Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow PM: Understand yoga fatwa, don't twist it

PM: Understand yoga fatwa, don't twist it PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 11:32

The Negri Sembilan Regent Tunku Naquiyuddin Tuanku Jaafar agreed with Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and Perak Raja Muda Raja Dr Nazrin Shah that the National Fatwa Council should consult the rulers before issuing edicts on the yoga and tomboy issues.

The Sun

VPrime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi today urged all quarters to understand the content of the yoga fatwa issued by the National Fatwa Council and not twist facts which could confuse the public.

He said Muslims who performed yoga exercise and not chanting any mantra could carry on with their activity as it was good for their health.

"I wish to state that a physical regime with no elements of worship can continue, meaning, it is not banned. I believe that Muslims are not easily swayed into polytheism," he said when contacted by Bernama here.

Abdullah was asked to comment on the yoga fatwa  issue following the opposing views expressed by various quarters and the confusion that arose after the National Fatwa Council ruled that yoga was "haram" (forbidden in Islam) for Muslims as it involved chanting of mantra and acts of worship which are against Islamic teachings.

At the same time, the prime minister said, non-Muslims should not feel hurt or slighted by the announcement of the yoga fatwa as it was only applicable to Muslims.

"What I understand from the decision of the National Fatwa Council is that it was aimed at explaining to Muslims the implications of yoga practice."

Abdullah said he was also aware that the yoga fatwa would only be implemented after getting the consent of the Conference of Malay Rulers, reported Bernama.

Last Saturday, National Fatwa Council chairman Datuk Dr Abdul Shukor Husin announced that yoga exercise which involved chanting of mantra and acts of worship was "haram" as it was against Islamic teachings.

Yesterday, Negri Sembilan Regent Tunku Naquiyuddin Tuanku Jaafar also gave his views on the fatwa on yoga and tomboyism in his luncheon address on "The Role of the Constitutional Monarch in 21st Century Malaysia" organised by Asian Strategy and Leadership Institute (Asli) at a hotel here.

He agreed with Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah and Perak Raja Muda Raja Dr Nazrin Shah that the National Fatwa Council should consult the rulers before issuing edicts on the yoga and tomboy issues.

Tunku Naquiyuddin said rulers are well educated, well travelled and well informed and it would be in the interest of Islam Hadhari, the moderate form of Islam that the Government was propagating, that the rulers are fully involved in giving their opinion to avoid extremist tendencies as seen in other Islamic countries.

"Islam is a progressive religion and the Ulama should be confident of the followers’ faith rather than micro-managing their way of life," he said.

"If I pop into a church or a Buddhist temple, is there any fear of me converting? Take the Malay wedding (for example), the adat bersanding which is actually based on our Hindu heritage, so is this going to be banned in the future? Where do we draw the line?”

written by cheekymate, November 27, 2008 11:40:10
Daulat Tuanku! Your Highness Tunku Naquiyuddin truly deserves the utmost of respect of all your citizens for speaking without fear nor prejudice. Long live His Highness!
written by binarytan, November 27, 2008 11:41:04
understanding my foot, the complete gang of useless organization and idiot PM of the century. Look at malaysia now which is an international laugh stock. Economy nobody is handling with care, fatwa here fatwa there, alcohol ban here and there, non muslim no appearance, ketuanan Islam with PAS, complete gang of bull shit. Just wonder how is malaysia going to progress with so many useless leaders.smilies/angry.gif
written by temenggong, November 27, 2008 11:44:51
Malays must stop being in denial and come to accept that culturally they are still Hindus with islam overlayed on it. It is built into every part of their culture, diet, mannerisms, etiquette, language, pantuns, etc, with a unique peninsula twist. For instance, the baju kurung is the salwar kameez in a stylised form. The kebaya is a more stylised form of the baju kurung.
written by DagoRed94, November 27, 2008 11:48:12
At the same time, the prime minister said, non-Muslims should not feel hurt or slighted by the announcement of the yoga fatwa as it was only applicable to Muslims.

Are you trying to tell the non-muslims that they should mind their own business and not interfere when they see fellow Malaysians who are muslims being unfairly treated and abused by other muslims?

What kind of idiotic reasoning is this?
written by RumahPanjai, November 27, 2008 11:54:39
The bottom line is, whose in overall charge and protector of the religion. Is it the Sultans or the little mullahs who are now beyond and running out of control. Apparently they have been abusing their authorities and running wild with issuing fatwas that they even disregard the positions of the Sultans. They should also take note that the arab rituals and cultures evolved from paganism in the middle east.
written by Hakim Abdullah, November 27, 2008 12:01:44
Pak Lah, your leadership caused nothing but turmoil to our once great country. Look what our people are resorting to?..racial disharmony, religious factions, economy instability, political disunity, education stupidity. Once we were all one big happy family, Abangs, Ah Kors, Ah Chehs, Kakaks, Machas, Brothers, Sisters, Uncles, Aunties, Pak Cik, Makciks, Acis and everything respectful. Today after a few years of your administration, we became bastards to each other. Nobody have anymore respect for each other. You took away our peace to live together as one. Hope you are happy.
written by sisa, November 27, 2008 12:03:05
Progressive = slow steps backward

Hahaha..thats the direction as it looks now.
written by mikewang, November 27, 2008 12:07:41
So Yoga is now not haram if Muslims omit the chanting? Is that the ruling? Looks like our PM is adding to the confusion. smilies/smiley.gif
written by SimpleSoul, November 27, 2008 12:19:12
I wonder why are we so bothered about Yoga! Every Malaysian leaders and citizen should focus on the upcoming economical crisis. If we loose out attentions and get paralysed by the economy then no matter how much of YOGA we do would not do us any good. FOCUS MALAYSIANS,FOCUS
written by willove, November 27, 2008 15:41:51
Eventhough I strongly think that the Fatwah Council had wasted their time with nothing better to do and wasted our taxpayers' money for barking on petty issues, but I become more confused when this clown PakLah opens his mouth.
I can see cheers here and there in MT raining praises on Mr. Flip Flop when he's seemingly made the hero for voicing out for the Rakyat.
Question 1: Why had he NOT voiced out when this Fatwah on yoga has already been in the headlines for weeks?
Question 2: Who has the authoritative position on the Islamic issues? The Fatwah Council? The Rulers? The PM?
Question 3: If the Fatwah Council has the final say, why do they back down when the Rulers and PM voice out? Then who's responsible for the time, money and FACE wasted?
Question 4: If the decision lies with the Rulers, then who is to determine that all Rulers are religionly adequate? I personally know that most of the Royal families are more Western than the Westerners. So even for Islamic issues they overrule the Fatwah Council?
Question 5: If PM is the MAN, then does this mean besides running the country (not that he does though) our PM of Malaysia is also the decider in Islamic issues? This also means our PM is all-mighty? Then the 191 division heads must be Saints?
Question 6: If fatwahs are just guidelines, then why the heck the big fuss about it? If they are not, then to what extent are Muslims binded by them?

Malaysia Boleh! When we are struggling to fight the financial crisis...
written by peace lover, November 27, 2008 20:19:16
Please don't try to divert our attention on the mistake and irrespectful conduct of your FATWA council. Are you trying to say that your FATWA council has done correctly by by-passing our Rulers? You too, are indirectly being disrespectful to the Rulers! So, what are the Home Ministry, AG & PDRM going to do about these group of people? Don't "let us down" by playing double standard.

Oh yes, reminder to you and your FATWA gang, please refer/refresh your memory on 2nd (Kesetiaan kepada Raja dan Negara) and 5th principles (Kesopanan dan Kesusilaan) of our Prinsip-Prinsip Rukun Negara. You, ppl, have just commit 2 offences.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 27, 2008 22:06:17

written by willove, November 27, 2008 15:41:51
Eventhough I strongly think that the Fatwah Council had wasted their time with nothing better to do and wasted our taxpayers' money for barking on petty issues,

====

Hmmmm, the economy is not their concern , why should it be ? . After all, at the end of every month, the govt will pay their gaji without fail come rain or shine (economy wise). They will not be laid off like those who are working for the multinationals and in the other private sector.

They have plenty of time to pamper their ideosyncracies. I think govt servants pay should be linked to the health of the national economy !.