PKR wants to restore immunity of monarchy PDF Print
Saturday, 29 November 2008 21:23

By SHAHANAAZ HABIB, WANI MUTHIAH, TEH ENG HOCK and NURBAITI HAMDAN (The Star)

SHAH ALAM: PKR wants to restore the power of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong in relation to the law-making process.

Party president Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Ismail said PKR wanted the King to have the power to reject bills tabled in Parliament.

She said the party wanted to return the immunity of the monarchy based on the spirit of Constitutional Monarchy (Raja Berperlembagaan), but this did not mean that they were pushing for rulers to be exempt from criminal and civil laws.

She said the party wanted to restore the power of the King to reject bills proposed by the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.

In January 1984, the Federal Constitution was amended to allow the King to only delay legislation by a month. The bill would then be sent back to Parliament with his objections, and then be resubmitted to him. If the King still opposed the form in which Parliament had passed it, he could only delay the bill for another month before it was gazetted as law.

PKR deputy president Dr Syed Husin Ali explained that the Constitution was amended in the past to limit the power of the King in this aspect.

“The Ruler can reject it (the bill), but after a certain time, the Prime Minister can submit it again and even if the Ruler rejects it, the bill still becomes law,” he said.

In her policy speech at the PKR national congress on Saturday, Dr Wan Azizah said the Umno leadership transition plan will not bring any positive changes to the nation’s damaged main administrative system, such as the judiciary, police, Anti-Corruption Agency and Parliament.

“It is not too much for me to say that the transition will bring about an administration which is more like the old ruling regime, with widespread use of the ISA (Internal Security Act),” she said.

She also touched on employees’ welfare, where the Pakatan Rakyat-led Selangor government is going to introduce a RM1,000 minimum wage policy for workers in both the civil and private sector.

“We will also strive to prepare free health services, exempting children of the low-income group from education costs, and making available affordable homes,” she said.

On Sabah and Sarawak, she said PKR was committed to allocating 20% of petroleum royalties to the locals as well as give them a more active role in the Federal Government if the party managed to take over the federal administration.

written by Sudahlah tu, November 29, 2008 21:52:48
tdm ..... masa sudah dekat tu ..
kehakiman daripada Allah sudah sampai terhadap awak ..
written by Steven Tan, November 29, 2008 22:17:34
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

200 percent I DON'T AGREE with the idea that Malaysian Royalty to get back their immunity because most of them and their family 99.99% will MISUSE it in future. Trust me, the father (king) will be the biggest crook and his sons (prince) and his Body Guards will be the biggest and unstopable gangsters in town. At that time the PDRM not will close one eye BUT will close both of their eyes if any situation involving the royal family and ordinary rakyat like you and me.

TDM has done lot of damages to Malaysian BUT THE ONLY one thing he did correctly was striping the Malaysian Royalty immunity.

Still remember the hockey coach and the golf k.d been assaulted by the Royal Family????

Even in the current situation we the ordinary rakyat couldn't do anything, just imagine if they are above the law...

The only Royal Family that we all can trust is the ONE AND THE ONLY our RPK, besides him I doubt we can trust or benefit anything by granting the immunity to the Malaysian Royalty.

Once they have the full power, they won't be using their "head" to think but will be using their "heart" to think and at that point of time, if they want anything belong to you, like it or not, you have to surrender it to them.... Dear friends, if you really love your family, I'm sure all of you know what I meant by that. P.L.E.A.S.E. DON'T SUPPORT THE IDEA TO GRANT THE IMMUNITY TO THE MALAYSIAN ROYALTY...

There are few Malay Movies will show this type of situation, among that "SULTAN MAHMUD MANGKAT DIJULANG" and "ANTARA DUA DARJAT" are the movies and there are many other movies that will give a clearer picture on how this royal family will react when they're fully in control.

So never ever do this mistake by giving them the immunity... It will be like "dig our own graveyard"....

I really hope DSAI, DSWA and all other PR leaders won't do this mistake... I'm sure there are lot of other ways to attract the Malaysian so please find other method to attract the rakyat and not by granting the immunity to Malaysian Royalty
written by JackWang, November 29, 2008 22:52:09
Restoring the power of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong in relation to the law making process does not equate with immunity. Everyone has to be liable when they act in their personal capacity. However, in carrying out duties in their official capacity, they should be immuned, just as judges are, save for a charge of treason.

Cheers
written by raven1958, November 29, 2008 23:10:45
PR should go all out to get rid of the wasteful monarchy....if the BN champions getting the royalty out...I will vote BN....enough of these peacocks who have wasted this country's precious resources.....
written by KKchan, November 29, 2008 23:11:43
I think it would be a step backwards if we restore the right of the Agong to block bills passed by Parliament. A progressive democracy, which is one we all aspire for the country, is one where the will of the people prevails, not that of one person who is not elected but lucky in birth. And that will is represented by our MPs.
written by shepherdvoyage, November 29, 2008 23:53:46
Is PKR doing this to curry favour of the malays? Can we still believe that PKR will create a better Malaysia when it gains power?

Why do sultans need immunity if they are law-abiding? Shouldn't every man be equal before the law? A beggar or a king should receive the same punishment if they commit the same crime! Immunity will give rise to a lawless lot.
written by goman2k3, November 30, 2008 01:48:02
We can fault Mahathir in many things but one thing he did right is to amend the constitutional right of the monarchy. I agreed with him and Karpal Singh, the Lion of Malaysia. Please do not change this if we want to be a democratic country. Any government will try to do the right thing in relationship with the Agung but it is the rakyat wishes in the end. We rule by the people and for the people and with the people.
written by FFT, November 30, 2008 08:15:52
We can fault Mahathir in many things but one thing he did right is to amend the constitutional right of the monarchy.

The more I hear arguments of the kind above, the more I'm convinced that you Malaysians deserved the 22 years under Mahathir, and deserve another 22 years with him at the helm oppressing the lot of you and throwing you into the ISA.

The real coup that Mahathir executed back then was in removing or watering down a lot of the constitutional powers of the royalty that served as a check and balance against Federal and State governments.

The issue of immunity against personal liability was a bonus and fashioned as a red herring by Mahathir, so that 20 years down the road the entire discussion about royalty will be confounded by talk about immunity and misguided statements that Mahathir "did something right" in curbing the royal members.
written by volkswagen, November 30, 2008 08:33:26
I cannot understand 'the catch' why PKR is proposing this Bill. But I can understand the reasons why TDM curbed the powers of the Yang Di Pertuan Agong years ago. Why then the PKR proposes this Bill? Can any readers explain the rationale behind this proposal especially the DAP leaders?
written by teo siew chin, November 30, 2008 09:44:18
"She said the party wanted to restore the power of the King to reject bills proposed by the Prime Minister and the Cabinet."
-------------------------

people, check & balance lah! focus on curbing the all-powerful government!
it's not that the royalty go around bumping off people everyday for gottsake.

written by InEffective, November 30, 2008 10:47:56
I support the rulers should be given significantly more autonomy to be an effective check-and-balance for governance.

Clearly there are significant structural and strategic weakness in our constitution to safeguard rakyat protections and well-being. (ex, term limits for the executive, and elected reps)

Need to ensure that rulers can NOT be made strategically dependant, obligated, coerced, or compliant to politicians, to the biased law-makers and parliamenterians, and the executive.

To accomplish that, if more qualified-immunity needs to be given - i'm for it.
written by borneoman, November 30, 2008 18:19:20
the title of this posting is misleading but if it is really true pkr wants to restore the malay rulers immunity pkr might aswell forget about sarawak because sarawakian dont need a sultan,raja or agong anyway.All these people are luxurious expenses to the natives meagre income.