Deputy Minister's death sparks by-election buzz PDF Print
Saturday, 29 November 2008 10:23

(Singapore Straits Times) KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 29 - The sudden death of Malaysia's Deputy Education Minister Razali Ismail yesterday has created a buzz among politicians of the by-election that will have to be held soon for his Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat.

The Election Commission is expected to call a by-election within 60 days of receiving official notification of Razali's death.

A father of five, Razali collapsed while playing badminton at the teachers' training college in Genting Highlands, Bernama reported yesterday. He was attending a Terengganu Umno retreat.

A by-election in Terengganu, political watchers say, could be a tricky test for the ruling Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition as Umno leaders in the east coast state are split into factions.

Razali, 59, was a two-term MP for Kuala Terengganu, but he barely won his second term. He beat his two opponents by a razor-thin margin of 628 votes during the March general election.

He had bagged 32,562 votes against Parti Islam SeMalaysia (Pas) vice-president Mohamad Sabu, who got 31,934 votes. The independent candidate, grandmother Maimun Yusuf, 89, proved to be a spoiler by
garnering 685 votes. Without her, the seat may well have gone to PAS, as Mohamad Sabu is popular on the ground.

The slim victory in March suggests that Umno will not have an easy time retaining this seat, in a state that has seen much upheaval and had fallen to the opposition in 1999. Umno infighting in the state also cost it votes in the March election, although it retained power.

Terengganu saw a protracted constitutional crisis after the election, when its ruler refused to appoint the menteri besar selected by Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi, despite Datuk Idris Jusoh commanding the majority of the confidence of the state assemblymen.

Instead, Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin installed his own choice, Umno assemblyman Ahmad Said - a move Abdullah first described as "unconstitutional". But the Sultan won the public faceoff and got his way.

The resulting Umno infighting is not yet fully settled, analysts say.

Coming just before Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak takes over the hot seat as the leader of the country, this could be seen as a referendum and a stern first test for both himself and the fractured BN that he is taking over. As the deputy president of Umno, Najib is traditionally the head of the election machinery for by-elections.

The last by-election was held in August in Permatang Pauh, Penang. It saw opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim sweeping back into Parliament with a decisive victory, putting severe pressure on Abdullah, and
eventually sped up his decision to hand over power to Najib by next March.

- The Singapore Straits Times

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by shamadz72, November 29, 2008 10:38:20
Kepada para pengundi Kuala Terengganu. Jangan lupa bagaimana UMNO telah biadap dengan cuba bertindak biadap dan 'menatangkan' Sultan Mizan. Inilah masanya untuk kita 'menatangkan' UMNO pulak kerana tindakan biadap mereka itu kepada duli sultan
written by kkselvam, November 29, 2008 10:42:25
Lets see if BN can retain their seat!! By election? Bring it on UMNO!
written by Lostsoul12, November 29, 2008 10:47:20
Hah! I already see some one pee.
written by sydput, November 29, 2008 10:47:40
poor guy. All they can think of is the by-election instead of sweet bye-byes.
written by justice, November 29, 2008 10:57:16
Mr Najis, to improve BN's chance to win this by-election, may I suggest you you bring along the following scumbags to help you campaign:

People of Terengganu please chant 'Mongolia! Mongolia!' whenever you see Mr. Najis there!!
written by blackpea, November 29, 2008 11:12:12
Najis..... dont forget to bring "saiful" and pic's of his bruise arse to show as proof.
written by krising1, November 29, 2008 11:23:06
Son of Razak, here is a challenge. If BN does not win this bye-election, will you give up being PM? Here is a test to see if the rakyat wants you!
written by CPY, November 29, 2008 11:28:05
Locked-on! Heaven has gives us a favorable timing to get 1 seat to made it 29 more. smilies/cool.gif
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 29, 2008 11:46:32
God is great! Sooner or later they will pay for their evil deeds. They may temporarily win with the help of postal votes and phantom voters but God will punish ALL the Barisan Najis parlimentarians and state assemblymen who are corrupted, so that they will end up like their fellow scumbag Mohd Deros bin Istana Zakaria.

An additional parlimentary seat is on the way for PR. Najis, let this be a warning to you!!! Your place in Hell is waiting for you
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 29, 2008 11:47:16
The ensuring by election is going to be the mother of all by elections as it is an UMNO seat regardless of the last slim majority win. Pematang Pauh is a PK seat and so was expected to be retained, which it did with a bigger majority.

The Kuala Terengganu by election result will indeed be the litmus test of things to come in the next GE.
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 29, 2008 12:01:04
By-election loss will spark Deputy Prime Minister's death
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 29, 2008 12:07:22
Next, Let's send Altantuya's murderers to Hell! Allahu Akbar
written by miwaki, November 29, 2008 12:12:21
Its about time we deny UMNO any seat in Terengganu,lets PAS rules the state after the 13 GE.At the meantime,let us put Mohd.Sabu as our MP.We need change and let us do it !
written by Motherchell, November 29, 2008 12:13:32
Sudden death? with all the best in life, in food, material, health care -- Well!
http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by cahaya, November 29, 2008 12:15:58
This time the opposition candidate will surely win! And independent candidate, grandmother Maimun Yusuf, could win more votes than the ruling party candidate. After watching the by-election shows, the locals may decide they like her simple and sincere character more than the corrupted performers.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 29, 2008 12:20:43
segalanya diketahui oleh Allah da Dialah yang menentukan segalanya ...
anak razak tetap akan membayar hutang nyawa kepada roh-roh 0513 yang dilakukan oleh razak bersama kezaliman umno ...
Allah telah memulakan hukumanNya terhadap umno kerana menipu umatNya.
written by malaysianohope, November 29, 2008 12:39:41
Lol! AI must be grining cheek to cheek!
One down 29 more to go lo.
written by ahmadneil, November 29, 2008 13:05:39
Another Permatang Pauh in the making!
written by cheekhiaw, November 29, 2008 13:13:42
Dia 'natang' orang lain. Allah 'datang'-kan dia...

written by carribeanking7, November 29, 2008 13:14:29
What is happening to some of us ,have we lost all decency? Granted, BN is our political enemy, but gloating over a death, and only talking of by-election before the body is cold, come on surely we are better people than that !

I lost my appetite for lunch.

How would you feel if a Pakatan MP died , and pro-BN websites posted some comments we see above. We lose the moral high ground when we ourselves behave like the enemy we despise.

Saya ucapkan takziah pada keluarga alaryaham Razali Ismail, semoga allah mencucuri rahmat keatas rohnya.

written by Janaka, November 29, 2008 13:23:12
GOD must be blessing the BolehLand! Punishing these morons one by one, step by step, day in and out, pls dont forget send the MURDERERs of ALTANTUYA to DEEPEST HELL that you ever created!I felt sorry for him, Look forward another Permatang Pauh VICTORY!
written by hckit, November 29, 2008 13:26:13
seem nobody feel sad about his death ,i feel sorry for his family. For all other alive BN MPs, this is what u get for joining the evil BN/UMNO

written by lynn, November 29, 2008 13:28:07
Trengganu folks, if u have just witnessed Monsoon Cup (again???), u know u need to vote for PAS candidate.

U need to understand that RM300 million belongs to you, you, you and you!!!!
They entertained themselves and so-called celebrities. Two days ago, a very old and elderly Chinese man said, there are so many many extremely poor people in Trengganu & Kelantan, some days they go without any money in their pockets.

Inspite of all that poverty, you have this blatant, balls-hanging-out event called monsoon cup in your midst. You need to wake up now & show your power as a voter. You need to vote right. You don't need anyone else to scold you. If they gave you RM100, or RM1000, take the money. It belongs to you. It is YOUR money. But when you vote, you vote PAS. And now, go and tell everyone in your kampung, take the $$$ and vote PAS.
written by Littlebird, November 29, 2008 13:38:14
Condolence to DM family.

Now all start to campaign for Mohd Sabu and hopefully they would put stand as PR's candidate against BN.
written by MAMR, November 29, 2008 13:45:05
this is the time for you all to show your power
written by Fuminari, November 29, 2008 13:49:39
this should be a good chance for mahatahi n umno to lecture malaysian what's money politic is all about!!
written by ahmadneil, November 29, 2008 13:51:37
Sorry Najis,I misread it as....'The Deputy Prime Minister Death Sparks the Race...'.My blurred eyes caused the slip.
written by shissun, November 29, 2008 14:19:42
This going to be the real test for both najis and bro anwar. The 08.03 euphoria has faded and anwar must win this election to show he is still relevant and the people sentiment for government change is still ON. Meanwhile, for Najis, this is the test for people approval of his "arranged" PM appointment in March. It is winner takes all match now.
I wondered, will Abdullah join in the BN campaign or he going to be neglected by BN camp headed by Najis similar with Bush in McCain's campaign?
It will spark another round of "jump ship issue" and I hope it won't be a false start again.
written by smeagrooo, November 29, 2008 14:59:25
if they lose any by-election, I am sure any other future by-elections will send the shivers up their spines.

Bagus la.

Folks, it is time for u to enjoy more goodies to this run up.
written by Lim Lim, November 29, 2008 15:05:53
santa claus has come to town for kuala trengganu folks.
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 29, 2008 15:31:00
I can't wait to read the next topic:"Deputy Prime Minister's death sparks Wawasan 2020 hope"
written by nana tanjung, November 29, 2008 19:15:45
Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji'un

Quite timely. Time to asses Malays acceptance of PR. This election will have big impact in evaluating and formulating the way forward for PAS.
written by malsia1206, November 29, 2008 21:36:51
May we look forward to hearing AHMAD ISMAIL's same remarks again in this by-election? Even while he is now suspended, he must ome out, campaign for UMNO and say it openly and freely again from his heart for the rakyat to hear it one more time. No better time to show his mettle and loyalty in front of Najib again.
written by Proarte, November 30, 2008 01:47:49
Let us be sensible. We know PAS is ridden with factions. We have the 'ulamak' faction and the 'progressives'. Hadi Awang is dead against the progressive faction gaining a foothold in Terengganu.

Given that Mat Sabu lost the seat by a mere whisker in the March election, he stands a very good chance this time. Mat Sabu represents the humane and logical face of PAS. He is a self declared 'liberal' who is deeply religious but yet open to new ideas, colloboration with non- Muslims and even acknowleging that Muslims too can learn alot from the practise of other cultures and religions as they often seem to follow the path laid out by Allah more so than many Muslims.

He may only be an ITM graduate but he certainly does have a sophisticated intellect despite he folksy and simpleton demeanour. Furthermore he has wit and supreme oratorical skills.

He is clearly a threat to the backward looking and racist 'ulamak' wing who will do deals with UMNO at a drop of a hat if the opportunity arises. Mat Sabu is a man of integrity and humanity who will be a cohesive force if Pakatan is to become a reality. The 'ulamak' faction of PAS has to be edged out for the sake of Malaysia and a viable Pakatan.

Mat Sabu is the 'acceptable face' of PAS as far as DAP is concerned and he does enjoy a close relationship with Guan Eng and Karpal Singh. He is also popular amongst the PKR leaders. It seems to be that is a no brainer that Mat Sabu should be the candidate for the Kuala Terengganu seat.

The idea that PKR should be offered the seat is the height of stupidity and a desperate ploy by the 'Hadi' faction to sideline Sabu even though he is one of their own.

Please remember that Mat Sabu was one of the key figures in the formation of Bersih. He will be a force to be reckoned with in Parliament and will make UMNO decidedly uneasy.
written by mikewang, November 30, 2008 07:46:16
The Kuala Terengganu parliamentary seat will be a litmus test for Najib.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 30, 2008 11:29:56
(Bernama) SHAH ALAM, Nov 29 -- Has Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) shifted its focus from capturing and forming a Pakatan Rakyat-led federal government, to capturing the largest state in the country - Sarawak?

THE TSUNAMI IS FOLLOWED BY A SUPER STORM WHICH WILL INUNDATE THE EAST COAST SOON AND A FORECAST IS ALSO MADE OF IMPENDING GALE FORCE WINDS IN THE LAND BELOW AMENO'S TOILET. EZAM, SAIFUL, PLS COME AND BE BURIED ONCE AND FOR ALL. PLS INSTALL MORE LOUDSPEAKERS AND HAILERS TO HEAR NAJIB'S REPEAT OF HIS SWEARING.