Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Challenge accepted

Challenge accepted PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 14:08

Negeri Sembilan History Association treasurer, Mohd Misan Mastor, said Raja Petra Kamarudin is ignorant of history for saying that Chin Peng was a freedom fighter and has challenged Raja Petra to provide proof. The proof that Misan seeks is in chapter 34, PUTERA-AMCJA Conference (1947), in the book, MALAY NATIONALISM BEFORE UMNO: THE MEMOIRS OF MUSTAPHA HUSSAIN.

Raja Petra ignorant of history, says historian

SEREMBAN: Blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin has been described as being ignorant of history for assuming that the former secretary-general of the Communist Party of Malaya, Chin Peng, was a freedom fighter.

Negeri Sembilan History Association treasurer Mohd Misan Mastor said today the Malays had fought colonialism since the fall of Melaka Sultanate and throughout the Portuguese, Dutch, British and Japanese occupation.

"Chin Peng was not the first man who put up the fight," he told Bernama here.

He was commenting on a recent talk by Raja Petra who said that the country's independence was initiated by a non-Malay, and that Chin Peng was a freedom fighter.

Mohd Misan said the peak of the Malays struggle for freedom was when they thwarted the British effort to introduce the Malayan Union which, among others, would have usurped the powers of the Malay rulers.

He challenged Raja Petra to prove that the independence of the country was due to the efforts of others.

"This is what happens when the Malays lose their spirit of nationalism and become ignorant of history," he added. (Bernama)

The fight for Merdeka started before the Second World War and continued all through the Japanese Occupation of Malaya. After the War, all the races, members of the Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) included, joined hands to fight for Merdeka. Only when the British refused to accept the Malayans’ terms for Merdeka did the CPM take to the jungles to continue their opposition to the British. But it was not only the members of the CPM who took to the jungles. Many non-Communists did as well and they filled the ranks of the CPM guerrillas.

The struggle for Merdeka was not an exclusive Malay affair but an effort by all the races, as the following piece shall show. It cannot be denied that, before that, many Malays did oppose the British and some died because of it. But it was not until the Second World War, during the Japanese Occupation, when the idea of Merdeka was finally taken to a higher level of a united Malaya or Federation of Malaya -- a Federation comprising of the Straits Settlements, Federated Malay States and Unfederated Malay States. Before that, all the states were independent of one another and no nation, as we know today, existed.

PUTERA-AMCJA Conference (1947)

By the grace of God, through the PUTERA-AMCJA Conference, I was given a second opportunity to participate in efforts towards drafting Malaya’s Independence Constitution. The first time had been in July 1945, through the Japanese-sponsored Hodosho and KRIS, at a time when Japan was like a dragon in its death throes, struggling against the Allied onslaught. There were two differences. My first effort had been with Dr Burhanuddin, who had served the Japanese Sumatra-Malaya Military Administration in Taiping while I was a farmer. Then, there had been only five Malay States; this time, there were nine.

On 22 December 1946, multi-ethnic, but mainly non-Malay leftist political bodies in Malaya formed a coalition called the All-Malayan Council of Joint Action (AMCJA). Its members comprised:

1. Malayan Indian Congress (MIC) – led by John Thivy,
2. Malayan Democratic Union (MDU) – led by John Eber,
3. New Democratic Youth League (NDYL),
4. Malayan People’s Anti-Japanese Ex-Comrades Association (MPAJECA),
5. Pan-Malayan Federation of Trade Unions (PMFTU).

Four months later, on 22 February 1947, left-wing Malay parties formed their own coalition during a meeting at the MNP Head Office in Kuala Lumpur. It was called Pusat Tenaga Rakyat (PUTERA) or the Centre for People’s Power. Led by Ishak Haji Muhammad (Pak Sako), the member parties were:

1. Malay Nationalist Party, MNP as its nucleus – led by Dr Burhanuddin
2. Angkatan Pemuda Insaf, API (Generation of Aware Youth) – led by Ahmad Boestamam
3. Angkatan Wanita Sedar, AWAS (Generation of Conscious Women) – led by Shamsiah Fakeh
4. Gerakan Angkatan Muda, GERAM (Young Generation Movement) – led by Aziz Ishak and A. Samad Ismail
5. Barisan Tani Se Malaya, BATAS (Pan-Malayan Farmers/Peasants Front) – led by Musa Ahmad,
6. Majlis Agama Tertinggi SeMalaya, MATA (Pan-Malayan Supreme Religious Council).

While travelling all over North Malaya with Dr Burhanuddin, we had discussed, at great length, the forthcoming PUTERA-AMCJA Conference, consisting of left-wing Malay and non-Malay political parties, to promote our demand for Independence from the British through constitutional means. Most post-war non-Malay unions and political parties were left-leaning. MNP was the only Malay political party which, even as early as 1946, had realised that Independence could not be achieved unless the demand was unanimously made by the three major communities in Malaya – the Malays, the Chinese and the Indians.

UMNO, led by Datuk Onn bin Jaafar, had yet to fathom this reality, and continued to function as if it was still in pre-war Malaya. In 1951, six years after the war ended, an UMNO-led delegation went to London to demand more Malayan Civil Service officers, more Malay police officers, especially above the rank of Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP), and improvements in Malay education and other issues. Yet not one mention of Merdeka (Independence) was made. Ironically, it was also in 1951 that Datuk Onn began to realise that the co-operation of non-Malays was vital for obtaining Independence.

As mentioned earlier, Ishak Haji Muhammad had been earlier sent by Dr Burhanuddin to Kuala Lumpur to meet AMCJA representative Gerald de Cruz to initiate arrangements for PUTERA and AMCJA to work hand in hand in our struggle against the British. The resulting draft, The People’s Constitutional Proposals for Malaya, was the document Ishak Haji Muhammad had handed to Dr Burhanuddin and me at the end of our two-day Balik Pulau visit. Ishak said, “This is all I managed to achieve. If something is unsatisfactory, please bring it up at the forth- coming PUTERA-AMCJA meeting.” We promised to go over the draft on our way back to Kuala Lumpur. Ishak left before we could even invite him to a meal. Dr Burhanuddin commented, “Ishak is like that. He is a man of few words.” I suspected a slight tension between Dr Burhanuddin and Ishak then; they could hardly bring themselves to talk to each other.

I was willing to play the role of the mediator. However, there were four things that kept the two connected: the struggle, the party, the Malay race and the nation. Nothing could keep the two men apart with these four elements present.

The clauses proposed by AMCJA and MDU were for:

1. Malaya and Singapore to be united.
2. A popularly elected Federal Consultative Council.
3. Equal citizenship rights to be accorded to all those who considered Malaya their permanent home and the object of their undivided loyalty.
4. The Malay sultans to become constitutional monarchs. The British would no longer have the right to interfere or advise the Malay sultans. The popularly elected Federal Consultative Council would be exclusively responsible for all such advice.
5. Islam and Malay customs would be fully controlled by the Malay people through a special council, not by the sultans.
6. Special privileges for the advancement of Malays in all fields.

Having read the draft, I was certain that if the leftist Malay parties accepted the draft in toto, the parties would lose credibility, influence and support. However, in the draft’s preamble I saw a loophole in the words ‘the Nine Malay States’. I drew Dr Burhanuddin’s attention to the word ‘Malay’. If we ‘used’ this loophole wisely, the Malays would gain substantially. During the tiresome mail train ride from Penang to Kuala Lumpur, Dr Burhanuddin was happy with one boiled egg, a banana and a cup of coffee. I had to supplement that with a plate of fried rice from the buffet coach. Food was important to me.

As I had mentioned, as soon as we arrived in Kuala Lumpur from North Malaya, we looked for lawyer John Thivy at his High Street office. He was MIC’s Secretary-General, while Budd Singh was President; both were socialists. Thivy, being from a notable Kuala Kangsar family, fully understood Malay customs and aspirations. He confided in us that the Indian community shared a common fear with the Malays – that of being drowned by the Chinese. He therefore promised to support all proposals beneficial to the ‘safety’ of the Malays and Indians. I believe Thivy left MIC when it leaned to the right; I am told he is now in Fiji.

Before attending the PUTERA-AMCJA Conference, we Malays met in the rented Kampung Baru home of Ibrahim Karim, API’s Secretary- General. We drank black coffee out of a pail for lack of proper utensils. It was bought with the paltry balance of money collected from our garland-auctions and the sale of photographs of Dr Burhanuddin and Ibrahim Yaakub. Disappointingly, the photos were not selling. No one bought the one of Ibrahim, although he was then deemed a Malay hero.

We took a bus to a five-storey building in Foch Avenue, the highest building in Kuala Lumpur at the time, where the MCP flag fluttered inthe wind. However, the conference was not held on the floor housing the MCP’s headquarters. Desks were arranged in a circle. Dr Burhanuddin sat rigidly, with me on his left, and Taha Kalu on his right. John Eber (MDU) was on Taha’s right and farther on, beside John Eber, were Ahmad Boestamam (API), Lim Kean Chye (MDU) and John Thivy (MIC). Ishak sat opposite me with Conference Secretary Gerald de Cruz (MDU) on his left while Sir Cheng Lock Tan (AMCJA) dressed in a shirt and coat ensemble sans tie, sat on Ishak’s right. On Sir Cheng Lock Tan’s right were representatives from the New Democratic Youth League (NDYL), Malayan People’s Anti-Japanese Ex-Comrades Association (MPAJECA) and Cheng Loo from the Pan-Malayan Federation of Trade Union (PMFTU) – all very young men. They were probably the front men or dummies. Everyone held a draft of The People’s Constitutional Proposals for Malaya. Mine was full of markings, reflecting my pre-occupation during the train journey.

The PUTERA-AMCJA Conference began with a speech by Ishak as Chairman. We had to tread carefully; no undesirable elements should come into play lest an ugly impasse rear its head. Nothing untoward must happen to jeopardise our efforts to gain the nation’s Independence. We had to be of one heart; bickering would only contribute to prolonged British rule. Even the normally vocal and aggressive Ahmad Boestamam was extraordinarily impassive. Everyone adopted a passive attitude, a patient disposition, a tolerant demeanour, a peaceful mind and a united stance. Everyone wanted an end to British rule. Everyone craved to live in a free Malaya. Chairman Ishak was extremely careful in choosing his words and ministering his responsibilities. The only one who spoke more shrilly than the rest was Conference Secretary Gerald de Cruz, who was known for his humour and jest. All the six items were endorsed with ease. I noticed that the representatives from the NDYL, MPAJECA and PMFTU hardly uttered a word, just like Sir Cheng Lock Tan.

On behalf of PUTERA, I proposed four more clauses to strengthen our rights, referring to the magic phrase ‘the Nine Malay States’ already in the preamble as proof of PUTERA’s absolute right to claim them:

a. Malay to be Malaya’s national and official language,
b. Malaya’s defence and foreign policies be handled by the Malayan and British Governments with equal responsibility,
c. Melayu (Malay) as the nationality of the people of Malaya,
d. The National Flag would have a red band above a white one.

Clauses (a) and (b) were quickly endorsed with the support of NDYL, MPAJECA and PMFTU representatives who abhorred colonialism. But clause (c) raised the conference room’s temperature. The same degree of unrest was experienced each time the Malays demanded a 60-40 quota in the running of the administration and in employment.

Sir Cheng Lock Tan vehemently opposed demand (c) while the three young men looked calm enough. I stood up to voice my disappointment at the opposition, drawing their attention to one question. How would hundreds of thousands of Malays – supporters of MNP, API and AWAS in the kampungs – react, should PUTERA announce that ‘Malayan’ and not ‘Melayu’ would be the term used to describe the people’s nationality? They would probably charge at us like bulls provoked by a red cape. Leftist Malay parties would be ruined, much to the glee of the British and right-wing Malay parties.

Even though I had presented my case with great care, Lim stood up and remarked, “We are not dogs to be led by the people. We lead the people.” In response to such strong words, I retorted in a flash, “Are you not here at this conference table because the people chose you? Do not humiliate the people. You ought to retract your words.”

I then saw Conference Secretary de Cruz write something on a large piece of paper and hold it up for all to see. On the paper was written “CRACK” in big, bold letters. Chairman Ishak wisely proposed the matter be handled by a sub-committee later that evening and its decision be announced the next day. The sub-committee met that night in Kampung Baru over a Malay dinner of rice and tapioca shoot vegetable curry, during which time a PUTERA representative managed to positively influence members who had opposed the proposal to describe our nationality as ‘Malay’.

We had asked, “What is wrong with using the term ‘Malay’ to describe our nationality? If this request is denied, we can only deduce that colonial elements have infiltrated this conference, and that colonialists are still in control.” Gerald de Cruz loved Malay food. Perhaps the tapioca shoot vegetable curry contributed to the agreement that ‘Malay’ will be the agreed nationality of the people. I was glad that the matter had not split up the conference. Actually, the Malay nationality proposal was won due to the votes of the three Chinese youths. They were the first ones to be convinced by our little speech and appeals.

On the second day of the PUTERA-AMCJA Conference, API leader Ahmad Boestamam, who was honoured with the final vote, gave PUTERA the winning edge. With that victory, I felt that the Malay states and the Malay race would be forever preserved. In Hang Tuah’s words, “The Malays will not perish from this earth.”

Next in the discussion was the question of citizenship. AMCJA had proposed the jus soli concept, but PUTERA found it difficult to accept. However, Taha Kalu seemed to agree with jus soli. As he sat near me, I raised my fist as if to warn him, “Should you support this jus soli concept, I will punch you.” To my relief, he voted in support of PUTERA. Despite some frantic hand signalling, Ahmad Boestamam – who sat at a distance from me – did not understand my signals. He chose AMCJA’s stand. I said to myself, “Allah! What will happen now?”

The AMCJA won and we were in deep trouble. My mind quickly came up with an idea to overcome the matter. Pretending not to know the meaning of ‘amendments’, I asked the chairman to define the term. Then, I asked what ‘clause’ meant. I pretended not to know these words so as to allay the fear of the others. I then proposed a ‘clause’ be included to determine the quota for Malays and non-Malays in all Federal Councils and in all government business. I wanted a restriction or a certain formula in the Malay and non-Malay sharing.

Conference secretary Gerald de Cruz commented on my proposal as sweetly as he could. He said he had anticipated it. He explained that if the ‘universal franchise’ policy was adopted, the Malays should get 95 per cent of the vote and 95 per cent of all seats and posts. The other conference members were taken in. Chairman Ishak could not do much as his hands were tied. Dr Burhanuddin’s mouth was shut tight, as the conference was conducted in English. (Earlier, when the ‘national language’ issue was being discussed, non-Malay members had asked for a compromise, “Please give us ten years to master the Malay Language.”

In view of this, how could we compel them to use Malay at the conference?) I stood up, stating with great care that, “We Malays do not want 95 per cent as that is unjust. We do not want 80 per cent as that would be unfair. Neither do we want 80 per cent or 70 per cent. But in the name of all Malays who own this land, we want 60 per cent. We ask for only 60 per cent because we are holding fast to the concept of democracy. At the same time, we want to preserve the rights of the people of this land.”

I was shouted at by the MDU leader, the lawyer John Eber. He snarled, “I did not want to say anything harsh earlier, but now, I have to. The truth is, your people do not have the right to claim Independence – what more to obtain other people’s help to appeal on your behalf.” He added, “We are the ones who are willing to work with you and help you claim it. Now you want to determine the quota for yourselves and for us?” He paused and continued, “I am standing here to promote my party principles and one of them is democracy.” Before sitting down, he pointed his finger at me and asked clearly, “Is he democratic?”

I was forced to stand up another time to respond to his words. I forgot how to remain calm and collected. I had forgotten about compromise and co-operation. Luckily, I remembered Sutan Jenain’s words, “Be hot in the heart, but not in the head.” With whatever was left of my composure, I said, “Look at the appearance of PUTERA members, the Malays, at this conference. Their hair uncombed, clothes unkempt and not ironed. Some did not have a chance to wash as they slept in bus stations and train stations in order to attend this conference. Some did not even have breakfast. They drank coffee out of a pail. But you, sir (looking at John Eber), even though you were given a comfortable rattan chair, you still need a folded towel to serve as a cushion. Who among us truly needs Independence, you or us?” John Eber got up to pull the folded towel off his chair. His face was red with anger. He was enraged, but I could not care less. An insult for an insult!

The Chairman stood up to calm the situation and again suggested the quota issue be discussed by a sub-committee. The outcome was positive. AMCJA agreed to the 60-40 quota. I was thankful to God for His blessings. The Malay States and the Malay people were now secure and safe. This would maintain Malay pre-eminence. The outcome would guarantee the future of the Malays, especially in a situation where non-Malay votes may outnumber Malay votes. I must add that MIC John Thivy in the AMCJA kept his word by giving us his vote every time, to our mutual benefit.

Outcome

The ten principles we discussed came to be known as the Ten People’s Principles, to represent all communities. Since The People’s Constitutional Proposals for Malaya was endorsed and announced to the nation, the PUTERA-AMCJA partnership was reinforced because the masses, not the administrators and the elite, were strongly behind us. The final copy of The People’s Constitutional Proposals for Malaya was sent to the British Government as the voice of the different communities living in Malaya who clamoured for Independence. The people’s response to the constitution was proof of their spirit. But the British appeared unconcerned, refusing to hold discussions with us, or even to read the constitution, as if nothing urgent was happening. We had to think of our next constitutional move. As a result, the hartal of October 1947 was organised and received widespread support from the people. Shops and business houses shut their doors. Kuala Lumpur looked deserted.

What the Dailies Wrote

I don’t remember what the Malay papers wrote. Majlis was certainly in opposition to the hartal as it was wary of any co-operative efforts by the three races. But the 23 September 1947 edition of The Straits Times described the hartal as: “The first attempt to put Malayan party politics on a plane higher than that of rival racial interests and also the first attempt to build a political bridge between the domiciled non-Malay communities and the Malay race”. The other English language newspaper editorials also found The People’s Constitutional Proposals for Malaya generally fair.

Conclusion

The PUTERA-AMCJA effort was my third attempt to gain Independence. I had failed in all three but I continued to work towards loosening the colonial grip on Malaya and freeing Malaya from British fetters. With that uppermost in my mind, I decided to continue fighting for the cause with Dr Burhanuddin. As that required my staying on in Kuala Lumpur, I felt that it was time I brought my family (whom I had left for months in Matang) to join me in Kuala Lumpur.

Comments (127)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 14:31:33
If not without the chinese led by freedom fighter Chin Peng,we the malays would have retreated to the seaside kampongs,eating only salt fish.
disagree 71
agree 542
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 14:33:31
We the malays are very grateful to all the chinese nationalist fighter.Malaya belongs to all of us and we should live side by side.
disagree 41
agree 584
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 14:36:00
Ironically, it was also in 1951 that Datuk Onn began to realise that the co-operation of non- Malays was vital for obtaining Independence.

Read the only truth,malaysian!
disagree 16
agree 356
written by michael chick, November 27, 2008 14:37:03
Moron should be stripped of his title !!
CHin Peng was the receipient of the Burma Star Award. He got it pinned on his shirt by Lord Mountbatten on the steps of City Hall in Singapore.
This Award is given out to men of Distinguished Service to Her Majesty the Queen.
Archival pictures can be bought at the Imperial War Museum in Britain.

Truly Dum Dum Historian. Go kill yourself.
You want History, Just Ask me, Michael Chick.
agree 420
written by michael chick, November 27, 2008 14:40:46
I also forgot to Mention the (UMNO) Malay Communist Party in Singapore which also helped to fight for Independence.
agree 147
written by hiro, November 27, 2008 14:45:51
UMNO led government will not acknowledge Chin Peng's contribution. It shows they can't shake off their biased view of the past, and as such we should not expect them to be able to change to have a more open and inclusive outlook in terms of race/religious relations in Malaysia. Should Chin Peng die and be buried outside Malaysia, that will be a sad day for us.

Speaking of which, Mumbai attacks have happened for a while already. We already have statements made by Spore and Phillippines. What's Rais Yatim doing? Busy with UMNO elections not to condemn the attack? Is this how Malaysia treat India and is it a reflection of our the Malaysian government treats Indians in this country?
agree 252
written by michael chick, November 27, 2008 14:46:02
The abandoning of the PKM by the British is identical to the Abandoning of the KNLA of Burma. The KNU is very frustrated at the British. Go read the Karen Manifesto to get a complete picture of this prallel with Malaya and Burma.

Stupid lop-sided moron should be shot !!!
agree 110
written by michael chick, November 27, 2008 14:48:47
And if you have to do it, go spend a day with the Burma Free-Rangers. They are fighting the Junta on the Border. There are 3 Battalions fighting it out right now! I spent almost a week with them. I'm just stuck in Bangkok now coz of the Protesters taking over the Bangkok Airport.
written by johanssm, November 27, 2008 14:49:38
Some may not like it but like it or not , Chin Peng is a WW2 hero fighting the Japs.
He is not the only fighter during the WW2 , many other Malayans did so too.
Chin Peng is still alive and this make the differences here.
He was once a communist but how can we blames him . As many were also Communist once upon a time .
History is not about blaming who and who. If historians failed to understand just that. I am sure that such historian is a graduate from Sintok!
What RPK highlighted that Chin Peng was a freedom fighter is indeed correct.
Or the said historian also wanna challenge that Parameswara was not a Hindu and was not originating from the Indon island?
Such historian also better starts to challenge that the 'sembah-sembah" thingy uses in palaces were not Hindu practises.
agree 215
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 14:57:44
Bro Pete,

I love history and I want to thank you for the article that offers further insight into Malayan history.
One very interesting bit of information I picked up is that MIC guy John Thivy whose modern day equivalent would be present day MIC Samy Vellu. His reincarnation; perhaps? Both sold out the Indian community for their perceived “mutual benefits” with Malays, and deep smothering animosity with the Chinese.

So, bro Pete, when are you going to take up that M. Misan’s challenge??
written by A MI, November 27, 2008 14:59:57
awesome!! Thank you for the proof.
but fools will see only what they choose to see..sigh

Recently it was announced by a Deputy Minister Melaka was not discovered/named by Parameswara. He dismissed that as history written by the whites. It seems Yemenis who were already trading here long before Parameswara named Melaka based on the word Malikh
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 15:03:03
The malays are scare becos if the freedom fighters were to be officially recognised,then Malaya will have to be partition.That's why they chase out these freedom fighters and classified them as communist.
agree 119
written by MalaysiaBaru, November 27, 2008 15:05:49

Thanks for highlighting the efforts contributed by the other races in the fight for independence. History has shown us that when we are united, we can change this country for the better. It is time for Pakatan Rakyat to iron out their differences and work together towards a strong and united front to fight for Malaysia's second independence from the corrupted dictatorial rule of UMNO, MCA and MIC racist gangs!
agree 114
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 15:07:49
Yes,the Malaysian Gov't must now officially acknowledge the contributions make by Chin Peng and his freedom fighters and built a monument in his remembrance.MCA must come out and started the ball rolling.
agree 117
written by CitizenBodohland, November 27, 2008 15:09:13
Misan Mastor,

Hang nih buat malu ja. Sejarah haprak apa yang hang belajar? Puihhh....
Tengok nama pun tahu hang ni bukan Melayu.
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 15:11:53
Even the Japanese Emperor acknowledge that Chin Peng was a major resistance fighter.
agree 129
written by malaysianohope, November 27, 2008 15:12:05
Mohd Misan is a product of Umno who only think that the world owe him & his kinds a living, that their minds are skewed so far off centre that they think they belong to a Master race as in Ketuanan. History cannot be distorted to appease your pride but will eventually destroy you.
A good lesson in history by Abang!
written by sisa, November 27, 2008 15:13:03
Will he resign and go for a blunder like this..or remain and just be a sisa like our Nazri minister..terlepas cakap..silap but with no facts.

Real SISA
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 15:14:54
Yamashita,The Japanese Red Army commander,said Chin Peng and his freedom fighters are one of the major obstacles during the Japanese invasion of Malaya.
agree 117
written by Tom n Jerry, November 27, 2008 15:15:54
Ahmad,I am seconder to ur comments;if MCA is worth its name,it should do something about this issue;only then can it become relevant in today*s political scenario;otherwise they are heading for disaster!
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 15:27:55
Now,with this revelation,Chin Peng's photo must be hang in Wisma MCA,The Museum,Wisma UMNO and all chinese associations.
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 15:30:50
I will donate RM 3,000 to Chin Peng Fund for building a monument if there is anyone willing to take up this charity drive.
agree 117
written by sydput, November 27, 2008 15:31:22
Chin peng and the malayan communist party was an associate of the Communist party of china.
When Japan invaded, raped and pillaged China, it was only natural for the chinese born in malaya to confront the japanese invasion of malaya, as they see the war as another front between the japanese and chinese. The only malays that fought against the japanese were under british command.
Under japanese rule, some malays were brought to japan for training, and japanese language were taught in school.
Some other prominent people who benefitted during japanese rule included Lee Kuan Yew, who was hired as an interpretor for the japanese.
written by willove, November 27, 2008 15:31:58
Now, now, now. What's the issue here?
Had the name's not "Chin Peng" but "Ahmad Ismail" then what? Means there is a need to identify 2nd class citizens? Means someone is more "tuan" than others?
It is sad to see all of this happening when the citizens of most developing countries are united in putting their nation up front. Here people are still fighting and twisting historical facts to their advantage to try to show race superiority.
First answer this question: What makes a Malay? I bet to my last penny that no one can answer this. This is all an UMNO trick. Stupid but useful nevertheless.
In fact it need not matter whether who is the freedom fighter and of what ethnic group he comes from. We got our independence (although later we lost it to UMNO) and we should objectively thank that person, whether his name is "Chin Peng" or even "Ahmad Ismail".
This is the only way to go forward. Sadly Malaysia isn't. smilies/angry.gif
written by Angela Ooi, November 27, 2008 15:42:22
Well and truly refuted, now over to you Mohd Misan Mastor.. we are all awaiting your take after this posting?
written by Ken Liew, November 27, 2008 15:43:15
This is what happens when the Malays lose their spirit of nationalism and become ignorant of history,"

I totaly agreed with you but answer me, how order to DELETE the Hang Tuah from the History Book? Who beautyfulize (miss guiding) the 413 story/history.
written by EUGTAN, November 27, 2008 15:51:09
In Singapore the communists were the deadly enemies of the PAP but the PAP acknowledges that the communists played an important part in the anti colonial struggle. In Malaysia the white-washed school books just tell you it's UMNO. People who jave their parenst killed by thje Japanese and the British know better.
written by Mr Smith, November 27, 2008 15:52:07
UMNO has always been trying to hijack history. This NS History Association sure is an UMNO outfit.
But then I am not surprised. UMNO has always been trying to downplay non-Malays contribution in building this nation.
Even now they don't admit that non-Malays have contributed immensely to the economic growth of this country and they pay the most taxes.
My daughter's history teacher told the class that the non-Malays had come to this country 'dan rampas harta orang Melayu."
written by batsman, November 27, 2008 15:58:52
Chin Peng was given a medal by the British for his role in the Anti-Japanese War of Resistance. UMNO's slogan at the time was "Hidup Melayu" while Api's slogan was "Merdeka". UMNO stole API's slogan after API was banned by the British. Mat Kilau stayed hidden for more than 20 years after independence - afraid that the UMNO govt was a British stooge. UMNO troops fought alongside British troops even after the Japanese war was over. Even after 50 years of independence, UMNO regularly invites old British troops who served together with them to celebrate and carouse together.
written by batsman, November 27, 2008 16:03:10
Chin Peng is no longer a communist and he swears allegiance to the Agong.
written by batsman, November 27, 2008 16:04:37
UMNO on the other hand takes away much of the powers of the Malay rulers.
written by AuntyG, November 27, 2008 16:12:31
Wow, RPK and commentators, the historians!! I must admit I did not read avidly about the Communist and ChinPeng era, still its never too late/'old' to learn. (Thats why I'm somewhat hooked on MT ....)
written by Bigjoe99, November 27, 2008 16:15:11
The issue is not only the truth BUT the fact the likes of MISAN believes it. There are legions who are the same. They don't know AND You can show all the proof you want, they will find every possible excuses NOT to accept the truth. Hypocrisy is UMNO's core value. The idea this country equally belongs to others is just unacceptable. It is perversion and perverts don't change. You lock them up and throw away the keys is about all you can do. The problem is the perverts holds the key to the jail....
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 27, 2008 16:18:13
Michael Chick, eventhough u r a mat salleh u seem to know a lot about our History as compared to us MALAYsians. My uncles were involved in WW2 as POW and freedom fighters. My uncle was caught and send to work at the Death Railway in Burma. He survived and spent the last days of his life as a simple person. Another uncle of mine disappeared sadly. Don't these people receive any recognition? Fcuk u lah Mastor-room (otak macam stor room gelap saja)! These people are the true Malayans or shall I say Malaysians.
written by Bosan, November 27, 2008 16:22:48
Hello, the man with 3M's, pleaselah, if you want to challenge our RPK, do read the history books thoroughly and admit the facts that Chin Peng is a freedom fighter.Recently, there's a 2M's in his name already knocked out by RPK. What about you, 3M's, I think first round will be ko.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 16:25:44
Mat Salleh?? Huh?? What??

Ok, ok, I have promised my friend “Ahmadneil” not to attack him. So I shall keep my tongue (rather my typing fingers) in check!
written by K W Waran, November 27, 2008 16:41:14
Dearest Folks and YM RPK,

There will always be Fools claiming to be the Sole Custodians of our History, hence for their version of history to be rightfully called, His Story. Today, History as a subject matter has been changed over and over again so much so that some of our students of that subject including my son who today have completed his SPM examination was and still, are in a state of total confusion. But the timely advice by the respective "caring" teachers to their students to just regurgitate whatever taught purely for the purpose of their own benefit to ensure them passing that subject is important to be considered. If they were to dare put an opposing view or position, then they can be assured to fail that subject miserably. Such is the situation in our examination system.

To illustrate my point, my son showed me a picture of a battleground where the Malay and only Malay warriors (no disrespect to my Malay Bretrens, who are all Warriors in their own respective ways) were Muscularly Towering over the deliberately Dwarfed Soldiers of the British Empire in Engagement which to my humble opinion, was not only farcical but absolutely and bizarrely nonsensical.

Many of you folks may not realise that Britain had already decided to give independence to many of the countries that they have colonised due to extreme pressure from their own British People at home way before the freedom fighters started their fighting for freedom. The British have tormented and demonstrated to their government that if they do not reciprocate to their demands, then the days of that government is bloody counted. However, the Government of the then Britain dared not announce it publicly purely to avoid a massive bloodshed, Period.

So, I am absolutely in agreement with YM RPK's version of our Nation's history compared to a half past six and a half baked His Storian, Mohd Misan Mastor, who can go to bloody hell for all I care. Mohd Misan Mastor, who are you to pose a challenge to YM RPK when you are just a half baked historical FOOL. Lebih baik awak tutup mulut Hang
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 16:42:37
I concur with Michael Chick ...
"The Military Admin offered the MPAJA $350 for every guerrilla who handed in his weapons. From Dec 1945 to Jan 1946, some 6500 did so, incld. several hundred in Spore. On 6 Jan, the British held a ceremony outside City Hall at which a small, uniformed MPAJA contingent marched past Lord L Mountbatten, who pinned medals on 16 of their leaders. Chin Peng, described in the newspapers as a communist guerrilla commander, received the Burma Star (1939/45) and War Star, after which he gave a clenched-fist salute. Offical recognition of the MPAJA's contribution in defeating the Japanese .........."
written by carribeanking7, November 27, 2008 16:43:00
Bravo Pete just lovely,

Now what we need is a sequel ( 1) telling how Addul Razak, hatchet man Jaafar Albar and the like subverted that painstakingly nurtured goowill, then we go into sequel (2) where their progeny continue to subvert it to this day.

Many kids these days think independence was achieved after UMNO drove the British into the sea. Or maybe Mastor's idea of resistance is Maharaja Lela killing JWW Birch in Pasir Salak while the latter was shitting by the river. One other thing I was amused when Sin Chew online carried it undet the title "Raja Petra Ignorant Of History, Says Historian" Please lah, Prof Khoo Kay Kim is a historian, Mastor is just a treasurer for Negeri Sembilan history association.
What next? Syed Hamid Albar's gardener giving opinions on homeland security ?

written by Rozlan, November 27, 2008 16:47:26
It is normal for UMNO to deny big and significant contrbutions of the non Perikatan Parties to the country independent..They try hard to erase them.Pak Sako,Mustafa Hussain,Chin Peng,Rashid Maidin,Abdullah CD,Burhanuddin are some of it..History dont lie.UMNO like it or not CPM did contribute to the independent..
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 16:47:34
We malays would not be where we are today if not for this Chin Peng and his freedom fighters.We are truly humbled by their sacrifices.History got to be rewritten.
written by Concerned Malaysian, November 27, 2008 16:49:45
He..he..hee
Good one Pete...apa diapa tahu...sampai sejarah kita pun diapa "alter" pesong sampai kata benda-benda tak betul. Orang India dan Cina datang selepas kedatangan Ingeris? Sebelum tu diapa takde di malaya....apa sejarah ni....kat Kedah & Kelantan macam mane? Namo Kedah, Langkasuka bahasa ape tu? Kan Mentri Pelajaran dulu..dulu lagi dah tukar sejaroh! Mangkuk hayun.
written by Fuminari, November 27, 2008 16:50:41
pete,ur 'friend' by the name of triple m is jus another cookie by umno;n umno can't differentiate between history n story,n umno does not believe in history...these goons preach only cooked stories,n they couldn't even make it straight on datuk onn jaafar...one of their founders.so,what to expect from this triple m???
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 16:51:45
K W Waran,

Maybe you should also mention the fact that the British government was also quite broke due to the war efforts and cannot afford to rebuild any of their post war torn colonies, as the Great Motherland Britain (who was greatlt devastated during the war)takes president over everybody else.
written by K W Waran, November 27, 2008 16:59:41

Bro' Rainbowseahorse,

Thank you very much for doing the finishing touches to the comments that I have inadvertently missed to mention, silly me.
written by Tompios, November 27, 2008 17:00:25
Only stupid people cannot see the situation on that time. NOBODY among Dutch English, America, France, Spain, even the tricky Japan are willing to help Southeast Asian Countries to gain INDEPENDENT status. NONE of them willing to give up their colonies. So, what the other alternative for local people like Sukarno, Lei Peng, and many more Asian heros to ask a help? Well, the only two alternatives that they have are USSR and PRC. These people are truly hero!! UMNO is just a tool or puppet for British to control Malaya eventhough facing financial problems.

Sejarah Malaysia is made for UMNO. His-tory of Malaysia. His (personal) story has made for one sided story.
written by batsman, November 27, 2008 17:01:07
When it became clear Malaya was to get independence, Chin Pend sent feelers to TAR to negotiate an end to the armed struggle. Unfortunately David Marshall sabotaged the Baling Peace Talks and TAR fell under his influence. The result of the failed talks was many more years of needless death and suffering. Yet it is precisely this period that UMNO glorifies and claims as its credentials for its anti-colonial struggle.

I guess the winners have the right to re-write history, but then again MMM is not a historian. He is just a treasurer of a historical association. Guess that explains it all.
written by batsman, November 27, 2008 17:04:55
Talk2stop - there is no big deal about Chin Peng. He is just an old man who wants to come home to the country that he loves and whose independence he fought so mightily for. Guess we all don;t have any more time for old rubbish when we are all chasing wealth and riches that is up for grabs.
written by batsman, November 27, 2008 17:11:25
BTW, do historians read history books? I wonder?
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 17:14:36
K W Waran,

Bro, you are welcome and frankly, I got additional knowledge from your posting..and from other bloggers too, especially Ahmadneil & Michael Chick.

I’ll wait for the next article from our bro Pete before I comment on Chin Peng as, honestly, I have not really read up on him yet.

Cheers!
written by pixieface, November 27, 2008 17:20:34
mansor, from what history book your crap comes from? Chin Peng is a hero. Its the umno who twisted facts to suit their needs. Anyway, why can't Chin Peng come back to malaysia. Its now the 21st century. Who needs communism? China has been opening up since ten years ago. We are now opening our door to chinese tourists'communists'

Ahmadneil, I second your proposal to set up a fund in honour of chin peng.
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 17:32:26
Malay thieves have their own versions of history...

written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 17:48:19
"In 1951, UMNO-led delegation went to London to demand more Malayan Civil Service officers, more Malay police officers, ....."

I believe at this time UMNO worked with the British against the communists who had gone back into the jungle (as did LKY/PAP in Spore). Many innocent Chinese suspected of helping the communists were also killed, including my grandfather. My mother, who had hidden under the table, witnessed the shooting of her father by the soldiers. My father, who was then a British subject, took up the case in court (reported in the papers) ... but, alas ...
written by Australian Malaysian, November 27, 2008 18:16:17
G'day Pete, DSAI, PKR & ALL YOU WONDERFUL SUPPORTERS,

A very big THANK YOU for being our freedom fighters of today. As the saying goes, "it's the squeaky wheel that gets the oil". We have so much to be thankful for & if it wasn't for your input, we would only be a voice in our imagination.

My prayer is that we will get together one day soon to celebrate & enjoy over a "massive kenduri" for the victory in our fight against injustices in our country over the past 51 years & for good triumphing over evil.

May God continue to Bless & Protect you always!
written by crayon, November 27, 2008 18:19:12
i dunno about the rest of you, but i felt DAMN PROUD to be MALAYSIAN after reading this. And I'm proud of our fore-fathers, who fought for our beloved country. but sadly, i'm also feeling even more disappointed with the current executive rulers who could not demand my respect.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 27, 2008 18:34:15
My, my looks like our school history books are full of lies !. Even today, the govt through the local council are trying to erase history by changing the road names . The govt is aiming to rewrite history and use lies to fool the rakyat of the actual history.
written by Shimshon, November 27, 2008 18:51:18

All-Malaya Council of Joint Action
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/All-Malaya_Council_of_Joint_Action

written by Motherchell, November 27, 2008 19:08:42
Pete , even my history teacher in school was not able to hold us to the seats like you have done -- Great ! its very informative and the truth!

Now do we know why guys like Mohd Misan Mastor, and the likes never dare attend foreign seminars or debates about archeology or History? They can't and will not accept facts as thought by accepting it ---- they will loose their religion and racial make up ..... How ignorant!! -- is this patriotism UMNO style ??? Where will this Country go from here ??

Thank you Pete ! its ones like you, Zaid , Dsai, Raja Nazrin , Farish , Haris , Bakri Musa ,Azly etc who will make Malaysia proud and stand to be counted among the League of Nations!

God bless you ! Pete.
http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by Fuminari, November 27, 2008 19:34:06
talk2stop,chin peng has been ,is being made n potraited as public enemy no 1 not by the general malaysian public,it is the umno be end that say so,jus becos he believed in n adopted a different political idealogy!!
written by mikewang, November 27, 2008 19:56:56
Pretenders like Mohd Misan Mastor mere job is to tell stories and rewrite history.
He is a product of UMNO's ketuanan.
Just be part of that history writing for posterity to perpetuate apartheid.
Nevermind if facts are omitted or rewritten as long as they fulfill an agenda.
written by onnetline, November 27, 2008 20:07:10
Misan Mastor,

You like to change the course of history with your own personal version ???
written by TheWhisperer, November 27, 2008 20:16:23
My grandfather died fighting the Japanese leaving a young wife fending for her two children. My mum was 5 years old then. He was fighting for the freedom of this country.

Misan Mastor, tell me what your grandfather did?
written by Shimshon, November 27, 2008 20:16:40
written by crayon,
i dunno about the rest of you, but i felt DAMN PROUD to be MALAYSIAN after reading this. And I'm proud of our fore-fathers, who fought for our beloved country. but sadly, i'm also feeling even more disappointed with the current executive rulers who could not demand my respect.

Yep! DAMN PROUD TO BE MALAYSIAN - But!... - you can't actually rely on Anwar Ibrahim either to fulfill this sort of "Ketuanan Rakyat" thing.

When RPK was under the ISA detention recently, Zaid Ibrahim quit his ministerial post as a sign of protest; Anwar didn't do anything "remarkable".

Without RPK - no "Ketuanan Rakyat", the term that supposedly Anwar mentioned some 10 years ago.

written by varvoom, November 27, 2008 20:44:47
Let Chin Peng come home!
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 21:01:12
If Chin Peng have a 'bin' in his name,then the story will different today.

As for the Chin Peng Memorial Fund,I leave it to MT guys to start the ball rolling.My RM 3,000 still stands.
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 21:25:15
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 16:42:37

I concur with Michael Chick ...
"The Military Admin offered ...... Offical recognition of the MPAJA's contribution in defeating the Japanese .........."
Sorry forgot to include that I took the quote from the Memoirs of Lee Kuan Yew!
written by cylee, November 27, 2008 21:42:06
>Chin Ping fight for the freedom of Malaya, the land and the nation he love, he is not fighting for his own race. That why he was betrayed by his own race.
>Malaya may had independent for more than 50 years, but we people( especially the poor and simplistic Malays ) has been slaving by the BN and those Holier Than Thou ulama until now...
>All Parties and NGO who only fight for their own race/religion only, must be defeat and kick out of Malaysia. eg. MCA, MIC , UMNO, and so many others....
>We, the people fighting for our true freedom and independent are just in the beginning... People.. please intensify and put up our fighting and never give up.. smilies/cool.gif
written by Alice, November 27, 2008 21:43:29
Aww such a long article.

Mohd Misan Mastor I would advise you not to play-play with RPK. He really knows his 'stuff' well, coz he is a well read guy. Remember he was reading so much in Kamunting. How many books do u read per year Misan? Give it uplah. smilies/wink.gif
written by teo siew chin, November 27, 2008 21:51:53
wow! Chin Peng is a hero!
Why is he not allowed to come home?
If this is the way we treat our heroes, lord knows what they'll do to the common rakyat.
written by Sudahlah tu, November 27, 2008 22:12:03
kalau melayu umno tidak tamak ..... kita tidak akan ketinggalan zaman.
kalau melayu umno tidak zalim ..... kesucian sejarah tidak akan tercemar dan diubah.
kalau melayu umno tidak kejam ..... maruah melayu tidak akan terjual bagaikan nasib binatang jalanan..
written by Christopher, November 27, 2008 22:28:55
Thank you, thank you, thank you Raja Petra.
I, myself, wanted to take some time off to do some research on this to put the record straight. I knew for so long that it was the Chinese and a few patriotic Malays (remember Rashid Mydn and gang??) under the MPAJA who were fighting to get back the country from the Japs. The British abondoned Malaya and ran off to England, leaving the locals to fend for themselves. Later, with the help of Chin Peng, they came back to claim back their properties and businesses. They promised the Chinese all sorts of joint government but when the Japs surrendered, the British played out the MPAJA who later became the communist party of Malaya. The British used one small incident in an estate in Perak to brand the whole MCP as terrorists and bandits so that the British did not need to share the governing of Malaya.

Only when the British was giving up their colonies, one by one, by giving them independence as in India, did the Malays start asking for Independence. They did not have to fight for independence like in India and other countries. So, don't talk about anyone being independence fighters other then the MPAJA and MCP.

When the Malays found it was opportune to ask for independance, they went to ask for Independence themselves - the British told them to go back and come out with a plan for self rule with the Chinese and the Indians. When Tunku came back and planned out the whole thing with MCA and MIC, they all went to seek independence and the country was granted Independence. There was no such thing as a 'SOCIAL CONTRACT'. That is just a recent UMNO creation.

All along, when the Japs came in to rule the country, most Malays were in their service. Likewise, when the British were here, many Malays were in their service as government employees. Even during the 2nd World War, many Malays were Jap informers.
So, I think, its about time we read the History of Malaya as it really is, not the history created by UMNO.

I for one, want to refresh my knowledge of Malayan history, with a bit of research, to tell the younger generation the real story.
written by Engineer, November 27, 2008 22:33:39
Chin Ping should be honored with Tun in comparison to a chinese who was honored Datuk just for playing badminton and a chinese lady honored Datuk just bcos being picked to act in a Bond movie.
written by HamChak, November 27, 2008 22:36:37
If that's the case, we should make Chin Peng a TUN.
We should address him as First Class Tun Chin Peng.
We should strip Mahathir Tunship and give Mahathir the
Looney Toon.
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 22:50:00
KotaDamansara73, ???? We are talking about the moon, you are talking about the sun! What has the Royal Family got to do with the challenge of whether Chin Peng is a freedom fighter? Likewise, you think the english educated royals adore Mahathir? No love-lost here. Even Tun MM went to Singapore to study. If I were the royal family, with the kind of lousy education we have here, I too would send my whole family to study overseas! Question: Where do you think Najib, Nazri plus other UMNO's children are studying? Aren't they playboys too - want to see some nice photos?
Hmmm ... someone is going to get it from the readers .....
written by JUST, November 27, 2008 22:53:22
He Has A Dream - Balik Kampung And See His Loved Ones!
GOD Bless Him!
written by johntyc, November 27, 2008 23:11:36
Hero or not, the government should allow him to come back! He's old and no longer a threat to Malaysia. Let him come back to live the remainder of his life. I don't think that's too much to ask for. Stop saying the "show me proof that he is Malaysian citizen" crap!
written by Sabahfan, November 27, 2008 23:28:41
Thats right RPK. Show these UMNO that they are ever willing to stoop low just to please their masters, and lie and lie about history. However bad these UMNOputra leaders, their historians will always say they are heros of the country. example in Sabah, they even buried the Dictator Tun Mustapha in a hero grave complete with 24 hr lights. for a man who corrupted the wealth of Sabah and married a cinderrella all over the world!

And no wonder Chin Peng wanna fight the UMNO leaders. his foresight warned him that the UMNO govt will corrupt the new nation and discriminate against his race. No wonder he became a communist because he knew the future of the greedyc apitalist will make his people suffer, just as we are suffering now. THe umno leaders enjoys the country's wealth while the rest of the rakyats tighten their belts everyday. So in these sense, Chin Peng is a freedom fighter and more worthy of a TUN than Mustapha, mahafiraun and all the rest of UMNOputras combined. The UMNO leaders brainwashed us to hate communism in order to have the full freedom to practice their corrutpted capitalism where every richess of the country can only be the sole property of the Ketuanan Pendatang UMNO!

This is also the reason I hate history lessons becos I realised even at high school that all those history so called malaysian facts are twisted history courtesy of UMNO historians. As i remember a Mara institute lectureer he said to pass exam all you have to write is say every thing goood about UMNO govt, every thing bad about British govt and communism.
written by Namolos, November 27, 2008 23:43:01
Raja Petra Kamarundin is Right on,

Chin Peng and the Malaysian Chinese...along with the forgotten [mainly Chinese] ''FORCE 136'' did fight against the Japanese invaders and later the Double Crossing British Tratiors to their Comrade In Arms for the Freedom of Malaya and later Malaysia. These British, who at that time immediately after the 2nd World War FEARED Communism like all other WHITE MAN in the world. Betrayed these Chinese Fighters and their Comrades 'FORCE 136' by NOT granting them a share of Government, as they fear at that time that everyman is a potential Communist. Where were the so call Malays INDEPENDENT Fighters during these trouble TIMES? At best they were doing nothing. at worst acting as informers[along with those Traitors Chinese and special branch officers too] to the Japanese and later to the British.

Dont you all Malaysian wake up and see that the Malaysian Government Convinently make sure Malaysian so call HISTORY starts from the so call ''EMERGENCY''to blame the Chinese as Communist and to hide the fact that its the Chinese like Chin Peng who actually fought for the Malaysian INDENPENDENCE. One has only need to push back Malaysian History to pre war days to prove, what the Malaysian Government dont want you all to know, thats what Raja Petra is saying now. The Malays were NOT the ones who fought for the FREEDOM for this Country. anything else is JUST BULL SHIT.

Dear Raja Petra Kamarudin you are right and they hate you for it, but then, Cowards can only hate to cover their EGO. so keep it up. prick their EGO's. i'm enjoying it.

Thank You
written by mikewang, November 27, 2008 23:59:20
Dear Madfive,

Legitimate government was formed with the unashamed tight media control. If we had internet in the '50s and '60s, history might have turned out differently and communists then may no longer need to fight the government with guns.

Give that a thought please.
written by justice6, November 28, 2008 00:58:41
damn la... those who fought for the then Malaya are treated like criminals..but the Japanese who occupied Malaya...rape, murder, torture... are treated like king now... cos the govt said past is past, what about Chin Peng, and others who contributed ,..govt won't even allow them to come back...
written by michael chick, November 28, 2008 01:22:26
Here is the Book Cover of "My Side of the Story"
Notice the Pix on the Bottom. That is Lord Mountabtten shaking hands after giving Chin Peng the Burma Star Award. If memory serves me well, Chin Peng is the only Malaysian (I'm using the Geographical, and not the country) to recieve that Award.

And here is the Original Photo:

Now, go spread this all around, and make him Tun Chin Peng...
written by 1351, November 28, 2008 01:26:41
Dear Christopher,

Source material about the history of Malaya as contained in our National Archives (Arkib Negara) is to be considered with cautioned. In your quest for research, for personal or academic interest, a trip to the UK is in order.

There is no fibbing - history can't be gloss over by UMNO or that Koo Kay Kim story teller when there is ample literature residing in the shelves of the Imperial War Museum. There is no better authority with regards to the affairs, history that lead to the creation of ALL Commonwealth nations in the archives(most comprehensive). And added materials can also be found at the stoic gray walls of the British Museum.

I believe a certain Dr.(whatishisname) did just that when he published an account of May 13th thoroughly researched(book is banned in M'sia) to disprove the lies UMNO would have us believe. I personally have read manuscripts written by MI6 members residing in Malaya post Merdeka years. The likes of Mubin Shepherd and many tuan's(not only English, but Scot,Welsh and Aussies) took up positions as planters' and yet many others who choose to serve, providing the backbone of the Civil Service ie.Municipal Councilors, Water Board etc. Right up till early 1980's, the sight of all these graying tuan's were still a fixture at the Lake Club, Selangor Club. Yes they were MI6's, but they considered Malaya/M'sia home with real affection.

The efforts, write up and correspondence of these individuals to their respective handlers in London documents our history as a nation that UMNO can't dispute. UMNO may be able to slash, dictate and rewrite materials to suit to blindside kids at schoold, but there are ample evidence to the contrary(unless Najib and co. take their C4 act to blow up museums in London town).

Raja Petra is on solid ground and I'm baffled as to why UMNO persistently shoot themselves in the foot for the umptheen time !* RPK - they have the cops after you. They have the lawyers hound you. Not forgetting Losmah and spouse. And now a historian wannabe thrown in for good measure !!!

Regards as always,

written by goman2k3, November 28, 2008 02:42:05
Malaysia suffers from idiot people like Mohd Misan Mastor who claims to be a so called historian but speak through their pea brain which is clouded by racism and continue to believe that the other races are pendatang. A true malay like RPK give credit when credit is due regardless of race or religion. No until these pea brains change will Malaysia prosper.
Not long ago no chinese or malaysian are allow to go to china because china is a communist country. Now the govt encourages malaysian to go to china to business. Communist china was called by malaysia as terrorist. Why not repeat it again and stop doing business with china.
Chin Peng should be recognised by the govt for his contribution to this country and be allow to come back. Every historian worth his salt knows that Chin Peng play a major part in our struggle for independence and ww2.
written by SID, November 28, 2008 02:49:11
It's not about communist or PKM, but Chin Peng is a Chinese, so this issue was brought out by this pea brain UM-NOputra.

From Malacca to present Malaysia, please read what Gavin Menzies wrote in his book '1421 The Year China Discovered The World'

Sila nafikan fakta itu Misan (Nisan)

"......Formerly this place (Malaka) was not designated 'country'...Thrre was no king of the country; it was controlled only by a chief. This territory was subordinate to the jurisdiction of Hsien Lo (Thailand) it paid an annual tribute of forthy Liang of gold ( -40 troy ounces) if it were not then Hsien LO would send men to attack it."

"In the 7th year of Yung Lo (1409)the Emperor ordered the principle envoy the grand eunuch Cheng Ho (Cheng He) and other to assume command and to take the imperial edicts and to bestow upon thr chief two strong seals, a hat, a girdle and a robe......Thereafter Hsien Lo did not dare to invade it. (Ma Huan, 1424)"

"In effect, this was the birth of Malaysia."
written by chebella, November 28, 2008 03:02:07
in my books chin peng is a patriot
written by KotaDamansara73, November 28, 2008 03:13:42
Indonesia is a republic. Indonesians Malays are more progressive than the Malaysian Malays. Indonesia just make it a crime to discriminate against other ethnic group. Indonesia Malays are more progressive than the Malaysian Malays. Indonesian Malays are willing to work hard and build concrete things, whereas Malaysian police Malays are very happy harrassing them. And our crime rate soar to the highest. Very good job done by our Malaysian Police Malays.
written by Legion, November 28, 2008 03:41:52
KotaDamansara73,

The Sultan owns the land until the developers pay for it, if you want to develop a piece of land, dont you need to purchase the land or give some form of payment to the owner?

Not all rulers of Malaysia are angels and not all of them are devils. You do not expect them to bend over backwards just to make everyone happy.

written by Wakeupmsia, November 28, 2008 03:43:48
"Negeri Sembilan History Association treasurer, Mohd Misan Mastor, said Raja Petra Kamarudin is ignorant of history for saying that Chin Peng was a freedom fighter and has challenged Raja Petra to provide proof. The proof that Misan seeks is in chapter 34, PUTERA-AMCJA Conference (1947), in the book, MALAY NATIONALISM BEFORE UMNO: THE MEMOIRS OF MUSTAPHA HUSSAIN."

Mohd Misan - you are just plain BODOH! Tak belajar sejarah kah? Buka mata dan WAKEUP!
written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 07:57:06
Legion ...Chin Peng did lead the communist party to fight during the Emergency ... BUT against British rule. Even some Malays agreed and joined the communists ... resulting in many lost lives regardless of races.
My question to "how can the nation simply forget the past atrocities committed by the CPM"
-----------
My mother witnessed Malay soldiers during that time (working with the British) killing her father when she hid under the table in their home. I recall my brother once dating a Malay girl, and all hell broke loose at home. Does my brother resent the Malays (neither do I)? ATROCITIES WERE COMMITTED ON BOTH SIDES(especially by the British who removed all the Chinese at the fringe of jungles and settled them where they could keep an eye on them). The British sent Chinese underground agents into the communist camps for info, and had them all killed later. Yes, they were an experts at dirty warfare and the ISA.

This is part of history ... and Chin Peng is part of history .... let an old man come back to a country which he fought for. We may not agree with his ideals that what he thought he was doing at that time against the British was right for his country, but does everyone have the same opinions?
written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 08:19:25
Michael Chick .. I was hunting high and low for my copy of Chin Peng's My Side of the Story ... guess you beat me to it!
written by batsman, November 28, 2008 09:25:01
Why is UMNO still fighting the emergency when there is already a peace accord signed and the ex-communists have pledged allegiance to the Agong? Isn't it cruel and vicious to continue to hit people who have already sued for peace?

Why are some people continuing to act as heroes in fighting communists when they have stopped shooting and pledged allegiance to the Agong? Isn't it a bit late? Shouldn't heroes come forth only when the shooting and the bullets are flying? Not when it is all over?
written by batsman, November 28, 2008 09:28:16
Does UMNO have something to hide?
written by vaistlin, November 28, 2008 10:13:44
Chin Peng should be allowed back into Malaysia. He should be treasured while he's still alive. The Communist are long gone, lets forgive and forget.
written by future, November 28, 2008 11:13:48
Is it not or yes the Tunku and UMNO screw the Baling's talk and Chin Peng got the blame?
written by Fight4Justice, November 28, 2008 11:45:34
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chin_Peng

= Hero
written by temenggong, November 28, 2008 12:35:38
Chin Peng was already a hero after the war and recognised as such by awarding him the Burma Star. But the British refused to recognise the MCP. Finally the British and umno led to a deliberate collapse of the Baling talks. We should not blame Chin Peng and the MCP for the subsequent fighting as they had no choice.

The MCP and the MPAJA, consisting mostly of chinese and a sprinkling of malays, fought the Japanese during the war. They were freedom fighters.

There is another factor. After the Japanese conquest in 1942, the Indian National Army was formed in Kuala Lumpur in 1942 consisting of Indian POWs and Malaysian Indians, numbering approximately 45,000. Alongside the Japanese they fought the British. They marched to Burma, built the Bridge on the River Kwai, actually invaded India, and entered Imphal town in the North East of India. A Malayan army invaded India! However it was in the last months of the war, and they were beaten by the British and Indian soldiers and fell due to American, Canadian and Australian bombings.

It is more correct to say that the Malaysian Indians were the first freedom fighters, then the mostly chinese MCP and MPAJA, and only lastly was it the Malay Putera and that too after the war. Umno was not even born then. During the war itself generally the Malays sucked up to the Japanese and were their informers. LChuah can confirm or correct me on all of this!
written by Rozlan, November 28, 2008 15:08:47

Please refer back to to MUSTAPHA HUSSAIN:MALAY NATIONALISM BEFORE UMNO..Did you familiar with the banned malay party KMM ( Kesatuan Melayu Muda) It was formed in 1933 by Ibrahim Yaacob..So waht make others think they are the one who had fight for the country independence.

What about Dato Sagor,Datuk Bahaman,Tok janggut,Abdul Rahman LImbong,Datok Maharaja lela.They had fought the Brits in 119th century long before Chin Peng or PKM around..Their struggles were continued by prewar KMM and its successor postwar PKMM,AWAS,GERAM ETC

WE shoudlnt deny Chin Peng or anybody who have shares in the Independence but no to the point of denying facts that malays did nothing for the country independence or accusing malays for not starting the independent struggle..

Remember that without malays the country will not achieve its independent just like PKM which cannot succeeded in seizing power from British because its lack malay support from...How the British manage to sway malay support from it will be discuss in another forum..
written by born2reign, November 28, 2008 15:19:45
We still have almost a communist govt today in UMNO where our freedom of speech and religion is suppressed. And corruption that is a beneficial factor of the communists who enrich themselves and the people have to fend for themselves.
written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 15:50:37
Dear Rozlan,
1) 119th century?? Is there a mistake in the dates?
BRITISH COLONIALISM IN MALAYSIA: In the late 18th century the British East India Company began looking for a base in Malaysia. In 1786 the British under Francis Light occupied Penang and founded Georgetown.

2) RPK said : The fight for Merdeka started before the 2nd WW and continued all through the Japanese Occupation of Malaya. After the War, ALL THE RACES, members of the Communist Party of Malaya (CPM) included, JOINED HANDS to FIGHT for Merdeka. ONLY when the British refused to accept the Malayans’ terms for Merdeka DID the CPM take to the jungles to continue their opposition to the British. But it was not only the members of the CPM who took to the jungles. Many non-Communists did as well and they filled the ranks of the CPM guerrillas.
The struggle for Merdeka was not an exclusive Malay affair but an effort by ALL THE RACES, ......"
Anything of the above to justify your statement of "not to the point of denying facts that malays did nothing for the country independence or accusing malays for not starting the independent struggle"?

written by ylcc, November 28, 2008 16:23:21
Rozlan, I went into Wikipedia and found some writeups on the names you were talking about (one by Bernama), and so your date should read 19th century.
written by 1351, November 28, 2008 16:44:31
"It is more correct to say that the Malaysian Indians were the first freedom fighters, then the mostly chinese MCP and MPAJA, and only lastly was it the Malay Putera and that too after the war" - temenggong

That last line is priceless, fact and humor aside. And by the way, the numbers conscripted at 45,000 is a huge figure. What were the numbers of Japanese troops in Malaya ?

Regards and g'weekend all.
written by Rhan, November 28, 2008 18:17:40
MCP is about ideology and had nothing to do with race. Unlike the communist in UMNO who never stop to make use of race issue, MCP stress too much on class struggle. The Malaysian Chinese support towards MCP is small in number and this is one of the reasons why MCP fails.

Not sure how true is the figure 45,000. China force is almost 10 times the Japanese but still half of China gone. Probably the numbers of Japanese troops who face this 45,000 might be approximately 45.

smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Anyway, anyone who fights invader and colonist regardless of first, last, number and race is freedom fighter.
written by Christopher, November 28, 2008 20:44:35
Dear BUTEK,

Some info on death toll in Malaya during the Emergency compiled from various sources - 1948 to 1960:

1.Malaya (1948-60)
oThe Emergency:
ï‚§B&J: >10,000
ï‚§Encarta: 11,000
ï‚§Noel Barber, The War of the Running Dogs (1971)
ï‚§Security forces: 1,865 KIA
ï‚§Civilians: 2,473 murdered, 810 missing
ï‚§Insurgents: 6,698 KIA, ca. 1,000 died, deserted, liquidated
ï‚§TOTAL: 11,036 dead, maybe 1,810 more
ï‚§Olson & Shadle, Historical Dictionary of the British Empire (1996); (also T. Lomperis, From People's War to People's Rule, 1996):
ï‚§Security forces: 1,865 KIA
ï‚§Civilians: 2,473
ï‚§Insurgents: 6,711
ï‚§TOTAL: 11,049
ï‚§Harff & Gurr: 5,000 to 20,000 Chinese were victims of repressive genocide, 1948-56
ï‚§WHPSI: 12,616 deaths from domestic violence, 1948-62
ï‚§11 Nov. 2000 Times [London]: 719 British soldiers
ï‚§Eckhardt: 13,000

You would notice that most of the security forces killed then were British and a few locals ( could be Indians or Malays or Chinese or Eurasians)and it never ran into thousands.
The civilians who were killed and MIA were mostly Chinese with a few Indians.

So, please check up on your history before you regurgitate what our present education system is teaching.

And dear Casper, thanks for the info. But you know, circumstances at this time prohibit me from taking time off and also some financial constraints prohibit me from going to England as much as I would have loved to. Thanks for the info.

written by Rozlan, November 28, 2008 22:49:25
written by BUTEK, November 28, 2008 19:59:44

THOUSANDS OF MALAYS KILLED BY THE COMMUNIST LED BY IMMIGRANT BASTARD NAME CHIN PENG BUT RPK STILL WANT TO DEFEND HIM.... WHAT A SHAME

Chin Peng,Rashid Maidin and Abdullah CD had mentioned in their book that CPM was not the responsible party in mass killing of the malays during BIntang Tiga 14 days rule.

They had denied it in their books.Please refer to Dr Cheah Boon Hock "Red Star over Malaya".He had mentioned that the one who is responsible for the massacre were chinese Koumintang based gangsters( with secret British support) which attacked malay kampungs and put the blame on CPM...The malays put up a defence and after that it become free for all attacks.The question is where were this chinese gangsters had gone? They didnt joined the Communists.I believes the British had let them assimilated quitely when they had done their job.I would like to remind everybody that MCA originally was a Koumintang based chinese party.

Agents from British military had sow discord between both race further.In fact it had asked a British chinese supporter to throw pig head into a mosque and blame it on the Communists..Why? Because if the country were divided,it was easy for them to rule longer...

UMNO had try to erased the history away.The groundworks for Indepoendence were done by the leftist party including CPM.The British had noticed that Malaya had changed.So the best way was to hand it to their loyal supporters UMNO/MCA/MIC alliance so that their colonial policies continued..

I would like to stress it over here that most non communist chinese/Indians were loyal British supporters.in fact they dont care if this country did not gain independence at all.The are very well off under the British policies.So what the point for them to asked for independence..

So I would to concluded that Communist chinese and its supporters should be given merits for playing important part in Independence struggle not MCA.Give Chin Peng and CPM due respect for what they had done..A spade is a spade.A spoon is a spoon.

Did I support Communism .The answer is NO. But that didnt stop me fro thanking Chin Peng for his part in the Independence struggle..
written by justice6, November 28, 2008 23:10:53
BUTEK, November 28, 2008 19:59:44
THOUSANDS OF MALAYS KILLED BY THE COMMUNIST LED BY IMMIGRANT BASTARD NAME CHIN PENG BUT RPK STILL WANT TO DEFEND HIM.... WHAT A SHAME....

Hey butek... japanese killed more then why you never talk about it?.. still allow them to come back as tourist ?.. it's a shame we have ppl like you... ppl like you can't accept facts as always in denial mode.. what a shame..
written by AsamLaksa, November 28, 2008 23:50:32
A few have commented about Indonesians being more progressive than Malaysians. Anyone have any ideas why this happened? For one, I can tell you that the Indonesians had spoken. Through hell and back they grew stronger be it the racial riots, 1998 crisis, Tsunami, etc.. They moved on. Fear was always there but people' power can overcome them. It's not a perfect country but the Indonesians make it their duty to make it work.

What of Msia then? Well, you know yourselves.

On CPM, there is no denying that it fought for independence. Terrorists? Perhaps. Almost all freedom fighting groups were branded terrorists at one time be it the rabble led by George Washington, IRA, TNI, etc.

I find Temenggong's example of the Indians fighting the British in India rather irrelevant. They were not fighting for independence of Malaya. They were troops employed by the Japanese.

It is true that the Japanese trained many post-WW2 leaders including Soeharto and I think Ibrahim Yaakub too. The Japanese slogan sounded like they wanted to give independence to the colonies but in reality they wanted what the British wanted which were dependent independent states. The Japanese were insincere. In fact they encouraged Indonesia to declare independence at the closing days of WW2 only when they were losing and had no power to prevent it. That is why Indonesian independence date is 17 Aug 1945 even though the Dutch came back, whack the hell out of the independence movement and only left in 1949 after a UN mandate.

Bottom line is that you can't trust colonial powers.

It is not about defending Chin Peng or CPM. There is nothing to defend. But it is still injustice not to recognise them as one of the groups that fought for Malayan independence. It is this spirit of fighting for the right of self determination that should be celebrated. In UK, they celebrate Guy Fawkes for a 'terrorist' that wanted to blow up parliament with the parlilamentarians in it. What of Malaysia? What values do you want to celebrate?
written by ylcc, November 29, 2008 10:06:28
BUTEK,
THOUSANDS of Malays killed by the communists? You sure. From what I gather from history, the Japs & Brits were softer on the Malays. It was normal because every Chinese was a suspect/potential communist at that time!
How about the innocent Chinese killed by the Malays/British during the emergency? How about the May 13 riots? At least the communists fought the Malay/British soldiers like men! The jungle is neutral. Presently, UMNO "gets away with murder", and the Malay soldiers during the emergency were UMNO. Doesn't that sounds familiar to you? Since the British were the root of the problem ... why not ban them from coming back to Malaysia. China funded the communists during the emergency ... why not stop relationship with China? Why talk to Japan? As justice6 declared - WHAT A SHAME!
written by batsman, November 29, 2008 12:57:15
What born2reign says is true. The CPM has given up the armed struggle and have disbanded. Its ex-members have sworn allegiance to the Agong and are no longer communists. On the other hand the UMNO govt is communist in all but name. The emergency was fought against the communists, but in the end we got a communist govt through the back door.

During the Emergency, the communists fought to drive out the British in an anti-colonial war. Unfortunately when UMNO sided with the British and the Malayan police and armed forces fought on the side of the British, there was a big tragedy of Malayans fighting Malayans. This is all in the past now. There is already a peace accord. Please respect the peace accord. There is no longer any reason to continue to fight the Emergency. It ended a couple of decades ago. There is no longer any reason for Malaysians to fight Malaysians.
written by Panca Indera, November 29, 2008 13:48:11
Don’t blame Mohd Misan Mastor altogether, there are far worse characters around feeding bollocks including RPK(not often though!).HATS off for his Articles, very refreashing, enlightening, and to the point.

They say, “History is written by the winners “, not losers,
The Communist, Malays and Chinese killed a lot of people who refused to side with them back then. My own father and late Grandfather were captured and readied for execution for not joining them. Go to Telok Anson and Sungai Manik and talk to the old folks that lived through those periods. Remember most i.e. (95%) of the communist were Malayan Chinese. Those Chinese had their support and allegiance to mainland China.
Has that allegiance and loyalty changed?
Note: I am very sure the younger Generations see themselves as Malaysians first and they are the one who are searching for the soul of the nation, if any.
Look at the lunacy of what is called the National Service. Hundreds of millions wasted, trying to instill What?
How many percent of the youth gain from it 10-20%?
Playing the blame game all the times can be counterproductive., especially when dealing with people, beliefs and values. Not everything in life is as simple as in black and white. Picking on the Malays on every issues and problems in this Country may be the fad, but look at the other side of the coin. Has anything been done to unite the country and dismissed the fear of the Malays. Will bringing in a few millions Muslim Chinese and Indians into this country makes them feel more secure?

The time to forgive has come, let Chin Peng come home, regardless. He will be answerable in the afterlife just like all of us.

Seeking a passport to a new life ;By Jennifer Pak BBC News, Beijing
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7754179.stm
One of China's most famous actresses has been accused of being unpatriotic after becoming a Singaporean citizen.
Some say Gong Li, star of the film Memoirs of a Geisha, has turned her back on her Chinese fans. But the actress is not the only Chinese citizen to seek another country's passport. They do it for convenience, to improve job prospects and as a safety net.
Gong Li, whose husband is from Singapore, is just one of many film stars who have given up their Chinese passport.
'Still Chinese'
Kong Ting, who was born in China but is now a US citizen, is not surprised that Gong Li switched to a Singaporean passport. "A lot of times when Chinese do things it's for practical reasons, to make life easier and for more financial gain," she said
Ms Kong, 36, has lived in the US for 15 years, and became an American citizen two years ago to make travelling to other countries easier.
"I don't think getting a US citizenship makes me feel any less Chinese," she said.
Tax reasons
Wu Hao, from Sichuan Province, has studied and worked in the US, and soon hopes to get his hands on a US passport. "For my generation and older, we wanted a foreign passport so bad," said the 36-year-old. Mr Wu moved back to China four years ago. He will be eligible for an American passport in a few years time, but a small part of him hesitates about trading in his Chinese passport. "I wonder if I really want to abandon my Chinese identity. I don't know," he added. Mr Wu said many of his friends are much more practical about citizenship.
"I have a friend who recently gave up his American green card status in order not to pay US tax," said Mr Wu. "A lot of Chinese friends I know who make a decent or relatively high salary in China, they're considering alternatives, trying to evade tax," he said. Mr Wu said people who were outraged by Gong Li's switch to Singaporean citizenship are blowing it out of proportion. "If they got the chance [to get a foreign passport] they would immediately jump on it."
smilies/cool.gif
written by businessman, November 29, 2008 15:34:00
------------------------------------------------------------------------
THE RIGHT HAND VERSUS THE LEFT HAND STORY
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Put your right hand in a bowl of hot water and put your left hand in a bowl of cold water. After a few minutes, put your both hands in a bowl of water at room temperature. Your right hand will feels the water is cold and your left hand will feel the water is hot. Why is it so when the water temperature is exactly the same?

Background influence perception. Take the recent Mumbai incident as an example. Some newspaper put the blame on Indian Government because they have long time neglect the welfare of minority Islam there. Some newspaper on the other hand put the blame on minority Islam there because nothing justifies violent.

So, who is right or who is wrong here? Same issue but two perception. As I said it all come down to your background because background influences perception.

Conclusion, no point arguing the fact of history because this is a never ending story.
written by ylcc, November 29, 2008 18:20:21
Businessman, you are right when you say this is a never ending story. I just cannot tolerate racists like butek who uses words such as "immigrant bastard".
written by DontPlayGod, November 29, 2008 22:55:33
As has been written many times before, history is written by the victors or those in power. In this case, UMNO, not only knows the real story, but has been involved in a huge cover up. They have told the gullible Malays what UMNO wants them to hear, i.e. their side of history. UMNO even claims that they were the original freedom and independence fighters, and sad to say, the Malays have gulped it all up.

The next chapter in UMNO's "struggle" is to increas the earthprince ratio to more than 80%, and then, they can do away with MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Sabah's and Sarawak's parties, and rule Malaysia any way they like. They will then tell all the "others" to leave if they are not happy with UMNO.
written by fearless, November 30, 2008 02:56:13
See the historic color video of MPAJA in KL victory parade after Japanese occupation.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqwAvS7jJYA
written by Rozlan, November 30, 2008 11:55:45
written by DontPlayGod, November 29, 2008 22:55:33

As has been written many times before, history is written by the victors or those in power. In this case, UMNO, not only knows the real story, but has been involved in a huge cover up. They have told the gullible Malays what UMNO wants them to hear, i.e. their side of history. UMNO even claims that they were the original freedom and independence fighters, and sad to say, the Malays have gulped it all up.

The next chapter in UMNO's "struggle" is to increas the earthprince ratio to more than 80%, and then, they can do away with MCA, MIC, Gerakan, Sabah's and Sarawak's parties, and rule Malaysia any way they like. They will then tell all the "others" to leave if they are not happy with UMNO.

YOu are giving wild accussation.YOU didnt mix with malay society and you didnt asked malay old folks who lived during pre Independent.I used to asked them about UMNO role in Independence.Most of them will responded with a malay proverb", ORANG LAIN YANG DAPAT ISI,ORANG LAIN YANG DAPAT KUAH".

The malay and bumiputras consist of 70% of the total population and increase year by year.The non malays have no choice.Either they accept malay leaderships who will be rule this country wisely and fair to everybody or the ones who will oppressed everybody including their own race..
written by teo siew chin, November 30, 2008 17:29:12
"..There is no longer any reason for Malaysians to fight Malaysians."
---------------------

rightly stated by a true Malaysian, to be emulated by us the true Malaysians!
written by LFLee, December 01, 2008 02:03:11
It is time some of you here to at least watch the documentaries
by Amir Muhammad:

1. Lelaki Komunist Terakhir / The Last Communist (2006)
2. Apa Khabar Orang Kampung / Village People Radio Show (2007)

to learn another piece of our national history. This is the least
you can do if you can't read long history books. Both documentaries
are banned in M'sia though, for apparent reason.

The BN govern dominate the 'right' to talk about 'history', so they
can ask Malaysian to 'appreciate' the 'Independence' that BN brought
to this country. Whether this is true or not, as Dr. Azly mention in
his article, as a citizen, you need to find out and ask this question.
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 17:01:41
My wife's grand father was a nationalist who fought the British in Sibu,Sarawak and managed to kill Sir Duncan Steward.He was only recognized not too long ago and a school in Deshon Road,Sibu,Sarawak was named after him in his honour.Why can't they do this to Chin Peng! They should rename KLIA as Chin Peng International Airport,Sepang.
written by ahmadneil, December 01, 2008 17:04:26
sorry,My wife grandfather is Rosli Dhobi.
written by Badaksumbu, December 02, 2008 00:06:10
wow! dear me, dear me...will they arrest me, the officers who arrested you, if I say they have less intelligent, may be even lower than orang utan from Sepilok? If they don't know what I talking about, they are worse the urang utan
written by batsman, December 02, 2008 08:41:09
What Panca Indera says about Chinese character is sadly true. Chinese tend to be revengeful. Maybe this is what UMNO is scared of by continuing to fight the Emergency many years after the peace accord has been signed. However, I think the real reason is present day politics. UMNO needs to keep the descendents of those who fought the British and Japanese forever guilty and looking over their shoulders in fear.

How else can you explain the friendly relations with Indonesians who attack us during the confrontation, the Japanese who kidnapped and killed hundreds of thousands during WW2, worse, with the British army which colonised us and which still continue to invade other countries such as Iraq and Afghanistan.

Malaysians must put this history behind them if they are to move forward. Both sides must be sincere in reapproachment. This constant quarreling and mutual suspicions help nobody except corrupt rulers.
written by jalapeno, December 03, 2008 17:18:16
I can forsee in 50 years time, our school children will learn that DSAI, Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Zaid Ibrahim, Teresa Kok, etc etc are all traitors who have done nothing for the country except trying to topple the government.