Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow A fatwa against yoga? And how would this reflect on Muslims?

A fatwa against yoga? And how would this reflect on Muslims? PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 28 November 2008 14:24

What has aroused the angry reaction of Malaysian Muslims in the case of this fatwa is the fact that it was issued unilaterally without any consultation with society. And this reflects the extent to which the Fatwa Council is in fact a body that is not answerable to the Malaysian public, observes Aliran member Farish Noor.

Since I became an activist at the age of 19, I have spent more than two decades of my life defending Muslims and the image of Islam. During my 22 years of living in Europe , I must have attended hundreds of conferences, seminars, public debates and lectures where I tried my best to dissuade people from the negative image of Islam that is so prevalent in the international media of late.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 14:37:37
The one major problem with our Malaysian Islamic council is that a lot of them want to prove that they are intelligent and that they can think up something to issue a Fatwa on, which even the originator of Islam, the Arabs, failed to do nor the intelligence to think of it first.
It’s really a classic bad case of “Malaysia Boleh…Malaysia First” mentality. Nothing more, and nothing less!

I have come across many such mentality cases among my fellow Malays, and some of their ‘clever ideas’ are really something. One cannot argue with them, as these ideas came about through pure stupidity and ignorance, and all one can do is to shake one’s head and walk away.
written by anak penang, November 28, 2008 14:41:23
The yoga that is practiced by most people in the form of exercise has nothing to do with religion. It is called hartha yoga. There are many types of yoga in Hinduism There is raja yoga, bhakti yoga, karma yoga, jnana yoga, kripa yoga and others Bhakti yoga is the worship of god through an "ista devatha" or an idol or chosen god Majority of hindus practice this Karma yoga is the practice of doing work without expecting anything in return

Jnana yoga is normally practiced by rishis or sanyasis God is formless and called Braman. This is the ultimatum when the hindu realizes he is one with god. Normal people cannot come to this level Raja yoga is also known as the 8 step yoga Buddhism as practiced in India and Tibet is basically an offshoot of this yoga There need not necessarily think of a god when practicing this yoga. The person can concentrate on any object
Realization of god is achieved by meditation and following some disciplines like not lying, not accepting of gifts,etc Buddha achieved nirvana (realisation or experiancing of god)by this practice

Kripa yoga is the practice in controlling breathing The saints say that by controlling the inhaling, holding of the breathe and exaling during meditation, concentrating on god, realization of god is possible All these yoga’s are not easy to practice Even practicing ones whole live there is no certainty one can realize god that is why 99% of hindus practice bhakthi yoga it is the easiest and suitable for the masses

hatha yoga or the yoga that is practised all over the world is only for health and keeping the body fit. it helps when doing meditation when posture has to be maintained for long peroids hindus meditate to keep their mind still it is the way to reliase god, so says the scriptures
written by Spear Bing, November 28, 2008 14:48:23
A few assumptions can be made on the JAKIM officials:

* They are monolinguists, and even though they speak and write English - their knowledge is superficial and shallow;

* They are not well read, they do not possess the skillsets of foresight and maturity of thought;

* Their conviction in Islam is coloured by 'FORM' rather than 'SUBSTANCE'

* They don't trust that the Muslims have the capability to decide what is good and bad for them; they need to issue guidelines as how they should be dressed, what they should or should not eat and drink, what places they should or should not visit, what movies or places of entertainment they should or not patronise, which types of books they should or should not read;

* In short, every aspect of lives of Muslims must complied to Fatwa guidelines.

Yet we do hear news of some Ulamas being charged for corruption, CBT, sexual harrassment etc;
written by shamadz72, November 28, 2008 14:49:33
Did Pope seek permission from other religious body before he come out a ruling against gay (which is only for Catholic masses)? So why should a Muslim council need to seek permission from others when the ruling is only for those who believe in Islamic faith?
disagree 33
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 14:54:15
Dear Spear Bing,
I've said this a thousand time, How do you argue with someone who claims that "GOD TOLD ME TO TELL YOU"?
written by mikefonz, November 28, 2008 14:59:14
Internationally, Many forieners think of Malaysia as a very beautiful country with good weather, fantastic beaches and islands with wonderful multi cultured, multi religion friendly people. Malaysia truely ASIA. But ONLY our stupid Goverment is doing otherwise to show the world HOW STUPID THEY ARE IN MAKING DECISIONS in recent time. Now we Malaysian are not so welcome into other countries. They think we may be extremist.
written by SimpleSoul, November 28, 2008 15:08:06
Can we just stop about this Yoga thingy, I wonder why non muslims are so paranoid when it doesnt affect us in anyways. There are more muslims in India and no one had complained about it this far. If a muslim believes in fatwa's than he/she should follow it. Its up to him/her to follow it or not! Cant we all FOCUS on the paralysing economy. A simple issue spun out by the BN boys and you people loose focus. Remember, if we dont focus on building on the paralysing economy, then NO MATTER how much of yoga we do it will NOT cure it!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 15:10:14
shamadz72,

As a fellow Muslim, do you really think that Yoga Fatwa was an intelligent and well thought out Fatwa?

Sorry bro, but your comparison of the Pope's ruling/Fatwa against gay is meek & irrelevant comparison and you should know that too. Plus the Pope is the head of the Christian world and so bigger ‘pangat’ than our religious council.

Salaam!
written by Spear Bing, November 28, 2008 15:15:22
Of most recent news, they seized the books written by Dr. Farish Noor from the bookstores.

They still don't have confidence in the educating Muslims as to which books they should or should not read - the edicting must come from JAKIM.

The intelligence of the Muslims is now under the control of JAKIM.
written by shamadz72, November 28, 2008 15:52:27
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 15:10:14

shamadz72,

As a fellow Muslim, do you really think that Yoga Fatwa was an intelligent and well thought out Fatwa?

-----

Yes. Why not? That fatwa is to make it clear to us all (Muslims) that it is ok to do the physical part of yoga without the mantra chanting but when it involves some kind of Hindu mantra chanting than it wrong for us (Muslim) to do it.

As a Muslim, we have been advice to avoid anything that can be consider as was-was as such I would just advice Muslim to just do other kind of exercise. There are still plenty of it lah...
written by What Nil Wisdom, November 28, 2008 15:53:55
Hey Malaysians, as far as the fatwa on yoga from from your clueless 'scholars' is concerned, I have some good news and some bad news.

First, the good news...the yoga fatwa is no longer in the international headlines.

The bad news? It's not in the headlines now because of the carnage wrought by Islamic terrorists in downtown Mumbai over the past 36 hours. The murdering jihadists actually make your inane and silly imams look good by comparison.

I wonder how Ms Noor is going to explain away this latest Islamic assault on civilization. Blame the Jews perhaps?
written by 2edgedsword, November 28, 2008 16:00:55
Too many Muslims with theological qualifications that is not marketable in the work place. UMNO creates jobs for these religious graduates. When appointed into positions of power, these "public guardians of morality" will flex their muscles to prove their worth. With nothing much to do, they will major in the minor, knowing very well that negative publicity is still publicity. Malays should consider getting a qualification suitable of gainful employment first before taking a second qualification in theology. Without working experiences and facing realities and challenges in life, a head full of theological knowledge will only puffed up a person to be a nuisance to society. " Let those without sin throw the first stone".
written by Liberace, November 28, 2008 16:04:12
What Nil Wisdom,

I agree with you. We really are a laughable lot arguing ourselves silly over a practice that right or wrong is between you and God while Muslims blow up the world. All you good Muslims out there, if you don't speak up for the things that really matter, the Deccan Mujahhideen and their likes will speak for you.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 16:08:00
Shamadz72,

Are you kidding or what?

Before announcing that Fatwa, the Religious council should have taken their time and thought that through, and then worded it comprehensively and intelligently.
Instead, somebody hurriedly (as though they are afraid that someone else might beat them to it) made a public statement and then, and only then, when there is a public outcry did they clarify that they meant it in the form that is taken now, which is on the exercise form and aspect of Yoga.

This is totally irresponsible and causes us Muslim to be ridiculed and makes it difficult for us to defend against such ill thought out Fatwas.
written by mawi, November 28, 2008 17:27:15
Dear Bro Farisn.

It tickles me when reading your article and your predicament in explaining Islamic issues. Our prophet starts from nothing to explain about Islam and youhave evrything in front of you to dwell with. And you concur to conclude that this Yoga issue is a no issue in Islam. Of all people, you very well know that humans evolve over time and changes can be seen in both the physical and phychological aspect; some more abrupt than others. We see new things everyday and we observe innovation being made even before we blink our eye lids. So how does all the innovations ang changes goes in line with Islam. General public acceptance is not how the religion come to terms with these changes made by the creariveness of human beings; that itself being god blessed.

Take ear piercing, as a simple example. Ear piercing was not even heard of, in the days of our fathers. But today, ear piercing is so common that it was thought as something acceptible by the human race. But how does that goes down in our religios practices in the quest to safeguard God's acceptance to our submission to Him. Most Muslims, who are ordinary people, need learned Islamic scholars to advise us on this and a whole lot of others new issues that we just can't comprehenh using individual justifications.We and worst, the ummah, would be totally astrayed by this and worst we can even be manipulated by the unscrupulous enemies of Islam which , of late, is strikingly visible. Take tattoo, for instance, another trivial issue over a more pressing agenda. To me its not. I live my live on a daily basis and every nano second that ticks, there will be always be something that would make us change the way we do or react to this. These are seen as trivial but its actually not. Wearing bermuda pants, walking around in jock like pants, having multi coloured hair, going gay, pluralism, metal and punk lifestyle, internet, Sai Baba, Sri ashram, Hare Krishna, David Koresh, wearing bikini, halal food, working in a conventional bank, putting make ups etc etc. Are these trivial to you that you, on your own, are good enough to say that these these are acceptable or not acceptable practices? Every devout Muslim ask this question first before indulging into any of this real life practices. Can this be acceptable in Islam? Of course there are those who just couldn't care less for a whole lot of reasons. But in reality, these are real question on things that affect us daily. I,m not ashame to seek clarifications on this no matter how practising something can be seen as logically correct just as how logically appropriate toasting wine in a high level social gathering can be.

Of course, we can be like the non Muslims , who goes by human logic and justifying the means to accord to its ends. But that not how Islan taught us.
written by ChotS, November 28, 2008 17:38:50
Shamadz72..
the main thing here is not about the Yoga practised or what..
the main thing is that the Fatwa council and Jakim make a lot of stupid issues..very2 stupid and their action will reflect us..muslim..
I totally think that most of the people in the council are stupid..so stupid.

Why not they make fatwa about bribery/rasuah..that is way better because not only muslim but all of people in this world know that 'rasuah' is wrong..actually there are alot of other thing that the council supposed to give "fatwa or what so ever..but then they focus on yoga..

Like the writer..it's very hard for some of us muslims to make other people to understand Islam..one of the thing is because there are alot of major thing Jakim should go trough but they choose to ban Yoga..idiots..
written by Qcumber, November 28, 2008 18:19:42
A FATWA AGAINST YOGA? AND HOW WOULD THIS REFLECT ON MUSLIMS?

Reflect ar? mah reflect Muslims in our country are ignorance lot lor wat else, so much so that they need ppl to tell this tis cannot, that cannot, tis can, that can, must do tis, must not do this.... Cant they think for themselves? It is not they r iliterate. smilies/grin.gif
written by OrdinaryMan, November 28, 2008 18:30:29
Looks like Hotel California are producing more and more house rules.
written by ananth, November 28, 2008 18:54:56
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muhammad

Born in 570 CE in the Arabian city of Mecca,[11] he was orphaned at a young age and was brought up under the care of his uncle. He later worked mostly as a merchant, as well as a shepherd, and was first married by age 25. Discontented with life in Mecca, he retreated to a cave in the surrounding mountains for meditation and reflection. According to Islamic beliefs it was here, at age 40, in the month of Ramadan, where he received his first revelation from God. Three years after this event Muhammad started preaching these revelations publicly, proclaiming that "God is One", that complete "surrender" to Him (lit. islām) is the only way (dīn)[12] acceptable to God, and that he himself was a prophet and messenger of God, in the same vein as adam, Noah, Abraham, Moses, David, Jesus and other prophets in Islam.[13][14][9]

Guys, please note line no. 4. even the prophet nabi mohammad practicing yoga(in indian terms). Can the fatwa counsel fatwa nabi muhammad from meditating?? for god sake, get real for once!!!!
written by rainmanpj, November 28, 2008 19:21:18
Dear Bro mawi,
As a non-muslim , I agree that your statements are good.
You mention " unscrupulous enemies of Islam " . Actually it exist in all
religion.There is always something "evil,dark forces,judgement day,end of world, and whatever you call it " mention it all religion books and not just Islam alone.
Actually there should not be any physical enemies ( translate human being)
because all came from GOD according ALL religion,except mine.

Good or bad come from your heart and actions.

Anyway , when in doubt , always pray hard and sincerely to your God for guidance.Human beings,including ummah, are after all human beings.

written by DontPlayGod, November 29, 2008 23:22:42
For non-Muslims, the only laws that apply to us are the laws enacted by Parliament. But for Muslims, not only do they have to obey the laws passed by parliament, but also laws and edicts passed by the various fatwa councils, religious bodies, etc. And they can be arrested not be our PDRM but also by religious police, and even ordinary fellow Muslims.

Aiyah, my fellow Malaysian brothers, life must be real tough for you! But then for non-Muslims who are predominantly non-bumiputeras, life is much tougher for us, as we have to endure and suffer from UMNO's discrimination and apartheid laws, too!!!