Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Question Lies With PAS, Not The Ban On Alcohol

The Question Lies With PAS, Not The Ban On Alcohol PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 22:25

(Sin Chew Daily) The banning of alcohol is actually a problem of PAS. And the problem of PAS lies with the conflicts between the conservatives and reformists within the party.

And the heart of the conflict lies with one person, the Selangor PAS chairman Hassan Ali.

Hassan Ali belongs to the conservative camp of PAS, who has over the years strongly advocated theocracy as well as Malay rights.

Such a discourse is vastly different from PAS' effort to try to shed its racist image. It therefore doesn't come as a surprise that some in the party have suggested that he should join UMNO.

As a matter of fact, Hassan Ali has been a key figure pushing for enhanced cooperation between PAS and UMNO after the March general elections.

If he had succeeded, the Pakatan Rakyat state government would no longer exist in Selangor, and the menteri besar would not have been PKR's Khalid Ibrahim, but Hassan Ali.

Last month, when PKNS appointed Low Siew Moi as its interim GM, Hassan Ali was on UMNO's side protesting the appointment of a non-Malay as PKNS' acting GM.

It is therefore not surprising that Selangor PAS is now pushing for the banning of alcohol in the state.

Merely a few days ago, Hassan Ali lashed out on the reformists within the state, stripping the party posts of Shah Alam MP Hj Khalid Abdul Samad (state vice chairman) and Ulu Kelang state assemblyman Saari Sungip.

Such explosive actions from Hassan Ali protrude more than just his own disposition, but the struggle between the opposing factions as well as the conflicts between the two major schools of thoughts within the party.

Behind Hassan Ali is national deputy president Nasharudin Mat Isa and Terengganu state liaison committee chairman Mustapha Ali, while party president Hadi Awang has been deeply influenced by them.

Based in Terengganu, this faction has been tilting towards religious conservatism while not being able to emancipate itself from the Malay chauvinism. They are more inclined to reject any open policies of the party, and have attempted to distance themselves from PKR and DAP, even resisting any further cooperation with these two parties.

Their opponents are the party's reformists under Nik Aziz. Based in Kelantan, among the key figures in this camp are vice president Husam Musa, secretary-general Kamaruddin Jaafar, chief treasurer Mohd Hatta Ramli, and Khalid Abdul Samad from Selangor.

The reformists are staunchly against any form of cooperation with UMNO, advocating instead more openness and enhanced cooperation with PKR and DAP. They also accept Anwar Ibrahim as the Pakatan Rakyat leader.

The conservatives are currently in the upper hands, thanks to the support of ulamas within the party. A series of Islamisation policies introduced by them have also pleased the party's fundamentalists.

While party president Hadi Awang appears neutral, he has shown an inclination towards this faction. And Mustapha Ali has even become Hadi Awang's right-hand man, dominating in a number of major party policies.

The reformists, meanwhile, have garnered the support of the grassroots, besides leaders from Kelantan and Nik Aziz, and the stalemate in PAS-UMNO negotiations has been blamed largely on the powerful objections from the grassroots.

Nik Aziz's many notions, including the attire for women, have invited widespread controversies. Having said that, he has remained relatively open in making his decisions, including his rejection of racism, support for equality and righteousness as well as acceptance of non-Muslims as party members.

And this has also been the predisposing factor that has led to the support of many non-Muslims for PAS during the March general elections.

Conflicts between the two major opposing camps have blurred the distinct direction of PAS, resulting in swayed policies, indecision and diminished influences, while entrenching the suspicion of non-Muslim communities and internal rift within Pakatan Rakyat.

In the future, the triumph of any faction is poised to dictate the direction of the party. Perhaps, we can get the answer by the time the party holds its elections next year. (By TAY TIAN YAN/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily)

written by rizzku, November 27, 2008 22:42:12
And the heart of the conflict lies with one person, the Selangor PAS chairman Hassan Ali.

That is The crux of the whole matter. May be PR can extinguish the fire by eliminating the arsonist.
written by malsia1206, November 27, 2008 23:03:51
To all PAS memebers and leadership personnel. This is a timely reminder for all of you. Ask yourselves why you got your votes from the non-Muslims and non-Bumiputeras in the last GE. Digest on this thought well.
written by maisur, November 27, 2008 23:10:24
my my my... before everyone starts to bash PAS, i have one question.

WHERE ON EARTH DID PAS SAY IT WANTS TO BAN ALCOHOL IN SELANGOR?

one of PAS member in shah alam suggested that alcohol sale should be restricted/controlled NOT banned!

haiya if you read malaysiakini/sin chew or tony pua...then vent your anger to these jerks la, don't marah-marah PAS COZ PAS DID NOT WANT TO BAN ALCOHOL IN SELANGOR. for goodness sake, use your brain guys... after 18 years in power in kelantan which has 97% muslims, you can still buy alcohol there and yamseng until you bloat, so what makes you think PAS will ban alcohol in selangor??? i am so confused to see some PAS bashers here could not even think this logic (perhaps because you hate anything PAS/islam too much that your brain cells could not work)

only an idiot will not be able to differentiate between ban and restrict/control
disagree 19
written by hellosunshine, November 27, 2008 23:11:29
The name of the game is POWER. By hook or by crook, religion is only the means to get it.
written by arifmr, November 27, 2008 23:32:50
Serious? The reformist is headed by an old man?

whatever.. only those bloody UMNOputras & the gang will benefit from these fraction in PR

So I pass this article.

written by Proud_2b_Malaysian, November 27, 2008 23:33:10
The interest to ban sale of alcohol in Selangor ingnites a sensitive nerve amongst the populace with the root cause stemming from a religious angle. Then is it a ban or a restriction? We'll have clarity in the coming days.

However, this interest appear to impose a religious interest over others regardless of their religious bias. If this is so, it would have been in conflict with the freedom of religion per our Federal Constitution.

If alcohol is so bad, then make it illegal like drugs. But we still find it sold and taxed which makes the irreverent "sin tax" taken in by the Government to fund Government spending.

Currently, there is already restriction that the underaged cannot buy them and unlicensed locations can't sell them. The more religious also stay away but it's a self imposed discipline rather than a religious restriction.

Now, we want to severely limit the place one can buy them.

Then we want to severely limit when you buy them.

Why is there such an interest to be a social conscience attempting to run the lives of others not of the same religious beliefs? There are already laws in place to regulate abuse. There is no need to infuse religious bias now. Where will it stop? Until we become a police state to be told what we can and cannot do in every aspect of our lives?

Is this the result of 50 years of independence? Did we vote this intolerance into power?

http://proud2bmalaysian.*********.com/
written by binarytan, November 27, 2008 23:50:37
Look at PAS now is just like another UMNO, just changing the outer skin and try to fool us again?

Ketuanan Islam? Non Muslim could not be PKNS boss? Do not deny you idiot PAS never said so. 50% quota in Kedah, still wanna to deny?

One sinks, the other one with worse image has risen, just beware of the rise of ketuanan islam which will more worse than ketuanan melayu.

I just conclude the crow are the same color, all black.

PAS and UMNO are the same, both are tuan.

Idiot for me too who voted blindly, Nik seems like could not control his party.

It is better that PAS has surfaced and shown their ugly side, it is lucky they are not ruling, if not we will not have any freedom at all.

I drink beer, and I will keep drinking and will vote for UMNO should this PAS never wake up.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by binarytan, November 28, 2008 00:00:26
Sooner or later we will have the male public toilet 1km away from female toilet,
we will have male parking lot and female lot with a 20 foot wall between,
no more sexy dress in shopping,
no more bra shops,
no more undergarment shops,
no more other religions are allowed,
no more facial,
of course Yoga, dances, cigar, F1, concerts, Korea RAIN, all will be banned.
only muslim headmaster
only muslim bosses

These are just some of the scenario I could imagine!!!

written by binarytan, November 28, 2008 00:06:23
Add on to the list,

Genting Highlands will be totally demolished because it is sin.
4D, Toto all will be vanished too,
Mahjong is not allowed and prohibited,
Poker is not allowed too,
Bar on internet as it is sin,
Bar on everything and do nothing,

written by binarytan, November 28, 2008 00:09:58
Indian friends, I believe a lot of you like to drink, so no more alcohol if PAS rules.

Penipu rakyat PAS, never even work for rakyat, just exercise tonnes of useless moves.

written by mikewang, November 28, 2008 00:21:21
Voters like me have no problem with sin in this country.
However, all of us have problem with crime.

Please focus fight on crime which is inclusive and not sin, which is divisive.

written by FFT, November 28, 2008 00:55:53
Behind Hassan Ali is national deputy president Nasharudin Mat Isa and Terengganu state liaison committee chairman Mustapha Ali, while party president Hadi Awang has been deeply influenced by them.

Note this...it is the so called holy-men, i.e. the "ulama" group that is the one that is betraying the voters and cozying up with UMNO.

Yet more evidence that Talibanism must be mercilessly crushed, or these traitors will consume you once they have cheated you for power: Taqiyya.
written by lamepug, November 28, 2008 00:59:47
hi binarytan, seriously, dont take such issue in heart. they are just suggesting only and i believe it will create a lot of voices if the rule passed. furthermore suggest on selangor state which are the highest industrial area.
and the person that suggest also did not think deeply, every action there will be reaction and it not going to look good.
economic looks uncertain in malaysia now, people scare losing their jobs, if they PAS really want help, suggest something that can help secure the people income or nation economic.
by suggesting ban sell alcohol at front store would not help and for your info the idea are totally LAME.
smilies/wink.gif~cheers
written by SamYap, November 28, 2008 01:37:53
Whilst everyone seems to be mad with how some PAS members, in particular Hadi Awang's gang, are ultra-conservatives, lets not forget that within Parti Keadilan Rakyat there is at least one crazy fellow by the name of Nordin Z. This chap has yet ot be hauled up by the PKR top leaders for his disgraceful actions at the Bar Council's dialogue on Islam Conversion.

Nordin and his ilk, if left unchecked will be the downfall of PKR and PR.
written by 1351, November 28, 2008 01:39:07
It is said, the makings of a gentleman is how he handles his tipple. Not playing devil's advocate but I rather the youths of today share a beer or two instead of scoring dope from the resident pusher.

written by Wakeupmsia, November 28, 2008 03:20:48
I advocate PAS over UMNO for quite a while now as what I have seen in Kelantan made me do so. But lately, my mind wanders. If PAS seriously want to move upwards in National Politics, the Conservatives is a hindrance. To me, the group is no better than UMNO.

The Conservatives are more like Talibans whilst the Reformists are more pragmatic. Should the Conservatives trive and the Reformist failed.........PAS will be pushed back to Regional Politics (Kelantan)again.......So, are you game for National Politics or Reional Politics, PAS?

Shah Alam MP Hj Khalid Abdul Samad (state vice chairman) and Ulu Kelang state assemblyman Saari Sungip is my choice, my family choice, my friends' choice of leading PAS in Selangor. We have full respect for these two YAB/YB.

Dr. Hassan Ali...............wakeup!wakeup!. Sekarang ialah 2008, going into 2009. Jangan tidur lah macam Bodowi..............Mampus lah!
written by hamid, November 28, 2008 04:28:38
They should Start from the Royalty, Agong, Sultan, down to UMNO Malay Muslim......Swear under Koran or be Punish with Rotan if Alcohol have touch their Lips.

This is a none issue>>>>>Keep religion in your heart and If you need the Loud Speaker Yelling for you to go to worship YOU are ALL LEECHES and Scums of Islam. Keep Religion as your own personal Choice, We do not need JAIS, Jakim, SYRIAH....etc. Save money for pther more bebeficial use and Make Malaysia a better place.

Religion Is Freedom. Muslim Malays are just lying to their own god and PROUD about it. No damage to other religion looking at your ideology, behaviour and actions. All Political, money and Corruption motivaetd. That is Islam in Malaysia! Rot in Hell PAS-UMNO and your yelling about Islam! Both have damaged Islam, both should go to HELL! smilies/grin.gif
written by Proarte, November 28, 2008 05:48:13
The fact remains that as long as Political Islam constantly rears its ugly head and is not made accountable for its divisive actions, Pakatan will be reduced to a 'flash in the pan' and die a natural death. Partly due to collusion of Anwar with these forces and also due to the Malay natural reluctance to criticise people who speak on behalf of Islam even if they lie, spew racism and promote division. The problem really lies with the Malay people and the unscrupulous politicians who have 'Islam' written all over them.

The fact is non-Malays have a poor opinion of Malay Islam which they regard as irrational ,divisive, paranoid, demeaning and ultimately Evil. The vast majority of decent Malays have been 'terpukau' by Political Islam which PAS, Anwar and UMNO are part of and find it difficult to condemn them because they use the label Islam and generously pepper their ceramahs with ever so impressive Arabic ( which Malays do not understand) which seems to lend veracity to their utterences. The Malay mind is so simple when it comes to religious matters, that if a person utters even unintelligible words which sound Arabic or badly spoken Arabic ( which Anwar is a master of), the Malays feel so reassured that they are in the presence of a holy man who is a fount of knowledge and wisdom. This unfortunate flaw of the Malays, PAS Anwar and UMNO exploit to the hilt.If they dress Arabic, this adds to their 'aura' in the eyes of Malays.

Anwar and PKR must realise this. You cannot run with the hare and hunt with the hounds. If Pakatan wants to represent a unified and progressive political force, then it has to drop its repeated acceptance of sniping from Political Islam which has only one consequence, it tears Pakatan apart. For DAP and PKR which are supposedly secular, they are undermined more than PAS. When PAS wants to flex its muscles in Pakatan, it plays the Islamic card unscrupulously to show its 'power'.

Anwar is so desperate to become PM that he need an intact coalition but at the same time cannot be seen to be criticising PAS for its wicked antics. Similarly he is silent when UMNO plays the religious and race card. Anwar, because of his ambitions and haste is caught in a 'Catch 22', either way he loses. He either alienates the Islamic chauvinists or the non-Malays.

Anwar must accept that he will never become PM with the current set up. DAP and PAS have disparate ideologies and the twain will never meet. There has to be unity of purpose and common ideology in a political coalition. The pretence of being able to work together or trying hard to work together is unfortunately a measure of political opportunism by DAP as well.

The only solution is follow the constitution and promote secularism, where religion is separated from politics. Muslim politicians do not 'own' Malays and should give them freedom to practise Islam in any way they see fit. They are not their moral guardians. Leave judgement to Allah.

In the case of alcohol restriction for example, when there is a consensus on how to restrict the sale of alcohol for public order and health reasons, Pakatan should articulate its position in public in a rational and non-religious context. This has the effect of promoting harmony and achieving the actual goals with the scourge of alcohol abuse and adulterated alcohol consumption going underground.

When talking about religious issues, commnality should be found rather than differences. In the case of alcohol, all religions do not support alcohol abuse. Even the Koran ackowledges the benefits of alcohol consumption but not its abuse. Sadly, the spirit of the message has been lost on Muslims who fanatically regard complete abstention as a moral and self righteous badge.

Modern medical research overwhelmingly confirms the health benefits of alcohol consumption in small amounts. Surely if Muslims are able to restrict themselves, then this will not be in conflict with the spirit of the Koran. If Muslims are mature in their faith they will realise that Allah will never prohibit anything which has health benefits.

In America it is illegal for anyone below the age of 21 to buy alcohol or to drink it publically. And the US is clearly not a Muslim country but seems to have stricter licencing than Malaysia! They did not introduce these laws because of Muslim agitation but because of sound public order and health reasons.

My point is, there is no need to invoke divisive Islamic laws for Muslims only but rather to think for ALL Malaysians and to promote what is beneficial after much debate.

Anwar, Muslims in PKR and PAS, make no mistake, if you persist in bastardising Islam and use it for you own selfish ends, you will destroy Pakatan and betray the purported goal of Pakatan which is 'Ketuanan Rakyat'. UMNO's mismanagement of Malaysia will continue to thrive thanks to you.
written by quietguy, November 28, 2008 09:41:38
You people don't get it. PAS doesn't work for the rakyat. You non-Muslims voted for PAS and then expect them to be 'grateful' and do your bidding. Of course they wouldn't. If you understand Islam you'd understand why they wouldn't. You see, a true Muslim answers only to Allah. Not to the rakyat. What he does, he does it only to please Allah, and not to please the people, and not to garner votes. You can threathen to kick them out in the next election, but it wouldn't do any good. They don't care what you think, and they don't care it they're kicked-out. If you want to have your way with PAS, the only way is to convince them why doing things your way would appeal to Allah. Threathening or appealing to their graciousness doesn't work.
written by temenggong, November 28, 2008 12:49:11
Then we will not vote for any Pas conservatives on the west coast. Its over for them and Nasharuddin. In Trengganu we will support BN and wipe out the conservative Pas there.

So be it.
written by shamadz72, November 28, 2008 15:43:18
Don't worry. Come next Pas muktamar, those dinosaurs like Hassan Ali and Mustafa Ali will be sideline by the young turks like Salehuddin Ayub, Nasharudin Md Isa, Khalid Samad, Husam Musa, Dato Kamarudin Jaafar, Mohd Hatta Ramli & my favourite MP-Dr. Dzulkifli Ahmad.

And for those of you who come out with negative comment, please remember that the Malays vote has been splitting 50-50 between UMNO and PAS all this while. Without PAS in PR coalition, do you think all of us (PAS, PKR DAP) can have a good outcome like what had happened in the last election? Do you think there is no PAS supporters vote for DAP candidates? I as a PAS supporter has distributed close to 2,000 opposition flyers for my area where Gobind Singh Deo stands as DAP candidate. So for all PR supporters, please stop this PAS bashing and start to think rationally. We are in a big family and don't tell me you never had any problems with any of your family members?