Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Farish Noor’s book under investigation

Farish Noor’s book under investigation PDF Print
Friday, 28 November 2008 07:46

While the books belong to the store as stock, Section 18(b) of the Printing Presses and Publications Act (PPPA) allows for any authorised official to temporarily seize books deemed unacceptable even if a title has not yet been banned by the ministry.

By Zedeck Siew, The Nut Graph

zedecksiew at thenutgraph dot com

Book cover
Book cover of From Majapahit to Putrajaya

PETALING JAYA, 27 Nov 2008: A leading bookstore in Kuala Lumpur has stopped selling a book by Malaysian public intellectual Dr Farish Noor, pending an investigation by the Home Ministry.

The entire stock of the book, From Majapahit to Putrajaya, was confiscated from Kinokuniya's KLCC outlet on 15 Aug 2008 by officers from the ministry's Selangor office in a regular annual inspection. Other book titles, mostly on religion, were also seized.

"Kinokuniya will not be selling these titles until the Home Ministry arrives at a judgement. We do not practice self-censorship, but this is a pending issue, so we will wait for a proper decision," Kinokuniya corporate affairs manager Theresa Chong told The Nut Graph.

She said the enforcement officers were supposed to inform the bookstore of a decision within two weeks, but they have been waiting for three-and-a-half months now. "We have been asking them to give us an answer," she added.

However, From Majapahit to Putrajaya, a collection of essays about contemporary Malaysia published in 2005 by Silverfish Books, is still being sold at other bookshops. Also still on sale, including at Kinokuniya, is the Malay translation of the book, Di Balik Malaysia: Dari Majapahit ke Putrajaya.

Chong said officers routinely take books to investigate when the contents are in doubt. "They are from the authorities, so we have to co-operate with them," she added.

While the books belong to the store as stock, Section 18(b) of the Printing Presses and Publications Act (PPPA) allows for any authorised official to temporarily seize books deemed unacceptable even if a title has not yet been banned by the ministry.

Silverfishbook's Raman Krishnan, who only heard about the ministry's actions through word of mouth, described the situation as "totally, utterly absurd."

"This book is four years old. Everybody has read it. A bit late, isn't it?" he said in a phone interview.

"Will the ministry pay for the books they have taken?" he added.

ZI Publications, which published Di Balik Malaysia, was also not notified by the ministry that Farish's book was being investigated.

Still available in Kinokuniya
Its executive director Rashid Khan said ministry officials should not have the authority to confiscate books in this manner. "Books do not require a permit," he said.

"The ministry should first study the product, read the book, and conclude that it is unacceptable. Then only can they direct bookstores to not sell the book. I believe that a book is legal until it is banned," he said.

"[These confiscations are] not fair — not to the author, the reader, the publisher, or the bookseller," he said, noting that bookstores like Kinokuniya would lose out on sales of books that other stores still carry.

Rashid added that if officers needed to read any book for their investigation, they should either request copies from publishers or buy these books themselves, instead of confiscating stock from bookstores.

Rashid said that it was time for booksellers to come up with a common statement, protesting these arbitrary confiscations, to protect their business interests.

Secretary for the Home Ministry's Publications and Quranic Texts Control Division, Che Din Yusoh, told The Nut Graph he was not aware of the book seizures from Kinokuniya. "[The Selangor branch] has not reported this to me yet," he said.

Attempts to reach the ministry's Selangor office director were unsuccessful.

written by ahmadneil, November 28, 2008 07:55:38
Another rotten decision like banning yoga!These guys must be out of their mind.
written by Tompios, November 28, 2008 08:01:10
good ban Dr. Farish Noor's book. the putrajaya cannot consume it properly because this book is a kind of hard food. putrajaya people like to eat porridge with so many junk ingredients.
written by kamal, November 28, 2008 08:05:53
The Malaysian government lead by the Barisan Nasional FEAR the rakyat will know more about their con activities and will overthrown them for good at the next general elections.

BN LIVE IN FEAR.....so anything or anybody who discredit them is banned or jailed.

Read my blog KAMAL-TALKS http://kamal-talksmalaysia.********.com
written by 2edgedsword, November 28, 2008 08:17:49
In Malaysia, all things are possible - the criminal things that is.
written by zonefinder, November 28, 2008 08:31:03
Thanks for the update. I'm definitely going to get a copy of Farish's book. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 08:58:10
There is a reason for Farish Noor to have a Doctorate. He has sufficient Grey-Matter; unlike those in UMNO who have to buy their doctoral certs from Khao San Road. Now UMNO is fearful of this man's brilliant, and is starting to become like the Khmer Rouge when they killed all the intellectuals in 1975.
Why can't UMNO learn the good things, like Immediate Compulsory Suicide for UMNO members?
UMNO can't fight intelligence, and has to curb others from making themselves look stupid. Too late. The world already knows that UMNO is Stupid. UMNO has become the new 4-letter word. The word UMNO sounds more vile than FCUK YOU..
written by batsman, November 28, 2008 09:09:12
Good publicity for the book
written by mountainking, November 28, 2008 10:40:20
how to get a copy of the book? doesn't matter the stupid UMNO govt ban the book or not. i just want to have a copy and read it myself.

the STUPID UMNO GOVT/ POLITICIANS / THEIR VERSION OF RELIGIOUS LEADERS / ADUN MAN / MP ...they might have some porn CDs/books in their home. can someone go and confiscate their porn materials?

biggest hypocrites in town.... i pray your ALLAH will strike all of you ....
written by NSTPravda, November 28, 2008 11:01:00
That Farish Noor’s book to be under investigation,
should not cause you so much surprise and commotion.
We the powerful can confiscate anything with ease
Just to show that we can do whatever we please

We can easily ban any stuff we deem subversive
Intellectual books are particularly offensive
Too many a thinking rakyat cause UMNO pain
Thoughtful citizens will drive UMNO insane

Books and intelligence are bad for UMNO hegemony
Educated bumis are bad for Barisan Nasional security
You don’t need to read, just believe what UMNO says
UMNO will lead you all to syurga, semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by tanwi, November 28, 2008 11:46:37
IDIOTS.

Im curious to know what is so offensive in the book to get it banned. Will check Kino Singapore. I hope Kino sues the damn Govt to teach them a lesson to not punish commercial firms just because of its poor administration.
written by faridw, November 28, 2008 14:03:41
Cheap skate Ministry officials who want to read a book free so they go round the bookshops confiscating any book they want to read but don't want to cough up any money from their own pocket for it.
written by temanmu, November 29, 2008 01:54:43
Cheapskate... just want free books!

Typical umNO... maharaja-lela bodoh!