Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Umno’s Arif Shah mulls joining PKR, could become Penang DCM

Umno’s Arif Shah mulls joining PKR, could become Penang DCM PDF Print
Sunday, 30 November 2008 17:00
By Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng said the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) state government welcomes everyone to join the coalition, amid speculation that Seberang Jaya Umno assemblyman Datuk Arif Shah Omar Shah had been offered the post of deputy chief minister if he joined PKR.

However, Lim declined to comment on whether any such offer had been made to Arif Shah, who was the losing Barisan Nasional (BN) candidate in the recent Permatang Pauh by-election which saw the return of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to Parliament.

Lim was commenting on a report in the New Sunday Times today which reported speculation that Arif Shah was unhappy with the state Umno leadership, and was considering an offer from PKR to join the state government.

One of the two deputy chief minister’s posts is now held by PKR. The current PKR deputy chief minister is Penanti assemblyman Fairuz Khairuddin.

“Pakatan Rakyat component parties welcome everyone who wants to join based on the principles of justice, respect for rule of law, human rights, social economic justice,” said Lim adding that he was just making a general statement.

Lim also refused to comment when asked whether he was planning to replace the Deputy Chief Minister I.

“I have not received any report from PKR, as the DCM I post is decided by the party,” said Lim.

He added any recommendation for the position can only be made by PKR, the DAP’s partner in the Penang government.

In an immediate reaction, Arif Shah said chances of him joining PKR was still low.

“I have to discuss with Guan Eng first as I want him to feel comfortable. PKR offered me, they are welcoming me. But it is not an easy decision.

“There are many things to sort out and I have to face them one by one. Before my departure, if there is any, I will talk to the national leadership,” said Arif Shah when contacted.

Arif Shah added that it would take some time for him to make up his mind.

When asked whether he was offered any position, Arif Shah said: “That is not important, I need a platform to deliver my service.”

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by Iliyas, November 30, 2008 17:09:51
I smell something very fishy here???While we welcome genuine and bonafide Malaysians into PKR,but DCM 1 POST?Lets get real,this is totally pathetic.
written by biggun129, November 30, 2008 17:17:08
YB Arif, the people elected you because of your Past Performance, you decided what to do for your voters, if there is a Good Platform for your to better serve the people, why consider your position in UMNO???After all, the UMNO need you no more!!!
written by Frankfurtguy, November 30, 2008 17:24:54
Politician oh...politician
DCM 1 a post for jumping over
ALL politicians are the same.....afterall
I don't mind about this, but......
Only different is good politician will listen to rakyat more
and
NOT just listen, but make changes rakyat wanted
or else.....bye bye next PRU!!
written by Frankfurtguy, November 30, 2008 17:28:42
UMNO is a sinking ship anyway
smart guys will change ship
Only scumbags will stay on
written by ahmadneil, November 30, 2008 17:29:35
Arif Shah must not be given the post of Deputy CM,he must EARN it.We can't be giving out goodies to people who just join from the opposite camp.This post must be given to loyal supporters from within PR.Make no mistakes,LGE.
written by HL Ooi, November 30, 2008 17:35:39
The DCM1 post should not be used as a lure to pull Arif Shah over. That would be against CAT. Besides that, what should the PKR faithful think if jumping frogs end up on a higher branch than them?
written by KKchan, November 30, 2008 17:47:31
Looks like its Malaysian politics all over again, never mind which party is in power. It is disappointing if any PR government would use power and position to lure cross-overs. Didn't Karpal Singh said he was against cross-overs, let alone with bait? I expect higher morals from any PR government.
written by Mr Smith, November 30, 2008 18:12:31
He should be given the DCM's post. This is corruption. Let him work his way up the ladder until the next general elections.
Why should he jump over other loyal Pakatan assemblymen?
written by lamakawan, November 30, 2008 18:42:28
Arif Shah, you said you need a platform to perform your duties. You are absolutely right. The Penang Pakatan platform is indeed the platform that you need to serve your electorate. You are not doing your supporters a favour if you do not have a platform to execute the promises you had promised to your suporters. UMNO as a state opposition will not enable you to execute any promises because they had failed in the last elections and is no more the administrator for the peoples wishes. Remember that you are voted in because of the rakyats support for your past services and not because you are a UMNO man.
written by OilMan, November 30, 2008 18:48:59
Dear MT commenters,

Question yourself. What is the unltimate goal? For me, the goal is the fall of UMNO and offering the post of DCM 1 may not be a bad idea. The present DCM1 can always be given another position to serve the rakyat. Once tha PR is is power he can be a full minister for all I care for his contribution to the party and the rakyat. There should not be any question as to the capability of Datuk Arif Shah as he has been in politics for a long-long time. Besides if he does not perform LGE can always demote him. Remember this question, What is our ultimate goal?
written by Motherchell, November 30, 2008 18:51:16
Well! i see that they are choking in their own vomit now !!

Why do these imbeciles need TOP posts in politics when they are out to serve themselves . Its such an open secret that they dont even know who they themselves are in the constituency they regard as theirs .

Arif is there because of his brother(sipping wine in some Dubai sands), or he will be selling some packet noodles in a pasar malam! UMNO has come to a SHAMEFUL end !!

written by cklife, November 30, 2008 18:55:19
People don't want him. He lost the election for a reason.

What makes this stupid CM thinks people want him as DCM
written by belantai, November 30, 2008 18:56:11
The problem with Pakatan is that they have many parachute Adun or MP's.Time will tell whether they can perform or not.We hope experience as a school prefect will help them!
written by shissun, November 30, 2008 19:43:32
Anyhow, I dun think this crossover will happen. Arif Shah is more important than that P.Pauh division head. UMNO will sacrifice this fellow to appease Arif. UMNO cannot afford to lose a single representative.
written by OilMan, November 30, 2008 20:44:50
If you want to lure a donkey then you may have to have a carrot in front of it. Readers, don't be selfish, our ultimate goal is the down fall of UMNO but with the kind of attitude presented, the down fall of UMNO can only be a dream.
written by Bloodhound, November 30, 2008 20:49:57
Arif Shah is a people oriented state assemblyman. Though there was a bit of hiccup in relations to qualification issue, the man is a fair and just person and he personally did not resort to underhanded method in his battle against Anwar at Permatang Pauh by-election. Give him the benefit of doubt in matters pertaining his brother.

He possesses good qualities in willingness to help the people in need regardless of race or religion. There should be no problem in accepting him into the folds of PKR.

Welcome to a person who is sincere in serving the interest of the people.
written by The dragonheart, November 30, 2008 21:13:44
Majority of the Malays in PKR are:

1. EX UMNO and UMNO in Exile.
2. Malays who support DSAI (who is also an UMNO in Exile)

Many in MT says, UMNO never change. They are right. But they are accepted in another party of the opposition. Many in here dont trust PAS either. so? what to do? To the MT ppl only DAP is the best party. This is damn tiring! and wasting of time.too many racist in here and busy body on personal matter of other peoples' religion.

I predict in the next 3 years the political situation in this country will go back 35 years.
written by Debbie, November 30, 2008 21:30:39
I know people say never judge a book by its cover but I just cant help it. each time I see his name it reminds me of his brother amin shah and co which leads to you know where.
shalom and greetings for this special season.
Debbie
written by Sudahlah tu, November 30, 2008 21:31:04
inilah apa ayng kita sebut-sebut selalu .. Year End Sales > YES
written by azee72, November 30, 2008 21:56:46
I am Permatang Pauh voter and he is good in the eye of people of Seberang Jaya even though he is from BN. Personally there is nothing much to talk about him and he got a good service record before. I will support him if he would like to join PKR and I would also do not mind him to become DCM.But he got to get out from BN species type of people.

written by Rozlan, November 30, 2008 21:56:54
Ariff Shah joining PKR??? Hmmm...On what basis??He dont have problem with UMNO leadership.He dont make any comment abt UMNO corruption. We better wait and see..
written by medicshan, November 30, 2008 22:52:53
Umno’s Arif Shah mulls joining PKR, could become Penang DCM

More like: UMNO's mole Arif Shah joining PKR, could become PKR's downfall...
written by Mee Udang, November 30, 2008 22:57:40
Make sure this white hair guy is for real.... I dun wish another SAIFOOL thing happen, where somebody pretend to join pkr but later create all the anus joke again!
written by Daryl, December 01, 2008 00:38:45
No way you offer someone the DPM 1 post for joining. Remember this is not UMNO or BN we must not do that. PR's need to serve people not trade post because someone is willing to join. These politicians need to prove that they are in line with the party they join not because what intice them to join. If this is at the Federal level I can understand.

Please stop this before it get out of hands.
written by denkoh, December 01, 2008 00:53:40
what do you do when your boat is sinking??

jump boat le?
written by Siapabohong, December 01, 2008 01:34:03
In bolehland anything also boleh. Conspiracy possible, genuine desire to serve the people of Penang also possible, sandiwara also possible, a fox also posible, an 'undercover' also possible... How about the feeling of those PKR leaders who have joined and sturuggled for the survival of the party?
written by Steven Tan, December 01, 2008 02:36:08
Does anyone ever heard about "TROJAN HORSE".....watch out. He might have some other hidden agenda...whether he is good ,nice and whatsoever please be careful.....HE IS A POLITICIAN... Don't later he becomes DOUBLE HEADED SNAKE...

I totally don't support the idea of granting DCM post to him just because he is willing to join PKR.... might as well we offer that past to YB Karpal Singh, YB Lim Kit Siang or even Datuk Zaid Ibrahim who's more genuine and sincere politicians.
written by mikewang, December 01, 2008 06:25:54
Whether Arif Shah becomes DCM I or not is the decision of Kak Azizah, DSAI and the inner circle within PKR.
If he is offered the post, it could be for something better.

I don't know what is happening in Penang PKR but I trust they would make a wise decision if the time comes.
Whatever it is, their decision must be good for the people of Penang.
written by miwaki, December 01, 2008 07:31:23
If Arif Shah can be DCM 1 of Penang then I should be the CM instead of Guan Eng.No,no,no,this chap doesn't have the personality of a state assemblyman,let alone the DCM. How about offering a job at MPSP as chief clerk ?
written by Taikohtai, December 01, 2008 08:17:45
Pek Moh,

Beh Ho Say ah? (Not going too well eh?)
UMNO bulli you ah?
Lu Eng Kai support Penang Lang (You need to support Penangites)
Keo UMNO Ki Hor Lang Kan! (Go ask UMNO to get f@#ked!)
written by Old Man, December 01, 2008 08:46:13
Guan Eng pls set your priorities right. Arif Shah can join PR but without the offer of the DCM post. After all there are many deserving candidates that can also fill up the post. What about Tunku Aziz or Raja Petra ? TQ smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Ckchew, December 01, 2008 16:00:47
wah!!! what a hooha!

it seems like the media & some people are going to town to paint a ridiculous picture on Arif Shah joining keADILan.

WTF!!! there is not discussion abt DCM post between Arif & PKR but then again there are people out there wanted to see Fairuz dropped as DCM.