Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Maika should be liquidated, says CEO

Maika should be liquidated, says CEO PDF Print
Thursday, 27 November 2008 01:21

KUALA LUMPUR (Bernama), Nov 26 — Maika Holdings Bhd, in its existing structure, will continue to be a punching bag for aspiring politicians to make political gains, according to its chief executive officer S. Vell Paari.

As such, it would be better for Maika to be liquidated, he said in a statement today.

Vell Paari said this in response to the claim by businessman, Datuk V.K.K. Teagarajan, that Maika had suffered losses and its shares, which were priced at RM1.00 apiece when it was formed in 1986, were now sold for 30 sen each.

He said the company last year had proposed a resolution to sell all its assets and distribute the surplus to shareholders.

“Maika would have been in a position to buy back its shares at a minimum of RM1.00 each including its bonus shares, but that plan has to be put on hold due to injunction by a shareholder to stop the company from acting on the resolutions,” he said.

Vell Paari said Maika had tried discussing with the shareholder to come to an amicable solution.

In the meantime, he said, Maika has submitted an application to the High Court to allow it to set a date to hold an extraordinary general meeting (EGM) and the court has set to hear the application on Dec 2.

“If successful, Maika will then immediately call for an EGM to approve the resolution for share buyback at a minimum of RM1.00,” he said.

He said since the announcement of the buyback plan at RM1.00 per share, there were unscrupulous people who preyed on innocent shareholders so that they could make a quick 70-sen profit per share.

“I will get my officers to immediately call Teagarajan to give information on any knowledge of the 30 sen per share transaction that has taken place," he said.

Vell Paari said for shareholders who approached Maika to sell their shares, the company would identify potential buyers to undertake transactions at RM1.00 per share.

He said since there were many shareholders who did not want to cash out and wanted the company to exist, it would be advisable to set up a new company (newco).

“The funds of the shareholders who wanted to stay and the remaining assets of Maika after liquidation would then be transferred to the newco, which would have new board members appointed by shareholders,” he said. — Bernama

written by Wakeupmsia, November 27, 2008 01:31:53
When you think of liqudation, why were the good assets and businesses transferred out some months back? Have a heart for your fellow poor Malaysian Indians contributors. May God have mercy!
written by rajaphillips, November 27, 2008 02:59:37
Besides the many sins of Samy, this is one of his biggest sin and scandal towards the poor,estate and labourer Indian. My MIC Indian friend told me how he coaxed the Indians to invest by saying, "Give me your one dollar and I will make it two, bring your ten and I will make it twenty". Almost every Indian trusted this rogue then. One reason was bcos he was Mahathir a/l Mohamed Iskandar Kutty's best friend and all Indians thought that he would use that connection to uplift the poor.

The one chance Maika (and the poor Indians) ever had to recover was when the Telekom shares were given but that too was hijacked and pocketed and when the ACA went after him guess who shielded and saved him? Right, Mahathir a/l Mohamed Iskandar Kutty and $100 mil. ringgit of poor people's money was squandered and till today Samy is behaving like he has done no wrong. The Hindraf uprising was a very good lesson for him, he lost his Sg Siput seat. For the sake of the poor, let us all, yes all Malaysians irrespective of race, help keep up that momentum started by Hindraf and Pakatan and make sure this rascal and people like him become politically dead forever.

written by Spear Bing, November 27, 2008 03:26:19
Tackle and address the root causes of MAIKA's dismal performance. It's all about accountability, transparency, responsibility intergrity and trust of the management team. Clearly it is a case of pure greed and imcompetency. And the shareholders have partly to be blamed for not courageous enough to boot out all the under-performed and corrupted management officials.

No matter how 'invincible' MIC leaders are portrayed to be, whether in their physical display or verbal supremacy, the bottom line is still "PEOPLES'POWER"!A nd that means the supreme authority of the shareholders. Pathetically, the Indian shareholders are so meek, submissive,compliant, spiritless and sullied.
written by lakshy, November 27, 2008 04:42:51
"Maika Holdings Bhd, in its existing structure, will continue to be a punching bag for aspiring politicians to make political gains, according to its chief executive officer S. Vell Paari.

As such, it would be better for Maika to be liquidated, he said in a statement today"

Whats the connection? Whats the rationale? How does the first statement about being a punching bag make it justifiable to liquidate Maika? All you need is to employ capable people to run the various business units and make them profitable and give dividends to the shareholders. This company has not paid a single dividend to all shareholders, except the biggest ones! What qualification does Vell Paari bring to the company to be its CEO? Therein lies the reason for its dismal failure. Or is it a manufactured failure?

As pointed out above by WakeupMsia, Maika disposed of huge acreage (hundreds of acres) of land in Sepang recently (last year)).
a) Who was the buyer? i.e was it a related party? i.e Paari and Dad or proxy?
b) Did they get fair market value for it?
c) What happened to the proceeds?
d) Did they get shareholder approval for the disposal?
written by lakshy, November 27, 2008 04:44:20
Vell Paari, do all Indians a favour, and hand over the reins to someone like Tony Fernandes who would be able to turn in a healthy profit. Quit. Both you and family should stop meddling in the operations.
written by ssathia, November 27, 2008 05:18:11
I agree with Vel Paari. Maika can do nothing with its current control by MIC politicians, their children and cronies. So, please do the right thing.

We the people, challenge you to show your sincerety in turning around Maika by steppping aside and handing over the management to a truly professional team. I am sure Maika can be turned into a performing company within one year.
written by ahmadneil, November 27, 2008 08:57:19
Maika is been bankrupted by Samy the greedy.
written by chrisyong, November 27, 2008 09:00:21
Should not just liquadate Maika. Go for full investigation to recover the loot and take action against those theives for the sake of the poor Indian Community. Why should ALL be covered up. Even the AP case of Rafidah can be revisited to make things right!
written by indianputra, November 27, 2008 09:36:35
Why can't the Government bail out Maika Holdings, the way they did for MAS, Bank Bumi, Proton etc?
written by alpha100, November 27, 2008 09:42:18
Yes! Don't just liquidate it! Have full investigation and charge any culprit where there is misappropriation or mismanagement of funds!
written by BennyG, November 27, 2008 09:51:46
Maika's objective to raise the standard of living for the Indians had failed due to its management and corrupt leadership.

HINDRAF had shown Malaysians the power of the people but sadly the shareholders of Maika did not have such leadership.

Guess who would benefit most if Maika would liquidate itself and buy back the shares at RM1. It's like milking a dead cow and telling the shareholders that you will get more milk later.

Sack the management & board of directors of Maika if the shareholders were to gain anything from their investment!
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 09:52:13
Dear Indians,

After they have looted the shop they tell you they will be closing it...

written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 09:53:01
And at the worst possible time. One last loot perhaps.

written by Apache, November 27, 2008 10:13:41
Dear Indians,

Who the f__k is S.Vel Pari. he is the son of the basted Shitvelu.
They have plundered and cheated us malaysian indians and will still keep on doing it any chance.
My parents and relatives hard earned savings were lost when they trusted these bastards. im the least bothered what happens to Maika Holdings, can someone tell me one good thing that came out from them for we indians
I pray they burn in hell for all the sins. whose than bank robbers.
written by temenggong, November 27, 2008 10:25:29
Hold that EGM to approve the share buy back plan, and appoint a Liquidator! Let the Liquidator dispose the assets of Maika.
written by Christopher, November 27, 2008 10:27:07
Vel Pari should not have been appointed to run Maika in the first place. He did not have any credentials to run Maika except for that his father was mIC chief. He need to prove to the Maika shareholders his achievements ( without his father's help) in the corporate sector.
The bane of Maika shareholders was that it allowed MIC run it. If it was given to professional and dedicated executives to run it in the first palace, Maika would have been a billio Ringgit company now. United Oriental Assurance could have been floated and Maika members would have got RM100 million just from it the. Tumbuk Estate which sits next to KLIA could have given them another 100 million,if properly developed.Anthonian Store would have been worth 10 million, Matrix Hotel could have been profit generating. The brick factory, etc should not have been ventured into as these are not expert areas of Maika. The Telekms shares could have given millions to maika etc.
Any idiot could have made Maika ten times stronger during the heydays of the stock market.
What happened was that self serving management in Maika was there to make side income at the expense of Maika shareholders.
No - Vel pari should not stay a minute longer in Maika - where in the first place he should not have been. No - Theagarajan should not also be running Maika. No - no MIC members should be involved in running Maika.
Let Maika members choose a team of professional managers to use whatever is left in Maika to rebuilt a fortune for the poor Maika members. Even I think I can run Maika better then all those who were put in to manage Maika. All of them should be sacked. The value of the insurance company alone could get back the capital of Maika - and with a bit of profit.
The management also must explain why they went into debt and had to pawn Tumbuk Estate in the first place.
written by SCM, November 27, 2008 10:52:53
"Maika should be liquidated, says CEO". By the way, what is your background to make such a strong financial judgement? Your educational background is that you bought a cheap Diploma in Architecture from a small college in Australia. Your working experience is that you used to run a pub called Betenut in KL. With this background, you have made such a bold decision for the investment arm of MIC? Hahahaha. You are such a clown Paari.

After all the money you and your father have stolen from the Indians, you now want to liquidate what's left in Maika to steal that also? And because you know that you and that dirty rapist father of yours are running out of time. My friend taught me 2 Indian words. I think they're appropriate for you and your father. It's "pitchakaran" and "porukee".
written by Apache, November 27, 2008 10:55:20
well said christopher

but in malaysia bolehland, its all abt cronyism and corruption.
Only in our dreams will Maika Holdings let it be run by proffesionals like you and me.

i for one will never trust MIC with my last penny as they will even sell their mothers to get more money.
written by Comodo, November 27, 2008 11:08:43
We are the one empowered those MIC bas$^%ds. They lead us to be beggars in our own born land; we lost the right for education, property, business….. It’s happen only because of our ignorance and selfishness.
Today we have to beg for our rights just because of those MIC bastards whom let the rights taken away easily by UMNO.
We should blame ourselves for our own stupidity, not MIC.
Thank you very much to the 5 HINDRAF Heroes for uniting Indians.
written by carribeanking7, November 27, 2008 11:21:23
Vel Paari, son of Sam,

Do you understand what inflation is ?
How can buying back shares at par value of RM1/- issued in 1984 be considered compensation ?
If someone put RM 1 in a fixed deposit at a conservative rate of 3 % compounded it will be worth RM2.03 today !
So tell me why should anyone have taken the risk and invested in Maika ?
You are not good at arithmetic are you ? Your father is no better - after losing 75 & of the mandate and 6 out of 9 seats
he still insists that MIC is still relevant to the Indian community- as they say the apple doesn't fall far from the tree.

In 1992 it was exposed your father Samy Vellu is alleged to have siphoned off 9 million (of the original 10 million) Telekom shares that were allocated to MAIKA. He had allegedly used three companies -- Clearway Sdn. Bhd., S.B. Management Services, and Advance Personal Computers Bhd. -- linked to him, you, and your uncle to carry out his misdeed. at the time the shares were valued at RM 120 million.The way these 2 companies disposed the shares was also questionable.
This is not a matter of mismanagement, it is blatant fraud.- most are not convinced by ACA's 17 month investigation that cleared your father.

In spite of a number of major acquisitions made into some important companies - like the United Asian Bank (UAB), United Oriental Assurance (UOA), Malaysian Airlines System (MAS), Malaysian International Shipping Corporation (MISC), TV3 and Edaran Otomobil Malaysia Bhd (EON) - Maika’s performance has been mediocre.

It registered a profit from 1984 to 1986 - the total amount was nothing to shout about and amounted to RM16.5 million only - which enabled Maika to declare three dividends which totalled 11 sen per share. ........pathetic to say the least.

Ipoh Barat MP Kulasegaran has challenged your father to a debate on the Maika debacle, but the silence is deafening thus
many expressed their disgust, some even said that Samy has no testicles.

How do you people sleep at night knowing that many poor Indians pawned their jewelry and took out their life savings to invest in Maika ?
Your day of reckoning will come- justice will catch up with you eventually.

note-If any of you MIC apologists reading this get bright ideas about launching a cyber attack on me , here or elsewhere
be my guest, I will humiliate you !

written by riversnail, November 27, 2008 11:56:36
dei paari son of shit velu,time will come and both of you(paari & sam)will answer to the malaysian indians!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by collegian, November 27, 2008 12:15:52
We hate you Samy Vellu!!! Your MIC leader gor murdered also Pakatan bring out in Parliament,Opposition help the family for Press conference while MIC quiet and hiding.Screw you!!
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 27, 2008 12:52:36
Vijay, as far as Maika, is concerned, I don't think even Semi will dare to counter-challenge what you've written smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif

written by Apache, November 27, 2008 13:54:05
Dei shit velu,

the day u die is the day indians in malaysia celebrate true deepavali