Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Mahathir: I'm no more in power to protect English use

Mahathir: I'm no more in power to protect English use PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 09:56
(Daily Express) Former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed said the fear of some in the country that learning and using English would erode the importance of Bahasa Malaysia, was unfounded.

He said he was criticised by nationalists for wanting the Government to continue teaching Science and Mathematics in English, but English was the only language where Malaysians could gain much knowledge in these two subjects.

"Before I stepped down as PM, I introduced this system because I felt it was necessary for us to gain knowledge. If we are going to translate all the works of Science and Mathematics into Bahasa Malaysia, then it would take a long time and we would lose out.

"But lately there has been a debate about this and that we need to revert to the old system of using Bahasa Malaysia to teach and learn Science and Maths.

"The Education Ministry is going to decide on this very soon. There are pros and cons to this and I do worry about it. Our people should know how to read, write and speak the national language but at the same time to gain knowledge, they should learn and use English," he added.

He said the amount of new knowledge was coming out "fast and furious" and Malaysians needed to grasp the knowledge, which were mostly in English.

"I hope I can stop the Government from going back to using Bahasa Malaysia to teach Maths and Science but I am no more in power. We have to accept whatever the decision although it may not be that good for the country."

He said the reason that Malaysia lacked teachers to teach the two subjects in English should not be an excuse because teachers could be substituted by computer software, "which is better than teachers sometimes".

written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 10:01:34
The idiot that started the rot thinks we expect him to fix it...

written by HamChak, November 27, 2008 10:02:30
Ya, la, Mahathir, you NO Longer in Power.
You started the problems. So let all of them ROT away lor.
Since that was your ideas, let it be. If they want to be
Bodoh, let Malaysia be BODOH. I have no problem with it.
written by HamChak, November 27, 2008 10:08:08
If you know English is so Important, why in the
first place, English was removed as an important subject
in the school. You caused all the problems, we Malaysians
are now suffering. So much other ills you created while
you were PM. I Totally have no respect for Racist like you.
written by borneoman, November 27, 2008 10:14:51
will the fcuking umno led bn refund the loss in my income when i was "disahkan dalam jawatan dengan berdenda" because i cant get a credit for my bahasa malay sial?
written by truthbespoken, November 27, 2008 10:24:17
Mahathir is no saint. But what he is saying now is partially right. The country needs English to progress. Everyone knows it. The positive implications are wide. But its implemenation should be done with sincerity. Not just for Science and Maths alone but to be at reintroduced at least as a subject in all schools. I am with the old man this time.
written by A MI, November 27, 2008 10:34:37
HAHAHA he is begging to come back.
written by alpha100, November 27, 2008 10:38:34
meaning "If I am in power, I just say the word and they toe the line!"
written by humanist, November 27, 2008 10:38:52
That is funny, the "SUMMER of 69" letter to Tunku from chedet, fanning so much of "Ketuanan Melayu" thingy of hatred of others, until the then Opportunistic Education Minister Rahman Yaakob changed it overnight to all BM medium, 1970 standard 1 all in Bahasa.

http://members.tripod.com/Anwa...letter.htm

He was the one that helped took down English medium. After that , he was the Education Minister too that bulldozed the policy through until he was PM, he let it run for 22 years under his watch, until today.

To protect it, that is one filthy mouth.

Al
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 10:47:40
The gates of hell is open.Ask Shit Hamid to show you the way Racist mahathir.
written by ROBERTNGTG, November 27, 2008 10:51:53
Mahathir: I'm no more in power to protect English use

THESE WERE YR CREATIONS AND THAT DECISION PUT US 15 YEARS BEHIND OUR NEIGHBOUR.
YOU WANT TO COME BACK AS PEEM OR DICTATOR AND DO MORE DAMAGE AH??
written by HamChak, November 27, 2008 11:18:52
Using Nationalism as a guise, Mahathir during his 22 years
also DESTROY the Standard of UniMalaya (UM). Look at our Local
Universities, semua "HALF PAST SIX". Most local graduates are
UNemployable. Know next to nothing. Really, Mahathir has turned
Malaysia into a BODOH Land.
Luckily I can afford to send all my children overseas.
Just one MAD man can destroyed a Nation.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 11:38:44
I am glad that this article is in this blog as I have wanted to post something to this effect.

Very recently, one of my Sarawakian staff’s sister got into a conversation with me regarding the difficulty for her, as a Malay, to get employment with Chinese owned companies. She went on about discrimination against employment of Malays in Sarawak and so forth. I asked her the following:

First, I asked how she rates her command of the English language, and she admitted she is not that conversant.

“Ok!”, I said, “Now, if the Chinese company does employ you, exactly what are you going to do in their office? I mean, with your poor command of English, how are you going to do the paper work as most of them will either be in the English language and Mandarin. Even Petronas Carigali’s contract correspondence are all in English!”.

She gave me a quizzical look as though surprised that I am not supportive of our Malay race, but remained quiet.

“So, do you expect the Chinese company to hire you to sit and fill space in their office? Or are you willing to be an office cleaner and coffee/tea maker?”

She still did not or could not answer me.

“Without a good working knowledge of English, I really don’t know where else you can get a job except in the government. Even the other Bumiputra companies require office employees to have a sound command of English.”

To cut a long story short, that girl is now on a course to improve on her command of the English language.

As for Mamathir advocating and emphasis on Bumiputras learning and getting a strong command of English, he is just a bloody hypocrite.
He had every chance to rectify that situation during his time as nobody would dare go against his directives. He chooses the path to keep his other Bumiputras ignorant as he knows it’s easier to rule over hapless people than educated people.
written by InEffective, November 27, 2008 11:49:48

another equally culpable is MusaHitam.

This forked-tongue was great at eroding the quality and autonomy of the universities.
Great at promises to manage the quotas fairly, but then did the reverse.
written by adan, November 27, 2008 12:05:08
During his corrupted regime, education of the children and welfare of the people were never in his list of his priorities. His first priority was to have absolute power by destroying the independence of law enforcement to make himself ABOVE the law.His second and last priority was to accuumulate enough wealth for himself,his families and his business cronies.(Prosper your cronies and they will take of you for life and beyond).Educational issues,social and racial problems, crimes and corruption were minor matters that had no place in his agenda.If he wants to return as PM it cannot be anything to do with eduaction or the wider use of English.....
written by pinsysu, November 27, 2008 12:13:15
the DESTROYER attempting to market himself as a potential SAVIOUR. he telling u since i caused it i can fix it. gimme 1 more chance? smilies/grin.gif
written by borneoman, November 27, 2008 12:14:10
a sarawakian friend of mine gratuated with a master degree from usa and is a lecturer in an institution of higher learning and after being in service for over 20yrs he said he has no chance to be even cönsidered for promotion all because he has no credit pass in bahasa malay sial.
written by joeawk, November 27, 2008 12:28:20
Now, copme on. He was education minister and it was him to change the medium of instruction in our schools way back in the 1970s.

I remembered clearly that those days whenever i see his picture on the nespaper, I will wet the tip of my index finger and poke through his picture.

He was and still is, a racist and he is the main reason for every ill that malaysia has today.

Whilet he call for increased use of the English Lanaguage is commendable, Malaysians must know that before the 70s, many schools teach all subjects in English except Bahasa Malaysia and perhaps chinese and tamil, and it was Mahatir who was the culprit education minister who did away with the English Language as a medium of instruction and thus we have lost a whole generation of schools leavers who are less proficient in the world language, English.

For him to say that ha can no longer protect English when he was the destroyer smack of hypocrisy of the lowest order.
written by Tan Tan, November 27, 2008 12:30:54
Come on ppls, be more objective here and just concentrate on the subject and not Dr.M.

I agreed with Dr.M's viewpoint that Maths and Science should be teach in English as it will benefit Malaysian. So this a good cause that we should fight for.

We already learning our BM, Sejarah, Geography, Moral, Seni, Kemahiran Hidup and Islamic studied in Bahasa Malaysia. It should enough
written by asguard, November 27, 2008 12:51:11
Simple if one don't use and speak english where is he going find his bowl of rice?
written by pixieface, November 27, 2008 13:46:19
How 'mudah kau lupa'. It was during your first term as PM that english was removed
as the second compulsory subject. I remembered it very vividly. I was lucky that my year was the second last year for the exam 'MCE'. In fact my classmate hanifah
lamented that you have no foresight. How could english subject be discarded in the syllabus. Both of us enjoyed shakespeare so much, hanifah and I.
I read that SXI, penang, waved goodbye to their last brother HM. Now I wonder who
could take over as HM. Another umno goon related???
Oh BTW, kedah used to be the main paddy producer in malaysia. Now, we are exporting rice from thailand. How clever is that???
written by pixieface, November 27, 2008 13:47:23
'exporting' should be importing.
written by mafiaa, November 27, 2008 15:18:48
ORANG MELAYU MESTI MENGUBAH SIKAP DAN MENTALITI MEREKA...JANGAN TERLALU AGUNGKAN BAHASA SENDIRI SEHINGGA MASA DEPAN TERGADAI ! BUKAN MELAYU BERKERJA KERAS MEMPELAJARI BAHASA ENGGERIS DAN PADA MASA SAMA MEMPERTAHANKAN BAHASA MASING MASING...OLEH ITU TIDAK HAIRAN KANAK KANAK BUKAN MELAYU BOLEH BERTUTUR DALAM TIGA BAHASA ! MANAKALA KANAK KANAK MELAYU PULA CUMA SATU BAHASA ! BAGAIMANA KITA BOLEH BERGERAK KE HADAPAN APABILA KITA TIDAK MAHU BERUSAHA KERAS DAN MENYALAHKAN ORANG BUKAN MELAYU TELAH MERAMPAS HAK KITA APABILA MEREKA TELAH BERGERAK JAUH KE HADAPAN ??? TOLONGLAH...UBAHLAH SIKAP YANG JALAN KE BELAKANG....JANGAN MALUKAN BANGSA KITA...
THE MALAY MUST CHANGE THEIR ATTITUDE AND MENTALITY... THE NON MALAY EAGERLY AND WILLINGLY WORK VERY HARD TO MASTER THE ENGLISH TO MOVE FORWARD WHILE THE MALAY SHUNS THE LANGUAGE DUE TO ANTI COLONIAL SYNDROME OR INFERIORITY COMPLEX OR MAYBE LACK OF LEARNING ABILITY OR HERD MENTALITY OR THE HATE SYNDROME.
written by Old Man, November 27, 2008 23:03:15
MM likes to use the RACIAL card by shouting Bumiputra and/or Malaysia Boleh! Little did our fellow Bumis / Malays knew that MM was making use of them to stay in power. The Top Salesman of Proton of yesteryears is driving PORSHE ( renowned German sports car )today instead of Proton while our fellow Bumis /Malays are still in the dark about the importance of the English language!
Non-Malays never questioned and/or challenged the status of Bahasa Melayu and/or Islam. It's always the extremists and/or racists in politics that make false accusations by making them into issues which are actually non-existent.
For once at least give MM a chance to admit his mistakes and recify the problem of not giving due respect for the usage of the English language while he was in power. Cursing MM does not benefit anybody. Just forgive him and let us Malaysians ( regardless of race or religion ) move forward as one. Sir RPK ought be to elected as our next Agung and/or PM. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif