The bureaucracy and political concerns PDF Print
Tuesday, 22 January 2008 08:07

The NST Editorial “A Test of Diversity” (19/1/08) is most pertinent in content and its scope virtually certain to raise a wide range or responses from readers.

{mosgoogle right} In particular, the mention that the Chief Secretary to the Government has given the assurance that (future candidates to the Civil Service) “will be selected on ability is to be welcomed” and that this “goal is worth working towards because multiculturalism is a litmus test to our progress as a nation” is without doubt defining.

But with the greatest of respect, the editorial reads like an excellent “academic” presentation rather than an expression of reality, except for the caveat that “short of including race as a factor of selection” ..” it is hard to see how the trend in the civil service could be reversed”

The fact of the matter therefore is that the “test of diversity” is to be found not simply in being “colour-blind” or “gender blind” but in widening the scope of employment opportunities for the Bumiputras themselves in both public and private sector employment in the first place so that the current “trend (of fixing quotas) in the civil service could be reversed”.

This is the root of the problem. Tun Dr Mahathir when Prime Minister is on record as saying that because the private sector did not employ sufficient Malays therefore the Government was thrust with the responsibility of recruiting increasing numbers in the pubic sector. But the moot question here is to ascertain the origins of why such a situation as arisen in these respective employment settings in the first place. Until and unless this can be effectively addressed and hopefully satisfactorily overcome, the arbitrary removal of Bumipurta quotas for government jobs is likely to result in making the existing fragile political system even more susceptible to ethnic and racial tensions within possible potential conflict situations.

In all humility I need to apologize for attempting to make such an assertion in a highly complex scenario of ethnic and race relations and especially considering the strict limitations of space in a Letter. At the same time I am confident that Malaysia Today readers will give this piece the important attention it deserves. I shall try to be as brief as possible by stating the main points elaborating when necessary.

1. Colonial education policy deliberately deprived the Malays of an education in the English medium of instruction.

2. The post-independent Government by introducing Malay as the sole medium of instruction in government educational institutions, including centres of higher education, effectively continued to deny Malays the opportunity to learn in English which is the case even to the present day.

3. Therefore, the Malays have not been “forced” to learn something new (as the non-Malays were) by way of an education in English, that involves, inter alia, the study of grammar and the stretching of the mind, with the accompanying additional disadvantage of not being exposed to new ideas, because English is recognized as the most important international language in the global context.

4. This situation is further compounded by Malay being the language of higher education and the Bureaucracy, so that in terms of the entire scenario of foreign affairs and in the context of globalization including ICT, the Malays find it hard to deliver.

5. Regrettably, nowhere is the result of this situation more devastating than in the acknowledgement that there are around 80,000 unemployed graduates from local universities. Indeed what is even worse is that the vast sums of money allocated for their re-training (estimated at nearly one billion ringgit so far) has not had the desired effect so that we are forced to accept the reality that we have not just unemployed, but unemployable graduates.

Nonetheless the editorial is correct in identifying the strategy of the Chief Secretary to adopt the policy of meritocracy as a ‘step in the right direction’.

With respect, I have to say that this sense of ‘direction’ is also and indeed most applicable to the involvement of the private and corporate sector in direct involvement in working with the government to deal head-on with this scenario rather than to continue its existing policy of only trying to sustain “business as usual” The private sector must awake to the reality that the viability of profit maximization is only possible when there is political stability and therefore to ignore the pressing problem of youth unemployment and ‘unemployability” is to do so at its own peril.

The Government also needs to reach out to the private and corporate sector to jointly take on the entire question of organizing more realistic knowledge cum skills -based training for youth at different levels of both the public and private sector. I am confident that an appeal by government also to other Malaysians who have the capability as well as hand-on experiences to help build such a viable program would receive an excellent response.

In fact neither the government nor the corporate sector has a monopoly of potentially relevant training programs as can be seen in certain recent human capital training programs. One recent course that comes to mind is where on the completion of the course, trainees are immediately hired as apprentices and would be evaluated and receive further training commensurate with their duties and responsibilities as they work their way up within the respective firms and companies.

Some Malaysians who had attended universities in the West had also been involved in practical hands- on training or observation attachments. I for one had invaluable hands -on experience while on the Fulbright Visiting Professorship program in race relations at Cornel in 1980 to be attached to a human resource training project at Harlem in New York. It was an eye-opening experience to see long term unemployed, unqualified Black youth totally commit themselves very successfully in a similar program (as above) where they were in fact hired as employees with the company name tag pinned on their shirts on the very first day of the commencement of the program.

Dr Collin Abraham

written by lokenpal, January 22, 2008 09:06:51
>> Nonetheless the editorial is correct in identifying the strategy of the Chief Secretary to adopt the policy of meritocracy as a ‘step in the right direction’.

Nonetheless the election is nearing and this is merely political spin!!
written by Jefus, January 22, 2008 09:31:02
1. Colonial education policy deliberately deprived the Malays of an education in the English medium of instruction.

Please, we are two generations away from any working Malaysian who has experienced colonial rule. The education policy / ministry has been in turmoil from TDM's being the minister, and right to the present moment. The flip flops in the ghosts of language policies in the schooling ages of these work force are now haunting us. There many who are niether Baku Malay nor Melayu Malay language. How do you think their other language skills will be?

2. The post-independent Government by introducing Malay as the sole medium of instruction in government educational institutions,.......

Again, the move to have all government letters written in Malay, the insistence of having Bahasa Melayu, puts English as a very distant second fiddle. This is the Malay commnuity own undoing.

3. Therefore, the Malays have not been “forced” to learn something new (as the non-Malays were) by way of an education in English,..... English is recognized as the most important international language in the global context.

Malays, did not forsee the marketing importance of English but were hankered down with their colonial baggage. Much to their disadvantage.

4. This situation is further compounded by Malay being the language of higher education and the Bureaucracy, so that in terms of the entire scenario of foreign affairs and in the context of globalization including ICT, the Malays find it hard to deliver.

The world cannot wait for the Malays to be up to speed. If they want to be at par, they must come up on their own. That is why protectionism will insulate them for now but will be detrimental for them in future.

5. Regrettably, nowhere is the result of this situation more devastating than in the acknowledgement that there are around 80,000 unemployed graduates from local universities. Indeed what is even worse is that the vast sums of money allocated for their re-training

In excellence, there is no charity. or largesse. Competitiveness is key, or as we are seeing now, will be left behind. And the youth of today is being wasted due to bad policy making of the past. Point to note: The unemployed today were in schools 10 -15 years ago. Who was the Education minister then?
written by Birdbrain, January 22, 2008 10:17:12
Talk is cheap! Just because 12th GE is round the corner, semua boleh! Be sincere and take the neccessary action now before Malays get globalized and they can forget about the "Glocal"!!!

Even the Chinese are learning English in China, Vietnam has done away with their French and Malaysia is still trying to glorify their national language. Make English a compulsory subject in school and you can be assured not many Malays will make it to the next level because they don't have enough good Malay cikgu who can teach English. Malaysia has been screwed left and right the the Nationalists who is still hiding under the tempurung!

Talk with sincerity and the rakayt will ride along with you. You can con the rakyat, once, twice and maybe thrice but not forever. Only the elite Malays will survive and the poor kampong folks will continue to led into wilderness by these elite Malays.

We should lead the poor Malays out of wilderness by voting out selfish leaders who did nothing to their constituency. All they did was to make themself the Tuan and others doesn't matter.

written by Birdbrain, January 22, 2008 10:23:02
So now we should know why the Malays are not employable in the private sector and not to mention trying to hang on to high positions. Even in the GLC, all the CEO in thier respective positions are handpicked and not by qualification. Why do you think GLC performs badly despite so much support from the govt.

Simple, every RM1 they make, 70 sen is siphoned out! No wonder "masih saperti katak dibawah tempurung"!

Barisan Nasional with thier stupid policies makes you stupid forever! They even send their own children for overseas education or to private schools/colleges. Masi nak undi Barisan National ka?!
written by teo siew chin, January 22, 2008 11:00:44
"... vast sums of money allocated for their re-training (estimated at nearly one billion ringgit so far) has not had the desired effect so that we are forced to accept the reality that ..."
-------------------------------------------------------------

These graduates have my sympathies actually. First they had no choice but be subjected to the present education system which basically cut off their thinking skills. As for re-training? - (1) it's acknowledging the system failed and (2) throwing good money at the problem still does not solve it.

So now it's back to the basics - graduates, YOU must now help yourselves!! smilies/cry.gif
written by InEffective, January 22, 2008 11:09:36
With regards to economic relevancy of languages, it has got to be english, chinese, and hindi.
Cultural relevancy is still malay, chinese, tamil as per Malaysia's demographics
Political relevancy of languages ??

So now what language strategy should the schools adopt ?
( what do the parents want ? what politician want is usually to serve their electability )
written by NSTPravda, January 22, 2008 11:37:24
If you can keep your head when all about is losing theirs
Then either you are an idiot or your are snoozing upstairs
If you can brace yourself when all others doubt you
We can surely find you some other more suitable job to do

If you can lie to the teeth in the face of all the doubts
Continue lying, and pretend not knowing what these are about
Forment hatred, wave your kris to encourage bigotry and zeal
Treat forms as more important than what is substantively real

If you can really make dreams your master
Act, not for the present, but pray only for hereafter
If you don’t think, just make thoughts your aim
Destroy all inconvenient truths as your bane

If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you
You can turn around and sell them all out too
Then please apply to join UMNO today
For us, you are really “semua-nya OK!”

written by renoir, January 22, 2008 14:52:52
We can opt for socialism or capitalism. Or a mix of both socio-economic systems, which is what most progressive countries are doing.

If we opt for capitalism, then it's a dog-eat-dog world, based on survival of the fittest. Everyone must struggle. Meritocracy is part of this ideology. Private property must be respected. For entrepreneurs, the likelihood of bankruptcy and losing all your belongings must be accepted. For the individual, being fired is normal as having nasi lemak for breakfast. So those who opt for capitalism and say the private sector must do this or that - other than actions that directly harm the public such as unsafe cars or polluting factories - are either being deliberately naive or waiting to be warded in Tanjong Rambutan. Milton Friedman might be overly capitalistic, but most of his arguments are relevant for a capitalist society. You can impose non-economic policies on public sectors, but not the private sector.

If socialism is the choice, then state planning has a much bigger role. Here the social takes precedence over the economic. Returns are calculated not merely in terms of money, but the welfare of societies. There is by definition less individual competition but more collective enterprises. Here the state can decide on things like what projects to undertake and who should be employed. A usual goal is to narrow the rich-poor gap. Such a society should still be essentially meritocratic - the idea of favoring "red" over expert was a millstone around the Chinese economy during the early 60s, just as the favoring of a certain ethnic group in our country over others has resulted in gross inefficiency and worse - rampant corruption. This system has its merits - slow but steady growth that's aimed at producing a harmonious, less contentious society.

A third way is to mix the two systems. In Nordic countries, there are collective as well as private enterprises. Income tax is high, but in return citizens get a wide variety of goods in the form of good roads, housing, educational facilities, healthcare, etc. Some people might think that's what we have here, and in a way that seemed to be the direction during the early years. But when Dr.M took over, caution was thrown to the winds. The state began to interfere in private sectors. Flourishing companies were taken over from those who nursed and built them and turned into GLCs. It was like the Australian aborigines demanding a share in all Australian corporations, besides taking over the most flourishing ones. What was done here has never been done in the history of nations that incorporated capitalism as part of their growth strategy.

If we want to keep the private sector, then we must respect the enterprising folks who slowly built up their companies through hard work and innovation. Very often, it's not advisable even for companies to take over other companies, unless the intention is to eliminate competition. This is because each company is unique, and succeeded largely because of the personal vision of the entrepreneur. It boggles the mind to imagine how much was lost in terms of even bigger returns for the country, had corporations such as private banks not been grabbed as a matter of government policy. This kind of state piracy is precisely why we lost our lead over nations with similarly mixed-type of economies, such as South Korea and Taiwan.

To sum up, we can have a socialist or capitalist economy, or a mixed economy. Since many idiots equate socialism with communism, the choice is really between capitalist or mixed economy. In both such economies, the capitalist sector must be left alone to do its best. Laws must be made to promote entrepreneurialism, to nourish the competitive spirit and foster innovation. You cannot have a thriving capitalist sector when you start grabbing firms with whatever excuse, or insist that they help the state in social engineering. There are specific roles for government, and specific roles for the private sector, and the former cannot intrude into the latter. Unless we want to become another Indonesia which, by the way, is beginning to see the error of its ways.

I've decided not to speak about the corruption that comes with government intereference in pivate entities. The fact is, even without corruption, we're sure to fail if we don't respect the dividing line between the private and the public. Unless we opt for a socialist system, or even a full-fledged communist system.

written by hiro, January 22, 2008 19:43:10
What the Secretary say is probably not a spin, because if the civil service is not the employer of the last resort, where would the graduates go, which makes it a political hot soup for UMNO. But voters who treasure competence should not bother reading too much into this. The politicians won't allow it because it runs contrary to the concept of "Malay supremacy" and utterances of such nature.
written by renoir, January 23, 2008 00:17:12
I said:
>Very often, it's not advisable even for companies to take over other companies, unless the intention is to eliminate competition.]]

With some spare time left, I'll elaborate on my above statement. Most of our GLC people don't have the experience of nurturing a company until it reaches a reasonable corporate size. They've little idea what makes companies grow, whether incrementally or in a linear fashion. They've never, so to speak, gone through the mill. Can such people make it just because they're placed there, not because of business acumen, not because of their vast storehouse of business experiences, but because of political power? Oftentimes it feels great sitting in that big CEO's chair, dreaming of even greater business empires. That often is the reason why they think about grabbing other people's companies, without really understanding the dynamics of running a much larger business entity that resulted from the acquisition/merger.

There IS such a thing as a good merger/acquisition, one that enables companies to attain economies of scale, greater purchasing power and greater revenue growth. The advantage in acquiring new distribution channels or utilizing some new technology can result in powerful synergies. Yet most of the time, such ventures tend to end in failures because of an inability to streamline and coordinate a large corporation, a lack of speed in carrying out needed changes while allowing normal businesses to continue. Even the best American corporations had fallen into bad times because such flaws, what more when they're undertaken by inexperienced, government-appointed CEOs. That this kind of thing has been going on for decades, often needing a government/taxpayer bailout, is really criminal.

written by Saint, January 23, 2008 09:00:32
Just dream on. This only a election biased statement.
Unemployment is going to continue, as policies will not change
Only in the hope of government change,
can all these (AND MANY OTHER) rectification be started.
Solving may take another 10 - 20 years.
written by Eskay Lim, January 23, 2008 12:25:47
I can't help but feel pity for all those thousands of unemployable graduates and their parents as well for being lead down the garden path by bad policies formulated by the umno-led gomen. This is the result of selfishness and protectionism in trying to create a master race in Malaysia. Non-Malays are very adaptable despite the NEP and other protectionist programmes. They worked hard, studied hard and sacrificed for their betterment, not only for themselves but also for their children. They learned hard to "catch fish not to receive fish".(so to speak)
Remember that Hitler tried that before and failed miserably.... and trying that in this country in this period of globalisation will definitely follow the same path.