Negri Regent: Royal immunity should be reinstated PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 November 2008 21:23

(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR:The Regent of Negri Sembilan, Tunku Naquiyuddin ibni Tuanku Ja’afar has called for the royal immunity to be reinstated so that the constitutional monarchy can be restored to its full sovereignty.

He said if the Ruler were to exercise his duties in a fair, just and impartial manner in protecting the Federal Constitution, his sovereignty needed to be duly protected as well.

“This full immunity from civil and criminal proceedings should be reconsidered so that he is on par with other constitutional monarchs around the world,” he said in his royal luncheon address on “The Role of the Constitutional Monarchy in 21st Century Malaysia” in here on Wednesday.

He said it was ironic that judges were immune in the performance of their judicial functions but Rulers were not.

“Royal immunity has been lost for 15 years. It needs to be reclaimed and reinstated so that the constitutional monarchy can be restored its full sovereignty so as to play a more fitting role in the 21st century as the guardian of the Federal Constitution so that the endeavour to safeguard the interests of all communities, to promote peace, prosperity, economic security and good governance can surely be fulfilled.

“Immunity is quite essential. Take the situation where we have a hung Parliament, the Ruler comes in to decide on a Prime Minister from one side of a political party and imagine if the other side of the political party opposes it and takes the Ruler to court,” he said.

Tunku Naquiyuddin said the loss of immunity was perhaps the single biggest setback to the institution of the Rulers.

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, November 26, 2008 21:27:10
I have reservation for this!
written by Motherchell, November 26, 2008 21:35:44
No one ran amok when TDM bestowed it in silver ?

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by cubi76, November 26, 2008 21:36:50
Even the royal does not have full confidence in current government or democracy structure?

Anyway... noone should be immune from law of order.
written by HL Ooi, November 26, 2008 21:37:34
No, bad idea. Remember what the Johor sultan did to his caddie?
agree 136
written by HamChak, November 26, 2008 21:39:54
No la, Tunku, some of the Royal families also very JAHAT.
Remembered, they was the case of a caddy boy that was killed by a member of Royal family. Another incident was shotting the ra'ayat from his helicoptor.
Can you guarantee that members of the Royal household will behave like Royalty?
agree 130
written by lamakawan, November 26, 2008 21:42:08
Tunku Naquiyuddin you can now say ".. the loss of the royal immunity is the single biggest setback of institution of leaders. " Who was responsible for that? The man is still available. Why not pull him by the collar and force him to rewrite history for the sake of the nation's future? As you mentioned, the likelihood of a future hung parliament is there, especially after the March 2008 elections.
written by Tlau, November 26, 2008 21:46:44
I, for one still thinks that no one is above the law, not even royalty. If they are immune, we may have some irresponsible princes and princess or rulers and their wives who can do business with everyone and ran foul with law. In such events, who will be responsible for the losses?
written by rizzku, November 26, 2008 21:48:41
No one should be immune from LAW. If we have only one KING, we may be able to grant limited and conditional immunity. Malaysia has the most numbers of ROYALS in the world. Giving them immunity will definitely spell havoc.
written by Rashid, November 26, 2008 21:48:55
Tuanku is saying this because his son has a case against another Royal son from Johor where they fought in a bar. I guess they were reading the "Quran" in the bar. I totally object to anyone living above the law. Why do you need immunity if you will be righteous?
written by san amin, November 26, 2008 21:50:09
yes,sultan johor,spot on! wev already enough immunities for bn goons, to reinstate royal immunity?
written by malsia1206, November 26, 2008 21:56:03
Let's get ONE thing clear and straight before we address the matter on Royal immunity. The Malaysian Royalties MUST earn the respect at ALL times from their subjects as the top priority. Honestly, I am not so sure this is such the present case at this time. Pardon my bluntness in this aspect. But I am not making any apology for holding out this reservation.
written by san amin, November 26, 2008 21:56:34
thers a place in brunei where they accomodate foreign royals/dignitaries, when this sultan johor left that place, he took with him everything that was in that resident with him back to johor. hw cheap!
written by captmarco ramius, November 26, 2008 22:01:54
A wise Judge from England once quoted...

BE YOU EVER SO HIGH...BUT THE LAW IS ABOVE YOU...
written by mrbean, November 26, 2008 22:04:53
people are already talking about a republic and here we have this statement about immunity... no way man
written by mrbean, November 26, 2008 22:05:56
BTW , how much money does it cost to maintain this system ?
written by Sam W, November 26, 2008 22:17:42
Sooner or later, a royal opportunist will come up with this demand. And coming from this particular one, it's no surprise. As I recall Mahatir did dig up a fair bit of dirt to justify why they should not be immune.

This is about the only thing that Mahatir should be lauded for.
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 22:21:57
Civil immunity, yes, provided the rulers do not take loans, sign guarantees or undertake commercial businesses.

Criminal immunity, NO!
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 22:23:21
I guess they were reading the "Quran" in the bar.

Don be stupid lah! They were drinking syrup in the bar!
written by citizenmy, November 26, 2008 22:29:18
"Royal immunity should be reinstated "

I disagree.
written by Sam W, November 26, 2008 22:58:57
You see what happens when you praise these people? Some of them let it get to their head.
written by Spear Bing, November 26, 2008 23:25:50
The Regent should disqualify himself from issuing such proposal since his father is involved in a pending court case executed by a financial institution.

For as long as the Royal institution continues to remain an institution of integrity, virtue, and all the values of honour of the universal spirit, there is no need for request for such royal immunity.

You need to follow the foot steps of the King of Thailand.
written by Kuku Burung, November 26, 2008 23:28:30
With immunity given to UMNO goons, we cannot afford to give anymore to the Royalties. If the Royalties want immunity back, please first ask the UMNO goons, "Why you guys don't get convicted for the crimes you have done?"
written by MNor, November 26, 2008 23:38:43
Hey guys, not all royalties jahat kan. Look at Brunei, ok aje. Anyway I have reservation, its yeas and no. How about immunity to only to Agung!! Ahh at least he can oversea all including Justice. Apa macam.
written by Msian Idol3, November 27, 2008 00:01:20
No one should be above the law including royalties. Even in God's eyes there's one justice & all are equal, so I don't see why should someone be immune to the law of the land.
written by mrbean, November 27, 2008 00:14:36
trivia question: which country in the world has the most monarchy leaders aka sultans ?
written by willove, November 27, 2008 00:27:26
Tunku, with all due respect since I know you are a gentleman, are the other members of the royal family behaves like you?
Royal families are by birth, NOT by Rakyat's choice, so no one can guarantee their behaviour.
In other words, they must be binded by the law too.
By the way, who says that without the immunity the Ruler cannot act to safeguard the Federal Constitution and the well-being of the Rakyat? Recent issues after 308 on the Mentris Besar & fatwahs have all the more make people believe that the Monarchy still has its role to play.
And also as asked by mrbean, Malaysia is the only country with so many Rulers, so we cannot compare ourselves with other nations.
Malaysia is indeed...I rest my case.
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 00:39:07
We don't need some sultan to safeguard our rights, we just need to safeguard our rights from idiotic sultans.

written by hakuna, November 27, 2008 00:48:28
Immunity - others have stood up when they were bare, yet people in POWER want it - Speak up if you think something is wrong,if others can do it so can one in power.

Is this asking for a blank cheque???
written by Vasily, November 27, 2008 00:52:49
Hoi TUNGKU!!....bukankah semua org2 kaya2, Tungku2, raja2 immune kepada undang2??....pernah dengar "datuk itu", kena penjara pasal merogol, pernah dengar Tungku ini kena dakwa pasal pukul orang....dan lain-lain lagi...sedangkan ada yang memang pernah buat, kan-kan??
Polis & penguatkuasa undeng-undeng kat M'sia nie bukan kah diternak menjadi babi & anjing kepada golongan2 raja2,bangsawan2 dan orang2 kaya...tak cukup lagi kah immunity yang ada? Nak jadi macam Firaun atau Romans Emperors kah..."I'm your morning and evening sun, I'm God"...mana ada royal immunity has been lost for 15 years??
Sepatutnya sistem ber-RAJA di M'sia di hapuskan sama sekali...once and for all, like Romanov Dynasty in Russia!!
written by AsamLaksa, November 27, 2008 01:48:05
How will full criminal and civil royal immunity help Malaysia? The example given is nonsensical as the constitution sets out the method of choosing the PM. If the ruler deviate then the appointment would be invalid. But as long as the ruler is given the clear power and acted accordingly, then let the opponents sue the ruler as they would fail anyway. Let them waste money on legal fees. Apa takut?
written by Fuminari, November 27, 2008 02:10:24
kalau immunity ada,then that bruce die hard wouldn't be getting his paid back...all settled.
written by arazak, November 27, 2008 03:14:52
Immunity. . .? Not in the Los Angeles court. . .definitely no. Bruce Willis is gonna drag this someone for the "green rubber" scam!

Wonder if Mel Gibson also losses his money to these Malaysian scammers.

They really put Malaysia to shame in Hollywood!
written by Spear Bing, November 27, 2008 03:37:35
Oh yes 'arazak'.... Bruce Willis's litigation against the Negri Sembilan's royal family over a disputed failed business deal.

There again, the Negri Regent should recuse himself from requesting such royal immunity for obvious reasons.

Do you need a rocket scientist to infer some degree of conflict of interest? First ... his father's court case with Chartered Bank and now with Bruce Willis.

Such incidents should not occur to the royal family of Malaysian States. One could imagine the image and repute being tarnished.
written by Forex, November 27, 2008 03:44:31
Well well well,

INIMUNITY from any law? are u joking me? History in the making...
written by Tompios, November 27, 2008 04:57:39
SORRY! If possible I badly want to see the royal family same like RPK, access to ISA and Kamunting or Penjara Pudu. Why? Fully Royal immunity means, the Royal people can go to Sabah or Labuan to have sex any young pretty students around. This was happened in Sabah-Labuan sometime ago in early 90s. Parents are worry and the headmasters cannot do much when a horny young Royal blood looking for a girl to play with!! I will avoid this happened to my daughter.

Beating people by using golf instruments, spank people as pleasure as they are and many more unreported cases are really unacceptable. Am really happy for not having any king in Sabah. Mahathir, you are right about this matter. The Royal bloods in Malaysia deserve half-baked immunity.
written by doggone, November 27, 2008 05:08:12

There should never be a blank cheque for privileges that are an invitation to abuses, and total immunity is a SCARY as C4 !!!

Don't we have enough of 'immunities' bestowed on the elite of the ruling party when we have child rapist walking free while those who seek justice for the abused child, jailed.

How about the countless Billions in the nation's coffer that were plundered under the nose of her citizen, with fingers that could only point to certain individual and no one else, yet they are not brought to book because they had 'immunity'.

What about Judges who admit to wrongdoings and yet promoted to the highest office in the judiciary? I don't even want to touch on the stuff that concern murder because those who committed those offence are 'immune' to prosecution.

No one requires total immunity if they are righteous, more so for those in government and those who wears the royal regalias. Why you ask? To set an example to those you rule over, of course.

Please don't frighten the rakyat dear Sultan. When we strip bare naked to take a shower, we are just another human being. Not everyone are born with a royal umbilical cord or blessed at birth with a silver spoon. Yet anyone can be a silvery example of a human being if they have true moral values which could put those blessed at birth to shame.

I'm just your lowly subject speaking his mind, so please don't haul me up. I'm already shaking like a lallang on a windless night. Thank you your Highness.
written by Celestial, November 27, 2008 05:41:58
Why should anyone be above the law including the Royalty? What is the real agenda of the Regent of Negri Sembilan, Tunku Naquiyuddin ibni Tuanku Ja’afar? Does he want the immunity so that they can escape legal actions to repay loans or criminal activities. To kill someone out of fury like a certain Sultan from a Southern State once did? NO ONE is above the law. PERIOD!!!!
written by Proarte, November 27, 2008 05:46:06
Which century is our dear royal living in?

Royal immunity was long abolished in Britain! Historians amongst us will know that King Charles the 1st had his head chopped off for 'high treason'.

Our Royals must realise the privileges accorded to them are constitutional, hence they are constitutional monarchs. The constitution has been amended by the majority will of the Rakyat.

The Constitution is supreme and the Rakyat have the power to change the constitution making the Rakyat ultimately supreme.
written by ssathia, November 27, 2008 05:48:14
Rulers earn their respect from their own conduct. They should be leading inspiration for the nation.

Just look at the King of Thailand. He draws respect from even people from foreign nations, people who have not seen him or met him in person.

If Rulers are truly respectable, there is no need for any immunity. If Rulers are not respectable, no immunity would help either.
written by cahaya, November 27, 2008 06:01:03
Most MT readers have missed the important point that was made.
The Regent is urging the restoration of royal immunity for the Malay Rulers Conference (as guardians of the Federal Constitution), in order that collectively the nine sultans and the Yang di Pertuan Agong can appoint a new Prime Minister, in the case of a hung Parliament. As it is now, the Agong must appoint whoever the ruling party decides should be the PM.
But collectively the Rulers Conference could make a better appointment. They could select someone who has majority support of the Parliament and who would be a good PM for all Malaysians. The Rulers want to play a greater role to safeguard the interests of all communities, to promote peace, prosperity, economic security and good governance can surely be fulfilled.
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 07:32:50
"He said it was ironic that judges were immune in the performance of their judicial functions but Rulers were not" what cahaya has said.
- I agree with the readers that no one is above the law.
- When the Sultan of Perak was the judge, he convicted the former MB of Selangor of corruption in 1976. Rulers such as him, the present Agung, Sultan of Selangor, Regent of Perak deserve special mention and we feel comfortable with them.
- In Oct 1983, the biggest banking and financial scandal (BMF) in Malaysian history was covered up, with such damning proof. Lim Kit Siang tried very hard to protest in Parliament, but to no avail. This was abuse in Parliament.
- When Tun MM clipped their wings, judgements were lopsided ("correct, correct" case,etc.). The present C.J. Zaki. Wasn't he recommended by the PM? Seems as though the Royalty have their arms twisted .... except for the "yoga fatwa" where they rule!
So the question we should ask ourselves - where do we draw a line to accord them more power to check and balance abuses in Parliament, without actually giving them immunity for abuse of the law?
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 07:43:02
Correction: it should read plus what cahaya had said.
written by Proarte, November 27, 2008 07:53:47
Let us not forget that it was the Sultan of Johor who appeared to be a lackey of Mahathir when he wanted Salleh Abbas to be sacked for being 'biadap'. All Salleh did was to highlight to the King that Mahathir was abusing his position and not respecting judicial independence. No logical explanation could be given as to how this constitutes being 'biadap'.

Now what hold did Mahathir have over the King? Well, I think it was because of the widely believed rumours that the King had murdered his caddy in a fit of rage. Did Mahathir threaten to make the killing an issue which could possibly lead to the death sentence of the King? In those circumstances, it seems probable that the King would sign any document, including one which gave consent to the setting up a tribunal..... the rest is history.

Surely this cannot be an argument for re-instituting Royal immunity. We just cannot allow Royalty to get away with murder.
written by dumbfounded, November 27, 2008 08:32:24
No one should be given imunity to get away with murder. But perhaps we can give them the immunity they need to guard the Federal Constitution.
written by ylcc, November 27, 2008 08:34:36
"discharging one's duties" fairly is OK, but not civil crimes. BTW, are the judges immuned from civil crimes please? NO IMMUNITY FOR CIVIL CRIMES is my vote.
written by chrisyong, November 27, 2008 08:39:06
Before even suggesting this, I thought the reason why the immunity was removed must be revisited. Power gets into people's head and the sultans are no exceptions. Privileges are highly susceptible to ABUSE! Sign. Follow the law and abide by it clearly. NO ONE IS ABOVE LAW!
written by cahaya, November 27, 2008 08:53:27
Thanks for the discussion. Perhaps Royal immunity could be limited to the Agong and the Sultans whenever they gather collectively as the Malay Rulers Conference to defend the interests of Malaysians (as guardians of the Federal Constitution). Something like the immunity extended to the Members of Parliament when they speak out on various issues in the Parliament, but which they do not have as ordinary citizens outside of the Parliament. This means that members of the extended royal family will need to abide by the civil laws, or else they can end up in court.
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 10:07:42
Righteousness has no fear. Nor does it ask for immunity from anything.

It is the devils that ask for it.

written by borneoman, November 27, 2008 10:08:16
sarawak dont need a raja,king or sultan because we cant efford to waste our very limited state revenues on them.
written by JackWang, November 27, 2008 10:13:50
If I remember correctly, the royals do enjoy immunity when they are acting in their official capacity. Their immunity is removed when acting in their personal capacity. Eg. many royals are involved in business dealings. If they want to be involved in business, they have to be subjected to the same rules as others. If they are immune even in their business dealings, they will be able to conduct business without risks.
I believe what the Regent of NS is asking for is already in the constitution. Maybe some lawyers can confirm. I didn't think that, eg., should the King declares an emergency, he could face prosecution for acting wrongly.

Cheers
written by Sudahlah tu, November 27, 2008 10:25:08
apa gunanya dikurniakan sedangkan yang diberi kepercayaan itu tidak menilai kepentingannya.
apa gunanya dihadiahkan sedangkan yang menerima pula berada dalam landasan tamak diri.
apa gunanya diwujudkan lagi satu permulaan sedangkan mereka yang terlibat masih belum sedia menerima tanggungjawab rasmi dan berbakti kepada negara dan rakyat mengikut perlembagaan dan tata susila kedudukan tersendiri itu.
written by bikerzon, November 27, 2008 10:33:49
Our royal institution is ok now. Anyway, we're in 20th century now, and the royalty is still by any other words, is still human. and Human made mistakes.
written by Jan, November 27, 2008 10:46:18
One royalty from the Negri Sembilan household was sued for not repaying his loan. Does this mean he doesn't have to meet his obligations if he has immunity? It's not wise of the regent of Negri Sembilan to raise this now otherwise people might think he has an agenda on his part.
written by Fuminari, November 27, 2008 12:48:33
royals should live on to be respected n not immunity.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 27, 2008 14:09:04
Reinstate royal immunity?? You must be kidding your royal highness! But you might get better support if you have advocated to get rid of royalties in Malaysia.

Haiyah, your most high, royalties are human beings also who are who they are due to circumstances..right time, right place! Beneath all those royal highnesses lurks pure human flesh & blood lah! Didn’t Allah dictate that we are all equal? So, if royal highnesses being the defender of Islam holds true, then follow Allah’s diction and be an equal to all mankind.

The problem is that all you royal highnesses desire and demand other human beings to revere you, to serve you, and to treat you as above mere humans. You have to accept that you are all humans just like any other Malaysians, and as Malaysian humans, are subjected to the laws of the land.
written by aryn, November 27, 2008 17:00:23
If you are law abiding why talk about immunity? Immunity is like a license to commit crime.

No one is above the law, royals or non royals. Period.
written by YARRACUDA, November 27, 2008 18:00:42
ah ahhh....allo Tunku Nakiyuddin...i know the exact reason u wanted the immunities to be returned...coz ur family or ur dad to be exact had been sued by the SCB due to a non paying loan..am i rite???? hence no need la to propose new things!@
written by borneoman, November 27, 2008 21:04:00
umno led bn demand their ketuanan rights,power and money and now the sultan wants imunity so what about us?sarawak natives wants INDEPENDENCE.DEAL?