Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Syed Husin tells PKR to stress multi-racialism

Syed Husin tells PKR to stress multi-racialism PDF Print
Friday, 28 November 2008 16:41
By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

PKR’s No. 2 told its youth and women’s wing members today to shape up and reach out to the growing number of Malaysians looking for a multi-racial and multi-religious party to represent their needs in a changing world.

Dr Syed Husin Ali told the two wings that now was not the time to rest on its laurels even though they had won big at the March general elections as the victory came from the people’s support rather than the party’s own efforts.

He said that its political rivals, especially Umno, was fanning racial and religious fires because they were threatened by the opposition’s climb to power in five states.

He reminded them that the Pakatan Rakyat plan to take over the federal government was still on track even though the leadership was keeping quiet on when it will happen.

“The lesson learnt is that we talk about it, it alerts undesirable elements,” the deputy president said at PKR’s annual general meeting for its youth and women wings here today.

Comments (4)Add Comment
written by Iliyas, November 28, 2008 16:58:39
Yes Dr,Syed Husin,I totally concurred that the take over plan is still very much on the cards.It's still inevitable,and I'm convince Malaysians in general are patiently waiting.Let us look at ourselves as Malaysians first before we talk about being a Malay,Chinese,Indian,Iban,Kadazan, Eurasians,Sikhs etc.

On another note,allow me to express my opinion on the leadership in Sabah.While I'm totally certain,Sabahans are fully behind PKR,weather openly or silently,the leadership needs to be reform,re-branded, re-package and re-invented,if we are to see any impact.

During my resent visit to Kota Kinabalu,I've notice certain Corporate Businessman who in my opnion,would be great leaders,but are unconvinced with the current leadership.My advice to DSAI,seek and you will find.

My warm wishes and good luck for a successful congress,I'll be there
written by eow_eow, November 28, 2008 17:16:16
Yes Ketuanan Rakyat means multi racial approach for the benefit of all Malaysians irrespective of race religion or creed. Malaysia need this approach badly to move forward in such challenging times, as we have lost 51 years to narrow racial and religious stance of government. Yes more PKR representatives and like minded PR components have been voted in this time because the rakyat feels that you all are not only the better alternative but also will be definitely the better government for all Malaysians. Thank you Dr Syed for reinforcing this multi racial call to your party faithful and in the same stance is also a timely reminder to the other PR components ie. DAP and PAS members.
written by Proarte, November 28, 2008 20:00:27
Multi-racialism is impossible if there is no religious equality and religious freedom. The abuse of Islam is the stumbling block to a viable Pakatan.

Address this issue in a sensitive but firm manner. No more pussy footing and dancing to the tune of Political Islam. It is a curse on this nation. The extreme forms of Poltical Islam will lead to what happened in Mumbai yesterday. Please do not discount such evil happening in our country in future.
written by InEffective, November 29, 2008 14:19:50

Just stress good governance (got nothing to do with race or religion lah).

By definition, good governance will include inclusion, no one left behind, help support for legitimate needs etc, religious freedoms and equality, rights etc...