Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The biggest obstacle to Malay progress…

The biggest obstacle to Malay progress… PDF Print
Sunday, 30 November 2008 15:35
by Allan C

I am a Chinese Malaysian male with diverse groups of friends - Tamils, Malayalees, Sikhs, Jaffna Tamils, whites, Eurasians, and Babas and Nyonyas.

The problem is I have very few Malay friends. 

Umno tells them I am a threat to them..

Umno tells them I am undeserving of equal rights.

They might even believe it, and since I don’t want to think any less of them, I prefer to keep my own counsel.

Generally I don’t talk much about anything important with Malays, and certainly not about politics.

I think meaningful friendships between Malays and non-Malays are becoming rare in Malaysian society.

There is not enough dialogue between Malays and non-Malays at the ground level. Umno speaks from both sides of its mouth - telling the Malays the non-Malays are a threat to them, and then turning round to tell the non-Malays that their rights will be protected.

At other times it may say the reverse, the key denominator being what it needs to say to win votes at the time, and the ethnic composition of the audience. After 51 years of Umno’s divide and rule, it is no wonder that race relations are a joke.

With Biro Tata Negara, Khir Toyo and Ahmad Ismail to lead the way, only a fool will think Umno wants good race relations. Umno leaders wants good race relations only when it will keep them in power. Power and money are the real motivations for Umno’s political leaders.

After the twisted judicial treatments and twisted sentences meted out to the likes of Lim Guan Eng, Anwar Ibrahim, Teresa Kok and Raja Petra Kamaruddin, I think we can safely rule out any semblance of a sense of right and wrong and common decency as a meaningful guide to Umno’s decisions.

READ MORE HERE: http://blog.limkitsiang.com/

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by hakuna, November 30, 2008 15:59:04
Malays greatest threat is UMNO.The NON-UMNO Malays try their best to earn their respect by their deeds but the UMNO guys want respect just because they are MALAYS.
A cocoon of arrogant clowns.
written by Zym Zym, November 30, 2008 16:08:24
I used to have many malay friends back in the 80s. Visiting houses during the festive seasons was not a problem to all of us. We were all kids then. Their parents never prohibited them from visiting my house during the CNY. The word "Halal" was never heard of. We were a Malaysian first; we only recognise one word i.e., MUHIBBAH.

Things had changed along the way. As I reached my adulthood, I have no malay friends anymore, for a very simple reason; our utensils are considered "un-clean". How could we forge a closer friendship if one always carry in mind the thought of halal and no-halal with them. Poor malay. Their religion has actually divide them and make them look like a scumbag in the eye of the world.

written by Kuku Burung, November 30, 2008 16:09:58
What we have today -- antagonism among races -- is the doing of the almighty UMNO and its chicken partners. Any fool will tell you that what UMNO is interested is votes and power (and of course money..mnoey & money). But I am very sad that there are still many people around who are willing to be treated as fools. Divide and rule is the UMNO strategy and it has fooled us for 50 years. Don't bluff us around race realtion and unity -- as far as UMNO is concern, these words are not part of their vocab.
written by ahmadneil, November 30, 2008 16:12:52
The threat comes directly from the malays themselves.We malays are stupid for far too long already.The umno leaders knows very well that we are so stupid and they knows that we only believe in them.That's why they continue to bullshit to us,lead us on a wild goose chase,flying us around on that bloody magic carpet,putting a leash on our neck and lying not only to us but to our grandfather,father,sons,daughters,grandchildren,great grandchildren and all of our citizens of malaysia.Their lies knows no bound.They lie from morning to the next dawn.When you are at the scariest,they will still frighten you until you urinated in your pants ,if not shit.They are the worst of all devils.When they need your votes they will give you lie to you by telling you that they are your angels,protector,god etc.When they got what they want they throw you aside and left you to rot.They are only interested to use our malay names for their selfish gains.This is why I say we malays are the stupidiest of all the race.If we don't fall for the gov't lies ,we won't be like this today.We are together with the Chinese ,Indian etc,standing together and 'fighting' each other based on meritocracy.We will not be shamed and called by those bloody names ,had we not been blinded by that so call NEP.It was a deadly trap set up by the gov't to trap all malays like ahmadneil and in the end we got nothing but shit all over us.Wake up and kick the gov't in the ass!We will be a towering malays if we stand up and fight, based on meritocracy.
written by temenggong, November 30, 2008 16:15:32
How does one uplift a community that believes it has the truest and greatest religion which is complete and therefore they have nothing to learn from others, and refuse to master english education? In spite of being at the bottom among nations in any world index, they still think they have got it right and are blessed! Tough huh?

It is this mindset that needs to be fixed. Then, education. And this question comes up right at the time of the Mumbai blasts! They have to be told point blank that they have the worst possible culture in the world that stems from this mindset, and that this is what is holding them back. They have to admit gross error before progress can begin.
written by ahmadneil, November 30, 2008 16:17:53
To all umno leaders,

We malays like ahmadneil strongly urge all umno leaders not to misled us and use our good names for your selfish gain.To hell with you all.We have our forsaken umno and stick NEP up your ass.

ahmadneil and my malays brothers.
written by lamakawan, November 30, 2008 16:21:56
As the way it is now, we simple cannot trust UMNO and BN any more. They have been telling you lies after lies. What they are interested in is just simply hang on to what they have and to empty our nation's coffers beofre Pakatan takes over.
written by Msian Idol3, November 30, 2008 16:43:50
Instead of motivating the malays to do well, UMNO keeps on harping statistics -- quantity of malay graduates instead of quality & the Malays are not as good as others plus subject the malays to fear mongering that other races are going to dominate them. Furthermore UMNO is corrupted. Would a corrupt person teach or motivate a fellow bro & sister to do better than him or admit that he is a crook. Well, such corrupt leaders would make sure the smart ones are nibbed or banished to hell so that they can go on fooling & plundering. In short the biggest hindrance to malays progress is UMNO leaders greed & refusal to acknowledge truth & move on. Malays only need less than a handful of committed true honest leaders to lead. Unfortunately there is none in the ruling party.
written by ylcc, November 30, 2008 16:48:03
Let me share a quote from MM Lee Kuan Yew's speech in London on the success of people living in harmony in Singapore:

“I needed a stable, peaceful society, so I had strict laws against inciting racial or religious tensions. At the same time, I made quite sure that everybody was treated equally. Religions were respected.."
"We also mixed everybody up in high-rise buildings, no longer in enclaves. We have no ghettoes or qasbas. Every constituency has its quota of the less successful. Everybody has the same chances in education and we chose a neutral language – English. Rather than legislating, we just said that you either go to an English school where you learn your mother tongue as a second language, or you go to a Chinese, Malay or Tamil school and learn English as a second language. After a few years, parents discovered that having English as a first language led to better job opportunities, so that solved itself. Malaysia went the other way by throwing out English and adopting Malay. The Chinese and Indians decided to have their own schools, teaching in Chinese and Tamil, and now they have a divided society. These are basics that you have to get right: a level playing field and a meritocracy regardless of race, language or religion”
written by mick_err_stan, November 30, 2008 16:50:14
After 51 years of special preferential treatment the Malays have nothing to show for it. They still cannot compete in the job market.

"The truth is Umno leadership has advanced economically and socially at your expense by destroying your competitiveness but to cap it all, they have succeeded in making you blame the non-Malays for their mistakes."

This statement is so true but there are some Malays who now realize this weakness who works in the private sector. They see how other races applies intelligence and hard work to make things happen in order to be competitive. They now pressure their children to be proficient in English and seek oversea educations.

Bravo to them !!!! However the majority is very much below par.
written by ahmadneil, November 30, 2008 16:53:48
To all my muslim brothers and all malaysian citizen,
We must never again,never, let umno/BN lead us to nowhere.We must never believe in what they say.All this years,51 years, we have been bullshit every second by this devil infested gov't.All the leaders in this gov't knows only lies and we have been completely ignored for far too long.But to blame this devil is not the solution.The solution is for us to wake up and say enough is enough.All these years ,due to our stupidity,the gov't purposely forced all the shit down our throat.
Now let start a new beginning not for us but for our children's children.The obstacles that we encountered today are created by the gov't and all the bullshit about NEP have only backwarded us.A time to move forward,a time to stand with with our chinese and Indians brothers ,a time for meritocracy.We will triumphant,we will ,yes we will!
written by CPY, November 30, 2008 17:00:46
You're right. UMNO uses NEP to drug the Malays into submission. Its like an opium to the Malays. NEP did not close income gap BUT widen it. Now we have the worst income inequality in SEA
written by Malaysiaputra, November 30, 2008 17:05:35
The problem is I have very few Malay friends.

======

Besides Umno's, poison spread at Biro Tata Negara courses,a large number of the half baked, self righteous Ustaz and Ustazahs are telling the muslim/Malay students not to mix with the non Malays.

If ever they mix, it is more often a pretense with an intention to try and convert the non Muslims .
written by densemy, November 30, 2008 18:13:23
The biggest problem to Malay progress begins with the letter 'I' I dominates their life and abuses their education system it affects their attitude to work and to other people and is the cause of their fatalistic outlook which makes government handouts the key to their future

UMNO is just the tool of I... and vice versa
written by ChotS, November 30, 2008 18:37:37
Agreed on the language issue.yes English is very important.why?because it global.I'm malay but seriously I dun think bahasa Malaysia can take us further.even if you have the chance learn mandarin.knowledge is power.So to all my malay brothers stop relying on others either it NEP or Umno. stand on our own. To all ustaz and ustazah please show the value of Islam to your student. let them understand that one thing that matter in a human is the value. not religion. not races.

I'm born in a religious family. my mother teach Quran in my village but still she have an anak angkat who is christian from sarawak.actually he is my friend in secondary school so every holiday he will come and stay with my family. So my malay bro's open our mind.open your eyes.see where you are in our society.
written by rocky, November 30, 2008 18:52:46
Biggest threat is UMNO. an arrogant UMNO that is lead by people who have self interest above nation's interest and one where money politics rule. and an UMNO which wants a weak Malay and brain washes Malays such so that they can reap all the benefits of NEP to enrich UMNOPutras.and UMNO that doesn't believe in teamwork and who creates racial problems.

Bottom line it is UMNO.

Malays are like any other people in this world, they can become anything they want with some self believe and can do attitude plus hardwork.
written by OilMan, November 30, 2008 19:27:14
Sad to say it is true. Due to my nature of work I have many Malay friends and whenever the topic of religion and race are raised they (Malays) start to be very defensive. We as Malaysians should be more focused on the country well being and not on racial and religious issues, which will devide the population. The BN government loves to play with the issues of religion and race for their personal gains.
written by OilMan, November 30, 2008 19:36:55
The difference between Malaysia and Thailand (due to APs):

In Malaysia if you're driving a Toyota Altis then it shows taht you're at the higher rung of society.

In Thailand, Toyota Altis are used for taxis. Where as in Malaysia our taxis are crapped Protons.

In Malaysia you have to fork out RM 170,000 for a petrol engine Toyota Fortuner. In Thailand you can buy a Toyota Fortuner for less than RM 100,000.
written by joegudman, November 30, 2008 20:29:50
If the current trend of Malay Supremacy is to continue, in twenty years time, the racial divide in Malaysia may reach a point of no-return.
written by The dragonheart, November 30, 2008 21:00:36
I think the real fact is this...

UMNO gets their $$$$ from two main sources:

1. From Government Tenders via unfairness.
2. From Chinese Tycoons and Tawkeys via corruptions.
written by ylcc, November 30, 2008 21:51:16
Yes, The dragonheart ... but Chinese tycoons and towkays are MCA supporters ... so same same with UMNO lah! ... we ordinary Chinese folks just as poor as ordinary Malays.
written by ylcc, November 30, 2008 21:53:10
Addendum: whichever way you look at it, nos. 1 & 2 still corruption!
written by DontPlayGod, November 30, 2008 22:42:39
I say, Ahmadneil, in the eyes of UMNO, the Chinese are the reasons for the failure of the Malays(of course, they won't say the Malays have failed), even though UMNO has "rompak-ed" most of the main Chinese business ventures in years gone by, such as transport companies, rice mills, and banks, just to name a few.

A good many years ago, UMNO also wanted the Chinese to give up part of their even small family business to the Malays. UMNO was thinking of cleaning out the Chinese. Of course, as usual, MCA and Gerakan just clapped their hands in support.
written by Whatif, November 30, 2008 23:44:29
Dear ChotS (November 30, 2008 18:37:37)
You are truly blessed to have a family like yours, colour blind. Actually, the original Malays, especially the kampung folks, are truly wonderful people. I remember in the 70's, my wife, a Chinese, has to do her research on families for her thesis. While most Chinese closed their doors on her, the Malay families welcomed her warm-heartedly and offered her drinks and kueh2. They even disclosed everything to her including income and even family history. Malays were indeed very hospitable those days. I believe that most Malays are still the same today.
What you normally hear now are from so-called Malay politicians, playing on race and religion to further their political careers and this has given us the wrong impression of the Malays. These are in the minority but unfortunately, they are the most heard of in our media.
Sincerely wish that our Malay brothers and sisters like ChotS, RPK, Haris, Zaid, Azly, Malik, our Sisters in Islam and so many more right-thinking Malays could be able to instill some sense into their more vocal and divisive brethren(mainly) and reclaim their race as a gentle and peace-loving one.
Best of luck, Adam.
written by wood, December 01, 2008 00:40:27
To all my Malay friends and all rakyat, You can do it if only you believe you can ! God has given all of us equally a head, a pair of eyes, ears, hands,legs, a nose , mouth and the colour of our blood are all red too. So all of us are equal and together we can work together for a better future.

Together we rise, Divided we fall , it is as simple as this.
written by archie, December 01, 2008 01:05:52
"The dragonheart" & "yicc"

1. UMNO people get money from tycoons and towkays of all races, not just Chinese. Since most government contracts go to UMNO people, others can only get a share of the pie via sub-contracting. Only some government contracts go to UMNO people's non-Malay cronies.
2. Most Chinese tycoons and towkays support MCA, but not all.
written by CoolMama54, December 01, 2008 01:10:21
"I think meaningful friendships between Malays and non-Malays are becoming rare in Malaysian society."

That's not true. You don't have Malay friends because you yourself are a racist. Otherwise friends do not have skin color.

I'll be your friend and I happen to be Malay.
written by denkoh, December 01, 2008 01:16:53
gua cina..gua kawan melayu manyak...okie ma...tengok you mau ke tak...simple
written by Proarte, December 01, 2008 01:28:31
Look let us all not be afraid to call a spade a spade. It is not race which is the divisive factor. It is Malay Islam.

Malays by nature personable and easy to deal with. It is their religion which has been abused by polticians and religious leaders to divide us.

If we can cure this cancer called Malay Islam then we have a chance of moving forward as a nation.

My solution is to separate religion from politics. It has to come from the Malays themselves.

How long will it take? How long is a piece of string?
written by Hakim Joe, December 01, 2008 01:37:02
Allan C, I am telling you now that you are a racist. I am also a Chinese but some of my best friends are Malays. I don't have a problem with them and they don't have any problems with me. We are all Malaysians. Get your racist slur out of the way and you will see that not all Malays are bad. One piece of advice - Not all Chinese are good either!

written by Proarte, December 01, 2008 01:43:15
We are pretending here that Pakatan is one big happy family. It remains a marriage of convenience. We are papering over the cracks or being deliberatley in denial mode.

Malay Islam and its supremacist and discriminatory modus operandi is no different from UMNO.

Only Malay leaders with a mindset like like Tunku Aziz and Zaid Ibrahim or Musa Hitam can lead us out of this disaster.
written by Fart Fart Wah, December 01, 2008 01:43:47
We have to take a que from the worlds biggest Muslim nation. 260 million.
Indoenesia. People here do not care to go to any shop and eat. They eat anywhere and do not bother about its other rituals and rubrics that need to followed. In a family there can a Hindu, Christian or Muslim living together. Here it is HARAM. iT IS STRANGE THAT MALAYS(UMNO) IN MALAYSIA WANTS TO BE MORE MUSLIM THAN THE ARAB OR THE INDONESIAN OR ANY OTHER MUSLIM IN THIS WORLD.With all this nity gritty details about Halal and Haram we have drifted apart. If in the world of a majority muslim nation of 260 million there is not compulsion on many things why can't a nation of 11 million muslims see this point.??? It is not the Muslims in Malaysia who are doing this but UMNO who wants to be seen as being more muslim than PAS. UMNO is driving a wedge between Muslims and the others.
It is really sad because this effectively shuts down the building of a bangsa malaysia. Of course when I say this some willjump and say that Indons do not practice the true Islam..and so forth.
This is a mind that is closed ..and the result is bombings and Sunnis killing Shiites. Someone has to tell these people that those who believe in a heaven do not go to it by making sure the external is clean.The inside must be cleaned too.Everyone knows it but again it is the coming of biasness. So murder and rape do not guarantee heaven and 72 virgins.
written by ylcc, December 01, 2008 08:28:11
Not disputing you, archie. (ref DontPlayGod's reply to The dragonheart, "I say, Ahmadneil, in the eyes of UMNO, the Chinese are the reasons for the failure of the Malays"). Leave the small businesses aside. Do you deny that from the top (Barisan) downwards, money change hands, regardless of race? Money or no deal is the motto in Malaysia. End result, we the innocent consumers suffer.
written by InEffective, December 01, 2008 09:58:48
Somehow the rakyat is not understanding how a concession-based economy works.

All the so-called chinese tycoons (and big businesses) are controlled by renewable licenses to operate - and the licenses are renewed only when great sums of money is fed to umno politicians (free cash flow).

There is powerful incentive for umno and mca and mic politicians to propagate this brand of economic system - who does not want free money - just talk only required)

All businesses sectors - manufacturing and factories, financial, plantation, education, auto, transport, construction.. - all need licenses.
(only those small business which are not considered strategic - like petty trading, support services, etc - which the rakyat interacts with, may not be extorted by licensing).

As long as Malays continue to believe (reinforced ideas by politicians and their brainwashed teachers thought influencers) that non-Malays are their bogeyman, their root of all evil, the primary reason for their challenges, the politicians will win (and we shall remain a segregated society - suits the unscrupulous politicians).
(it appears that the chinese and indians have realized that their own race politicians is primary drivers of their frustrations)

written by kclim2, December 01, 2008 22:15:05
**** those UMNO bastards who are dividing the peace loving people of malaysia