Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Don't pick on Anwar's past decisions, says PKR

Don't pick on Anwar's past decisions, says PKR PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 01:34

Kota Kinabalu (Daily Express, Sabah): Picking on the past decisions of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and making personal attacks is a desperate attempt to divert people's attention from the real issue, said Parti Keadilan Rakyat.

PKR Sabah deputy chief Daniel John said his boss Anwar was not asking for higher royalty for personal interest but for the interest of Sabahans.

In a statement here Tuesday, he said judging from Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Aman's stand on the issue to get higher oil royalty for Sabah, "it is obvious that the Chief Minister is clearly not interested in fighting for the rights of Sabahans".

"He is obviously trying to find the right way to handle the issue because he initially said the agreement cannot be changed, but when another BN leader said no statute is cast in stone, he is now saying, such a change in the agreement is not easy "because it would take a long time for all parties to agree," he said.

He said the Barisan Nasional (BN) Government in Sabah had promised in the last election campaign to fight for the rights of Sabahans and, therefore, called on the coalition not to make excuses.

Daniel said Sabah BN leaders had nothing to lose if the royalty is increased and that the people would be thankful, especially to the Chief Minister if he pursued such a noble objective.

Stating that the State had been receiving billions of ringgit in development allocation is just an excuse, he said.

"I would like to ask why the State is still the poorest in Malaysia. Most of the recently approved projects were only gimmicks because they have actually not been implemented.

"It is very questionable if the BN Government actually has the money to implement them since all these while they have admitted that they have been using funds from Petronas to undertake mega projects," he said.

Daniel said whatever it is, "such allocations are our rightful dues which should be given to any state in Malaysia even if it didn't have any oil."

"Now that we do have oil, we deserve at least 20 per cent royalty, not the small pittance of 5 per cent," he said.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by Wakeupmsia, November 27, 2008 02:05:12
Daniel John - I couldn't agree with you more. DSAI and his family have innocently suffered during the Regime years. I did not like nor trusted DSAI of yesteryears but I've a strong gut feeling that he is a Changed Person. Today, I vowed my loyalty to DSAI and Pakatan Rakyat. They can make Malaysia a better place for All Malaysians irrespective of race or religion. Afterall, what have we got to lose? Let's unite to face the globalised world. United We Stand, Divided We Fall. BN excluded.
written by rajaphillips, November 27, 2008 03:15:17
The suffering endured by DSAI and family during his incarceration, the cruelty and pain inflicted by Mahathir a/l Mohamed on him and the family is more than enough to convince anyone that DSAI IS A CHANGED MAN. Changed because he now knows the true meaning of a suffering rakyat, he knows pain, humiliation, despair, failure and all the negative things that afflict the ordinary rakyat. We must now look at him in these context for such a person is normally a leader with their feet on the ground and realistic.
written by Tompios, November 27, 2008 05:14:46
Most of the UMNO Malays celup in Sabah adalah tukang jilat UMNO Malaya. Musa Aman siapa tidak kenal dia. Dia orang kaya, ada busines dgn federal. Dia boleh tinggal di mana-mana di dunia ini. Orang kaya!! It's okey jadi orang kaya tapi tidak okey bila tidak fikir 100 tahun ke depan, masa depan Sabah. Sabah's interests? Sorrylah. Kalau Paksitan Pushtun's interest for sure interested punya. Apalagi kalau cakap pasal 'sumandak' Pushtun.

Cuba senaraikan Ketua Menteri Sabah dari golongan Melayu Celup yang mempertahankan negara Sabah. Tun Mustapa? Sorrylah geng, dia flamboyan terkemuka dan pembawa warga asing masuk Sabah. Datuk Haris? Penjual aset Sabah dan penjaja agama Islam di Sabah. Datuk Osu Sukam? Kelakar, sembayang 5 waktu tapi hutang judi berjuta-juta. Datuk Sakaran Dandai? No effect lansung! Datuk Musa Aman? Nah ini dia Ketua Menteri Sabah yang paling glamour, meneruskan tradisi tidak interested dgn Sabah's interests.

Antara pemimpin Islam yang telah bertaubat ialah Tun Mustapha Harun. Dia mati dalam bendera Parti Pembangkang PBS yang kini telah murtad dari perjuangan sebenar Rakyat Sabah.
written by trulymalaysian, November 27, 2008 05:20:14
What a well written artical by "Proarte" (above) but why do i smell a rat. Is this another one of UMNO gomen trying to penetrate into the blogging world. Try harder but for now DSAI is our saviour and he will need time to make changes. This is called running of a Country/State not running a MAMAK stall brother. Actually stoped going to mamak stalls long time ago now smilies/grin.gif
written by lynn, November 27, 2008 06:16:52
trulymalaysian, you are spot on.
the umno gomen used people like proarte to 'change ppl's minds'.. to be hesitant abt their support for Anwar. all those issues he listed out, they are least important as compared to issues of corruption, cronyism and massive abuse of power.

it's like, he created scenarios (hypothetical) that appeal to the man on the street. this is like a conman, going round trying to con the ladies, he approaches 100 ladies, and probably get lucky with 5 or 10% success.

he knows the man on the street is only able to grasp those issues, and that's their limit. the man on the street have no idea what it means by abuse of power.
written by nanakassim, November 27, 2008 07:57:06
Proarte, I agree with your approach in asking if a leopard could change its spots. Obviously not. And this applies equally to Umno. After 51 years under Umno, I am willing to try anyone you don't have faith in.
written by DreamLady, November 27, 2008 08:26:04
nanakassim, thank you for correcting Proarte. He is targetting Anwar like a blind man shooting aimlessly in the air.

He is confused between reformation and formation of a new party. Please, guide him.
written by Taikohtai, November 27, 2008 08:29:18
Personal attacks on DSAI are nothing new. Even Jesus, Muhammad and Buddha have their detractors. But lets just take a simple test and look at the their families.
Now, we all have families and how a family behaves and performs is an excellent testimony on values:

DSAI - Wife: Just great, Daughter - any excellent example
AAB - Current Wife - Great, but SIL - ??
Najib - Wife - Kaboooommm!
TDM - Daughter: Boleh tahan, SONS - BILLIONAI$E$$
LKS - SON - LGE - BAGUS!
NIK - SON - ??

Give me Pakatan Rakyat values anytime; BN's always self serving and divisive.
written by chrisyong, November 27, 2008 08:51:03
5% is not bad if the entire 5% goes to Sabah for development and social support. However, I ugess 4.5% goes to some peoples' pocket to carry out projects with the 5% and left with 0.5%. Just demand for everything to be CAT, implement it strictly and sort out corruption problem and abuse of power. Have projects discussed, planned, researched with the Rakyat's representatve before even annouce it.......... Even 20% may end up with 0.5% and the rest goes to corruption!!! Don't bark on the wrong subject!
written by Proarte, November 27, 2008 09:01:32
nanakassim wrote:

"Proarte, I agree with your approach in asking if a leopard could change its spots. Obviously not. And this applies equally to Umno. After 51 years under Umno, I am willing to try anyone you don't have faith in. "

I don't have any faith in Robert Mugabe. He seems to be deeply unpopular in Zimbabwe. How about inviting him to lead Pakatan? Is he better than anything UMNO can offer? smilies/wink.gif
written by nanakassim, November 27, 2008 09:11:02
Proarte suggested that I invite Bob Mugabe to lead Pakatan.

Sure, Proarte. You arrange for the Work Permit and I will handle the medical side of his employment. And if Bob doesn't perform up to expectation, we cancel his work permit. That's check and balance, if you must know.

Thanks for the brilliant suggestion, anyway.
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 09:44:32
Sure, a leopard does not lose its spots. But it can be tamed and put into good use as long as we all keep it under watch. It can perhaps keeps the hyenas at bay.

Or would you rather have that bunch of hyenas with their stealing instincts?

written by Thinker, November 27, 2008 10:05:06
Have to agree with Proarte here. I'm firmly in the camp of "Anwar is probably the lesser of all evils" like what RPK wrote yesterday. That's the only reason he's getting a chance. His previous history when in power shows nothing about reformation or being anti-corruption but he isn't surrounded by the same corruption scandals of his former UMNO colleagues.

If he manages to form the next government and the government is good, they'll get another term. If it's just BN mark II, they won't get another chance but neither will Malaysia. I'm sure he knows that and that's why I'm hoping they'll perform. He's in his last chance saloon and so is Malaysia.
written by adan, November 27, 2008 10:39:17
Proarte sounds like a pro... pro BN, probably a stooge,and a pro prepared/prepaid to write to discredit the reform agenda and the recent political gains of the PAKATAN RAKYAT. He is likely to be one of the privilaged few enjoying the CORRUPTED BOUNTY and fears that the winds of change may drastically change his fortunes. This is the kind of leopard that will never change its spots. It is their only identity.!1

Proarte may be on a special mission to belittle and devalue Pakatan in general and Anwar in particular through the process of 'turning over' or brain wshing the readers and the public. Worse still , he may aim to instigate the readers to push Anwar to make his moves faster and more recklessly and TRAP him once again with their evil and devilish ways. We have made SUBSTANTIAL AND POLITICAL GAINS. Let us not be too irrational or impatient and throw away all. BEWARE OF CONSPIRATORS AT WORK!!!
written by Bentoh, November 27, 2008 10:53:47
I support Anwar, frankly speaking it's because he is the best of the worse...

Past records are always your political mileage... How can PKR tell us how amazing it was when Anwar was Finance minister, when we were enjoying low and unincreased fuel price those days... and then again tell us that we should not pick on some of his past decisions?

Hilary Clinton got thrashed in 2008 primary for voting Yes to Iraq war back in 2002... and if in the future she's going to run for president, she will still be criticised on her past decisions...

Take the criticism and do something, prove to us that you are truly changed, not hiding behind and keep telling us past decisions don't matter...

And in fact he was the man behind the Sabah political coup in 1994... which contributed to the current ill state of Sabah...
written by cheekymate, November 27, 2008 10:57:59
Why are we squabbling over the obvious? Ask yourself the simple question. Are you sick to the core of the bloody idiotic UMNOputras? Do you want to stop them from robbing us blind? Affirmative? Then arm ourselves against government propaganda. They are so good at their game that we will be easy prey to them knowing that we are divided and weak.
Give our man DSAI a sincere chance, ok? To err is human; to forgive is divine.
Let him fight his way into Putrajaya first. Stand united and offer our FULL SUPPORT ALWAYS. There will be ample time to pass our judgement later.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 11:03:21
Proarte, Proarte where are thou?

I concurred with your rational about DSAI.

To those diehard supporter of DSAI, don’t get so uptight over our views; yah!

We support the PKR and will definitely vote for them. However, in supporting DSAI, it does not mean we agree with everything he do and say. As Proarte mentioned, a matured person like DSAI might not stray too far from his early life. And DSAI early life leaves a lot to be desired due to his involvement and even leadership of hardliner Muslims. Furthermore, DSAI silence on controversial Islamic issues makes one wonder whether he is for or against these issues. These are rather very disconcerting thoughts of what kind of leader DSAI will metamorphosis into when he do becomes the PM of Malaysia. Will DSAI lean towards the radical or moderate form of Islam? That’s an important question as whichever way he takes will have far reaching consequences for the new Malaysia. With PAS as a component party of the PKR, it will not take much for DSAI to swing towards the radical side.

What Proarte, even bro Pete and others like us are advocating is, we should voice out our concern of DSAI action and inaction which we think are not what we want in a new government. Hopefully, DSAI will pick up on these voices and refrain from venturing into these areas in fear of losing our support. If every supporter remains quiet and unvocal, DSAI might get the impression that we all will continue to support him even in his radical form. Is this the type of DSAI we want to be our PM? To me, the answer is a resounding NO!

Now you diehard DSAI supporters (my lycc included smilies/sad.gif)can “hantam’ me “puas-puas” and even accuse me of being an UMNO stooge or whatever! smilies/grin.gif
written by Proarte, November 28, 2008 06:11:23
I think it is foolhardy to portray politicians as saints who can do wrong. They need criticism in order to keep them in the straight and narrow path.

Anwar has alot of baggage so we have to be extra careful of him. He certainly knows how to talk the talk but in walking the talk, he has been a dismal failure.

Another reason to be concerned about Anwar is his Islamic Politics. This does not sit well in a plural democracy such as ours. He has shown himself to align himself with extreme atavistic forces which have damaged the unity of Pakatan.

His naked ambition to become PM and to use East Malaysians in the process is no different to the exploitative nature of UMNO. What did he do for the Sabahans when they wanted to build the Ma Zu statue which was blocked by UMNO for none other than supremacist and bigoted reasons. In fact it was ABIM, the Muslim organisation which Anwar founded which was a major driving force in supporting the stop work order by Musa Aman. It caused so much hurt in the non-Muslim community and division amongst the races. Anwar has been standing idly by in a manner aptly described by the proverb ' baling batu sembunyi tangan'.

Malays must ask themselves why their brand of Islam is intolerant, paranoid, discriminatory, insulting, demeaning and based on promoting false teachings?

Has ever a non-Muslim group objected to the building of a Mosque and called it a 'desecration' of a non-Muslim place of worship? If Islam is the religion of the federation, it cannot be said to be the religion of Sabah. So why is Islam being the 'big bully' and forced down people's throats? Surely this leads to unnecessary division in a society which enjoyed harmonious relations between the races and religions until Malay Islam reared its ugly head.

We see this desire to divide and sow hatred very much in the Islam of the peninsula. The Yoga, Tomboy, alcohol banning, Revathi, Lina Joy, storming of the Bar Council issue part of this evil divisive trend. To what end? Any person with an ounce of decency and intelligence will realise it has nothing to do with doing Allah's Will on earth but instead has more to do with the will of spiritually and morally bankrupt politicians who use Islam in feathering their nests.

Anwar has made a career of using Islam for political kudos and as a 'bargaining chip'. It is about time he stops this nonsense and bring sanity to Malay Islam. He cannot absolve himself as he was instrumental in bringing about 'Islamisation' of the civil service and bringing Islam into political discourse to the exclusion of other religions. This wicked and exploitative policy not surprisingly saw the inexorable slide in ethical and moral standards in the civil service and the Malay body politic.

The rot in our society today is due to this brand of Malay Islam which is Anwar's Frankenstein's monster. He created it and it is his responsibility to smother it to death.