Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Royal immunity proposal should come from Conference of Rulers: Nazri

Royal immunity proposal should come from Conference of Rulers: Nazri PDF Print
Friday, 28 November 2008 08:08

(The Sun) - The government will only consider the proposal to restore royal immunity if there is a recommendation from the Conference of Rulers, said de facto Law Minister Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Nazri Aziz yesterday.

Speaking to reporters at parliament lobby, Nazri said since the Federal Constitution has to be amended to restore legal immunity for the rulers, “it must be something we have to discuss in cabinet but not necessarily tomorrow (Friday) as it is not so urgent and important for us."

“Anyway, it must come from not just one Regent but it must come, for it to be taken seriously, as a paper or a request for the Conference of Rulers. Then probably we will look into it," he said.

Nazri was responding to Negri Sembilan Regent Tunku Naquiyuddin Tuanku Jaafar‘s call on Wednesday to the government to restore the royal immunity that had been "lost" for 15 years and return the monarchy's independence so that it can play a more effective role as guardian of the Federal Constitution.

Tunku Naquiyuddin had lamented the amendments to the Federal Constitution in 1983 and 1993 which dealt with royal assent to Bills in Parliament in 1983 and the privilege of immunity in 1993.

Nazri said the matter was raised by the Regent because the Yang di-Pertuan (the Ruler of Negri Sembilan Tuanku Jaafar Tuanku Abdul Rahman) was found to have owed money, in a recent decision made by the panel of special judges.

“So, he (Naquiyuddin ) has an interest in this and it has got nothing to do with the spirit of reason why the incident of 15 years ago happened.

“I do not wish to comment further but I am very sure this was raised because the Ruler was ordered to pay back to a bank a sum of USD$1 million."

"I do not think it has anything to do with (giving them) immunity to enable them to become the fountain of justice. I do not think that I want to take seriously what he had said because to me it is a conflict of interest,” he told reporters.

On Oct 15, the Special Court here ordered Tuanku Jaafar to pay Standard Chartered Bank (Malaysia) Bhd to honour his commitment over a 1999 business deal.

Meanwhile, DAP national chairman Karpal Singh said in a statement the Regent's call does not have basis and ought not to be entertained.

He said it is wrong to say that after the last general election, the constitutional structure of the country has changed.

Karpal said the King still largely acts on the advice of the Executive, and he could not see how after the amendments to the Constitution in 1993 that allowed redress against the rulers, the rulers could not play the same role as enshrined in the constitution.

He said Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad should be commended for bringing about the amendments and the royalty should set an example by complying with the law.

"Calling for immunity only presupposes eventuality of possible infringement of the law," he added.

written by binarytan, November 28, 2008 08:22:27
Malaysia should be democratic country, whoever makes mistake and crime he/she should be punished even he/she is top ruler. If they are going to pardon the rulers for making such crimes, then we are going many years back. They also should remove the immunity on TUN which is a disgrace, we should then charge MM and Lim LS (ex-ex MCA) in court for their handful corruption and sinful acts. You know, I know, everyone knows, only they dun know and pretend not to know.

There is no such thing as "ketuanan sultan" anymore, please wake up. To me, Sultan is a symbolic and nothing more and we are good enough to practise this old tradition. Parliament should be the one who rule the country with the leader as PM, but too bad we are seeing a total up side down leader and under-qualified ministers.
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 09:03:58
Compare with the King of Thailand. Did you know that you can get arrested just for breathing an unkind word against him?

UMNO should be Castrated for it's Crimes!
written by Sudahlah tu, November 28, 2008 09:13:19
segalanya sudah berlalu dan kesilapan yang membenarkan umno mencuri kesempatan emas hingga merekalah yang beraja di Malaysia.
manusia tidak mungkin lebih berkuasa daripada Allah dan segala yang dinikmati hanya kerana mereka diberkati oleh Allah.
di antara kita yang ingin menjadi 'tuhan ' di dunia akan menjahanamkan umat Allah serta rakyat jelata.
saya rasa segala 'kebebasan' dan 'kelonggaran' mesti mempunyai hukuman tersendiri mengikut tata tertib yang digariskan . Sudikah mereka menerima hakikat semua ini ?
manusia yang inginkan keistimewaan di atas perundangan umum haruslah juga menerima hukuman terpencil mengikut perlaksanaan keistemewaan itu , mengapa tidak ?
semua ini terjadi apabila manusia sendiri menjadi tamak dan keinginan melebihi batasan peruntukan.
kelemahan manusia tidak mudah untuk ditangani dan selalu terkandas hingga meminggirkan setengah pihak yang menjadi mangsa , dalam kes Malaysia , rakyat yang sengsara kerana institusi perlembagaan diubahsuai oleh umno demi tamak kuasa.
written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 09:49:54
"Nazri said the matter was raised by the Regent because Tuanku Jaafar Tuanku Abdul Rahman was found to have owed money, in a recent decision made by the panel of special judges.
“So, he (Naquiyuddin ) has an interest in this and it has got nothing to do with the spirit of reason why the incident of 15 years ago happened."
-------------------------------------------
50/50 in the eyes of the public. You may be right, but the Regent may have a point here - why should UMNO have immunity from crimes and not the Rulers? ... (chup, chup be4 anyone whack me. Applicable to the two arguments only!).

Someone without an account on MT asked me to post this for him.
"To the Royalty and UMNO ... it is so confusing for us when you have UMNO crime, PM/DPM crime, Royal crime, judge crime, police crime, FRU crime ... The Oxford dictionary says "crime is crime", and it does not say that "Only Malaysia Boleh", and even Monopoly tells us we have to go to jail! ... very 'susah' for us commoners to understand ....
written by JJFoo, November 28, 2008 09:50:14
All Malaysian should be law abiding. None shall be above the law for a very simple reason "Absolute Power Corrupt Absolutely".
written by iMac, November 28, 2008 10:05:56
Everyone should honor their commitment in their business dealings, including royalties and Sultans. I feel Sultans should not be doing business. If they wish to do so, they should abdicate the throne and let someone else take over and serve as a true Monarch; not as a businessman and part time Sultan. When Sultans get into business, it is not a level playing field anymore.

I feel what Nazri had stated makes a lot of sense and so full of truth. Imagine losing your money to a Sultan all because he has this royal immunity. And to think that you went into business with him because of his stature and the perception that being the Sultan, he is a man of honor and integrity. I am sure there are many people out there who had tasted this bitter pill especially when you have royalties who have unscrupulous partners.

On the other hand, you also have unscrupulous people who project themselves as billionaires, making the top 20 list of rich Malaysians, using the royalties to further their con game. And to top it all, one such billionaire is an undischarged bankrupt who has been renting the house that he is staying in. Yes, renting and not own. Sadly, the business community saw it fit to honor this guy with some kind of award some months ago. These are the kind of characters that will welcome the royal immunity.

written by densemy, November 28, 2008 10:57:23
No Malaysian, no matter what their status should be above the law.

But in Malaysia most UMNO members know they are because they control the law
written by future, November 28, 2008 11:04:07
Mahathir striped the immunity from the Sultan's and transfer it to himself and to all selected UMNO leaders.To a certain extent you can say UMNO leaders are RAJA di
Malaysia.
written by rotibakar, November 28, 2008 12:23:57
wow...i actually agree with Nazri....but dont even bother looking into the proposal.
written by asguard, November 28, 2008 12:59:50
Power only should be confer to King at the federal level...
written by aplus, November 28, 2008 18:04:23
Another case of I scratch your back and you scratch mine.
written by sarawakian, November 29, 2008 00:30:01
not all royalty are loved as much as our present King and Raja Muda Nazrin.

while they should not be provided 100% legal immunity against any possible legal action, there may be certain cases where they should have it, if it is for the best interests of the country and its peoples.