Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The twists and turns of mala fide

The twists and turns of mala fide PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 01 December 2008 12:33

I suppose there must be a good reason why the government would rather keep Malaysians stupid and lock me up so that I can’t continue in my attempts to wake Malaysians up and educate them. Could it be because stupid Malaysians can be easily manipulated while smart Malaysians would vote opposition?

The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) was created persuant to the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission Act (1998) as a new regulator for the communications and multimedia industry in Malaysia. At the same time, the Communications and Multimedia Act (1998) was passed, to fulfil the need to regulate an increasingly convergent communications and multimedia industry.

The Communications and Multimedia Act 1998 is based on the basic principles of transparency and clarity; more competition and less regulation; flexibility; bias towards generic rules; regulatory forbearance; emphasis on process rather than content; administrative and sector transparency; and industry self-regulation.

The Act seeks to provide a generic set of regulatory provisions based on generic definitions of market and service activities and services. The jurisdiction of this Act is restricted to networked services and activities only.

The MCMC took over regulation of the Postal Services on 1 November 2002. On the same day it also was appointed the Certifying Agency under the Digital Signature Act (1997).

(http://www.skmm.gov.my/the_law/legislation.asp )

The above is what they say on the MCMC website. In the section called WHAT WE DO (http://www.skmm.gov.my/what_we_do/licensing/licensing.asp ), the MCMC website says: The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission issues licences under the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998, the Postal Services Act 1991 and the Digital Signature Act 1997.

In the section titled ENFORCEMENT (http://www.skmm.gov.my/what_we_do/Enforcement/enforcement.asp ), this is what the MCMC website says:

The primary function of enforcement is to conduct investigation upon receiving reports relating to the commission of offences under the Communications and Multimedia Act 1998 (CMA), the Postal Services Act 1991 (PSA), the Digital Signatures Act 1997 (DSA) and the relevant subsidiary legislations.

The objective of the investigation is to ascertain whether or not the offender has committed the offence and also to gather sufficient evidence on the offender. After the investigation is completed, the investigation paper will be submitted to the Deputy Public Prosecutor for his decision on the appropriate action to be taken on the case investigated by MCMC.

Effective enforcement carried out by MCMC is to ensure the rights of the licensees, investors, consumers and the public are always protected and the confidence in communications, multimedia and postal services are maintained at all times.

Okay, now read the above again and note the following sentences or clauses:

1)    The jurisdiction of this Act is restricted to networked services and activities only.
2)    …….emphasis on process rather than content……
3)    ……. more competition and less regulation…….
4)    Effective enforcement carried out by MCMC is to ensure the rights of the licensees, investors, consumers and the public are always protected…….

At 6.00pm on 26 August 2008, Malaysia Today suddenly ‘disappeared’. We thought it was a technical glitch and called the hosting company. The hosting company, who was located overseas, said that the site is working fine and that they have no problems accessing it. We insisted we can’t access it from Malaysia and on further investigation they confirmed what we said and told us that Malaysia Today can’t be accessed only in Malaysia but there are no problems if accessing the site from other countries outside Malaysia.

It was soon established that Malaysia Today could not be accessed because the MCMC had written to the 20 or so Malaysian ISPs (Internet Service Providers; such as Jaring, TMNet, Maxis, Celcom, etc.) and ordered them to block malaysia-today.net. They did not unblock malaysia-today.net until barely a few hours before the police detained me under the Internal Security Act around noon of 12 September 2008.

The reason given to the ISPs was that Malaysia Today had broken the law. Which law was never specified but then Malaysian companies that need the goodwill of the Malaysian government to renew their licences or to ensure that their licences do not get withdrawn do not ask for clarification. They just do what they are told.

Before the MCMC acted on 26 August, they had been summoned for a few meetings to be told that the Cabinet was not happy with the countless revelations and exposes that Malaysia Today had dragged up the last four years since 2004. The MCMC was told the Cabinet is of the view that they (MCMC) are not doing their job and the Cabinet wants them to act against Malaysia Today.

The fact that the MCMC, as charted in its website above, does not have that power (read items 1, 2, 3 and 4 above) to block Malaysia Today appears lost to the powers-that-be. The Cabinet is not concerned about what the law says. They just want Malaysia Today closed down and it is the MCMC’s job to do that. The MCMC replied that it would be difficult to block malaysia-today.net on political grounds as this would look too obvious. It would be better that they use ‘insulting Islam’ and ‘insulting Prophet Muhammad’ as that reason. This would look more ‘legitimate’.

So, on 26 August 2008, the MCMC ordered all the Malaysia ISPs to block malaysia-today.net, which they did. But they still needed a reason to block malaysia-today.net and they found this reason in a comment posted by anti-jihadist. The problem is anti-jihadist posted that comment on 28 August 2008, two days after malaysia-today.net was put out of action. Is the MCMC clairvoyant and could see into the future? Did it have a crystal ball and knew, two days in advance, that anti-jihadist was going to post a ‘damaging’ comment? It is mind-boggling that the MCMC was able to block malaysia-today.net two days before the comment that caused it to be blocked was posted.

Soon after malaysia-today.net went out of action, overseas friends of Malaysia Today floated a new website and tried to restore as much of the old data as possible. Some were saved but much was lost when the servers that hosted malaysia-today.net were closed down and sold off.

This posed another problem. I am facing a charge under the Sedition Act and the Attorney-General did not attach an original copy of the article ‘Let’s send the Altantuya murderers to hell’ with the charge. Instead, they manually typed out the article -- so, for all intents and purposes, the ‘evidence’ of my ‘crime’ had been fabricated. They are now trying to amend the charge but the court has rejected the motion to amend the charge. (The Attorney-General has now appealed this decision in the High Court so we are yet to know if they will be allowed to amend the charge).

Nevertheless, because malaysia-today.net no longer exists, they are not able to adduce the evidence to support the charge and even the amended charge is based on the manually typed copy of the article -- meaning the evidence is still ‘fabricated’. It would be interesting to see how the prosecution now pursues its case against me in the absence of the original article from malaysia-today.net.

Anyway, on 3 December 2008, the prosecution will be embarking on a ‘fishing expedition’ to see if they can find the original copy of that article in my two computers which they have confiscated. They hope, since they can no longer obtain the original copy of the article from malaysia-today.net, that they can instead find it in one of the computers. They are really desperate to find the evidence with which they can use to nail my balls to the wall.

The MCMC realised that they could not justify blocking malaysia-today.net based on a comment by anti-jihadist that was posted two days AFTER the site was blocked. So they decided to unblock malaysia-today.net and instead detain me under Section 73 of the Internal Security Act, barely a few hours later, on vague grounds that I posted articles that incite Malaysians to hate its leaders plus insult Islam and the Prophet.

My wife then filed a writ of habeas corpus and it appeared like the court might agree with my wife’s contention that my detention was vague and mala fide. The court was due to hear our petition on 23 September 2008. On 22 September 2008, they quickly re-detained me under Section 8 of the Internal security Act and on the morning of 23 September they sent me packing off to Kamunting. This torpedoed the habeas corpus hearing due to be held that same day and my wife had to start all over again and file a new habeas corpus action.

A day or two after the MCMC blocked malaysia-today.net, I received a phone call from that big chap who runs the Chawan restaurant in Bangsar, across the road from The Outback in Bangsar Village, who said he wants to discus how malaysia-today-net can be unblocked. My wife and I went to meet him and he told us that the MCMC wants to explore how to unblock malaysia-today.net but this must be based on certain terms and conditions. He told me that he is an emissary from Mohamed Shahril Tarmizi, the senior manager of the MCMC, the man who ordered Malaysia Today closed down.

The problem, they told me, was not my articles, but the comments. Currently, the comments in Malaysia Today are not moderated. Would I be prepared to moderate them? I asked them how to do that when we receive thousands of comments and they are posted 24-7. I would have to employ at least ten staff and that would cost me maybe RM15,000-RM20,000 per month. I do not have the money to do that. I then asked them what solutions they could recommend.

They admitted that they have been pondering over this problem for some time and also do not have any solutions to suggest. Okay, I replied, I am prepared to hand over the job of moderating the comments in Malaysia Today to the government. The government can take over and moderate the comments in Malaysia Today. Would they be prepared to do that?

They admitted that the government would not be able to do that, as it would require a massive operation to do so. Never mind, they told me, they will unblock malaysia-today.net and give us six months to come out with a solution. On 10 September 2008, I received a phone call telling me that the MCMC has decided to unblock malaysia-today.net and that they will give us six months to come out with a plan on how to moderate the comments in Malaysia Today. On 11 September 2008, malaysia-today.net was unblocked. On 12 September 2008, they detained me under the Internal Security Act.

Can any of you figure out what is going on here? I, for one, can’t imagine what game they are playing.

While under ISA detention, I related this whole episode to SAC1 Dato’ Zamri, the man in-charge of the six-member team of interrogators assigned to me. I am not sure of his ‘surname’ but he is probably the best-looking Special Branch officer in Bukit Aman and most likely will be the head of the Special Branch in time to come.

He was very accommodating (even bought me a packet of cigarettes; which is not allowed when you are in jail) but what concerned me was his insistence that my articles could mislead the readers because the majority of Malaysians have a much lower intellectual level and may not understand what I write. It is not that I have committed a crime as such. It is just that the way I write may confuse Malaysians. In short, my crime is for having a higher intellectual level than the average Malaysian and they might misunderstand what I write. This is why the government regards me as a threat to society.

I do not regard myself as an intellectual or even as being smarter than most Malaysians. But this was the argument THEY were using to justify my detention and this bothered me. Based on what they were tying to tell me, I have to be sent to Kamunting because I am smart and most Malaysians are stupid. So Malaysians need to be protected from me.

I asked Dato’ Zamri: would it not be better that I be allowed to go free and continue to educate Malaysians through Malaysia Today so that, in time, they too can be ‘smart like me’ (tongue-in-cheek of course because I did not buy the “Raja Petra is too smart and Malaysians too stupid” argument)? No, they did not think so. They felt that the best solution would be to lock me up so that the ‘stupid’ Malaysians can be ‘protected’.

I suppose there must be a good reason why the government would rather keep Malaysians stupid and why they lock me up so that I can’t continue my attempts to wake Malaysians up and educate them. Could it be because stupid Malaysians can be easily manipulated while smart Malaysians would vote opposition? Maybe Dato’ Zamri can help reply to this question.

In the meantime, the government has appealed the court’s decision to release me from ISA detention on 7 November 2008. They want me back in Kamunting where they feel I belong and which they feel would be safer for Malaysians. Let’s see what the court has to say about this. Will the court agree that Malaysians should be ‘protected’ and that I should not be allowed to awaken and educate them, or will the court feel that it is time Malaysians received the right information and not the crap that the school history textbooks and mainstream media spews forth?

Comments (62)Add Comment
written by binarytan, December 01, 2008 12:40:23
RPK, absolutely right article.

MCMC is umno running dog, ISA also.

PDRM, FRU, ACA, SPR all belongs to UMNO.

Even all government organization belongs to UMNO.

The real fact is UMNO lost 2/3 majority and their advantages all the while will be tarnished soon. A lot of malaysian realized how stupid they were to vote for the evil party as many highly corrupted issues being brought up by our opposition MPs.

I just hope Malaysia will turn to new leaves, there is still hope as far as mandate is given to PR.

smilies/smiley.gif
agree 265
written by Motherchell, December 01, 2008 12:46:00
How can these Leaders even walk tall among the Nations of the world?? The ISA is against the teachings of ISLAM. Does Jakim have only the the job of visiting the Concentration camps to teach? Who will teach them??

What about the police secret torture chambers??? They dont have the guts , or dont have the time ?? So who are the actual beholders of the teachings?
Are they really following the tenets of ISLAM themselves. They are the true enemies of Islam!!!
So is RPK a hard core terrorist?? that so much time is needed to persecute him?? What is UMNO's destination for Malaysia to see faith??

God Bless you Pete ,always-- God has his ways to teach and demolish the EVIL walking tall !!!

http://sjsandteam.wordpress.com/
agree 119
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 13:00:10
That's is what ahmadneil have been abused for years and so are my malay brothers.We have been promised to be make into Ketuanan Melayu but today we are still been called by all sorts of names.We have also been told that NEP will make us a better malays but we are still so backwards while other races are way infront and they don't have all this bloody NEP or Fcuking Ketuanan and so on.All these is becos we have been make stupid by all this said goodies that the gov't have promised usbut in the end it's only false hope.Time and again we malays have been given sleeping pills by the gov't and only to wake up to all these daily bullshit.The gov't loves stupid malays like ahmadneil and it's their dreams that we all stay like these living in stone age so that they can manipulate us like a robot.I hate to say these but I must admit we malays are too stupid to wait for all those bloody handouts that never comes.And don't forget our good names have been used again and again until it's becomes shit.Why are we like this!Let us wake up and give the gov't a thumb down.We must stand and compete with all races based on meritocracy.We must not be a laughing stock for other races.We can be on par if not better than them.Stand up and fight for what we stand for and not wait for those stupid handouts.We must start today not tomorrow.Yes,We Can!
agree 201
written by archie, December 01, 2008 13:04:34
The Home Minister said Teresa Kok was detained under ISA to protect her personal safety. A senior police officer said RPK was detained to protect stupid Malaysians from being misled by smart RPK.

Now I think this "smart" government really believes Malaysians are stupid.
agree 159
written by LKO, December 01, 2008 13:12:47
Knowing what is right and doing what is right are two separate things. We know a smarter Malaysian means a more progressive country. However, there are always cost involved and this cost is too much to bear for the current government.

If the Malaysian system is so good, Hisham and Najib would have sent their children for the Malaysian syllabus instead of foreign syllabus. Obviously, to them, foreign syllabus does not lead to a controlled thinking. If you don't believe, see how well KJ is doing, a product of non-Malaysian education. smilies/wink.gif
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 13:15:06
If we malays still supported the gov't of today that have in in power for 51 years than we will never have the chance to see change.We must kick out this umno/BN gov't inorder that we can all start afresh.This gov't have been barking old issue again and again.If they have been sincere in helping us the malays in a proper ways,after 51 years ,malaysia today will be full of malays that are on par with other races.Just see how many years have NEP been in existence!How many malays have benefited from this silly policy!Still they refused to admit that NEP is a failure.Why! Becos to admit NEP is a failure,it will arouse the feeling of those malays who have never benefited from NEP and also those who have benefited but fail miserably.Their failure have turn to hatred and as a result they blame the gov't for not helping them enough and abandoning them 'halve way'.Gossh!How much is enough!Never!So where do we start and where do we stop!Ask the malays and they will shake their he***.The likely answer is 'The more the better'.
written by Rashid, December 01, 2008 13:21:35
I asked Dato’ Zamri: would it not be better that I be allowed to go free and continue to educate Malaysians through Malaysia Today so that, in time, they too can be ‘smart like me’ (tongue-in-cheek of course because I did not buy the “Raja Petra is too smart and Malaysians too stupid” argument)?
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif I like this part.

By the way RPK, as a former Terengganian, you are needed to play your BIG role in delivering the Kuala Terengganu seat to PAS and Pakatan. I hope you are prepared to play that role.

http://scandalasia.blogspot.com/2008/11/kuala-terengganu-kt-to-seal-umnos-fate.html
http://scandalasia.blogspot.com
written by Spear Bing, December 01, 2008 13:26:38
So the UMNO Mullahs cannot tolerate the comments from the Malaysians of low intellectual level in the MT platform.Since they are considered low level intellectuals, why bother them, ignore them, what harm can they do UMNO's image after all they are low level Malaysians?

So UMNO Mullahs are intellectuals of higher level? Then they should come aboard and enlighten the low level Malaysians in MT how to pass the correct opinion on MT's articles.

UMNO Mullahs are suffering from inferiority complex or maybe superiority complex both of which are pathetically disfunctional in this post-modern era.

There is no such thing of permanency in this material world. Every thing is subject to the forces of evolution, and that means the final decay and fall out of UMNO. And maybe a fresher and younger more higher level of intellectual UMNO mullahs will take over the place.

But meantime, UMNO must face reality. UMNO has to be re-transformed. For that to happen UMNO must be phased out eventually and let a new seed to yield a more matured and wiser UMNO, not the present re-con UMNO oldies.
written by Celestial, December 01, 2008 13:28:59
ahmadneil

Stupid or smart, brown, black or yellow or even brindle, you will always be an Anak Bangsa Malaysia and always be my brother. This is because I am colour blind and I still love Malaysia.
written by Frankfurtguy, December 01, 2008 13:33:21
In this BOLEH-land, everything is BOLEH
There is no check-system to the powerful BN
BN is so powerful that they think they can manipulate everything
now
BN is weaker and weaker now
It is time to have a balanced BN-PakatanRakyat system to check all these non-sense
Once a check system in place. they would no do such idiotic stupid acts
Rest of the world will laugh at us
Even Zimbabwe Robert Gabriel Mugabe will laugh at our low-class police and ISA
Rakyat.....keep in mind to checkmate BN, if not now, next election
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 13:42:25
When I finished my SPM,I asked for JPA scolarship and after been called for interview they turn me down.I asked for license to go for gov't tenders but was turn down.I asked for small and medium industry loan and was turn down.I wrote hundred of letters asking for help from the gov't and help never arrive.In the end I beg my only mother to withdrew her 'blood money' from the EPF.'This all I have',my mum told me.'Whether you make it or not,son,I can't help you anymore'.I took her life saving money and off I make my way to Australia.Barely have I finished my first semester,the money ran out and I have to get part time job.I struggle for years and I managed to finished my degree.It was hard and I finally make it.Today I thank my mother not the gov't ,for making what I'm today.The gov't never helps me and I help the gov't by paying tax. So my malays brothers,you see the logic when the gov't says they will 'help'.The only way is to help yourself.Don't wait for those 'mirage'.It's false hope!God save all malays and malaysian.
agree 127
written by Kopi37, December 01, 2008 13:52:40
No wonder Pete was insisted to be locked up by Dato Zamri for reason that his tongue-in-cheek proposal had caused him felt 'double insulted' as one amongst the stupid Malaysians who he needs Pete's education and counseling as well! How can a 'Dato' agree to Pete and by espousing to Pete, he will be the first one to be educated! Knowing that after he has been educated and becomes smart as Pete, as Dato Zaid Ibrahim, he has to join the oppositions and will lose all his perks if, their allusive theory- 'the smarts vote for oppositions' turns out to be true!

Are the 'sang kancil' to continue to be ruled by the mules? This is against the rule of nature!
written by densemy, December 01, 2008 14:24:15
Of course there is a perfectly simple reason why the government wants to keep Malays uninformed. Its called religion. And the government willingly agrees because religion is the main tool by which it manipulates Malaysian voters. The greatest threat to religion is education, because once educated people start to think about religion the whole facade starts to crumble. The more 'protected' is the religion the quicker it falls apart.
Why else retain BM at the common language and to censor everything that is presented to the people if its not to keep the masses uninformed of overseas developments and radical thought. Why else let the education system degrade in a religion-driven environment of mediocrity. Why else maintain a system of learning by rote with the discouragement of analytical thought. Why else maintain a racially/religiously divided education system than to be able to manipulate the religious youth at will and to abuse the process of education by promoting racism and intolerance. Why else abuse the sciences to fit in with religious dogma in the face of overwhelming evidence to the effect that religion is wrong
The Malaysian Tragedy, Education which should be the key to the future has been raped in the name of control
written by 2edgedsword, December 01, 2008 14:45:13
This has always been the trump card of UMNO - keep the masses ingorant so that they can be manipulated. Any coincidence that the whole education standard has droped to grave standards and the teaching in English is a poitical football? Stupidity of the masses will insure UMNO's survival.
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 14:49:55
I don't owe the gov't anything.I'm proud I pay tax but the gov't overcharged me and after I complain they pay me back.They raise fuel price and I didn't complain but when the fuel price goes down they didn't follow international price by lowering the fuel price.When we promise to vote for then,they got it but when they promise us to lower the price of the goods ,they never do it.So you all see what the gov't preaches they never do it.This is what I call bullshit!
written by FFT, December 01, 2008 15:01:09
...they will give us six months to come out with a plan on how to moderate the comments in Malaysia Today.

Not to worry. In 6 months time, Pakatan will be in power, Rosmah will be awaiting the gallows, Najib will be sentenced to life in prison, and Mahathir will be bunking at Mugabe's barn.

All's well that ends well.
written by wartank, December 01, 2008 15:06:45
How can a nation survive in the global market when the Govt insists on keeping its people ignorant and confused.
This only serve to make a few crooks wealthy at the expense of a resourse rich country.
After years of deceit,is it any wonder that countries that used to be behind us are now way ahead of us?

Everything is evolving around us and those that failed to evolve go extinct. Do we want to go the way of the Dodo?
If no, WE hav to effect that change TODAY!
written by Ckchew, December 01, 2008 15:12:28
If one was to read the comments on Malaysia Today, one would find that the whole lot of them are against the government & the way these commenter ticked off any comment that deems to be pro government did not go down well with the authority.

These commenter, to the bn propagandists, are creating the public opinion that shape the perception that everyone, especially those from the middle class professional is against the government.

This is what the bn want to do away. We will not do a sit in at our international airports like those in Bangkok but we will definitely sit in & continue to comment in Malaysia Today.

blogckchew
written by kksam, December 01, 2008 15:12:34
Dear Pete, we all supports you, and by that, i mean not only commenting in this page, but we will comes out to show it. We walk with you.

Anyway, yesterday's PJ vigil was truly a memorable night, with the presence of Norlaila and Suhaib, the family of the longest current ISA detainee.
http://kkitsam.wordpress.com
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 15:15:27
It's just that you are from Planet Genius and you are a alien here on Planet stupid.You are too clever for them.They close MT but they have to unblock it.They arrest you but the court release you.They want to shut your mouth but you can talk with your ass.They want you not to wake us stupid people up but we are all awake.They want you to censor all the comments but ahmandneil's uncensor comments keep sneaking in.They want you to stay at home and read Utusan paper but you go to join vigils and read MT.
So tell me Pete,why can't the gov't be angry.They have every right to be angry but I say they shouldn't touch you or detain you.They can be angry,yes they can.Sorry Pete!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 01, 2008 15:15:46
My dear bro Pete,

It’s the same old “Easier to rule a race of ignorant populace than an educated one” holds all so true in Malaysia.
If there are many more people like us here in blogger sphere, our country might be more democratic. As it is, we have a whole lot of our Malays being educated in haphazard schools and institutions and indoctrinated into the “Ketuanan Malayu” mentality and their brains hammered with “it’s the non Bumis who are responsible for, and the cause of, Malays not getting a fair share of the country’s economic wealth & prosperity”.
While other races are sending their children to extra tuition to improve on weak subjects (like maths, science, English, etc), our Malay are sending their children for extra religious studies. Without giving the mainstream Malays proper and relevant education, how can our Malay race ever rise above the rest?

Your statement: “Can any of you figure out what is going on here? I, for one, can’t imagine what game they are playing”.

In other words, they want you at MT to allow postings that are sweet and pleasant to UMNO’ s ears. All postings must praise UMNO on how good a job they are doing in governance, and that they should rule forever and ever even though, in reality, they are full of gross corruption, mismanagement, idiotic policies, cronyisms, and have morons as ministers.

“…I am not sure of his ‘surname’ but he is probably the best-looking Special Branch officer in Bukit Aman…”

Haiyoh, bro Pete, I think you really have been in detention too long lah! smilies/grin.gif Better watch yourself; yah! Now I am really beginning to worry about you!
written by truthbespoken, December 01, 2008 15:16:35
With today's advancements in information technology, UMNO cannot hope to continue forever to cover truths from the people. It's a matter of time UMNO will crumble under their own folly. Together with the word-of-mouth, even rural people will awaken from their slumber. Malaysians were too docile because they have been blind-folded by UMNO earlier.

We must dispel the bloody notion that the government is UMNO and UMNO must be the government. Other than our great and selfless RPK, it is heartening to note that more and more towering Malays are now surfacing to fight for the real Malaysian cause!
written by K W Waran, December 01, 2008 15:16:56

Bro' YM RPK and Dearest Folks of the MT Community,

We, Malaysians, have not only been branded Stupid but going by the words of Shahrir Samad, that white haired Consumer Minister, we are supposed to be Greedy too. All because we were anticipating a lower fuel pricing to the tune of RM1.50 but the Government at the Shahrir's insistance that the fuel subsidies should be removed from 1st November 2008. Then he came up with his statement that we are all Greedy in anticipation.

When that Shahrir was the Federal Territory Minister years ago, say 1985 to be nearly exact, every tom, dick and harry with some power in DBKL to approve were on the take, read corruption here. I knew of a guy who paid RM25,000 to get 5 licenses from DBKL to operate five entertainment centres in various parts of the KL City. I also saw another guy paying RM500 to pay some top guys from DBKL for a meal for some approval. It did not stop there. That poor guy had to adjourn from that "meal" to the another entertainment centre in Bukit Bintang area that involved the "Nocturnal Ladies of Pleasure" and that night ended with some thick envelopes being handed over in total privacy, of course, with them partaking on some supper or breakfast, whichever you want to call it and that too being paid for.

Me being the "Katak From DiBawah Tempurong" then was feeling totally aghast by the time that night ended in the wee hours of the following morning. Though, I was offered, I did not partake on that "form" of entertainment involving those nocturnal ladies and decided to just accompany that paying Gentleman, who was so impressed with that principle of mine that he offered me a high ranking position in his organisation but I politely declined based on that very principle of mine and because my late mother was totally against it. Sad to say, 28 years later, things have not changed one bit, I have to say.

Sorry Folks, I had digressed quite a bit from the subject matter. But anyway, I am, henceforth, not at all shocked on the aspects of the twists and turns of malafide. If you don't go along with "THEM", you are doomed. But that does not work with YM RPK, who is a Man Of Principles.

When I got to read YM RPK's writings initially in 1998 when he calls a spade, only a spade and then met him in person, recently after he came out on bail from Sg. Buloh, I was totally intrigued by him and his principle of upholding Truth and Justice. Nobody can now convince me otherwise as to what He and His Spouse, Puan Marina, stands for. Hence, my statement of me being his self-appointed Foot Soldier and he, my Commander-in -Chief.

So, the battle goes on until YM RPK wins the WAR, ultimately, by God's Grace.

written by malaysianohope, December 01, 2008 15:26:19
Abang,I have a suggestion to solve your predicament and to avoid jail time, you should suggest to Dato Z to imprison all the "bodoh punya" Malaysian ie umno people who could not understand your articles. QED (as in Quite Easily Done) lo!
written by AngryTaxpayer, December 01, 2008 15:48:14
"Can any of you figure out what is going on here? I, for one, can’t imagine what game they are playing"

For all you know, I think even they themselves don't know what they are playing.......just play only lah, since UMNO boss give green light to play play...... smilies/tongue.gif
written by teo siew chin, December 01, 2008 16:04:13
"....not the crap that the school history textbooks and mainstream media spews forth...."
------------------------

not easy to clean up many years of crap.
but the clean-up must happen...
the cleaner the nation gets, the lesser crap for MT to write about. smilies/grin.gif
written by malgal, December 01, 2008 16:53:20
Wah, now govt endorsing educational benefits of MT in a backhanded way of course. How come they didnt get educated reading MT and said it was too hard and confusing? MT readers are not complaining about the comprehension levels, but the govt he*** are. Hmm what does that say?
written by jwars, December 01, 2008 17:13:44
THANK GOD i am finally in
dearest YB RPK i promissed zorro malt in 3 weeks time. will come on a weekend with a candle and hope to at least see you and all the other hero bloogers in person.
once gain ty labisman
julian
written by jwars, December 01, 2008 17:15:05
sorry labisman i meant again ty------- got too excited i guess
written by shepherdvoyage, December 01, 2008 17:45:02
The STUPID always think that they are smart and underestimate the intelligence of the smart.

The STUPID is always too STUPID to hide their stupidity. What they say and how they do things will tell us all the more how STUPID they are.

The STUPID always make themselves the laughing stocks of the smart but unfortunately, they are just too STUPID to realise this.

Zamri is just one of the hundreds of STUPID Datos out there.

written by singam, December 01, 2008 17:45:36
Actually what the gormen is trying to do about Bro Pete is not all that new. Back in Ancient Greece, they went after Socrates for allegedly corrupting the minds of the youth (how about that for exalted company). Sadly, despite the trappings of civilization and democracy, they saw fit to impose the death penalty on him. The method of execution may have been civilised (though I can think of better fluids than hemlock with which to drink oneself to death) but there's nothing civilised about the death penalty.

Under the Mahathir regime, Pete would have been in for dark days. Under Najis, I wouldn't want to wait and C 4 myself. Which is why, if Anwar can't get his act together in time, after Abdullah steps down from UMNO presidency, PR and BN MPs should unite and vote to retain Abdullah as the PM.

As a non-partisan caretaker PM, Abdullah can work on delivering his promises to clean up and liberate the Judiciary, the Elections Commission, the ACA and the Police without having to worry about UMNO internal politics.

Yeah, yeah... wishful thinking. But hey! You got to have a dream, OK!
written by jereylow, December 01, 2008 17:51:28
I am a "smart" Malaysian and have already left bolehland long time ago! I am helping other developed and developing countries who appreciate my capabilities and knowledge developed all kinds of processes and systems to improve their livelihood and make a lot of money for myself in the process. I have a "home" but not in bolehland. Nonetheless, since I was borned in bolehland, I still love the country, though I have never liked the Government because not only am I servant-class but treated as "stupid." It has been many years, but I still assess bolehland's situation and weigh whether it is time I could help this country, but as of today, nothing has changed, it still does not bave any hope.
written by shepherdvoyage, December 01, 2008 18:02:14
Comments are the voices of the people from the bottom of their hearts. BN should be grateful that you have the privilege to know the views, opinions, suggestions, anger and feelings of the silent majority.
written by panca, December 01, 2008 18:25:18

written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 13:42:25
When I finished my SPM,I asked for JPA scolarship and after been called for interview they turn me down.I asked for license to go for gov't tenders but was turn down.I asked for small and medium industry loan and was turn down.I wrote hundred of letters asking for help from the gov't and help never arrive.In the end I beg my only mother to withdrew her 'blood money' from the EPF.'This all I have',my mum told me.'Whether you make it or not,son,I can't help you anymore'.I took her life saving money and off I make my way to Australia.Barely have I finished my first semester,the money ran out and I have to get part time job.I struggle for years and I managed to finished my degree.It was hard and I finally make it.Today I thank my mother not the gov't ,for making what I'm today.The gov't never helps me and I help the gov't by paying tax. So my malays brothers,you see the logic when the gov't says they will 'help'.The only way is to help yourself.Don't wait for those 'mirage'.It's false hope!God save all malays and malaysian

Thumbs up to U, Ahmadneil. You are not alone.

Majority Non-Malay who got the grades were also not lucky but have to self-help!(You know has to be based on luck).

Education comes first to her citizen but where are the country's coffers? They have molested, stole, raped the Rakyat intelligence and the Nation's wealth, they think it is 'they' gomen's money, they think it is their cuntry!

We have since lost more than we know.
written by cheekhiaw, December 01, 2008 18:25:44
If a bunch of thieves, liars and murderers and their descendents get voted into power time and again for 40 years, they have a damn good reason to assume the country is full of idiots!

written by mikewang, December 01, 2008 18:37:11
"In short, my crime is for having a higher intellectual level than the average Malaysian and they might misunderstand what I write. This is why the government regards me as a threat to society."

This is a bloody insult to all readers of MT.
We don't easily misunderstand.

I hope you are wrong in saying that one day he'll head the special branch.
written by What Nil Wisdom, December 01, 2008 18:43:17
Turns out this anti-jihadist fellow RPK mentions is still blogging, his blog is http://pedestrianinfidel.blogspot.com
written by carribeanking7, December 01, 2008 18:45:30

While you were incarcerated, many wrote letters of appeals to Pak Lah to free you, I thought they were well meaning but stupid, so I tried to dissuade them, and on Sept 28 2008, when I could no longer tolerate all the "stupidity" I told them so.( I reproduce my rant below)

I then proceeded to write a "stupid" letter of my own (See Below), but that didnt help either, I am baffled too - in the beginning I tried reason, then I tried satire, then reverse psychology- finally I started foaming in the mouth like shabery cheek ranting and calling them names.
Stiil didnt work- I donno Pete I am puzzled too, perhaps they are too smart for any of us.

Regards
Vijay
------------------------------------------------------------------

No point addressing it to lame duck prime minister Pak Lah, Najib is calling the shots then keeping very silent, the PM points the finger at home ministry and the home minister is pointing at the police, the police are playing deaf and dumb,one can reasonably deduce who has the biggest bone to pick with RPK.
The 2 alledged articles are a red herring, nay a purple herring, the religious dept, Home minister etc are just pawns, the real culprits are likely to be IGP Musa Hassan and Najib., why do I say that ? go back and read

1) Lets send the Altantuya murderers to hell (implicating Najib)
2) Podah Moses ! (Challenging Musa Hassan)

Having said that I belive I did write a letter to the PM

My letter in support of Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

My Dearest PM - Pak Lah,

Recently the world economy is very bearish, and Malaysia is no exception -times are tough.
Malaysia faces a double whammy of economic and political uncertainty.

I don't blame you really, all those advisers giving you wrong information, so its not really your fault.
What more with one of your cabinet ministers quitting,he does not see that the ISA is really a fabulous
multipurpose law, after all we never know when there may be another communist insurgence,
De facto law Minister - Zaid is so myopic to have not seen this.
After all anybody could be a potential communist whether they are a journalist, member of parliament
or even a blogger.

I must also commend you for your tolerance of free speech, for a moment I thought you would reprimand,
your son in-law , Hamidah Osman, Wira Ali Rustam and recently Ahmad Ismail for comments that
some oversensitive people deemed racist, but the fact that you did not shows your commitment
on the freedom of speech.

I also understand that RPK was detained because he is a threat to security, the distribution figures
of the mainstream media has dropped drastically, imagine all those reporters and editors who disseminate
BN propoganda .....ooops sorry Official Information being out of a job, yes he is a threat to their job security.
The online monopoly is unfair as well ,UMNO website hits go into the hudreds of thousands, your ex boss on
chedet.com has taken six million hits since inception, Malaysia Today sometimes takes 10 million hits
in a single day, this is patently unfair.

Some are saying you did not do enough for your race, still others have
called your ancestors squatters, then all those pesky component party leaders blaming UMNO.
Then there is your ex boss Tun Mahathir who says so many unkind things about you.
He forgets that when he was PM and you were DPM , you made a formidable team,
you had big ears and he had a big mouth.

Many who do not understand call you flip-flop, don't pay them any heed, they just fail to see that
you have a dynamic mind that changes very often.

You have also proven a point by switching portfolio's with your DPM that you are capable of multitasking.
Good for you, now Najib can figure out how a sudden 41% hike in petrol prices is helping the economy,
while you try and figure out why we are the only nation in the world using Scorpene Subs to
torpedo pirate ships who threaten our territorial waters.
(It was so effective that the cowardly pirates did not dare come here, they seized MISC ships that
were beyond our scope of protection.) oh well success has its price.
Bravo for thinking out of the box , why should we follow convention ? to hell with what others may think.

As a concerned citizen, I notice that there seems to be one disturbing trend,
every time you open your mouth and say something incredulous the local stock market falls several points.
You inspire such confidence that investors liquidate all their stocks, take their money and run away everytime
you come up with eureka moments.

So in the interim while waiting for a new government to take over or at least until this mess is sorted out
I humbly ask a favor, to prevent our stock market from sliding further, "PLEASE REFRAIN FROM SPEAKING"

Best Regards

written by tino_chan1988, December 01, 2008 20:03:39
Look who's stupid now?
written by Naksam, December 01, 2008 20:15:27
I am a 65 year old high school graduate (only a P8 for my English)and never attend any higher education. What is so 'intellectual' about RPK's writing that we need to be protected from? If I can understand every word of RPK's writing I don't see how the Special Branch guy came to a conclusion that average Malaysian would misunderstand those articles.

Come on government, please come up with a more palatable excuses. We know when to believe and when to do further research on his (RPK) information.
written by Futurist, December 01, 2008 20:29:00
All in all, the goons in the govt want to keep the public under a nutshell. That's the only way they can keep the people to toe their line. But, thanks to MT, and RPK, for the daily news.
written by Sabahfan, December 01, 2008 20:34:14
The answer to your question RPK is already obvious ever since 20 years ago when UMNO started ruling this country
written by cruzeiro, December 01, 2008 21:39:12
Based on what they were tying to tell me, I have to be sent to Kamunting because I am smart and most Malaysians are stupid. So Malaysians need to be protected from me.
=================================
ROTFLOL!!
Stupid is as stupid does!
He must be refering to Umnoputras ....

It's obvious that the Govt intends to keep the people ignorant using all instruments of state, despite their Cemerlang, Gemilang, Terbilang crap!
written by cruzeiro, December 01, 2008 21:40:27
BTW, what happened to "muftimurtad"'s comments issue?
written by Rozlan, December 01, 2008 22:11:56
suppose there must be a good reason why the government would rather keep Malaysians stupid and why they lock me up so that I can’t continue my attempts to wake Malaysians up and educate them. Could it be because stupid Malaysians can be easily manipulated while smart Malaysians would vote opposition? Maybe Dato’ Zamri can help reply to this question.

UMNO had been telling Malaysians for decades that they were to stupid too think,so the rakyat must follow everything they said and shutup .Please refer back to all BN politicians speeches in previous years...I remember during my student years at a local university.We were told during the orientation weeks at the local universities we told by the Dean of Student Affairs to shutup.Thats all.He said our duty is to study.It seem he was trying to tell us not think beyond the books we read...

But they get as very big surprise when people start to think in the last GE...
written by born2reign, December 01, 2008 22:35:36
When stupid Malaysians voted for BN, they expected BN to act fair and just.
When stupid Malaysians become handicapped under NEP, they blame the Chinese and Indians.
When stupid Malaysians graduated with worthless degrees and can't get a job, blame the Chinese and Indians.
When stupid Malaysians call themselves supremacists, never mind jobless and broke Tuans, blame the non-Malay "slaves" who have jobs and productive businesses that employ some stupid Malaysians.
And because the stupid Malays voted for stupid ministers like Bodowi and Sh*t Hamid, the investigation and evidence gathering for prosecution team against RPK really tops Stupid land. That's why they need to put RPK in detention, coz RPK will show just how stupid the prosecution team really are.

I thought Najis was stupid enough with the Saifool sodomy case, this "disappearing original article" is actually more stupid. Can it actually get stupider? Yes, which BN dumbo posted as "anti-jihadist"? You'd think after Saifool and Anwar's sodomy case they'd at least get the sequence of events right.

Maybe stupid ministers are God sent, they really shoot themselves in the foot. Hence those who oppose the govt fools are the wise and intelligent rakyat. This article is so so farnie!!!
written by lovemalaysiarakyat, December 01, 2008 23:20:01
RPK is a phenomenon.
It takes a rocket scientist to understand him. So why should the authorities be afraid?
We have someone who went outer-space to try "teh tarekking". We guess he is smart enough...or maybe the people who chose him decided that he sort of looked like Dato' Zamri the Special Branch guy ( Pete you started this , eh?)
The rest of us are frogs under the coconut shell.
The problem is, there was an explosion that blasted the shells away - now we all are hopping mad...
written by trublumalaysian, December 02, 2008 00:25:23
Indeed sad when I have to write this, but do this I will.

When reading the article on the demise of Deputy Edu minister during his game; I did feel sad for a fellow malaysian.

BUT, upon reading further that he was an UMNO politician; was just naturally compelled to feel that one less evil from UMNO is a better thing for Malaysia.

To his immediate family, sincerest apologies & deepest condolences on their bereavement but .. please accept that being associated with evil will always be evil. May he find solace in the afterworld.

This, perhaps will underline the fact as to how much this party has created so much of hatred amongst Malaysians. God bless us all ..
written by aeromaverick, December 02, 2008 00:41:36
All this is pointing towards the path of desperation. There seems to be no resolution to the endemic problems we are facing. Unless the people unite and vote the incubents out, there is no hope in the midst of this circus.
There is a by-election coming up in Terengganu very soon. Atleast within th next 6 months, I belief. Lets all pitch in to make sure the righteous one wins, rather than the powerful one, and send yet another loud & clear signal to these powers to be.
On top of that, we have the second generation coming up now. I for one personally prefer KJ to the the heir apparent of the former dictator!
Last of all, Pete, I hope you will be able to escape the dragnet that is thrown around you once again. Please keep your chin up and continue with the "education" for the betterment of this nation and society.
Regards
written by Apek, December 02, 2008 08:19:16
Dear Mohamed Shahril Tarmizi,

You are way out of line. Do you have an explanation as to your alleged ultra vires act? I'd like to see that.
written by batsman, December 02, 2008 08:24:59
Not only are Malaysians stupid, foreign investors are also stupid. Or maybe they are smart but playing dumb. The MCMC act was broken by the govt and they don't seem to be the least worried. Maybe they are too busy making money. So... How much was your profit this year Microsoft?
written by Msian Idol3, December 02, 2008 09:07:31
Not surprise as to the lengths this current govt can go. Total disregard of basic decency & its unbelievable these guys in UMNO can claim they are so holy. No honourable way to build a nation via such wanton abuse of human rights. RPK you are one brave, true muslim & Msian first & foremost.
written by batsman, December 02, 2008 10:02:11
Hitech Multinationals insist on MCMC Act before they agree to come in, but ignore the govt breaking it. What do you make of such attitude? Too easy to make money in Malaysia?
written by batsman, December 02, 2008 10:02:55
Name and shame the multinationals who keep mum.
written by astina, December 02, 2008 10:22:01
To keep the general population "stupid" must have been ole TDM's idea.

One of his first move was to downgrade MCE to SPM , and LCE to SRP
What became of these grup of graduates?..
Most are satisfied with the quality of Proton ...
written by amoker, December 02, 2008 10:52:53
The way UMNO talks down to everybody seemed that they think rakyat is stupid. MCMC head should resign la, waste of taxpayers money

Wonder who owns the Chawan Restaurant.?
written by Everbright, December 02, 2008 12:03:38
There is country known to its natives as 'Bodohland' headed by a sleepy leader called Bodowi. He surrounds himself with H6 Cabinet Ministers like Botak and currency smugglers like M2. Malaysians are no longer stupid. Yes, maybe once upon a time. before GE12. Thanks To MT, our minds and spirits are now soaring. We dare to dream dreams and we want to be freed from the shackles of a corrupt evil regime who do nothing useful the whole day long except to plot and scheme to enrich themselves and prolong their hold on power.
written by bebas2lawat, December 02, 2008 13:41:49
Hey guys,
Are we going to let this illusion continue that the malaysian public can continue to be hoodwinked?Lets prove it during the byelection in Trengganu.We are no longer delusional and we have awakened so fellow trengganueans vote Pakatan and show BN we are no longer "stupid","gullible",'Dumb' smilies/angry.gif
written by What Nil Wisdom, December 02, 2008 17:01:01
Suppose Malaysia had no internal critics. Suppose they were all whisked away to Kamunting or Guantanamo Bay never to be heard from again. What would happen? The same thing that always happens when you shoot the messenger--you end up surrounding yourself with nothing but docile mirror-minds. When you put away those that speak freely, you surround yourself with those that speak only that which you want to hear. And there is nothing more poisonous than to rot in the stink of your own reflection.
written by ROBERTNGTG, December 02, 2008 17:24:41
I suppose there must be a good reason why the government would rather keep Malaysians stupid and lock me up so that I can’t continue in my attempts to wake Malaysians up and educate them. Could it be because stupid Malaysians can be easily manipulated while smart Malaysians would vote opposition?

WELL, THEY SURE HV 3 MILLION OF THEM WHO PREFER TO BE DUMB AND BLIND SUPPORTERS WHO ARE BY NOW INTOXICATED WITH CRONISYM AND FULLY adDICTED TO HANDOUTS IN ORDER TO LIVE. WHAT A PITY THEY HV NO MORE BACKBONE OF WISDOM AND COURAGE TO STAND UP FOR THE TRUTH AND JUSTICE.
written by dinosaur, December 03, 2008 11:47:53
No wonder RPK is and will be in deep shit.

"SAC1 Dato' Zamri says RPK's writing is too intellectual for the average Malaysians, but Mohamed Shahril Tarmizi and his emissary say it is because RPK has no control over the comments written by others...".

So what is the true reason they are trying their best (or worst) to put RPK behind bar?

Being a just, simple and God fearing ordinary Malaysian like me, I believe that truth and justice will finally prevail. Evils and devils have no place in God's kingdom.
written by RFernandez, December 05, 2008 01:57:58
Ever heard of an oxymoron, where a death row prisoner insisting his lethal injection needle be sterilized first? Well the Malaysian Government is filled with and run by such Oxy-morons that is why they can't figure out which crime you committed.

Truth hurts, and it hurts the corrupted most, so keep up the good work RPK, you deserve to be our next PM by popular choice of the rakyat. I have no doubt about that.