Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Mumbai: The Grim Reminder

Mumbai: The Grim Reminder PDF Print
Saturday, 29 November 2008 16:59
It's almost like clockwork. Whenever we fall into a terror-free slumber, the media delivers another gut-wrenching blow. I don't know about you but my heart falls to the pit of my stomach whenever I read about Muslim terror.

The Mumbai massacre was a heinous act perpetrated by those who can scarcely call themselves human beings. I wonder just what kind of psychopathic illness can bring about such a state of mind that one can slaughter other people like that.

I would like to ask though, is it really Muslims who are behind this merciless massacre of over 120 innocent people? I don't know but does it matter at all? When the Islamophobes who attack guys like me commit their dastardly deed, they will not stop to ask 'Excuse me Mr Muslim, are you supportive of terrorist acts'. They will not even stop to ask me if I am a Muslim or not. Simply because I look the part, I will get my head kicked in, no questions asked. Think of Jean Charles de Menezes, who was murdered by the British police. He's not even Muslim or Arab, he just looks the part.

So perceptions matter. Whether or not Muslims are behind the Mumbai massacre of 2008, if the people think they are behind it, the repercussions will be the same. Heads kicked in, no questions, no mercy.

Grim, yes but as Muslims, what can we do about this? Of course, if one is at the point of actually facing an Islamphobia-motivated attack, nothing much. Fortunately, things are not quite that bad yet and if Muslims actually take charge of their situation, no amount of media manipulation can affect our integrity as peaceful citizens of the world. However, the measures which we need to take may not be reachable given our present mindset.

What we need to do is to ask the vital question, where do our loyalties as Muslims lie? Do we make excuses for terrorism just because we think it’s Muslims who are behind it? Do we say things like ‘well, the Hindu dominated Indian government oppressed them so it’s understandable’. Is it really understandable and if so, by whose criteria?

I was the under the impression that Muslims had but one criteria and that is Quran. If we go by Quran, we are to only fight those who fight us  and never to overstep that limit (chapter 2, verse 190). Those who cause mischief in the land (defined in Quran as the opposite of the states of security and balanced beauty) are known in Quran by title ‘kafireen’ (2/8-20), the very same word Muslims use to derogate others but ironically fail to notice when they actually fit the definition themselves.

So our loyalties here need to be with God through His text, not with those who simply claim they are in the right. We need to use Quran to measure the behaviours of these people and to give the appropriate response. That response must be in accordance with the general principle of bringing about benefits to humanity which Quran deems as a characteristic of al-haqq, the Quranic word for the absolute truth (13/17).

Quran would never support acts of terrorism. It is simply the antithesis of what it preaches. All one needs to do is to open the text and see for oneself how clear it is. Therefore, Muslims must do whatever we can to aid counter-terrorism. That aid should not be equated with helping non-Muslims against fellow Muslims but rather helping those who need to defend themselves against the threat of despicable criminals.

Lets do the best we can and Mumbai will be our last grim reminder.

Farouk A. Peru
www.farouk.name

MT Admin : Latest Coverage of the Mumabai Battle can be read HERE  

written by FFT, November 29, 2008 17:05:09
An entire Islamic nation needs to be made an example of...a serious example, ala Hiroshima and Nagasaki...before Muslims stand up and begin to rectify the 140 year old rot that has set into their societies and that has rendered a lot of them sub-human.

Until then, Muslims will go about their business issuing fatwas about yoga and short hair.
disagree 17
written by ahmadneil, November 29, 2008 17:11:00
We must be very careful of these Islamic extremist in our country if our leaders keeps on barking racial issues.People like Ahmad Ismail,Khir Toyo,Utusan,Racist Mahathir etc , who keeps the racist fire burning,will start something similar to what is happening in Mumbai.
written by ahmadneil, November 29, 2008 17:13:31
To diminish of what happens in Mumbai, we must restart the interfaith dialogue.
written by HamChak, November 29, 2008 17:22:27
We also have lot of TERRORISTs in Malaysia.
Some of our past and present Politicians are also Terrorists.
Oxford Dictionary define "Terrorist: as:
"One who favours or uses TERROR-inspiring METHODS of
GOVERNING or of coercing government or COMMUNITY"

Can you now see WHO these Terrorists are???
written by HamChak, November 29, 2008 17:25:24
So, please do not jump on other countries. Malaysian Gomen also behave like Terrorist; using ISA. Tell me ISA is not one form of Terrorism???
written by ahmadneil, November 29, 2008 17:27:56
Let us all be reminded at all times that we are living in a multi racial country.Any racial and religious issue must be tackle with utmost care.We malays have short tempers and can easily be fired up if threaten and confronted,not like ahmadneil who is cool like Qcumber .Let us all treasure our existence and practice give and take.Love thy neighbour as you love yourself.
written by taishan, November 29, 2008 17:46:14
Their loyalty is to their fellow ummah. Untuk "Ugama, bangsa dan negara".
Loyalty to ummah, race and lastly country. And they would like us to think that they would be patriots foremost.
written by rizzku, November 29, 2008 17:57:52
There is going to be no short supply of terrorist (or mad people) in this world as long as there are differences in thinking and idealogy (not necessarily religions). It has happened in the past and it will happen again in the future. The lesson we need to learn is, how to prevent this mad people from actually carrying it out.

In Mumbai, failure of intels has been cited as the main cause. In Malaysia, failure of racial tolerance would likely become the main cause.

The article above implied that the minority group is somehow 'understandably' resort to such act due to 'supremacy' of one dominant group. In the light of this, should we keep on barking about 'racial supremacy' here in Malaysia?
written by ssathia, November 29, 2008 18:14:42
Can any competent scholar kindly explain the meaning of the following Quranic verses, taken from Yusuf Ali's translation:

2-193. And fight them on until there is no more Tumult or oppression, and there prevail justice and faith in Allah. but if they cease, Let there be no hostility except to those who practise oppression.

4-89. They but wish that ye should reject Faith, as they do, and thus be on the same footing (as they): But take not friends from their ranks until they flee in the way of Allah (From what is forbidden). But if they turn renegades, seize them and slay them wherever ye find them; and (in any case) take no friends or helpers from their ranks;
8-12. Remember thy Lord inspired the angels (with the message): "I am with you: give firmness to the Believers: I will instil terror into the hearts of the Unbelievers: smite ye above their necks and smite all their finger-tips off them."
8-13. This because they contended against Allah and His Messenger. If any contend against Allah and His Messenger, Allah is strict in punishment.
9-5. But when the forbidden months are past, then fight and slay the Pagans wherever ye find them, an seize them, beleaguer them, and lie in wait for them in every stratagem (of war); but if they repent, and establish regular prayers and practise regular charity, then open the way for them: for Allah is Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.

9-123. O ye who believe! fight the unbelievers who gird you about, and let them find firmness in you: and know that Allah is with those who fear Him.
written by Saint, November 29, 2008 18:26:44
Muslim men and women are so depressed by "human made and enforced Islamic laws (fatwas)" that they find relief only by blowing up others and them selves. They truely cannot wait for Allah's judgment day. The Ulama's law on earth is more supreme then what Allah has in store for everybody. Even Allah cannot save us from them.
written by OilMan, November 29, 2008 18:47:52
These attackers are animals. As reported by BBC a child was executed with a bullet in the head at close range. How can a person say he is fighting for his religion by doing such inhuman act?
written by ahmadneil, November 29, 2008 19:19:51
This is a shinning example of how Islam is been hijacked by these muslim thugs.The cruelty of these extremist shows that they hide behind Islam to achieve their aims.Yes,Islam is a beautiful religion,as million have agreed ,but when you see all these horrible act been done by these bloody thugs,you started to think, why these muslims do such a damn cruel thing in the name of Islam!On one hand they profess to be true muslims but on the other hand they shoot to kill.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 29, 2008 19:31:37
"Therefore, Muslims must do whatever we can to aid counter-terrorism"
=====

For a start, how about re educating the so called Imams , start with those in Britain who are advocating violence towards non Muslims.

Then the Muslim comminity at large and especailly the Islamic religious comminity must come out in condemnation of such violence against the innocent.

Thirdly, the Imams must start teaching about love and forgiveness to the young of their comminity.

Otherwise, these events will recurr again and again.

It is the fault of the inciters who are causing the loss of innocent lives while hiding under their Imam status. They are also sending the young impressional muslims to their death for their own ends.
written by apa jadi, November 29, 2008 19:31:52
The Mumbai massacre ... by those who can scarcely call themselves human beings. I wonder just what kind of psychopathic illness can bring about such a state of mind ...

Mr. Peru, there is no need to jump off the chair to straight away protect yourself by pre-empting what the Islamophobes will say.

The answer to your thought is very simple: When too much of religion gets into the head. People are just becoming psychotic, be it Islam, Christianity, Buddhism, etc....The sense of sensibility is lost once the mind is "programmed" into such irredeemable state.

Look back into the history of religious aggressions. The answer lies in the precedences set by their very own founding disciples.

If we go by Quran, we are to only fight those who fight us and never to overstep that limit (chapter 2, verse 190).

If a religion had already approved of an act of retaliation, the wilful minds will definitely grasp such loopholes to misinterpret the teaching for their own gains. Don't blame the disciples for being misguided.
written by Motherchell, November 29, 2008 19:34:37
Farouk ! your article is a gem . Well written for the betterment of societies to live in peace and harmony .Ancient souls have taught us so much -- they did not give up their lives to see chaotic tomorrow like the era we live in now .

But the leaders today don't seem to see the writing on the wall. I want to purge my painful intentions. looking back!-- the gunman are also innocent gullible children who may have wanted the guidance they were denied . They were in the wrong place at the wrong time in their growing years . Do the leaders of TODAY see this ????
I don't think so as long as money and power is the modes operandi for leaders breath!
WHAT A WASTE OF INNOCENT SOULS- MAY THEY REST IN PEACE!

written by What Nil Wisdom, November 29, 2008 19:54:27
...is it really Muslims who are behind this merciless massacre of over 120 innocent people? I don't know but does it matter at all?

Yes, it matters who the perpetrators are/were, very much so. Just ask the Indian police and security forces as they conduct their investigation. And now it's close to 200 dead (I am not going to count the dead terrorists). All signs point to the the terrorists being Muslims and hence jihadists, no matter how much you may sputter and deny it.

Is this Farouk character equating the murder of 200 people with 'Islamophobia'? Are these crimes of equal depravity? It's like comparing HIV with the common cold. Tell that to the families and friends of the victims and see how well that goes over with them!

Grim, yes but as Muslims, what can we do about this?

Oh golly, what can Muslims do about it? I have some ideas.

How about ceasing and desisting with ridiculous conspiracy theories, like that 9-11, Beslan, and other Muslim terror attacks were committed by Jews, the CIA or some other group of kufr to 'make Muslims/Islam look bad'?
How about denouncing and disowning Muslim terrorists and terror groups by name? Sweeping, specifics-free, loophole laden statements like denouncing 'all terrorism' are meaningless.
How about accepting responsibility for a change and apologizing for numerous Muslim acts of terror that occur somewhere on the planet every single day? The outrages of Mumbai are not an aberrant event, like Mr. Farouk seems to think they are--there have been about 12000 Muslim terrorist acts since 9-11. Has Farouk or any other of his co-religionists apologized for even one of them?
How about not Muslims not lionize and treat murdering jihadists like Azahari, Arafat and Amrozi like heroes and rock stars?
How about explaining to us dumb kufr why Muslim terrorists use numerous Quranic verses to justify there acts?
There are 200 or more dead in Mumbai tonight and where is the Muslim outrage? Cartoons in Denmark got Malaysians and Muslims everywhere on the streets in outrage, but a pile of dead bodies in Mumbai or Beslan or Madrid or London or countless other places warrants no visible Muslim outrage whatsoever. Even Farouk seems much more concerned with 'Islamophobia' -this is the word he repeats over and over in his letter.
Do Muslims want to stop 'Islamophobia'? Then stop the terrorists who kill in Allah's name.
written by apa jadi, November 29, 2008 20:07:31
Mr. Peru,

Whatever we can argue here till kingdom comes, it is not going the help those innocent souls and who where killed. Bear in mind the pains their families have to bear for a long long time.

My only word is: Let there be no more bloodshed in the name of religion.

My condolences to the deceased and their family.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 29, 2008 20:17:36
Datuk Fuad Hassan, The PERKASA Chairman has remind all Chinese and Indian that this Peristiwa akan berlaku if the non-malays don't stop asking for equality. Can you elaborate further on what peristiwa akan berlaku? Is it something like that Mumbai thing.
written by vineeth menon, November 29, 2008 20:31:31
Captured Terrorists confession http://economictimes.indiatime...772287.cms

Lashker militants began killing spree in high seas http://timesofindia.indiatimes...772913.cms
written by cubi76, November 29, 2008 21:16:55
New York Twin towers bombing, London Underground bombing, Spain Madrid bombing, Scotland Airport bombing, Beijing tranport attack, New Dehli Parliament attack, Bombay Train bombing, Bali bombing, and countless bombings and attacks in Afghanistan, Iraq, Southern Thailand, Philipines, Indonesia, Pakistan, Somalia, etc etc....

People are starting to feel sick with all these events. And if the trend goes on, there is high probability that Islam will face a big clash in time ahead, not only with non-Muslim, instead within Muslims between conservative and moderate Muslims. Extreme conservative Muslims have brought a real negative image towards Islam.

There is the urgent need for Islam practitioners, scholars, leaders, to rethink the true value of Islam as a religion, if its values are compactible to universal values accepted by all human beings.

P/s: As there is big Muslim population in Malaysia, it needs to look into this issue as soon as possible. The trend is worrying - the terrorist attacks in Philipines, Indonesia, Southern Thailand were linked to Malaysian Muslims. The trend is showing that Malay-Muslims are becoming more conservative (there is only a fine line between being conservative and being a religious lunatic). Should we want this trend to continue?
written by Daryl, November 29, 2008 21:48:08
This is a great opportunity for Fatwa community to issue an edict to condemn un-Islamic killing of human being. But, wait they are not there to do that because yoga and others are more important to them. So, leadership in this scenario is important but you will never here from these so call great Islam thinkers... Go figure why Muslims are view suspiciously all over the world.
written by ssathia, November 29, 2008 23:35:35
En Farouk A. Peru says "Quran would never support acts of terrorism"". It must be so.

Perhaps he can read and explain true meaning of the following verses (translation by IIU, Malaysia) for everyone's benefit:

2-193
Dan perangilah mereka sehingga tidak ada lagi fitnah, dan (sehingga) menjadilah ugama itu semata-mata kerana Allah. Kemudian jika mereka berhenti maka tidaklah ada permusuhan lagi melainkan terhadap orang-orang yang zalim.
4-89
Mereka suka kalau kamu pula menjadi kafir sebagaimana mereka telah menjadi kafir, maka (dengan yang demikian) menjadilah kamu sama seperti mereka. Oleh itu janganlah kamu mengambil (seorang pun) di antara mereka menjadi teman rapat kamu, sehingga mereka berhijrah pada jalan Allah (untuk menegakkan Islam). Kemudian kalau mereka sengaja berpaling ingkar, maka tawanlah mereka dan bunuhlah mereka di mana sahaja kamu menemuinya; dan jangan sekali-kali kamu mengambil (seorang pun) di antara mereka menjadi teman rapat atau penolong;
8-12
(Ingatlah) ketika Tuhanmu wahyukan kepada malaikat: "Sesungguhnya Aku menyertai kamu (memberi pertolongan), maka tetapkanlah (hati) orang-orang yang beriman. Aku akan mengisi hati orang-orang yang kafir dengan perasaan gerun; oleh itu, pancunglah leher mereka (musuh) dan potonglah tiap-tiap anggota mereka"
8-13
(Perintah) yang demikian ialah kerana sesungguhnya mereka menentang Allah dan RasulNya; dan sesiapa yang menentang Allah dan RasulNya, maka sesungguhnya Allah Maha berat azab seksaNya.
9-5
Kemudian apabila habislah (masa) bulan-bulan yang dihormati itu maka bunuhlah orang-orang musyrik itu di mana sahaja kamu menemuinya, dan tawanlah mereka, dan juga keponglah mereka, serta tunggulah mereka di tiap-tiap tempat mengintipnya. Kemudian jika mereka bertaubat (dari kekufurannya) dan mendirikan sembahyang serta memberi zakat, maka biarkanlah mereka (jangan diganggu). Sesungguhnya Allah Maha Pengampun, lagi Maha Mengasihani.
9-123
Wahai orang-orang yang beriman! Perangilah orang-orang kafir musyrik yang berdekatan dengan kamu; dan biarlah mereka merasai sikap kekerasan (serta ketabahan hati) yang ada pada kamu; dan ketahuilah sesungguhnya Allah beserta orang-orang yang bertaqwa (dengan memberikan pertolonganNya).
written by Stormquest, November 30, 2008 08:41:12

"They have stayed in Nariman house on rental basis identifying themselves as Malaysian students.'' said a source".
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Mumbai_locals_helped_us_terrorist_tells_cops/articleshow/3774106.cms

Huh! What's this crap? Is this for real? Were Malaysians really involved in the Mumbai terrorist attack, or these other foreigners masquerading as Malaysians? Whatever the case, they are spoiling the name of the country. Idiots!

So, is our PDRM going to investigate this Times of India report, or are they going to be busy cracking down on peaceful candle light vigilers?

written by SBennit, November 30, 2008 11:37:15
http://exiledonline.com/mumbai...#more-2081

good read.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by Suresh, November 30, 2008 13:02:36
This Mumbai terror incident is one of the most heinious and brutal ever conducted in modern history of India.
All governments of the world have todate condemned this savagery.
If one's got time the Indian Times website does cover most happennings at http:// timesofindia.indiatimes.com
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 30, 2008 14:28:14
A murderous God is on the rampage. A God who promotes murder to see kafirs killed and got rid off...or is it Satan's work?????
written by Avanza1, December 01, 2008 02:46:55
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D...ar_al-Harb

Dar al-Harb

Dar al-Harb (Arabic: دار الحرب "house of war"; also referred to as Dar al-Garb "house of the West" in later Ottoman sources) is an term classically referring to those countries where the Muslim law is not in force, in the matter of worship and the protection of the faithful and Dhimmis.[4] The term refers to the relationship between an Islamic state and neighbouring non-Muslim states with whom it has not signed a peace treaty or pact.[5]

In Reliance of the Traveller, point w43.2, a hadith is referred to containing the exact word Dar al-Harb. Scholars have, nevertheless, disagreed on its reliability as is commented in Reliance of the Traveller.[citation needed]

[edit] Dar al-Kufr

Dar al-Kufr (Arabic: دار الكفر, "house/domain of disbelief") is a term used by Muhammad to refer to the Quraish-dominated society of Mecca between his flight to Medina and his triumphant return.

For much of Islamic history, the preferred term used to describe non-Islamic societies has been dar al-Harb, emphasizing various Islamic countries' aspirations to conquer such territories and render them part of dar al-Islam.

A traditional Arabic saying attributed to Muhammad goes: "Unbelief is one community", or in other words, "infidels are of one nation", expressing the view that distinctions between different types of non-Muslims are insignificant in relation to the overriding distinction between Muslim and non-Muslim.