More broken promises from the BN PDF Print
Tuesday, 22 January 2008 07:31
The UMNO-BN regime is desperate to win back Malaysian Indians who have defected to Parti KeADILan Rakyat in droves in the aftermath of the Hindraf protest late last year. {mosgoogle right} It is now tossing carrots to the Indian community in hopes that the stinging memory of broken promises will be forgotten, at least long enough to survive the next general election.

The police brutality, which symbolised the attitude of the "act tough" Badawi government which was endorsed by the Samy Vellu and Gang-led MIC and was seen on national television and published in the mainstream media, revived the spirit and desire for justice among the generally stoic Indians. This was followed by the arrest of Hindraf leaders and some of their key supporters.

The five Hindraf leaders remain under detention, languishing in Kamunting, Perak under the draconian ISA. In the meantime, the MIC continues to divert the attention of its members and supporters away from the real issues like the status of Indian temples throughout the nation, Tamil language, education, and culture, and economic and social problems faced by the Malaysian Indian community.

Samy Vellu and the MIC have been thoroughly discredited and any attempt in the eleventh hour by the UMNO-BN clique to prop them up can only be an exercise in futility. The Indian dilemma remains unresolved not because of a lack of will on the part of the Malaysian Indian community itself, but because of poor leadership.

Malaysian Indians have in the past entrusted their just cause-that they should be given their rights as guaranteed under the Constitution-to MIC, but now they have decided under no uncertain terms that they had enough of 50 years of neglect and discrimination, and MIC's crony politics. They bravely said that enough is enough and the time for change has come.

Yes, they deserve to have Thaipusam declared a public holiday. But why only for Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya? Why not make it a national holiday? Even in the case of this "concession", we are not sure that whether or not it is a one-off deal to appease the deeply spiritual Indians ahead of the elections, expected in March 2008. Usually public holidays are gazetted. It is, in my view, only a disingenuous ploy by Prime Minister Badawi and Samy Vellu to placate and pander to what was once a base of support.

I am reminded of my school days when our Headmaster declared a day after Sports Day a holiday. We, the school kids, were excited amd most grateful as we were naive and did not know better. So, it is infantile to claim that only through MIC the Indians can now enjoy Thaipusam.

What has MIC been doing over the last 40 years? I have an answer to that-an answer that every thinking Indian knows-and that is, MIC leaders and their cronies in cahoots with UMNO and MCA have been making money at the expense of their own kind and have done very little for their community. It is sheer arrogance to think that the Malaysian Indian dignity and honour can be bought.

The New Straits Times (January 21, 2008) quoted Prime Minister Badawi as having said at the gathering of MIC members and BN supporters in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur that "it (hardcore poverty) does not exist only in the Indian community. It is also present in the Chinese and Malay communities...In our effort to alleviate poverty, we will ensure no race is excluded. This is my promise". In order to deal with this problem, a Cabinet Committee on the Hardcore Poor will be formed to lift people of all races out of dire poverty by 2010. Wow, a miracle is about to happen in Boleh Land.

At last. We now have a committee that will lift us out of poverty! No effort is required of any community. Sit back and relax. All our poverty problems will solved. All we need is to ask Royal Professor Ungku Aziz (he was Rural Economics Professor at University of Malaya in the 1960s) and he will tell you in his polite and thoughtful way and on the basis of many decades of research and reflection that the problem of poverty cannot be resolved if there is no political will to breakdown institutional, social and psychological barriers.

How credible is this caring national leader? Over the last 4 years, let us ask Prime Minister Badawi what he did with those promises he made his manifesto for the 2004 elections. As far as I know, he has done nothing but talk.

Judge a man by actions, wise men say. Talk is cheap and the man who now is doing the talking is just not credible and the coalition he leads is running out of ideas to solve national problems, except when it comes to announcing projects and programmes which are at best reactive in nature.

I believe that the Malaysian Indian community cannot be hoodwinked to think that MIC and Samy Vellu can solve their problems. MIC led by Samy Vellu is, in fact, their problem.

Din Merican

written by asguard, January 22, 2008 08:40:14
I don't a damn word assurance given by UMNO(GREAT DEVIL) & Servants (MIC,MCA & ETC) on whatsoever promises that they promise to look into whether it would a great thing or something got to do lift up poverty problems. All of this is being empty promises by the great satan and its devils... i wouldn't want vote for them... it the soul that they wants ... and bottom line is that they always wanted to remained in power for ever.... this has to be stopped at all cost!!!
written by Bigjoe99, January 22, 2008 08:53:10
Most blogs seem to predict Indians cannot be fooled this time. They have done so for 30 years. Why not again? If the Indians get fooled again, the bloggers will look stupid...
written by Birdbrain, January 22, 2008 09:07:03
Nothing happened these 4 years. The only main event was Badawi re-marrying a recyled wife. That's the biggest headline. He's so desparate for a companion to keep him awake just in case he falls asleep. This Jean helps to push him back to the right mode, otherwise he is finshed!

This man jsut do not know his priorities. He is totally lost and It's true that Malaysia has all this while been in auto pilot. He is just a puppet dancing to his master's tune. He will stay there as long as his puppet master wants him to.

Time to change the leadership, we need a true leader who can move things and not sitting on it. No money, no projects to keep the economy going. The puppet master is not willing to pump back the money into the economy due to so much uncertainties. Nobody wants to get burned.

Guess who is the puppet master? The Candy Man!
written by technoboy, January 22, 2008 09:07:53
If not for Hindraf, it is certain these UMNO morons will not even consider "let alone" allow Thaipusam to be declared a public holiday for KL and Putrajaya. NOT SINCERE at all, just an election ploy to try and win another 5 years; the credit goes to HINDRAF, not MIC the UMNO running dog although Samy will try to claim credit for it. BN are a bunch of crooks, liars and they will do whatever it takes to stay in power.
written by Birdbrain, January 22, 2008 09:11:55
The Candy man with a chocolate brand to his name has always been in cahoot with the organised crime syndicate. The police are his personal servant to protect the syndicate leaders whereby the politicians are all his puppets.

This puppet master has got nimble hands and dance you will at his command. Money talks! Now, who dares to take him down, no one! Not even our beloved TDM.

Malaysian muslims being controlled by the Jews! Wow, what a movie!
written by Birdbrain, January 22, 2008 09:20:58
Malaysia needs a revolution to kick the BN out of power and only Anwar has this leadership. Street protest is the only way to gather strength and let the momentum builds up gradually.

Anwar, time to get the candy man and make him repay his debts for the beautiful years you have spent behind bars!

written by teo siew chin, January 22, 2008 09:22:50
now that carrots are being tossed - time to make the long list and ask for the whole bowl of salad and nothing less. do not miss this opportunity.
written by sampalee, January 22, 2008 09:25:44
Every one know the bn broke most of their promises.For the opposition as long as they do not come together,their promises will all end up as still birth.The leaders in pas and dap knew fully well that without the authorities that comes from forming the govr[federal or state]their protest are hot air and their offer of change have not the chance to see the light of day,except in a few sate like kelantan,trenggannu,kedah and perlis where pas stand a chance to form the next govt.Remember what pas this when they abolish the toll in trenggannu when they suceeded in replacing bn in 19999.
The rakyat is not out to teach bn a lesson,we only want opposition to gain certtain power to IMPLEMENT the needed change.Pas and dap leaders,please give us what we want,positive change anf not the blood of bn which is of no use to us.
written by Mr Smith, January 22, 2008 09:40:24
Well said Din,
The Indian Community is being wooed as would the handsome hero is a Tamil movie, with songs and dancing.
Never has this community been given so much important, air time and front page exposure in the print media since Merdeka.
Mr PM zzzzz, go on lying. Try your best to fool them with your empty promises.
If the Indian Community falls for his empty promises then they deserve to be marginalized.
There is only one parth left for the Indians to take : Vote Opposition and kick out Samy Vellu from Sungei Siput.
written by InEffective, January 22, 2008 10:58:05
If this community believes an administration that has racial nationalism as its core belies and values (manifested in rules, policies, and behavior) is the leadership to attain their "live your best life", wonder how it will feel when even their children are more strategically excluded due to their race and religion?

Here are some of the unwritten policies and behavior of our governance and administration and the government and civil-service leadership which impacts this community:
- go slow policies for this community
- say one thing but do another for this community
- use bureaucratic procedures and passive resistance to frustrate change for this community

The current administration believes this community is not relevant or a priority to the politicians self-interests. This community is not wealthy to extract capital gains, is not of sufficient numbers to warrant real durable attention, availability of alternative labor pools, so what incentive do politicians have to care for the needs and interests of this community ?

The only possible need that the incumbent politicians have from this community, is for this community not to damage their perceptions and their image as a country that is developing well - in others words all the politicians need from this community is not to disturb their successes and wealthy status and lifestyles.

If this community is going to rely on politicians to get them out of state of marginalization, its not going to be politicians, and certainly not politicians who have no incentive to deliver any benefits to this community.

The best best (at least its a better probability or likelihood to get out of marginalization) is to support a leadership that will not use racism as the primary eligibility criteria in the allocations of a nations resources - ie who will not strategically exclude you based on racist qualification criteria.
written by CHEERFUL Joo, January 22, 2008 11:48:41
To all Malaysian

If you want to see Lingam and ganG in jail and also fair hearing for the C4 blown up Mongolian case... VOTE BN OUT.
written by malaysiabulleh, January 22, 2008 11:54:04
Malaysia is declaring war on poverty. Quick, let's all surrender!
written by Jan, January 22, 2008 12:16:13
A cabinet committee to eradicate poverty??
Wanna bet everything will be forgotten once the elections are over?
written by joeawk, January 22, 2008 15:23:38
It is hope that the Indian will have the balls to stick to their guns. The govt admin system is a sham and the political system as it is now is a joke, going the way of countries with a rougw leader.

People, let us take a paradigm shift. Let us make a BIG,BIG statement to the BN govt. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH, let us move on, let us bring in the opposition, let us vote in the opposition so long as the party is not with the BN.
written by hiro, January 22, 2008 18:42:19
BN is all out trying to persuade people not to vote for the opposition.

MIC is so sidelined that it took UMNO to fix MIC problems.

MCA is struggling with having the need to ask the Chinese not to vote with their emotions (as if ANGER and FRUSTRATION based on FACTS of BAD GOVERNANCE are also prohibited).

The opposition parties should keep up the pressure and leave no allegations, accusations, propaganda, half truth, lies, unsubstantiated opinion, spin unanswered.

And PAS should back down (and earnestly mean it) from making any polarising Islamic statement. They could be speaking to a Muslim crowd, but there's always You Tube.
written by Compadre45, January 23, 2008 04:06:15
Anything that has to do with AAB, Najis , UMNO goons and SAMY has to do with CORRUPTION . So what can we expect from the Cabinet Committee they are going to be set up to look into hardcore poors ??? Those poors might even get poorer, i believe so.

If UMNO can steal flood relief supplies for victims in Pahang, they can do the same through this so call Cabinet Committee to help the hardcore poors. All these are a bunch of corrupted and heartless creatures, should be locked up in the septic tanks serving life sentence and not the jail. Thats where they belong buried in deeeeepppppp shittt.

Thats where they can steal all the shit they want !!!!! Old habits die hard ...
written by Eskay Lim, January 23, 2008 11:06:38
Sleeping AAB says: "We'll eradicate poverty regardless of race......That's my promise to you"
But you have made umpteen other promises on various occasions which was just comfortably forgotten the moment you left that place. What about those very important 2004 pre-election promises about transparency, meritocracy and anti-corruption promises? After 4 years, you haven't even started and now new promises.Go back to your slumberlah. We forgive you anyway. But don't say all your programmes and projects need to take many more years to bear fruit.
You are brilliant only in announcing those mega, attention grabbing projects all over the country with full funfare which you very clearly know would be difficult to be carried out. Go on.... continue to enjoy life at the rakyats' expence. Your holiday may end soon, sooner than you would expect.
written by johanssm, January 24, 2008 10:19:56
janji IPCMC tapi tak ada pun,
janji transparency tapi tak ada pun,
janji hapus rasuah tapi kian meningkat,
janji rakyat lebih selamat tapi penjenayah yang selamat,
Janji tangkap perogol Nurin , tapi Sharlinie yang hilang,
janji religious tolerance tapi kebas mayat kian banyak,
janji hapus yuran sekolah tapi lebih banyak pulak kena bayar,
janji ada kerajaan yang wibawa tapi menteri semua macam biawak,
janji tak akan bebankan rakyat tapi TOLL bertambah senyap senyap,
janji ada kerajaan yang "honest" tapi najib kebas wang kapal selam,
janji ada jambatan yang bengkok tapi jamban pun tak ada,
janji dapat tangkap siapa rogol nurin tapi indon yang tak bersalah masuk lokap,
janji ada democracy tapi mintak FRU hentam orang ramai,
janji racial toleransi tapi najib cakap repeat of May13th.
Adalah lebih baik jika kita tanam kan Barisan NAZIonal dengan najib dalam liang kubur secepat mungkin.
Ini lah janji dari kami rakyat Malaysia.

We must not compromise with our future and our children future.
If you loves Malaysia, say NO to bn.
Vote for Oppositions