Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Koh: Malay supremacy not in Constitution

Koh: Malay supremacy not in Constitution PDF Print
Monday, 01 December 2008 13:35

(NST) - The constitutional reference to the kedudukan istimewa (special position) of the Malays must be respected in the same way as the rights and interests of other races, Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon said yesterday.

He said the question of ketuanan Melayu (Malay supremacy) did not arise as it was not contained in the Federal Constitution.

Dr Koh said the right term to be used in relation to the special position of the Malays was kedudukan istimewa as contained in Article 153 and not ketuanan Melayu.

He said this when asked to comment on MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek's remark that the concept of Malay supremacy was no longer relevant.

Koh said ketuanan Melayu carried the connotation of a tuan (master) and hamba (slave) relationship.

"Article 153 of the Federal Constitution talks about the special position of the Malays, as well as the valid rights and interests of other races," he said, adding that it must be read in totality.

Koh said there was no need for anyone to dispute the matter, adding that the Constitution had to be the basis of reference on the issue.

He noted that the basic rights of all Malaysians were enshrined in the Federal Constitution.

"The interests of all Malaysians, especially in current times of an economic downturn, should be top priority," he said after opening the Gerakan life members' council annual general meeting yesterday.

Koh urged the Federal Government to revise the poverty line every six months. He said this was because the prices of goods had been increasing while salaries had not.

"Hence, there may be people who have fallen under the poverty line. Also, purchasing power has gone down. We have to figure out how to help the average Malaysian worker."

Koh said the Federal Government should identify groups that had been affected by the economic slowdown.

He said Gerakan's bureaus had been revamped to better articulate the party's position and deal more effectively with major issues of public concern that had been identified.

Koh said the new bureaus which had been formed included the legislature liaison bureau, government administrative affairs bureau, environment, safety and quality of life bureau and public health and social development bureau.

"Every bureau will be supported by the party's think tank, Sedar Institute, for information and research and by the party's central secretariat for administrative support."

Koh said some bureau chiefs were already recruiting bureau committee members.

"Every central committee member not heading any bureau has been instructed to participate in at least two bureaus."

written by LKO, December 01, 2008 13:51:10
KTK is most eloquent after he is now a nobody in the government.

Too bad Tan Sri. Should have done that earlier!
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 13:54:36
I say once again Ketuanan Melayu is only written on the ass hole of all those who wants to see malays fail and in shit.Only then they will stop saying this.After this they will start saying Ketuanan Lembu'.
written by mykantree, December 01, 2008 13:57:58
It is only those rich, elite and those whose good life depends on this concept that are fighting for and defending the ketuanan issue. The whole idea of Ketuanan harps back to feudal and colonial times. So is it any wonder that they are desperate in demanding its acceptance. They should have ask for it 3 to 4 generations ago. Not today, not tomorrow or any day after that!
written by Cash Money, December 01, 2008 14:13:30
"kedudukan istimewa (special position)"
---------------------------------------

The above wording was then related to those who were privilaged then.. ie Sultan's and their close relatives and those closely associated with the palace.
Pakcik,Makcik and the rest of the orang kampung were never the intended recipients.
written by carribeanking7, December 01, 2008 14:22:34
Quote :
Dr Koh said the right term to be used in relation to the special position of the Malays was kedudukan istimewa as contained in Article 153 and not ketuanan Melayu.

Most people dont know how to read article 153 let alone intepret it.
political opportunist love to brandish article 153 but never mention that
Clause 9 of article 153 states Nothing in this Article shall empower Parliament to restrict business or trade solely for the purpose of reservations for Malays.

They also conveniently do not mention that Article 153 is limited by Article 136, which requires that civil servants be treated impartially regardless of race. Clause 5 of article 153 specifically reaffirms article 136 of the constitution which states: All persons of whatever race in the same grade in the service of the Federation shall, subject to the terms and conditions of their employment, be treated impartially.

UMNO started playing up this issue after Mar 08, components like MCA and Gerakan added oil to the fire by making counter claims, this whole bloody mess is being played by BN, the components know they have lust support,
UMNO has lost support too, in P.Pauh they could not even get all registered UMNO members to vote against DSAI

while Pakatan is talking of "ketuanan rakyat" BN IS STILL SINGING AN OUTDATED SONG,that too out of tune.

Cheap politicians playing up dangerous sentiments.

written by evaangel, December 01, 2008 14:24:37
Supremacy and affirmative action are mutually exclusive. You cannot declare yourself as one because of the other. If you want to have 'special privellages' because of supremacy then you are no different to racist regimes that have come and gone. If you want to have 'special privellages' because you think Malay people need affirmative action then you cannot claim to be supreme.
So what are you UMNO? Racist or stupid? Your choice.
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 01, 2008 14:25:50
Koh, no matter how you want to word it, UMNO still consider themselves as your ‘Tuan” and you and your community (as well as other non Bumi) as their “Hamba”. Shit is shit, no matter how you want to describe it.

Poverty is nothing new in Malaysia and UMNO has been the government for the past 51 years. So please stop making excuses for your Tuans; yah!
written by 1six5, December 01, 2008 14:30:53
cash money.....U ARE ABSOLUTELY VODKA correct...the rights never got channelled to the poors....let me give u an example...
in MPSP penang....council gave 300 lots for 'pasar malam' traders of cos quotas were 60% bumi license and rest were non-bumis....guess what...of the 60%...80% lots were given to bumis alrite...but council related bumis...balance 20% (96 lot)...u tender it or bribe it. so by the time those who have capital to bribe or tender gets their lot...there leaves like 10-20lots for bumis to get their permit...u can guess how many applicants for 'pasar malam' traders there are.... accounts from a bumi trader riding a kapcai...met him while servicing his motorbike in BUKIT TENGAH, BUKIT MERTAJAM, PROVINCE WELLESLEY.

special abis man he says...nak jual selipar jepun kat pasar malam pun susah...kahakaghakahak
written by mountain man, December 01, 2008 15:14:46
Malay Supremacy is just a corrupted UMNO "SLOGAN" meant to deceive the ordinary naive folks into believing UMNO is the ultimate protector of Malay rights, MY FOOT, instead of protecting, UMNO is exploiting the group of silly naive Malays for their own political benefits, nothing more. EXCEPT for Tunku Abdul Rahman, all the families of subsequent Prime Ministers (i.e. UMNO Presidents) are filthy rich by now, driving and boasting around with their Porsche and what not. The biggest culprit is of course TDM.
written by wartank, December 01, 2008 15:16:37
Dr Koh,

Why then is the term 'ketuanan Melayu' used widely in the BN circle?
More importantly, why after so long do you speak about them now?
Do you have much to 'lose' speaking up to this previously?

It should be 'hak istimewa Melayu' and it should be clearly defined in what context and to what extend this apply.
Then focus on ways to help the poor and underprivileged, not the filthy(dirty) rich!

For an intellectual, it seemed rather late for you to come to this conclusion now!
written by Knight, December 01, 2008 16:49:42
Extract from Wiki

The Constitution was drafted on the basis of a report from the Reid Commission. The commission, which had been formed to lay the groundwork for a Constitution in the run-up to Malaysia's pending independence, released the report in 1957 as ....The Reid Commission Report.

In the report, the Reid Commission stated that "provision should be made in the Constitution for the 'safeguarding of the special position of the Malays and the legitimate interests of the other Communities'." However, the Commission "found it difficult [...] to reconcile the terms of reference if the protection of the special position of the Malays signified the granting of special privileges, permanently, to one community only and not to the others."

The Reid Commission reported that Tunku Abdul Rahman and the Malay Rulers had asked that "in an independent Malaya all nationals should be accorded equal rights, privileges and opportunities and there must not be discrimination on grounds of race and creed." At that time, Tunku Abdul Rahman was the leader of UMNO, which led the Alliance coalition. Eventually the Alliance would become the Barisan Nasional and Tunku Abdul Rahman later became the first Prime Minister of Malaysia. When succeeding to the UMNO Presidency, Tunku had expressed doubts about the loyalty of the non-Malays to Malaya, and as a result, insisted that this be settled before they be granted citizenship. However, he also stated that "For those who love and feel they owe undivided loyalty to this country, we will welcome them as Malayans. They must truly be Malayans, and they will have the same rights and privileges as the Malays."

The Commission found the existing privileges accorded to the Malays included the allocation of extensive Malay land reservations. In addition, the Commission discovered quotas for admission to the public services with a general rule that "not more than one-quarter of new entrants [to a particular service] should be non-Malays." Operation quotas existed in regard to the issuing of permits or licences for the operation of certain businesses "chiefly concerned with road haulage and passenger vehicles for hire." In addition, there existed "scholarships, bursaries and other forms of aid for educational purpose" where preference was given to Malays.

Although the Commission reported it did not find opposition to the continuance of the existing privileges for a certain length of time, it stated that "there was great opposition in some quarters to any increase of the present preferences and to their being continued for any prolonged period."

The Commission recommended that the existing privileges should be continued as the "Malays would be at a serious and unfair disadvantage compared with other communities if they were suddenly withdrawn." However, "in due course the present preferences should be reduced and should ultimately cease." The Commission suggested that these provisions be revisited in 15 years, and that a report should be presented to the appropriate legislature (currently the Parliament of Malaysia) and that the "legislature should then determine either to retain or to reduce any quota or to discontinue it entirely." (Note : Not to increase. Only "retain, reduce or discontinue it entirely")

Due to the Constitution's definition of a Malay, important people such as the Former Chief Minister of Selangor, Khir Toyo have benefited greatly from the Article 153 and all the privileges it entails.

Originally there was no reference made to other indigenous peoples of Malaysia (then Malaya) such as the Orang Asli, but with the union of Malaya with Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak in 1963, the Constitution was amended so as to provide similar privileges for the indigenous peoples of East Malaysia (Sabah and Sarawak), grouping them with the Malays as Bumiputra. However, as Article 160 of the Constitution defines a Malay as a Muslim Malaysian citizen born to another Malaysian citizen, other people, such as the Chief Minister of Selangor, Khir Toyo, whose father was an Indonesian immigrant, have benefited from Article 153 and the privileges it entails.: Haha]

The scope of Article 153 is limited by Article 136, which requires that civil servants be treated impartially regardless of race.
written by Siapabohong, December 01, 2008 16:53:48
Dr.Koh,
You better wait for the ultimum demand from the same group who is demanding public apology from CSL.
See how are you going to react?
Obviously those are the untouchable terms seem to be immortalised and bestowned heavenly for the special selected people by the Almighty God.
written by krising1, December 01, 2008 17:44:34
Slavery was prohibited in the UN charter though in many parts of the world it was abolished ages ago. Our UMNOputras want to enslave the following:

1) All the natives of Sabah and Sarawak;
2) All the Chinese in Malaysia;
3) All the Indians in Malaysia;
4) All the "others" in Malaysia;.
5) All the orang asli in Malaysia.

Our minister of the fearless police says that this "ketuanan" thing is a serious matter and not a joke. We must be crazy to think that slavery is a joke.

You may stretch the case a little bit and say that the Chinese and Indians are second class citizens. What about the natives of Sabah and Sarawak? Are they also slaves of the UMNOputras? Isn't that what you "Ketuanan" means?

You native and naive politicians of Sabah and Sarawak. Wake up and claim your rights before you become aliens in your own land.
written by belantai, December 01, 2008 18:22:11
CSL is not a goon after all.He learns well from history and knows how to make people from both sides jump! Same old story,the youth will say dont play with fire. The youth leader will raise his keris (to get more votes in the coming election)and lastly when the temperature have reached to almost boiling point the PM will say STOP IT!The ISA is very useful then my friend.One thing for sure if this nonsense keeps on repeating UMNO will close ranks and PRU 13 will go back to New Barisan and this time with new uncorrupted faces.Sayonara Pakatan!
written by tino_chan1988, December 01, 2008 20:09:53
Why speak up now and not when you were the CM of Penang then?
written by sarawakian, December 01, 2008 20:44:12
When succeeding to the UMNO Presidency, Tunku had expressed doubts about the loyalty of the non-Malays to Malaya, and as a result, insisted that this be settled before they be granted citizenship.

i don't blame Tunku for having doubts about the loyalty of immigrants in Malaya at that time. the Chinese and Indian immigrants then had traveled from their home country and resided in Malaya because of economic opportunities. these immigrants consistently remitted money back to their homeland for their family members there and most would dream of going back in their old age.

however, the children and grandchildren of these immigrants were born here and had no "direct family ties" to their uncles/grand-uncles back in those countries. most of them probably lost communication with their roots back in those countries. for these generations and the generations after them are Malaysians and have no place to call home except Malaysia. should they still be called "immigrants"? should all this discrmination against them persist?

written by Old Man, December 01, 2008 21:33:27
Yes, Malay Supremacy not contained in the Federal Constitution! Only contained permanently in BN and wrote on the arses of the running dogs!
written by alpha100, December 01, 2008 21:49:57
Once upon a time, admittedly we chinese (esp the older generation) did think of China supremacy. But now we think of ourselve as truly Malaysian!
Anyway, despite the current difficulty created by BN leader; we non-malays should work hard like our forefathers who first come to Malaysia! It was through frugal living and sweat that most of them make it to top! Not by been fed with silver spoon which can be easily lost if not take care of.
written by Aizad 234, December 02, 2008 01:45:08
All i learnt in school was 'Hak Keistimewaan Orang Melayu.. ...Who brought out the term 'Ketuanan Melayu?'' who else.. Utusan Melayu..
written by LukeJr, December 02, 2008 04:22:57
I think the Malay Supremacy/Ketuanan Melayu shouldn't be questioned. In fact i prefer it to be done this way. This is the natural rhythm that we all should follow. The government actually loves the squatters here. Teachers back in school told me that the reason they scold me n punish me is because they love me. See, the gov is actually educating us the strict way. It will only make us chinese n indians work harder, it will only make us smarter, stronger, more independent, and richer. For those who live under reliance, they can never improve.

So do u still want to question Ketuanan Melayu?

I'd say I LOVE KETUANAN MELAYU