Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ketuanan Melayu could be misinterpreted: Koh

Ketuanan Melayu could be misinterpreted: Koh PDF Print
Monday, 01 December 2008 09:31

Opalyn Mok, THE SUN

The term 'ketuanan Melayu' (Malay supremacy) could be misinterpreted and the right terminology to be used should be from the Federal Constitution, Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon said today. 

Commenting on Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek's statement last Thursday that the ketuanan Melayu concept is no longer relevant, Koh said the appropriate words to use are "special position of the Malays and bumiputras" as written in the constitution.

"I am unsure of the effects of using a word that is not in the constitution as it can bring about a different meaning and it could be misinterpreted," he said.

He said the word 'ketuanan' may give rise to the interpretation that there's a 'tuan' (master) and a 'hamba' (slave).

"So, the proper terminology to be used should be from the constitution where it is stated that all the citizens' rights are protected," he said.

Koh said Article 153 of the Federal Constitution provided for the special position of the Malays and bumiputras and also the legitimate interests of all the other communities.

"The Federal Constitution should form the basis for all this, so there is no need to argue over it," he said at a press conference after delivering his opening address at the Gerakan Lifelong Members' annual general meeting"There is no point continuing to argue over the use of this terminology if we all refer to the constitution.

He said the interests and rights of all Malaysians must be prioritised because of the global economic crisis.

Earlier, in his speech, Koh said the poverty lines must be revised very six months because of the economic slowdown.

"We need to focus on the poverty-stricken as a lot of people are getting poorer. For example, the poverty line of two years ago may not be relevant now anymore," he said.

Koh said the way to help the poverty-stricken is to retrain them and look at more opportunities for them instead of only giving them money.

On Gerakan, Koh said the central committee held its second meeting on Saturday, during which Datuk Lim Kheng Guan and Dr Asharuddin Ahmad were sworn in as the two appointed central committee members, and Datuk Gooi Hoe Kin as the deputy dpeaker of the National Delegates Conference.

Deputy Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities and central committee member Kohilan Pillay was appointed a vice-president to fill the vacancy left by the late Datuk Dr S. Vijayaratnam.

The central bureaus were revamped to cover wider areas of responsibility. The central legal bureau has been redesignated the central bureau on human rights and law, and the publicity bureau is now known as the publicity, information and communications bureau.

The newly-created bureaus are the legislature liasion bureau, government administrative affairs bureau, environment, safety and quality of life bureau, and public health and social development bureau.

Former secretary-general Datuk Seri Chia Kwang Chye, who was appointed a vice-president, was reappointed to head the central training bureau, which has been renamed the central training and forums bureau.

On the Life Member Council, former party former president Tun Dr Lim Keng Yaik was elected uncontested as the chairman to the party immovable property committee. The two other members elected to the committee are Chua Chong An and Lim Heng Tee.

Six life members elected to the central committee are Lum Weng Keong, Dr Chee See Choke, Datuk Dr Teng Hock Nan, Dr Lim Thuang Seng, Yeoh Chip Tong and Khoo Soo Chai.

written by Birdbrain, December 01, 2008 09:50:51
The term 'ketuanan Melayu' (Malay supremacy) could be misinterpreted

What do you expect from the illiterate dunggus in UMNO? They only understand one common sign, which is $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$!
written by FFT, December 01, 2008 09:53:21
Koh Tsu Koon, stop flapping away like an aimless chicken's posterior. Either pull Gerakan out of BN or keep quiet and bend over for Kerismuddin.
written by Tompios, December 01, 2008 09:54:02
where is the word of 'Ketuanan Melayu' in the Federal Constitution of Malaysia? Funny, these UMNO flies are using 'Ketuanan Melayu' terminology to get support from all 'Malays' for their backyard supports.

Istilah yang dipaksakan untuk diguna-pakai sebagai agenda sokongan khusus untuk kaum Melayu yang berada di dalam tempurung kelapa sawit. Well, educated Malays will think differently about "Ketuanan Melayu" in our Constitution declaration. There no such thing 'ketuanan melayu' exist in perlembagaan. Special rights is the correct term.
written by lamakawan, December 01, 2008 09:58:51
Dr. Koh, no need to keep on harping on the issue of ketuanan melayu. Your party is subservient to UMNO, thats it, full stop. What is there to argue about when the elections is truly over? What we want is for the ruling party to govern and lead the country to prosperity and not to argue with the UMNO dogs about who is master and who is slave. When you were chief minister, you dare not say anuthing about UMNO. Now you are no more in gomen you are desperate to speak up. Too late.
written by Sudahlah tu, December 01, 2008 10:09:44
Segalanya bermula dengan sifat tamak seorang yang inginkan kuasa yang berkecuali daripada perlembagaan negara.
Berakhirnya sebuah generasi keturunan bangsa yang mulia dan adat resam yang menjadi kebanggaan negara kerana niat zalim sebegini.
bn sudah lama memainkan agenda sensitif perkauman ini dan menyembunyikan fakta sebenarnya daripada bangsa ini untuk mengekalkan kuas mereka sebagai kerajaan.
kini kebangkitan rakyat terhadap kezaliman serta kebodohan yang mereka harungi telah cukup memberi tentangan hebat kepada bn terutamanya umno.
segalanya penjelasan sepatutnya ditujukan kepada rakyat semenjak kemerdekaan lagi dan bukan sekarang setelah segala kezaliman diketahui oleh umum.
rakyat bukan bodoh lagi. simpan sahaja agenda sendiwara ini untuk kegunaan bn sendiri. rakyat sudah lebih matang dan tidak mudah diperdayakan lagi.
jenayah yang dilakukan oleh awak dan bn bersama umno telah berdosa dan tidak dapat dimaafkan.
Bukan itu sahaja , ramai rakyat yang berdoa agar Allah akan memberkati doa mereka agar kezaliman umno dan bn akan berakhir dan mereka yang berdosa dihukum olehNya.
written by truthbespoken, December 01, 2008 10:09:44
UMNO has always been used to high-jacking the Constitution when it comes to UMNO's interest. Koh and the others "partners" of UMNO should check and declare how many times UMNO had high-jacked the Constitution to their benefit over the years they were together! Get real Koh, you are only skimming the surface of the issue!
written by InEffective, December 01, 2008 10:20:52

Somebody should tell this dysfunctional KTK that we the rakyat don't need his understanding, his views, or his explanations.

If he does NOT have to conviction and commitment to defend the peoples rights and demonstrate that with his behavior and action, he is irrelevant to us.

We want change, that this brand of politician (securing and protecting his self-interests) CANNOT deliver - NO VALUE TO MALAYSIA.
written by cahaya, December 01, 2008 10:53:08
The Federal Constitution, what does it say? We need someone to explain what the Federal Constitution says about equal citizenship and equal protection to all Malaysians, regardless of their race and religion.
What was/is the “special position of Malays”? (was it a concession included as subordinate to the above, or about dominance or supremacy over other races?)
written by Counterpointer, December 01, 2008 10:55:19
Koh Tsusu Koon,

Take your terminologies and stuff it in your orifices as they can tear up your picture without giving you a damn and there's absolutely nothing you can do about it.

I repeat - NOTHING !!!

(then again, the only thing you could do is to 'swallow' this insult and you seem to be doing a very good job at it)

written by cheekhiaw, December 01, 2008 12:02:00
People treat them worse than a dog, they just squat and bark...

written by wartank, December 01, 2008 12:05:10
Why then is the term 'ketuanan Melayu' used widely?
More importantly, why after so long do you speak about them now?

It should be 'hak istimewa Melayu' and it should be clearly defined in what context and to what extend this apply.
Then focus on ways to help the poor and underprivileged, not the filthy(dirty) rich!
written by Rainbowseahorse, December 01, 2008 12:52:17
"We need to focus on the poverty-stricken as a lot of people are getting poorer. For example, the poverty line of two years ago may not be relevant now anymore," he said."

Yes Koh, and just who is the government since Medeka? After 51 years in absolute power, what more excuses do you want to give UMNO government? You are really quite pathetic! UMNO spit in your face (by tearing your photo) and still you defend them.
How can you expect your Chinese community to repsect you?