for atrocity under Nazism!

It is plain stupidity and ignorance of the worst sort trying to induce unity among different ethnic groups while at the same time insisting on 'ketuanan Melayu.' Might as well trying to mix oil and water, or perhaps DAP and UNMO!

And why is there a lack of national unity? Blatant discrimination in education, business, employment in the public service, justice, religion, etc based on RACE.

Is it the schooling system - learning multiple languages in schools - that caused disunity? Just a smoke screen concocted by the present bankrupt BN administration. The vast majority of schools are national schools, attended by all races - what have they done to unite the pupils there? Even in national schools, the non-Malays are openly discriminated... and the victim of discrimination are keenly aware. How to unite those children that are keenly aware of the discrimination because of their race?

ONLY justice and equality can unite the people.
Of course the Malay can have Islam as the national religion, they can have their Sultans and the Agongship. But everything else, let their be equality for all the citizens of this land.

Why don't the Malays ever thought of the great advantages of learning some English and Chinese, and perhaps some Tamil too? The world is so wide... and the children of this land are very capable children... get them to learn three languages, and they grow up possessing working knowledge of three languages...

But many Malay will likely only know enough Malay to be fit for public service.
written by Tokyobanker, December 01, 2008 22:12:14
For a moron who claimed that 'IF I WANT A PHD, MY FATHER CAN GET ME ONE!!'

God help Malaysia!

The father might have some credentials, the son was just borne with a silver spoon!

written by chiongguo, December 01, 2008 22:43:40
He said over 99% of countries in the world practised a single school system.

I bet he plugged this out of the air.

Many countries with excellent educational achievements had always encouraged independent schools. These schools provided the much needed "genetic diversity" so vital to the dynamism of society. Singapore had studied many educational systems in the world and concluded that diversity and not uniformity that will enhance and boost the competitive edge of her people.

This statement by mukhriz is a lot of hot air without any careful thought to what he had said. His purpose was to get publicity for the upcoming party election.

He expressed hope that leaders of Barisan Nasional component parties would not take his suggestion in a negative light as it was only meant as a suggestion to resolve, once and for all, the problem of racial polarisation affecting the citizenry.

The cause of the country's racial polarisation is not due to the educational system. Kids do not hate or despise another because they are of a different race. Only adults do and they train their children to behave in similar manner.

Looking back the country is deeply divided along racial and religious grounds because UMNO had endeavoured, over the years to sustain these divisions so that it could remain in power.

When you do not know the cause of the problem, all solutions compound the problem.

“If they reject this suggestion, then they should explain why they are against it. How is it possible for them on one hand to talk about unity and question Malay rights, while on the other hand still insist on having a different school system for their race?

The onus of proof lies with the proposer. You have to prove that what you say will lead to racial harmony and back it up with facts, figures and objective studies.

“If you want equal rights then you cannot have a different school sistem. You cannot have your cake and eat it too,” he added.

Non-sequitur ! What has equal rights to do with different school system ?

Mukhriz seem incoherent in his view of the subject. His thoughts and position are immature and nothing more than some childish political posturing. Grow-up Mukhriz !

written by Qcumber, December 01, 2008 22:45:30
Abolish also the SMKA schools...
written by truthbespoken, December 01, 2008 23:04:22
Mukhriz, you want to be just a Malay leader or a Malaysian leader? If it is the latter, you have started on the wrong path! Your daddy's old UMNO tricks won't work well in modern times!
written by Malaysiaputra, December 01, 2008 23:04:58
Umno Youth chief aspirant Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir has called on the Government to abolish the vernacular school system as a means to enhance unity among people of various races.

=====
Hello !, Mukhriz, stop bullshitting here. You know very well the cause of polarization is not the vernacular schools, it is the spread of fanatical islam ,Umno's playing the races against each other and the bias policy of the govt favouring one race in Malaysia that is the cause of the polarisation.

Even if all the non Malays can speak only Malay in Malaysia, there will still be polarisation if the current policies are in place. So don't use the vernacular schools as an excuse to gain votes .
written by shepherdvoyage, December 01, 2008 23:21:16
Only the brainless would have made such a call which had indeed further eroded racial unity instead of enhancing it! Don’t blame vernacular schools for racial polarization! The root causes of it are: malay supremacy mindset, government's preferential treatments to the malays, disprect for and oppression of other races !

Vernacular schools do not breed racism but produce multilingual intellectuals. The more languages one masters, the better advantages one has.
written by Sinewy, December 01, 2008 23:25:57
I have sent my first two kids to national primary school. The racist school administration and teaching staff as well as the low quality teaching made me to decide to send my third kid to the vernacular school. Pleasae don't blame the disunity on the vernacular schools. It is the NEP discriminitive policies that help to mould the young minds of my children since their school days. Please go and ask any non bumi students and they will tell you what is causing the unity problem among the students in this country. Unfortunately the politicians, especially those from UMNO, are just playing blind and deaf to the issues.
written by mikewang, December 01, 2008 23:27:51
Tell me which UMNO Youth chief wasn't the chief racialist of UMNO before he ascends to the throne ?

If he is sincere and not just seen as fishing votes, he should include in his call the closure of all religious schools.
written by Anak_Asia, December 01, 2008 23:43:47

Sounds like a sentense from a tarzan ..
written by ssathia, December 01, 2008 23:46:13
Did Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir suggest that vernacular schools be abolished? If so, what did he mean when he used the term "vernacular schools". If he had studied English and knew how to use English, then he could not meant Chinese or Tamil schools. Why?

The term "verna" originates in Latin and it means a slave born in the master's house. Vernacular language means "a language native to a region or country rather than a literary, cultured or foreign language".(Merriam Webster Dictionary). It also means vulgar tongue of the masses. (hyperdictionary)

The whole world knows that Chinese came from China and Tamil came from India and Sri Lanka. They are definitely not native to Malaysia to be qualified as vernacular language of Malaysia. They have more than 3,000 year history each and have well developed writing, grammar, epics, philosophy, science and mathematics and fine arts recorded in them. No right thinking human on earth would say that they are vernacular languages in any sense of the word. They are highly cultured and established languages.

What about Malay? Only a few politicised local Malays claim that they are native while the rest of the world knows that Malay too did not originate in Malaysia and is found in Vietnam, Cambodia, Philippines, Brunei and parts of Indonesia. On the other hand, Malay does not appear to have had its own alphabet. In the olden days it used Indian writing and then later switched to Arabic and then to Roman writing all in matter of a few centuries It is a also a language of the masses. So, you decide if Malay is a vernacular language. If you say Malay is indeed a vernacular language, then does Datuk Mukhriz wants to do away with teaching in Malay?

Moreover, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir could not be asking for abolishing Tamil schools that teach a language which is ancestoral to Malayalam that in turn runs in his family blood. One would have thought he might be sensitive and would care a little about his personal history and the ways of his ancestors,

Is he then calling for abolishing the teaching of true native languages of Malaysia such as those of Orang Asli, Kadazan and Dayak? if so, that would be bad, really bad. If they do not teach these native languages in Malaysia, where else can they go to? All these native languages will die needlessly.

Please Datuk Mukriz. You have a moral and legal duty to protect your ancestoral language. You have a moral and legal duty to protect all languages of Malaysia. If not, you cannot hope to become a respected true leader of Malaysia but perhaps be spurned as another racist dictator that the world would soon like to forget.

Be a creator as a true leader, embrace all people as your brethren that you would care for and the world would love you for that. If you are English educated, then there are many books that can you could read on how to become a good leader. If you care to learn Malayalam, perhaps you have already done that, you would find that there are many good books in Malayalam too on leadership.
written by SamYap, December 02, 2008 03:18:38
Mukhriz! You are absolutely right! We should ban all vernacular schools - Tamil schools, Chinese Schools AND MALAY Schools! Like it or not, Bahasa Melayu is a vernacular language specific to one local race.

I'll concede that the constitution states that the Malay language is the national language, but that does not mean the Malay language is not vernacular. It cannot be denied. Its like a US citizen trying to deny he speaks English, when he says he speaks American.

You are rubbish, thats what you are, Muhkriz!

What say you Muhkriz? Btw, lose that stupid smirk when you pose for a photo, your father has one foot in the grave and wouldn't be around too long to save your sorry ess.
written by est, December 02, 2008 06:05:49
Every Malaysian should have the same right! Why talk about special Malay rights? Have one unified school system, recognise all Malaysian as having equal rights.
written by CoolMama54, December 02, 2008 06:42:41
Agree with Mukhriz. ONE school.

What I don't understand, is that the government is willing to raise fuel prices or increase tax without considering public opinion. But in this one area where it's the right thing to do, the government are suddenly full of cowards, suddenly showing concern. Just do the normal thing, shutdown the other schools, reform the education system and go with it.
written by talk2stop, December 02, 2008 07:19:25
Malaysia goverment always find it difficult to make up its mind. One hand they want to please themselves and the other hand to please the Malays and Islam. So now who is going to please Malaysia? May be the non bumis? One wonders is the education system is on track to success or to failure.
written by sorosapril, December 02, 2008 08:49:24
Vernacular School?, so we have to use English, neutral language to teach all the students in Malaysia, not to mention that the Bahasa Malayu can only apply in a country called MALAYSIA, this language is not even usable in INDONESIA.

To unite the people in Malaysia of various races, we have to have English as the National Language since this language is nobody's mother tongue.

I wonder what is this fellow trying to say, trying to impress the Malay in UMNO in order to win the party election by playing on racial issue like his useless father used to do?

I don't understand why are UMNO politicians kept saying DO NOT QUESTION THE MALAY RIGHTS, when no one question their so called RIGHTS, in fact everybody else is fighting for his rights.

After all Malaysia does not belong to MALAY, they are also PENDATANG like the Chinese and Indian, the REAL bumiputra are the ORANG ASLI, DAYAK, IBAN, KADAZAN, BAJAU, MURUT AND SO ON, definitely not the Malays, so what are those UMNO politicians talking about?

written by Kent Tory, December 02, 2008 09:22:34
On one hand, we want to be Anak Bangsa Malaysia.... we do not want to be Malays, Chinese, Indians, etc, etc...... but on the other hand, we want to keep the vernacular schools.

It does not make sense to me.

I am inclined to support this, if;

1) The govt removes funding to all such schools, be it Chinese, Indian or Islamic schools.

2) They be allowed to operate if they can sustain themselves by private funding. (We cannot ban them).

3) Sufficient time (1 hr a day) is scheduled in the education system for students to learn their mother language.

I will support this.
Apart from being one of the factors to enhance unity and understanding of other races among the children, it also will increase and better prepare them to face the International / Boder-less world.

Hey, even in India, most of their univarsities are in English..... That is one of the main reasons most of the Indians in India can speak english and has become one of the leading hubs for out-sourcing by Western Companies.

If you want to be "Bangsa Malaysia".... be prepared to sacrifice some of your identity as well....
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 02, 2008 09:29:56
Umno Youth chief aspirant Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir has called on the Government to abolish the vernacular school system as a means to enhance unity among people of various races.
He said a single school system was the only way to check the racial polarisation that was getting out of control in the country.

OI BOTAK WITH PEA BRAIN. WE EXPECTED SOMETHING LIKE THAT FROM YR FOUL MOUTH IN ORDER TO GET YRSELF ELECTED. MIGHT AS WELL ASK YR OLD MAN TO INSTRUCT NAJIS TO AMEND THE CONSTITUTION ON THIS. FOR THE RECORD, NONE OF MY CHILDREN STUDIED IN VERNACULAR SCHOOLS, I SUPPORTED YR BLOODY BEEND FOR 20 YEARS BUT NOW, I AM GOING TO KICK BUTTS LIKE YOURS IN BEEND. DID IT HD ANYTHING TO DO WITH VERNACULAR SCHOOLS???

written by Rainbowseahorse, December 02, 2008 09:40:54
“Scrap Vernacular Schools, One System For All.”

When I first heard that, on the surface it sounded very logical and patriotic.
But ponder upon that for amoment, and then you should immediately see the big problem in implementing vernacular schools.
First and foremost, will the government assign two language teachers (for Mandarin & Tamil) to each and every school?
Also, isn’t there a shortage of such teachers in the country?
written by antiilluminati, December 02, 2008 10:17:41
We should experiment it with one school first and gauge the success ..
written by Sean E, December 02, 2008 10:36:26
The father is known for abolishing the use of English as the medium of instruction in schools in the 80s.

The son will be known as the total destruction of what is left of the school system in Malaysia. (The mission school system has already been destroyed. They existed in name only.)
written by Hakim Abdullah, December 02, 2008 10:51:48
Wah Liao?..muk muk, what were you smoking dude?...crap!, all umno leaders today just talk kok, sing songs and play ping pong...at the expense of us Rakyats!
written by amoker, December 02, 2008 11:08:38
It was experimented in the Sekolah Wawasan concept. Huge money, big buildings etc... and became a failure.

Mission school-dead.
Vernacular school- to be killed.
Religious school- give more money.
written by MalaysianUnited, December 02, 2008 11:14:15
sorosapril,

where did u learn all that stuff?..Malay is also pendatang?..hello, if u are The Wanita Gerakan chief supporter..please open wikipedia..and give to her the defination about Nusantara..k?..where is Tanah Melayu situated etc etc..

And if u say about there 3,000 B.C fact..well is not fact. Is a theory..take off ur ego guys..

and my question will be, where is Kadazan and Iban came from?..is really original from this archipelago?..in fact most of Bumis have similar pronouns and language..can we say they are in same group that move from taiwan?..

Or u cant say anything cos no body in this forum have state anything about other bumis rather than talk about Malay origin?..

tunggu suapkah?..

written by sisa, December 02, 2008 11:47:42
I AGREE - but must get rid of all language based schools, religious based school, double examination system(matriculation and STPM), tupes of schools with special interest( hostel, military, etc).

Make it one national type school and university where only quality matters for bangsa malaysia. I sokong penuh.
written by sorosapril, December 02, 2008 13:36:07
MalaysianUnited

the way you wrote, you did not even know what you are talking about, it was obvious you felt agigated like those UMNO people who got worked up when people started saying Malay are also PENDATANG, not different from Indian or Chinese.

Wanita Gerakan Chief was damn right on what she said, so the Malay felt not comfortable when the truth are told, and kadazan, Iban, Dayak and the Orang Asli who has the legitimate rights to whatever those Malay are enjoying now should be the rightful owners.

I read somewhere some stupid Malay organisation is trying to get that MCA to pay $2m for compensation on citizen, what make the Malay think that they are the one who gave the chinese and Indian citizenship?

you mean those Indo from Indonesia who come to Malaysia only last month can get citizenship for free and enjoy all the bumi rights, if there is such thing called bumi right while there are chinese who have been in Malaysia for so many centuries can not even get PR?

Oh, why UMNO now talk about Malay Rights and NOT BUMI RIGHTS like it used to be? because they realise they are not BUMI in this Malaysia, so they change the word to MALAY RIGHTS instead of BUMI RIGHTS.

you can check all these change of words after they realise they are in fact PENDATANG, haram or not haram is up to you to judge