Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal gets 57 signatures for debate on Zaki

Karpal gets 57 signatures for debate on Zaki PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 01:28

By Husna Yusop and Giam Say Khoon (The Sun)

KARPAL SINGH (DAP-Bukit Gelugor) today managed to get the signatures of 57 MPs -- a quarter of the total of 222 -- to file a motion under Standing Order 36(8) and Article 127 of the Federal Constitution to debate the conduct of Chief Justice Tan Sri Zaki Azmi.

At a press conference at the parliament lobby, Karpal said the 57 were made up of Pakatan Rakyat MPs as well as an independent MP from Sepanggar, Datuk Eric Enchin Majimbun.

He said Article 127 of the Federal Constitution allows for the debate on the conduct of a judge with the support of one-fourth of the MPs.

“Such a subjective motion requires 14 days notice, so it will be on the order paper before the house adjourns in December," he said.

“I have given Zaki until today to step down (for his correctional statement clarifying that he was misinterpreted  in a news report on Nov 8). So we have to take it further.

“We now want to debate Zaki as he (allegedly) lied (in his correctional statement) in his capacity as a chief justice.

“The clarification is clearly a lie, bringing the entire judiciary, of which he is the head, into disrepute."

Earlier in the Dewan Rakyat, Karpal had moved an emergency motion to debate the statement made by Zaki on Nov 7 on his alleged “experience” in bribing court officials when he was still a practising lawyer in 1987.

Tan Sri Zaki Azmi

The emergency motion was rejected by Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia on Nov 12 as the house was not allowed to debate the conduct of the judges unless a quarter of the total MPs supported it, as stipulated in the Federal Constitution.

Karpal also urged the prime minister to invoke the provision of Article 125(3) of the Federal Constitution to refer Zaki to a tribunal appointed by the King in accordance with clause 4 to remove him from office.

Asked if he felt that the motion will be read out and debated, Karpal said the speaker cannot reject the motion now.

“We will insist that it will be discussed even after the government business,” he said.

On whether he was in possession of  a recording of Zaki's statement, he said: “We have the recording and since there is no denial from the chief justice, we accepted it as the truth."

Karpal also accused Minister in the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz of "lying again" when Nazri said  a letter by the King to the chief secretary to the government was not made public for 20 years and, therefore, he did not know about the pensions  paid to the sacked judges.

“A story was carried on The Star on Oct 7, 1988 that the King had ordered that pension to be given to the judges,” he said, adding that he will produce the paper cutting of the report tomorrow.

written by Spear Bing, November 27, 2008 02:01:11
There is nothing sinister about Karpal Singh's motion, if it is not perceived from the political lens.

In actual fact , this is how legal brains function according to due diligence and process of ethical governance. And ethically, tribunal should be set up accordingly.

Zaki has to blame himself for uttering such bashful statement, especially coming from the nation's highest court official. He should not be immuned from any judiciary privelege.
written by Engineer, November 27, 2008 02:40:21
In this land, the problem is that people at the apex of any organization is irresponsible to the rakyat and think with snob and disregards towards other intellects.

The carry out their duty in robotic manners as if being given a lobotomy.

Such characters are the favorites of UMNO's PM.
written by Tompios, November 27, 2008 04:39:55
smilies/grin.gif terlajak perahu boleh ditarik, terlajak kata buruk padahnya oi saudara Zaki. Encik Nazri juga sebiji, kura-kura dalam perahu, pura-pura tidak tahu. Masih muda tapi sudah pikun.
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 06:55:27
Didn't we fail with the people's petition against him as choice for CJ? Maybe, Karpal is giving us a second chance here ......
written by dumbfounded, November 27, 2008 08:23:05
Karpal is one of our heros =)
written by MAMR, November 27, 2008 08:46:37
If proven true, we cannot have somebody who is involved in bribery to hols the highest judiciary position in Malaysia.
written by chrisyong, November 27, 2008 08:56:28
If everyone carry out their duties dilegently, there should not be a case of BOLEHLAND anymore. Karpal you need to be careful as someone may lodge police report against you and when you are at police station they will ask to produce the proof of audio tape, otherwise you may be charged for defamation and somehow they will find a way to ISA you. You must learn from RPK's experience, they are not interested in the issue but the proof and then cover up for Zaki. Thank you for your perseverence to purse justice and uprighteousness against the unshameful people.
written by indianputra, November 27, 2008 09:38:59
Karpal, please don't waste your energy and steam on this issue. It really does not matter. Watch his performance from now. Meanwhile you concentrate on National Unity and National economy.
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 09:51:08
Yes Karpal, go get those thieves, liars and murderers. Thanks.

written by malsia1206, November 27, 2008 09:56:15
This is a serios matter. The primary issue goes into the credibility and integrity of a Judge, more so in the case of the elevated position of the Chief Justice. Parliament is one avenue. But should not the Bar Council press the issue further? After having released a press statement recently, the Council appears to be a dead and lame duck. Is the Council waiting for another dinner invitation from the Government to resolve the doubts? When it comes to the crunch, the Council cannot only do so much to make a press statement?
written by temenggong, November 27, 2008 10:21:39
If this motion to debate leads to a vote, then this could be the move to oust the govt.
written by cheekymate, November 27, 2008 15:32:13
Wheel chair bound but boy oh boy, this veteran fighter is one helluva gutsy tanker.
Press for the debate and expose their lies and incompetence in parliament
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 16:19:03
Honourable Kapal Singh, you are really the "Malaysian Bulldog".
The moment something gets your attention, you bite into it and never let go.

My deepest respect and admiration for you Sir, especially in your wheelchair confined state.