Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Perlis Mufti shrugs off ‘smear campaign’ against him

Perlis Mufti shrugs off ‘smear campaign’ against him PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 09:29
(The Star) The outgoing Mufti of Perlis Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin is unconcerned about an ongoing smear campaign against him, especially after his latest statement on the fatwa on yoga.

He said the move to denigrate him by certain parties was a waste of time.

“I have been aware of this for quite some time now. Actually, this is not just about the yoga issue. I think they are worried that when I am no longer the Perlis Mufti, I may join politics,” he said in an interview with mStar Online yesterday.

Asri, whose doctoral thesis was on the study of the hadiths, said that those who had questioned his credibility to speak on religious issues should check his academic qualifications.

He said he received his PhD from the International Islamic University before going to lecture at Universiti Sains Malaysia.

“If I’m not fit to comment about a fatwa, what about the other muftis who don’t have such qualifications?”

Asri’s last day as Perlis Mufti will be on Sunday.

On Monday, in commenting on the National Fatwa’s Council’s edict on yoga, Asri had suggested that the council be more flexible when issuing any fatwa.

written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 09:46:06
Perompak ganti pencuri.
Penfitnah ganti pembohong.

written by Malaysiaputra, November 27, 2008 09:46:56
If I’m not fit to comment about a fatwa, what about the other muftis who don’t have such qualifications?”

=====

The problem in Malaysia is that people from Jakim and their cohort are narrow minded with their kampung mentality.

As I read in another blog article in MT how the majority of the Malaysian students at Al Azhar fail. Of those who scrape through, I would guess, the majority are borderline passes. So what can we expect from such low quality graduates ????.

If Jakim had come out with an advice to warn the Muslims who are practicing Yoga to be weary of how a certain level , such and such practices may affect one's faith, matter would have been different.

However, as their mind are not open, they cannot see matters from a wider perspective. Sad isn't it ?.
written by truthbespoken, November 27, 2008 09:56:49
Dear Dato Asri,

Stay the positive and progressive Islamic cause. You are an honest person true to your own conscience. You are that rare breed of uncorrupted and thinking Muslims in Malaysia.

Wherever your next station may be, your pragmatic views will be respected by many Malaysians. All the best in your future endeavours.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 10:06:43
Be truthful to yourself and the truth will come forth!
written by temenggong, November 27, 2008 11:11:00
Perak or Selangor should hire him as the mufti.
written by teo siew chin, November 27, 2008 12:48:33
are there are serious self-esteem issues plagueing the "authorities".

those without proper credentials seem to have a greater say than those who do not, common-sense included.
written by Farouk, November 27, 2008 16:36:12
Dato Asri, I really admire your integrity and moreover, your intellectual prowess. May you continue to bring the light of reason to the minds of the Muslimeen.
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 16:59:00
Dato Asri ... of course you should not be overly concerned ... these people are just poor/sore losers! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by hanisma, November 27, 2008 17:44:10
Don't tell me that the other Muftis who are against Dr Asri's view are also against the credentials of IIUM. You've taken a wise step Dr Asri, so as not to bother about these loosers' criticisms, most probably dictated by the Umnoputeras. Let them be in their own world, i.e. 'under the coconut shell'!!
written by amoker, November 27, 2008 20:21:58
Too bad that talents continue to be harassed upon that they quit. Dr Asri has shown that he is a thinking leader among the ulamaks. He does not want to such up to the government. Best wishes to your next action.