Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Rude, crude and obscene - and untouchable

Rude, crude and obscene - and untouchable PDF Print
Friday, 28 November 2008 09:45

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 28 – He is untouchable. He can use swear words with impunity. He can spray sexist comments in the chamber and use sexual innuendo when he sees fit.

Judging by proceedings in Parliament since the March 8 general election, Datuk Tajudin Rahman, the Barisan Nasional MP for Pasir Salak can pretty much do as he pleases.

He is also living proof that some of the lessons of Election 2008 are being ignored and tossed aside by elected representatives. A walking advertisement that, despite being decimated in five states and having its customary two-thirds majority in Parliament taken away, arrogance and pride still courses through the veins of ruling coalition members.

More troubling perhaps for the average Malaysian is that Tajudin Rahman’s boorish behaviour is a reflection of the reality here – that the winds of change ushered in by the events of March 8 have begun to wane and that Malaysia is settling down once again to a state where apathy and fatigue reign.

Where the public feigns outrage at excesses of politicians and the government, then do a collective shrug of their shoulders and put it down to the way of life here.

Politicians from both sides of the divide know the drill. And that is why the likes of Tajudin Rahman and before him, Datuk Badruddin Amiruddin, Bung Mokhtar Radin and Mohd Said Yusof have shamed the House with outrageous remarks with the conviction that they will be untouched by any sanction or rebuke.

Still, it appears that Tajudin is in a class of his own. In this same Parliament session, he has called his nemesis, the DAP MP for Ipoh Barat a “bloody bastard”, introducing colourful language which the House has not heard before.

Granted that M. Kulasegaran has the ability to get under anyone’s skin with his comments, but "bloody bastard" in Parliament?

Tajudin was asked to withdraw his comments and went on his merry way. Yesterday, he scored a hattrick. The skirmish happened when the House was debating a motion by DAP’s Teo Nie Ching to cut the Education Minister’s salary by RM10 for failing to meet his promises on vernacular schools.

Within minutes of the motion, a shouting match ensued between MPs from BN and Pakatan Rakyat.

During the uproar, Tajudin called Kulasegaran “keling’’. Several minutes later, he labelled PKR’s Azmin Ali as a “biol” (dumb).

Azmin said: "This is too much. If it is only once or twice it is forgiveable, but every time he opens his mouth, he has no respect for anyone."

After being directed by Deputy Speaker Ronald Kiandee, Tajudin reluctantly withdrew his remarks.

But he outdid himself later when he attempted to interject while Pas’ Mujahid Rawa was debating on Teo’s motion.

This was the exchange.

Tajudin: Oh, tak masuk lagi?

Kiandee: Dia tak bagi, Yang Berhormat. Tak bagi.

Tajudin: Dia tak masuk lagi? Dah lama tak masuk-masuk. Main tepi saja.

Mujahid: Yang Berhormat Pasir Salak sabarlah.

Tajudin: Bila nak keluar lagi air dia ?

DAP’s Fong Po Kuan evoked Parliament’s Standing Orders against Tajudin for using offensive remarks. In all likelihood, Tajudin will be given a rap on his knuckles by the Speaker. He may be asked to apologise, something he has done a number of times since Parliament was convened.

Will he face any action from Umno or BN leaders? Unlikely. The prevailing view among Umno politicians is that BN needs some “fighters’ in the chamber to keep the resurgent Opposition in check.

Will the BN Whip Datuk Seri Najib Razak haul Tajudin up and read him the riot act? Unlikely. His supporters argue that there is only one way to deal with the likes of Azmin, Kulasegaran and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and the loss of two-thirds majority. And that is not by yielding any ground or being cowed by the Opposition.

Will Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi do anything? Unlikely. He is already in retirement mode and only has time for several pieces of reforms which he has to push through before March 2009.

So looks like we will be stuck with the untouchable Tajudin Rahman and his antics for some time.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by Birdbrain, November 28, 2008 09:53:00
I'm sure many of us would remember why Aussie PM called M.a.m.a.k.thir a recalcitrant. He's the one breeding them in UMNO and today we have many like him.

Barking dog from Pasir Salak is just one of them!
agree 110
written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 09:57:31
From a traditional family, "behaviour such as this reflects on your upbringing! If UMNO does not take action and approves ... then it is also applicable to them.
written by lamakawan, November 28, 2008 10:00:12
These people are not into parliament to conduct business. They are there to take revenge for their last election losses. The speaker must be firm to throw out these unwanted representatives of the people whenever they interjected speeches of other parliamentarians in the house. Parliament must introduce stricter rules for uncalled for speeches disrupting the business of the day. Such actions are necessary to enable a smooth session of parliamnent.
written by sisa, November 28, 2008 10:07:44
Respect and laguage we use is normally learnt from family, schools/education level, people we mix with and lastly it tells a lot of our own character.

In using such flowery languages he insulted all the above -

a) His family and parents will be proud of him and encourages him?
b) His teacher and institutes which taught him, please let me know where he studied and i will avoided those teachers, schools and institues. They will be proud of him.
c) People he mixes with -all the UMNO goons - what can we expect of him then.
d) His own Chracter - I can only laugh at the people who voted him in.

What a sisa!!
written by Mr Smith, November 28, 2008 10:09:08
We have this problem because we have idiot UMNO stooges sitting on the Chair. They conduct the proceedings more like UMNO Permanent Chairman.
I would blame the Chair for allowing this uncouth animal to do as he pleases. But then see how easily the speakers suspend Opposition MPs.
written by budaktapah, November 28, 2008 10:16:11
I'm just waiting for the one very famous word normally use by the traditional malay man of his type to come out mouth from his ...."pu**mak hang la"...
written by ssathia, November 28, 2008 10:20:34
The reason why the likes of such untouchables get away with what they do is simply because they dare to speak out profanities that the vast majority of the same kind silently approve but do not openly say; The likes of such untouchables know this and they get a cheap thrill and false sense of heroism out of offending sensibilities of others. In Malay there is a term for such behaviour "kurang ajar" but that is too sanguine Unfortunately, the number of such people is not only growing in Malaysia such as the teachers who utter racist remarks and are rewarded with promotion and better schools but also around the world, in ever growing speed, causing problems to all civilised people. In fact what we have as an epidemic of sick minds with no cure in sight.
written by ahmadneil, November 28, 2008 10:20:40
Umno is a rotten party.
written by Arubin, November 28, 2008 10:26:06
UMNO has deteriorated to the point where they can no longer field intelligent and capable people as MPs and ADUNs. What they have, instead, are a bunch of racists boors with no manners who only know how to harp on racial issues. It says a LOT about the sorry state of this country when such a tactic actually works.

Don't know jack shit about the economy? "KETUANAN MELAYU!"
Acused of corruption or incompetency? "KETUANAN MELAYU!"
Questioned about transparency and accountability? "KETUANAN MELAYU"
Asked about the billions spent on wasteful mega-projects?" KETUANAN MELAYU!"
Asked about the Maika Share issue? "KETUANAN SAMY VELLU!"
(Ok, that last one was a joke but at least it rhymes. smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif)

So apparantly, Ketuanan Melayu means the right of UMNO to do whatever they please in this country.

Sigh...

written by pixieface, November 28, 2008 10:33:34
This scumbag better not have daughters. Look at the way he treats women. I could
ask him the same question as well of his women.
BTW can anyone check the video on youtube 'pepimpinan cium di lift'. It looks like
the scumbag.
His appearance and uncouth manner in parliament is only fit for pimps in jalan alor.
I praise the ppl who voted him in pasir salak. See who you have representing you.
A piece of shit!!!
written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 28, 2008 10:44:42
This shows how biased the Speaker is in handling errant MPs. A double standard in treatment for BN vs others. However, it clearly shows the uncouth nature of Tajuddin, an MP, an elected representative of his constituency.

If all he knows is to utter such things and nothing substantive with regards to the well being of the Rakyat, the actions to boost economy, and matters that mean the most to the Rakyat, he is a worthless passenger in the Parliament boat who rows the other way.

Why can't we read how good our MPs are in formulating and arguing for the best of the economy, tackling inflation, boosting business, protecting the Rakyat, and defending the poor.

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by Msian Idol3, November 28, 2008 10:47:21
What can this Taju moron do --- just barking noises like a dog. Comes to real work for the people/nation, he is nowhere to be seen. He doesn't even realise the malay's lot of limited growth inspite of all the govt help. Honestly speaking it is actually not govt help at all BUT the real issue is HELPING themselves,proxies & cronies to get to be Tuans. Throwing the crumps to the general malay population & using the control media to show they are doing some work. If such a moron cannot see where the general malay destiny & what his cohorts in UMNO are doing, I don't see an ounce of genuine intentions coming from this moron apart from being a lap dog for his UMNO master to bark louder & lick... you know what I mean.
written by densemy, November 28, 2008 10:52:09
But he's a member of the 'superior race' ... Remember. That means he can do and say whatever he pleases with impunity
written by PRman, November 28, 2008 10:52:56
Sack this good for nothing MP! Using offensive remarks and not being punished at all in Parliment? Can MP just accuse any MP of being a murderer without proof in the parliment?

Please fix this, SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE! You are elected to do you job, the proper way, without bias.
written by Zapper, November 28, 2008 11:00:19
UMNo led BN has a lot of these brainless sub-human as MP.
written by kislean, November 28, 2008 11:02:29
Rude, crude and obscene .....
We shouldn't blame such scumbags. It's their parents & their superiors (PM & DPM) who are to be blamed. There are many many more ' KURANG AJARs ' in BN (and some in the Opposition sides)out there. However, the biggest culprit (for not being firm) out there are the Speaker & the Deputy Speaker for they have not done their job. You can say otherwise but that's the truth.
written by pixieface, November 28, 2008 11:04:24
This scumbag piece of shit is what umno is all about. People like bong mocktar as
well. In a way its good for PR. With scumnbags like these who's only fit to work
in chow kit area, they will be wiped out come next GE.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 11:14:00
Yes, Tajudin Rahman and before him, Datuk Badruddin Amiruddin, Bung Mokhtar Radin and Mohd Said Yusof have all (grossly)shamed the House with outrageous remarks with the conviction that they will be untouched by any sanction or rebuke. But with UMNO’s stooges as house House & Deputy House Speakers as referees, how can the situation be changed? Again this can only come about with a complete and utter change in government.

With so many distinguished and learned opposition MPs in the house, I am quite surprise that they have yet to come up with any formula to tackle the problem. Simply arguing with the Speaker and his Deputy has, time and again, proven to be useless and ineffective.
Again this reminded me of my poor darling (DAP Batu Gajah MP) Ms Fong Poh Kuan arguing & pleading, to no avail, in her very Chinese accent Bahasa Malaysia. I really2 love hearing her voice and her almost in tears tone. When she was thrown out of Parliament during one of her hearted argument with the Deputy Speaker, she was laughing/giggling to reporters over what transpired and I am very sure she knew it was a losing battle, but she persevered anywhere. She is one hell of a fighter…and a lady to boot! I think I am in love with her lah!
written by alberttan, November 28, 2008 11:21:23
Photograph please so that he can be shamed in the public eye, especially where his parents and children are concerned. The only way to deal with an uncouth UMNO lout/bully protected by the powers that be is to ensure that such behavior has consequences outside of Parliament and when his loutish face is publicised,it allows the public to 'teach' that such despicable behavior do NOT pay. Bullies and louts will get their just payback one day.
written by gtl, November 28, 2008 11:30:03
interesting character and umno encouraged bahaviour from their elected MPs, i am worried for the country when we have gangsters which rules the parliment.
think carefully........
written by alberttan, November 28, 2008 11:33:45
Come to think of it, the BEST way to teach such people manners is to print 10,000 flyers and distribute to households in his constituency. I am willing to contribute RM100. Admin, a 'politican good behavior' should be considered much like the bloggers defense fund to ensure fair play and correct behavior in parliament and by our elected representatives. Do you think this sexist baruah will dare repeat his comments when he knows his daugthers will read what he said in parliament? Nie Ching can be anyone's daugther (and a cute intelligent one too!) but then louts/bullies never believe that such crude comments can be directed at their daugthers!
written by SCM, November 28, 2008 11:37:36
I personally feel that we should let Tajuddin and the likes continue with their ways. It has been proven time and time again that Malaysians have very short memories. If UMNO "behaves" themselves in public but continues to rape and steal our money in private, come next elections, the rakyat will give that murder suspect an overwhelming majority vote after his sweet election rhetoric.

So, we really need people like Tajudin Rahman, Badruddin Amiruddin, Mohd Said Yusof and that super Bozo the Clown a.k.a. Bung Mokhtar Radin to remind us what UMNO is really all about. These uneducated fools will remind us to vote wisely.

After all, in the last election, the rakyat were reminded of the antics of Kerismuddin, the arrogance of oily/slimy Khairy and especially "bathe my keris with Chinese blood" Najib the murder suspect, and thus many voted wisely.

So, my suggestion is to let dogs have some fun while it lasts.
written by carribeanking7, November 28, 2008 12:23:50
There is no use reasoning with retarded people like Tajudin Rahman,
if I was in parliament, this is what I would have said to him:

" Tajudin , stop behaving like the load your mother should have swallowed "

after that if the speaker sent me out, send lah !

written by johntyc, November 28, 2008 12:30:42
To the nearly 17,000 voters in P73 Pasir Salak, Perak, are you happy now? To the female voters who vote for Tajuddin, you gals must be proud, right? Where is your dignity? If you think you still have it, you must be dumb or shameless!
written by alarcarte, November 28, 2008 13:10:56
They called themselves "TOWERING MALAYS", we need to ensure these "TOWERS" be in ruin in the next G.E.
written by asguard, November 28, 2008 13:11:08
Dear people, in next coming election please vote against this type of untruly behave politician....
written by adan, November 28, 2008 13:31:44
'RUDE,CREUDE,OBSENCE; UNTOUCHABLE'

'UNTOUCHABLE'= 'PARIAH' This is the most apt word to describe this PASIR. His love for the use of rude,crude,obscene sexist and racial words/expressions is in a way a true reflection of his CHARACTER,UPBRINGING AND EDUCATION. The SPEAKER of the august HOUSE who can tolerate such BASE behaviour and refuses to take severe action against such 'untouchables' is NOT only shirking his duties and responsibilities but also in a way PROMOTING such uncouth low down behaviour.
written by cheekymate, November 28, 2008 13:33:17
Ronald Kiandee,
Will you offer the same tolerance should these crude, uncouthed, obscene and uncivilised language were sworn by a member of the opposition? I am sure the opposition is much more educated than these bunch of tiada ajar BN mad dogs. Your double standards pun kurang ajar.
written by fdqn, November 28, 2008 13:41:55
Whatever they want to call themselves,Towering Malays,Ketuanan Melayu,Umno Putra,Umno Puteri,just take alook at all those Melayu, sorry, I am not racist ,cos I do have alot of Malay friends,its only those who thinks that they are above others that really makes me mad and smart people can tell you that they are only self promoting their race shamelessly, hahahaha what a good laugh,they can only bluff some people all the time,but they can never bluff all the people all the time,especially smart people. Mind you ,I have some really smart Malay friends whom I am sure, would just wish to be call Malaysian.
written by crayon, November 28, 2008 13:53:30
they may not be so untouchable if their body-guards arent beside them.
written by mob1900, November 28, 2008 14:04:08
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 14:23:58
Surprisingly, or not surprisingly some people actually support and even admire such rude, arrogant, and uncouth persons. So no matter how much we write about and abhor such behaviors, there will still be many rooting for these arseholes as they look upon them as their champions.

But this is what makes humans unique; isn’t it? There is always someone for somebody!
written by Malaysiaputra, November 28, 2008 15:10:22
KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 28 – He is untouchable. He can use swear words with impunity. He can spray sexist comments in the chamber and use sexual innuendo when he sees fit.

======

This is another one of the rotten fruit from a rotten tree. There must be many more in the basket !.
written by Counterpointer, November 28, 2008 15:45:21
Bila nak keluar lagi air dia ?

Air takda, tapi najis ada.

written by Areyaar, November 28, 2008 18:29:34
Am I ever glad my family and I in unison refused to vote for BN at the last election. Looking at the foul-mouthed, obscene, vulgar MP's they have in their midst, we would be sinning if we voted for a party that clearly does nothing to clean up its members behaviour. If this is what BN is all about, we can expect even more filthy behaviour from people who at best should be thrown out.
written by benny loh, November 28, 2008 18:58:22
WHAT AN IDIOT!
http://malaysiancartoons.*****...ament.html
written by roggon, November 28, 2008 20:22:06
kalau ikut adat orang disabah, orang kurang ajar macam tahijuddin in buli baranti kalau kasi makan dia lapchong!!!!!
written by Qcumber, November 28, 2008 22:48:39
Use back the same kind words on him like...

Tajudin.. you baldi custard powder, you sudah mati akal atau mati pucuk? Dah miang muka tembok besar otak penuh dengan tahi dan air.

EHEM ! How about that?
written by Jan, November 28, 2008 22:54:03
Tajuddin Rahman represents Ketuanaan Melayu at its best. Absolutely disgusting behavior. The speaker is no better, he condones such behavior from BN but suspends anything that moves in opposition.
written by Areyaar, November 29, 2008 12:54:36
One wonders how these crude, barbaric ,monkeys behave in their own homes towards their own family members?? Since they obviously like to use filthy language and vulgar insinuations in Parliament, in their own homes maybe they call their wives and children "Bloody bastard" and such.