Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sept 16: Anwar blames PM

Sept 16: Anwar blames PM PDF Print
Sunday, 30 November 2008 09:47

By Adib Zalkapli and Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

De facto PKR leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim yesterday blamed Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi for his failure to topple the government by Sept 16, saying that the takeover now must start with the party's victory in the Sarawak state election, scheduled to be held by 2011.

"We set a target, so together with Datuk Seri Hadi Awang and Lim Kit Siang we sent a letter to the Prime Minister requesting a meeting, but he refused," said Anwar to some 5,000 supporters at a ceramah last night as part of the PKR national congress.

"We then asked for an emergency session of Parliament, they refused," the Opposition Leader said of his attempt two months ago to table a motion of no confidence against the government.

He reiterated that Pakatan Rakyat is ready to take over government.

"But to take over, to go through all the items to satisfy political observers, that is tough to answer," he said.

He also said that his answer to those who kept asking "when" was "wait."

Anwar reiterated that he could not reveal the Barisan Nasional MPs who had planned to defect to PR as that was part of the conditions set by the legislators he claimed would be defecting.

Anwar then declared to the party supporters that Sarawak is the new battlefront.

"We will have groups of MPs visiting Sarawak every week. If not, we will throw them out," he quipped.

He also claimed that there were Sarawakian BN MPs who had already pledged their full support.

"Sometimes, I get dizzy. Because they will sign their full support but the next day, he goes back to Kuching and attacks us. When I ask why? He says because they are suspicious of him," he explained.

written by kkselvam, November 30, 2008 10:01:16
Aiya! It's that sleepy head Pee Am who is the spoiler la.Damn you la Pak Lah. A piece of advice from me. You can only delay YOUR demise but you cannot cheat death. So, with that in mind please don't stop our elected PR from forming new goverment.For once in your lifetime, do something worthwhile la...
written by ahmadneil, November 30, 2008 11:41:45
So I say to Anwar,please with urgency ,tackle the rural folks and start the ball rolling NOW.Do not wait until the election is right at the doorsteps.Hold dialogue and meet the people gathering.In this way they rural folks are less suspicious of PKR.Ask the people to show support by putting up PR flags.Publicity are also the deciding factors of victories.Start NOW!This corrupted government MUST GO.
written by ylcc, November 30, 2008 12:04:07
Robertngtg is right ... must give a copy of "The Art of War" by Sun Tzu to Datuk Seri Anwar.
written by gorshan, November 30, 2008 13:17:31
2011 i am voting for Anwar. Taib better loosen those purse string fast to thwart off Anwar.
written by cheekymate, November 30, 2008 13:27:27
YAB Anwar Ibrahim,
I still hold my respect for you and sincerely hope that you will steer our country towards a better tomorrow by forming a new government.
You better than any one else know we are desperately racing against time. At the same time however, some things cannot be rushed and a smooth transition is of utmost importance. You have been through many years of being in hell and now you are fighting our battles with us, a reformed humanist realising the folies of your days gone by.
I am neither a politician nor a political strategist but my simple mind tells me that it is foolish to allow your enemies to have an insight of your plans and strategies. Look at what happened with 916.
There is no point to cry over spilt milk and finger point at your foes. Did you really expect the Umno regime to relegate their stronghold on the loot without an allout battle? Their move to ship the MPs away was a major coup for them. Learn from it, deal with it, and now get on with it. When all their guard is down, strike with one swift blow, and bring home the medallion of victory. Thank you.
written by KKchan, November 30, 2008 13:53:00
DSAI, why should AAB meet you or call for an emergency meeting of Parliament so that he can hand over power to you? Would you do that if the situation were reversed? A case of shifting the blame for your failure or naivete? I will now only believe you have taken over the reins of power when you "angkat sumpah" before the Agong, not before. All the talking has disappointed a lot of us.
written by temenggong, November 30, 2008 15:08:21
There was supposed to be a change in govt by the end of November. Today is the last day. It is no go! Very disappointing.
I will make enquiries about this.
written by hakuna, November 30, 2008 16:15:17
DSAI - if it FAILED so be it.
We can be forgiving but don't treat us like total idiots with all these rigmarole.
written by CPY, November 30, 2008 16:37:53
Furthermore, the Taiwan trip has proved that BN are real scared of PR @ the 1st place.
written by onnetline, November 30, 2008 17:00:08
DSAI,

Barisan Najis is not going to just hand over the country to you on a silver platter, I'm sure. There's just much too much at stake here !

written by borneoman, November 30, 2008 18:28:19
pkr,dont waste your time talking.come to sarawak now and start your recruitment drive immediately.
written by Jit Dharma, November 30, 2008 22:03:26
Brothers and sisters of Sabah and Sarawak, join us in this
crusade to save our country.We will CERTAINLY do a better
job together than the thieves from BN. Come on, the future
is your hands.
written by sarawakian, December 01, 2008 00:24:35
as a local observer, i don't see Pakatan doing a very good job "advertising" themselves in Sarawak. they should do more to let the public know of their events and activities so that interested people can join in.

maybe the activities are more in the interior areas and urban folk aren't aware but still they should work harder now and not at the last minute so that people here won't think it's another hit-n-run event.

written by CoolMama54, December 01, 2008 01:14:34
"Sept 16: Anwar blames PM"

A general blaming the enemy general for losing a battle. What an original excuse. Could it be any better than my dog ate my homework?