Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR: Time for party to move out of Anwar's shadow

ZUBAIDAH ABU BAKAR: Time for party to move out of Anwar's shadow PDF Print
Saturday, 29 November 2008 13:55

(NST) ALMOST a decade after its founding, Parti Keadilan Rakyat is finally taking baby steps to become less beholden to its father-figure, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

PKR, born after the former deputy prime minister's sacking from Umno and the government in 1998, no longer wants to rely so heavily on the icon who is called its Ketua Umum, or general leader, both in internal matters and inter-party relations in the framework of the Pakatan Rakyat, which includes the Islamist Pas and secular DAP.

Party leaders possibly came to their senses following disquiet over an Anwar-centric syndrome in decision-making.

The leaders, it seems, realised that it was not healthy for the party to revolve around Anwar, thus the need to introduce organisational reforms from the ground up.

Reforms are needed to remedy weaknesses, lest the party sees the 1.5 million votes it garnered in 2008 swing to the other side of the divide at the 13th general election due in 2013.

Dissenting voices have expressed unhappiness that major decisions in Pakatan Rakyat are always subject to Anwar's approval, thus delaying progress. They are calling for the party to delegate decision-making to able and trustworthy personalities.

Some of the party faithful also complained of poor networking at the branch, division and state levels, expressing fears of poor organisation against a resurgent Barisan Nasional at the next general election.

"BN would by now have learned the lessons of March 8. PKR, together with Pas and DAP, must be prepared to face a more combative enemy," a critic said.

Another concern of party supporters is the public perception that the PKR lacks leadership among its parliamentarians and state assemblymen, some of whom have not been playing their roles as proper Yang Berhormat due to their being "a somebody from a nobody".

They also want PKR, as the biggest party in Pakatan Rakyat with 31 seats, to position itself as the strongest component in the loose coalition.

Anwar's close aides insist their boss is not oblivious of the shortcomings in the party, officially led by his wife Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail.

It is with his blessing that a review of the party's structure is now being undertaken by a small team headed by its secretary-general, Datuk Salehuddin Hashim.

The team has been ordered to make PKR a model of good governance, responsive to its enlarged membership and the expectations of all Malaysians.

PKR's membership has exploded to a claimed 500,000, with the recent influx of 12,000 from Sarawak.

The reorganisation, which promises a more focused and efficient party machine, is expected to be completed by the next party congress.

A more systematic PKR is also being prepared for the state elections in Sarawak, widely expected to be held next year.

Inputs are anticipated from delegates attending its two-day national congress from today after Dr Wan Azizah sets off the party's agenda in her ninth presidential address before some 2,000 delegates.

PKR loyalists should use the opportunity to make their call for reformasi within the party heard.

written by Colomboloner, November 29, 2008 15:03:13
Halo Cik Puan. Do you understand politic and politician? I think you just one of those jounalist paid by the UMnno goon. DSAI is still very much relevant. his threat and shadow to your servant make them sleepless night. You should write more on Ummno, until now never taken any lesson from March 8 debacle. New wave of Tsunami will reach Terengganu soon.
written by varvoom, November 29, 2008 15:15:17
To move away from Anwar centric syndrome and delegate responsibilities to other able leaders, a Shadow Cabinet must be form as soon as possible. The people need to know who the Government-in-waiting really are. Only Ghost is without a Shadow!
written by arazak, November 29, 2008 15:29:24
We are no more taking baby steps, we are up and running and we are passing UMNO. Before the next election we would have left UMNO some thousand of kilometers behind us!

You got that!
written by Bloodhound, November 29, 2008 16:08:03
PKR should also form an official Cyber trooper seat/club to cultivate the cyber troopers' input and suggestions - to give a voice to their support in cyberspace and also the get ideas and assistance in the form of donations and hands on the grounds help where necessary.

Giving a voice to the cyber contributors would ensure that PKR would be miles ahead of the rest of the competition in terms of access to the hearts and minds of the nation. This would boost the resources available to PKR whilst contributing positively to the expanding membership of the party.

written by Oyster, November 29, 2008 16:57:36
Alamak!Reading some of the comments left on this page i wonder whether here is any difference between UMNO's bully mentality and that of so called PKR supporters.Disagree with this journalist pun nak sebut "*****". Please lah!Macam ni No class lah. Who cares if she is an UMNO lackey or not. Personally i think this Zubaidah has made a valid point about PKR being too dependant on one person too lead. PKR should groom many capable leaders and not copy the style of UMNO heirarchy.At least if anything untoward should happen to its Spartacus there would immediately be a hundred more who could step up to fill his shoes.
written by Heaven8402, November 29, 2008 17:34:07
Why even posted her article in here. I never read her articles cos' it makes me wanna to puke.
written by chelsea, November 29, 2008 18:51:33
NEW SHITTY TIMES could only lure the half-past-six local grads who are deemed under-qualified and no where near meeting the minimum requirements expected by other press or medias for their journalism positions!
written by Rozlan, November 29, 2008 20:03:59
I agree with YB Zuraidah.Any organization relying too much on a sole figure is suicidal..YOU see anything could happen to him.So PKR have to prepare itself to carry the struggle efectively with or without DSAI..Good suggestion by YB Zuraidah
written by Bentoh, November 29, 2008 23:32:20
Rozlan,

this is from NST journalist Zubaidah... smilies/wink.gif

Anyway, she hit the right point... PKR is till now a one-man party, period...