Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Calm before storm in long Umno race?

Calm before storm in long Umno race? PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 28 November 2008 08:26

New Straits Times

A MARATHON, decathlon or its distaff equivalent heptathlon -- such are the athletic analogies being drawn for the run-up to Umno's March 2009 electoral assembly. 

As any long-distance athlete knows, such events need careful pacing. Like decathletes and hepthaletes, who compete in a combination of events over a period of time, candidates need to assemble a winning strategy.

In this party-political context, they must find ways to win over the principals, take care of their agents, fulfil favours expected by delegates and meet other needs of the divisions -- including the financing of activities.

Pushing too hard at the start of the campaign may only see them burning out before reaching the finish line.

Candidates have been warned against "talking too much", due to the likelihood of their statements being turned against them by their opponents. Unsolicited comments should be avoided, as past experience has shown how the wrong choice of words can be gravely damaging.

This explains why many candidates are refraining from campaigning through the media. "Wait till December," one deputy presidential candidate told reporters seeking interviews.

Such caution is one reason for the present calm on the Umno front. Another possible reason is the threat by former party president Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to reveal the names of those involved in money politics if the authorities fail to act on evidence he intends to provide.

Some Umno leaders think this is a scare tactic to check the menace. If so, it appears to be working. To avoid detection, campaigners now go to cash deposit machines instead of passing envelopes of money.

But this could be the calm before the storm. The strategies being planned behind closed doors and on-going "infiltration exercises" into opponents' strongholds could soon generate nothing less than a mini tsunami.

The number of campaigners on the ground, armed with the addresses and contact numbers of delegates, is not small. There is a trend for intimate "appreciation dinners" and gatherings for "loyal supporters", where money is said to change hands.

"It's for petrol money and expenses incurred," agents reportedly told those who attended a dinner at a hotel in Kuala Lumpur, while the minister they claimed to be representing was attending a conference overseas. Ironically, this same minister was among those who openly criticised vote-buying.

Candidates are taking the campaigning very seriously. Another minister, while attending an engagement overseas, allowed his residence to be used as a venue for the regular brainstorming session of his inner circle.

There are even candidates who have embarked on door-to-door campaigning, on the pretext of being in the neighbourhood and needing a place to perform their prayers.

Campaigners have also engaged in personal attacks on the shortcomings of their opponents: deriding candidates not fluent in English; calling them names such as anak bapak" (favoured son), budak nakal" (naughty boy) and suami mithali" (literally exemplary husband, but read henpecked instead).

Sembahyang hajat (special prayers of supplication) have also become a campaign tool of warring factions.

The jostling for party posts this time is especially intense because of the planned power transition from Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to his deputy, Datuk Seri Najib Razak. While Najib will be endorsed at the March general assembly as the new Umno president, having won the post uncontested, the contest for the deputy presidency, as of now, will see a three-cornered fight. The post is being contested for the first time in 21 years.

This is also the first time the quota system, which requires those vying for the deputy presidency to get 39 nominations each to qualify as candidates, is being tested.

Front runner Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, the international trade and industry minister, will compete with Rural and Regional Development Minister Tan Sri Muhammad Muhammad Taib and Malacca Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam.

All three candidates need no introduction, having served Umno and the Barisan Nasional government in various capacities, and none lacks grassroots support.

For the three vice-presidential posts, eight candidates are eligible -- possibly nine should the remaining five divisions yet to hold their meetings nominate Tan Sri Rahim Tamby Chik, who needs only four more nominations to qualify.

For the 25 seats on the Umno supreme council, 73 candidates have qualified.

Keen contests are also in store for the Youth, Wanita and Puteri wings, including for the top posts, which has been rarely seen for Youth and Wanita and never for the relatively new Puteri.

Like long-distance runners, some candidates will choose to stay in the pack and conserve their energy for a final dash down the finishing straight.

One or two may set the pace, choosing to take the lead in the campaign. There may be also those opting to be "hares": knowing they have a minimal chance of winning, they may up the pace to lure others to dissipate their energies chasing them, while those with an eye on the podium stick to their calculated pace for their eventual sprint to victory. This would require teamwork.

While the long campaign period challenges candidates to measure their stride, it is also a challenge to Umno to improve its image, tainted by allegations of money politics, corruption and abuse of power.

written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 08:32:09
UMNO is on a race to HELL !!!
Be attentive to the Bangkok Airport. It might happen to KLIA if someone in Malaysia decides to copy the Thais...

Goodbye UMNO !!
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 08:35:08
I saw this on the BBC, and seriously thought it was a Bersih Gathering at first...

Goodbye UMNO !!
written by ahmadneil, November 28, 2008 08:43:33
Let the race begin for they are all 'chasing the dragon'.
written by ahmadneil, November 28, 2008 08:45:18
Michael,
I bloody hope they don't burn down 'No hand Restaurant'.I think we have to skip Bangkok for the time been.
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 08:49:19
What are you talking about?? I'm here in Bangkok and I'm stuck, coz the Airport is closed !!!
written by teo siew chin, November 28, 2008 08:58:11
Michael Chick - how come you are all over the world specifically at 'happening' places? you gonna be here in malaysia when the 'storm' hits? smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 09:14:35
Hey Siew Chin, haven't heard from you in a while. I'm on a long trip around all of South East Asia. It just happens that these places are in Turmoil; and I can't help that. Much like Malaysia. But I'm really stuck here in Bangkok. And the last time I was in Jakarta, the 10,000 strong Demonstration was a mere 800 meters from my Hotel.
Situation is a little tense here in Bangkok. People are wary to move around. And 3 Sectors were under Curfew even last night.
written by batsman, November 28, 2008 09:18:51
Chinese friends should know very well that when a dynasty goes into decline, the women come up to play a more dominant role. UMNO being completely sinified displays some of these symptoms. Don;t let the Empress rule Malaysia.
written by Awaken64, November 28, 2008 09:40:48
Michael Chick - sounds like you are jinxed man...
Please go mandi bunga in 4 faced Buddha near Big C before u return Ha Ha!!!

Just joking - take care of yourself there!!!
written by pixieface, November 28, 2008 09:47:09
I came across an interesting video on you tube 'pepimpinan cium di lift'. It was
a guy wearing a black suit kissing a girl in green baju kurung and her hand was holding his, you know 'what'. The guy sure looks like someone from pasir salak.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 10:03:25
Calm before the storm?

I think it’s more like UMNO candidates are busily carrying out highly secret private negotiation meetings with influential delegates.
Top on the agenda is probing Mamathir to see who-is-who on that list (names of UMNO people involved in money politics) and negotiating with him to remove their names in exchange for supporting Mukhriz for UMNO Youth.

If 4 of the 5 divisions, yet to hold their meetings, nominated Tamby Chik to qualify, then nine candidates will vie for the 3 vice-president posts. If these 5 divisions do give their nomination to Tamby, then we can be very sure that they have decided to cooperate and to capitalize on the situation. One more candidate to woo and to ‘grease’ them for their final votes. This is ‘cari makan’ lah, and forced UMNO top honchos to spread their ill-gotten wealth around!

As for that two Fatties vying for the Wanita President post, I strongly suggest they dress up in tight leotards and mud wrestle, with winner takes all. That would be much more entertaining and interesting!smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

"Michael Chick" all over the globe's hotspots? smilies/grin.gif Ohhh, he is actually superman, Indiana Jones, and Mother Teresa all rolled into one! smilies/grin.gif
written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 10:14:58
Michael Chick ... maybe you should go over to Mumbai now and check on the situation. Do you think it might be because they are responsible for the recent furore on the hinduism aspects on yoga? smilies/wink.gif
written by temenggong, November 28, 2008 10:30:08
Dear Micheal Chick,

It looks like wherever you go there is a problem.
So better come back home! smilies/grin.gif
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 12:02:31
*sigh*

I wanted to cross into Burma, but they are fighting all along the Thai-Burmese-Border now. There's 3 Battalions of the Junta near Mae Sot. Where there is heavy fighting going on. Daily refugees are numbering in the thousands now. And then, there's Kanchanaburi, but it means that I would have to travel past that fighting zone still. Alternatively, I could fly out of Chiang Mai, but since one person was shot there on Wednesday, it's another "Hot Zone". So my options remain to be Vientienne, Siem Reap, Phnom Phen, and Saigon. All are booked solid for the next week.

Maybe I'll hit the Spas here in Bangkok and Mandi Bunga. If I get someone to put in a "Four Faced Buddha" next to the tub, would that count?

lolololololol
written by ahmadneil, November 28, 2008 12:10:57
Michael,Go to Somalia and help to negotiate for the release of the supertanker that was hijack by your Somalian brothers.Tell them you can get quick money all the time.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 12:22:38
The Cyber world is truly wondrous. One can be whoever, whatever, and wherever one desires to be. In split nano second, the transformation is complete, and fantasies begin.
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 12:24:20
Actually, Sudan is already on the way to splitting. North and South. Muslim Land, and Christian Land. "US Aid" Guys have finished tabulating all the paperwork. Just waiting for the announcement. The US Military contractors are also all over Sudan right now, just in case extreme violence breaks out.
Meanwhile UNTAC Peacekeepers have quietly moved into Sulawesi, where Muslim and Islamic fighting have escalated.
Somalia? Just send the Fatwa Boys there. There should be a Fatwa against Pirates.
And another Fatwa against UMNO.
written by carribeanking7, November 28, 2008 14:06:09
michael chick quoted;
Just send the Fatwa Boys there. There should be a Fatwa against Pirates.
And another Fatwa against UMNO

Sure, why not, most UMNO members are decendents of pirates anyhow....ha ha ha

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 28, 2008 15:21:51
And a Fatwa against those who hurriedly and brainlessly issued Fatwas without due consideration and thoughtfulness and making a mockery of fellow Muslims.