Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Is Anwar the only key to Pakatan Rakyat’s future?

Is Anwar the only key to Pakatan Rakyat’s future? PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 17:00

(The Edge Daily)

KUALA LUMPUR: Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) can look back to an eventful year as it convenes its fifth AGM this weekend.

As delegates head for the AGM, managing the party’s unexpected success and its relationship with coalition partners would be among its top priorities.

The loose coalition galvanised and now led by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, performed very well at the March 8 elections. Although the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) was unable to form the federal government, it now has control of five states.

Anwar’s impressive victory in the Permatang Pauh by-election on Aug 26 strengthened the party’s belief that he would be the country’s next premier, and expectations were high when he set Sept 16 as the deadline for wresting power from Barisan Nasional (BN).

But when the deadline passed with BN still in control of parliament, doubts began to creep in. The affairs of the five PR state governments also began to draw greater media interest.

The PAS-led Kedah government’s new housing policy requiring developers to increase the bumiputera quota to 50% from 30% caused a stir in the coalition.

In PKR-led Selangor, PAS openly opposed Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim’s choice of Low Siew Moi as acting head of the Selangor Development Corporation (PKNS).

Earlier, PKR’s Kulim MP Zulkifli Nordin made headlines when he protested against a Bar Council forum on Muslim conversion.

The series of events unsettled PR supporters, increasing doubts that fundamental differences between the component parties could ever be reconciled.

“The glue that holds them (coalition partners) together is Anwar Ibrahim,” said Dr Ariffin Omar, an associate professor of political science at Universiti Utara Malaysia.

However, Anwar’s inability to wrest power from the BN had compromised the position of PR coalition members, he told The Edge Financial Daily recently.

“He has contributed to their dilemma, as now they have to face the reality that their only hope of knocking out the BN will come at the next election. It’s only hope, not (a) guarantee. They are only united because of a common enemy in BN, not a common ideology,” he said.

Former PAS Selangor deputy commissioner Khalid Samad said Anwar was an important element in PR’s formation, especially at the initial stage of bridging the gap between PAS and DAP.

He argued that the sentiment of anti-Malay nationalism has become mainstream thinking in the Islamist party. “We can pray together with Umno members in mosques, but we have more in common with PKR and DAP (members) in terms of governance and administration,” he said.

Khalid, however, recognised that the PR needed a better coordination mechanism. “We have to thrash out issues. We were caught by surprise by the March 8 victory. Straight away we had to jump onto a moving train and shift into high gear,” he said.

The Shah Alam MP, who lost his party post last week, said PR’s future would not be dependent on Anwar alone.

“People would like to imagine that we have a lot of differences or this is a marriage of convenience. This is not the case, in terms of philosophy, we have more similarities with DAP and PKR than Umno. We are not as fragile as some would like to believe,” he said.

Nonetheless, he said PR should be given more time to build better understanding and a stronger bond.

But Ariffin is not as optimistic. He said Anwar’s outstanding achievement had been to cobble the three parties together to face the BN in the March elections.

“His moment is over, and these parties must move beyond Anwar Ibrahim. To succeed they must at least have some agreements on the nation’s future path and the shaping of its society,” he said.

DAP strategist Liew Chin Tong said he believed Anwar is a prime mover in PR’s attempt to form the federal government. “Persuading the people that we could be the government is a totally different thing. Anwar has the charisma, persuasive power and administrative experience,” he said.

Liew said he was “cautiously optimistic” over the future of the PR. He reasoned that a lot of leaders in the coalition today, including himself, would not have been full-time politicians if not for the 1998 Reformasi movement that changed the political landscape.

“Today the PR is definitely much stronger than Barisan Alternative (BA). It’s no longer Anwar himself. When he was sacked in 1998, there was not much contact between PAS and DAP leaders. Today we have been through BA and Bersih and we also meet very often inside and outside parliament,” said Liew, who is MP for Bukit Bendera.

The BA also comprised PKR, DAP and PAS. It was a loose coalition formed in the wake of 1999 general election. DAP pulled out of the coalition due to its disagreement with PAS over the Islamic state issue.

Liew said PR coalition parties have to rely on one another to stay in power in the five states.

“Today, if any party pulls out of a state government, that is the end of the state government. So this is a situation where although we may not be happy with each other, we have to co-exist and accommodate each other,” he said.

written by Oscar Winner, November 27, 2008 17:14:58
Change is the only constant,
Without change we will kostan.
MOve aside BN, it's PR's turn,
Let's hope UMNO never returns......
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 17:44:31
No,there are Zaid Ibrahim,Gobind Singh,Lim Guan Eng,Theresa Kok and ahmadneil.
written by tanwi, November 27, 2008 18:02:27
yups, cause he is the only capable Malay leader there (No offense to Nik!). Lets face the fact that an Obama is not gonna happen in Malaysia hence s strong Malay leader is required.

Looking at parliament sessions, its easy for anyone to conclude that Kit Siang, Guan Eng and Karpal have strong IQs, sensibility and correct mindset (as compared to BN) to lead the people. In fact when i look at the quality of the BN contingency (and to be fair some of the PR representatives), i really wonder what got them there and their IQ level.

As a citizen, i jsut wish they will all work together well in Parliament for the betterment of Malaysia instead of being defensive and behaving like cats and dogs.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, November 27, 2008 18:07:55
Next to DSAI Pakatan have Saifuddin, Kamaruddin,
Tuan Guru Nik Aziz, Tuan Guan Haji Hadi, Lim Guan Eng,

http://kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by gurkha_malaya, November 27, 2008 18:11:43
all muslim n malay are invited coming visiting my fren blog;

www.saudagarsenja.********.com
written by cheekymate, November 27, 2008 18:17:33
Go for it, Mr.Ahmadneil. I will campaign with you all out. You PM, I Sarah Pailin.
written by ssathia, November 27, 2008 18:38:36
Definitely not. One must count in other great leaders too who are in a unparalleled position to contribute: the best of the best like Mahathir, Samy, Abdullah, Syed Hamid, Nazri, Md Nor, Rafidah, Muhd Muhd, etc...Think out of the box Pauline.
written by jjireh99, November 27, 2008 18:55:56
come on guys, let's be really honest. Do you want najib or DSAI as PM of Malaysia??? Make up your minds!!!! If you all can't trust either of them, then vote for someone else lah. But, for now, I want DSAI if you all want a Malay as PM or Lim Guan Eng if you all want a non-Malay! Simple. Don't complicate things too much. No need to analyse and analyse, it's very confusing. We all know what DSAI did or did not do before. Our grandmothers and mothers have already told us before, long time ago! It's either black or white, no in between, then, you'll get grey-gray matter!
written by citizenmy, November 27, 2008 19:19:21
DSAI still caries some baggage.
PR future will be better with a fresh leader who is not a political figure. Rakyat is looking for good manager, not a politician to lead this beautiful Malaysia.
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 20:38:21
written by cheekymate, November 27, 2008 18:17:33
Go for it, Mr.Ahmadneil. I will campaign with you all out. You PM, I Sarah Pailin.

Dear cheekymate,
Great!you dance I sing.What a team!Thank mate,I love it!
written by borneoman, November 27, 2008 20:38:29
we dont mind supporting anybody as long as they willing to give us autonamous power to govern our own nation of sarawak.we dont want to be ruled,govern and colonised again by malaya.
written by sydput, November 27, 2008 21:15:10
let us have a female non-bumi to lead pakatan. we want change - yes we can - malaysia can(boleh)
written by Jit Dharma, November 27, 2008 21:46:44
Let us be realists here. Tok Guru and Guan Eng etc. might be worthy but are good at preaching to the converted in their flock. Going beyond, that is their problem.That is where DSAI has the edge. He can reach the ordinary Rakyat.Someone who can communicate with all the various strands is required and must be groomed. Tune down the rhetoric and get to the heart of what people will die for.Liberty and freedom. Nothing else, nothing less. Get out of the cari makan , 3 meals a day mentality and fight for something more.
written by nana tanjung, November 27, 2008 22:04:40
Next to DSAI, I'll go for Husam Musa. He needs to return to Parliament next term. Leave Kelantan to soemone else.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 27, 2008 22:46:19
THere is a huge fundamental difference between PAS and the PKR and DAP. PAS has more simmiliarity with UMNO than with PAS. Gerakan, PPP, MCA and MIC has more simmiliarity with PKR and DAP.

The political landscape will change in 3- 5 years time. Where the extremist party consist of UMNO and PAS will join hand vs the moderate party of PKR, DAP, GErakan, PPP, MCA and MIC. I can forsee this will happen.

PAS is very unhappy with Anwar's liberalism. Anwar has declare himself to be a liberal democrat. PAS is a conservative islamic party. How can these 2 group fit into each other. Most likely, some of the moderates UMNO members like Zaid Ibrahim, Sharir Shamad, Rais Yatim and etc will join PKR if PKR comes to power.

If DAP is wise, they should focus all their energy not to lose Penang. And focus their energy to work with PKR in Selangor. The rest of the state is too tough to handle.
written by Daryl, November 28, 2008 00:16:52
I hope DSAI is not the only leader that hold PR together. If he is which is not a bad thing that we as a supporter of PR need to stamp our authority. We do not need these PR politicians working for themselves or their close allies. Rakyat need to guide these PR politicians to be more accountable and reliable in defending the future and security of rakyat. Tell them we do not and must not tolerate any outline of line politicians. So, DAP, PAS and PKR please listen to rakyat not do what is good for your own and allies pockets.

written by HJ Angus, November 28, 2008 01:42:22
I think there is a saying, "When the people are ready, a leader will arise" or something like that.
Anwar has been that leader in 2008 but he needs to build a core team of perhaps 10 competent alternative leaders from the PR parties if we want to replace the BN. My strategy would be to groom 2 or 3 Bumis who are potential PM material as Malaysia is not ready for a non-Bumi PM for at least another 20 years.

written by Hakim Joe, November 28, 2008 01:46:21
There is someone you guys forgot here. Raja Petra. If only he will join into the fray , I am sure that all will us will give him our utmost support.

Say yes, RPK and I will quit my job and join your team if you deem me worthy.

written by DreamLady, November 28, 2008 02:01:46
Most people tend to forget the good deeds the brave and the intelligent ones have contributed to the country...

Initially, beautiful songs would be sung endlessly in praise of the heroes, but after a while, the heat of enthusiasm dies a natural death...

Without the help of Raja Petra, Anwar might have difficulty in securing the necessary votes to emerge as winner. Raja petra did put up a lot of effort to counter attack the enemies of Anwar, and Raja means business...

Anwar is responsible for herding DAP and PAS to team up with keadilan. Anwar manages to glue the two contradicting parties with glaring ideology of their own, by persistingly helping them to iron out complex problems....
written by DreamLady, November 28, 2008 02:10:57
....Anwar has to be a good chess player in order to portray himself as an efficient leader. Each individual party could not stand on its own to sustain the impact of attacks by the UMNO goons unless it teams up with the other. Armed with combined forces of three parties and the right attitude of ' give and take' that serves as lubricating oil to accelerate the political machinery..

It is due to Anwar's ingenius mind that crafted this unique unity of the 3 odd components, each bearing contrasting characteristic traits of its own....
written by DreamLady, November 28, 2008 02:24:32
......The battle has been won, and it is time to get back to serious work. Instead of fighting over the spoils of the war, PR members are seen busy tackling the messy heaps of garbage left behind by previous state government.

I am sending a message across to all my beloved Malaysians: PR representatives are eager to right the wrong for the people. The members truly request the rakyat shall continue to trust and support their mission: to uphold justice for all!!

Whether Anwar becomes PM is immaterial. As long as rakyat's welfare and rights are well-protected that really matters...

So, please dear all, sometimes we need to look at a picture from a different angle to receive a better view for the mind to perceive.

Anwar is not a perfect man, he is no angel, and NEITHER ARE WE !!!

But he is honest enough to fight on our behalf. What do we expect of a man who is willing to climb the many mountains in search of truth and justice for mankind!!!!
written by KotaDamansara73, November 28, 2008 03:04:22
I agree with DreamLady,

Anwar has been jail. His reputation has been tarnish. His family has been humiliated by none other than that super ego-maniac Mahathir Mohammad. The liar and the thief is having the glorious time of the year at the moment.

Anwar has done very much for Malaysia. He deserves every respect from all of us. But Anwar should stop going gung-ho on taking over the goverment. Focus on strengthening the alliance and maintain power for the upcoming years.

For the next GE, DAP must maintain Penang. PKR must maintan Selangor. PAS, DAP, PKR must maintain Perak. These 3 states has to be the showcase to all Malaysians and the whole of Asia that the PR can do a much much much much more better job than those BN .

Eventually Sarawak and Sabah will follow suit. Then at last, Malaysia will regain their true independence value since Tunku Abdul Rahman was the PM.

Mahathir,

THe Malays are still so unprogressive. You have done nothing to elevate the Malay pride and respect. You just build a couple of nice building here and there. That's all.

Taiwan today is the king of computer motherboard designer and manufacturer, South Korea is king of memory card manufacturer plus handphone brand and many more industries, Japan remain the king of electronic consumer and automobile innovator. Thailand is the king of horticultural in South east Asia. Hong kong and Singapore is king of financial and service industry.

WHat are the Malays king of? HIDUP! ISLAM! HIDUP! MELAYU! Continue shouting will not bring any prosperity and progress to the Malays.
written by Proarte, November 28, 2008 05:50:57
The fact remains that as long as Political Islam constantly rears its ugly head and is not made accountable for its divisive actions, Pakatan will be reduced to a 'flash in the pan' and die a natural death. Partly due to collusion of Anwar with these forces and also due to the Malay natural reluctance to criticise people who speak on behalf of Islam even if they lie, spew racism and promote division. The problem really lies with the Malay people and the unscrupulous politicians who have 'Islam' written all over them.

The fact is non-Malays have a poor opinion of Malay Islam which they regard as irrational ,divisive, paranoid, demeaning and ultimately Evil. The vast majority of decent Malays have been 'terpukau' by Political Islam which PAS, Anwar and UMNO are part of and find it difficult to condemn them because they use the label Islam and generously pepper their ceramahs with ever so impressive Arabic ( which Malays do not understand) which seems to lend veracity to their utterences. The Malay mind is so simple when it comes to religious matters, that if a person utters even unintelligible words which sound Arabic or badly spoken Arabic ( which Anwar is a master of), the Malays feel so reassured that they are in the presence of a holy man who is a fount of knowledge and wisdom. This unfortunate flaw of the Malays, PAS Anwar and UMNO exploit to the hilt.If they dress Arabic, this adds to their 'aura' in the eyes of Malays.

Anwar and PKR must realise this. You cannot run with the hare and hunt with the hounds. If Pakatan wants to represent a unified and progressive political force, then it has to drop its repeated acceptance of sniping from Political Islam which has only one consequence, it tears Pakatan apart. For DAP and PKR which are supposedly secular, they are undermined more than PAS. When PAS wants to flex its muscles in Pakatan, it plays the Islamic card unscrupulously to show its 'power'.

Anwar is so desperate to become PM that he need an intact coalition but at the same time cannot be seen to be criticising PAS for its wicked antics. Similarly he is silent when UMNO plays the religious and race card. Anwar, because of his ambitions and haste is caught in a 'Catch 22', either way he loses. He either alienates the Islamic chauvinists or the non-Malays.

Anwar must accept that he will never become PM with the current set up. DAP and PAS have disparate ideologies and the twain will never meet. There has to be unity of purpose and common ideology in a political coalition. The pretence of being able to work together or trying hard to work together is unfortunately a measure of political opportunism by DAP as well.

The only solution is follow the constitution and promote secularism, where religion is separated from politics. Muslim politicians do not 'own' Malays and should give them freedom to practise Islam in any way they see fit. They are not their moral guardians. Leave judgement to Allah.

In the case of alcohol restriction for example, when there is a consensus on how to restrict the sale of alcohol for public order and health reasons, Pakatan should articulate its position in public in a rational and non-religious context. This has the effect of promoting harmony and achieving the actual goals with the scourge of alcohol abuse and adulterated alcohol consumption going underground.

When talking about religious issues, commnality should be found rather than differences. In the case of alcohol, all religions do not support alcohol abuse. Even the Koran ackowledges the benefits of alcohol consumption but not its abuse. Sadly, the spirit of the message has been lost on Muslims who fanatically regard complete abstention as a moral and self righteous badge.

Modern medical research overwhelmingly confirms the health benefits of alcohol consumption in small amounts. Surely if Muslims are able to restrict themselves, then this will not be in conflict with the spirit of the Koran. If Muslims are mature in their faith they will realise that Allah will never prohibit anything which has health benefits.

In America it is illegal for anyone below the age of 21 to buy alcohol or to drink it publically. And the US is clearly not a Muslim country but seems to have stricter licencing than Malaysia! They did not introduce these laws because of Muslim agitation but because of sound public order and health reasons.

My point is, there is no need to invoke divisive Islamic laws for Muslims only but rather to think for ALL Malaysians and to promote what is beneficial after much debate.

Anwar, Muslims in PKR and PAS, make no mistake, if you persist in bastardising Islam and use it for you own selfish ends, you will destroy Pakatan and betray the purported goal of Pakatan which is 'Ketuanan Rakyat'. UMNO's mismanagement of Malaysia will continue to thrive thanks to you.
written by DreamLady, November 28, 2008 08:41:41
KotaDamansara73, good morning !!

Thank you for understanding what I have been driving at..

Have a pleasant day !!!