DAP, Pas in booze sale row PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 November 2008 15:38

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Coalition partners DAP and PAS appeared locked in open dispute over the sale of alcohol in Selangor, in a row which is exposing the tussle between secular and conservative forces in the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) alliance.

DAP publicity chief Tony Pua today attacked Pas Selangor, stating that "it needs a crash course in coalition politics," after its PR partner reportedly said it would ban all alcohol sales in the state.

He also called Pas Selangor arrogant.

"Despite not having obtained approval for such a proposal in the Selangor state executive committee, Pas Selangor has attempted to subvert the exco's authority by introducing such regulations by instructing its municipal councillors to table such motions for approval at the local councils," he said in a media statement.

Pua also reminded Pas that they were partners of a coalition in which "they possess eight out of 36 seats won" by all the members.

Speaking in Parliament today, Anwar said: ""We do not want to be seen to be encouraging alcohol consumption among the youth and Muslims. But we cannot deny the rights of non-Muslims.

"As we are democratic, we listen to views because we are a consensus government, but policies are decided by the state exco and there is no suggestion to ban the sale in open premises.

Senior state exco member Teresa Kok from the DAP said that the matter had been brought up to for discussion by Pas Selangor to address the issue of "easy access to alcohol by teenagers and Muslims."

She said this had occurred weeks ago and discussions with outlets like supermarts and 7-Eleven was being planned.

Pas deputy president Nasharuddin Mat Isa told reporters in Parliament that he was not clear on the issue as the matter had not been communicated to the central leadership by Pas Selangor.

"Our stand on this issue, as in others which affect the morals and safety of people, is that there should be controls," he said, adding that it generally tries to push for this in all states where the party is part of the administration.

"In Kelantan, there are no new premises which are allowed to sell alcohol openly but we do not prohibit non-Muslims from consuming alcohol," the Bachok MP added.

"But there are no more new premises which can sell alcohol openly," he said, adding that the central leadership would await more details from Pas Selangor before deciding whether to bring this up in other states.

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by Hairy Potter, November 26, 2008 15:58:08
yet another issue made complicated unnecessarily. let all non muslims drink all they want and let it be easily accessible by them. the problem of muslims having easy access to them is irrelevant and not their problem. it is haram in islam so let them carry the sins should they still decide to consume it. if it is in the syariah law to punish these recalcitrant muslims, then punish them - hard. 5 years jail or RM200,000 fine or both. not just "RM300' or '2 weeks' in police lock up! as for the teenagers, charge them as well. as the malay saying goes, "berani buat, berani tanggung lah". the laws are there, so implement it!

salam
written by AuntyG, November 26, 2008 16:04:01
I believe that until such time the menteri besar of Selangor announce the ban or no ban, this is a non issue. Selangor government is not PAS
written by cheekymate, November 26, 2008 16:09:58
There comes a time when enough is enough. PAS, keep your religious doctrines to those who practise your religion. Leave others to practise their own doctrines. In other words, mind your own business.
written by aryn, November 26, 2008 16:10:50
Alcohol should not be sold in kedai runcit, 7-eleven or gas stations. That's all. In other outlets the govt must impose a rule that retail outlets must not sell alcohol to anyone below 2l years of age. Like in USA, the shopkeepers ask for your ID to ensure you are within the age limit.

written by Oscar Winner, November 26, 2008 16:38:07
Those muslim youths who consume alcohol are wayward and lack parental and religious guidance. It's not banning of sale at convenient stores and petrol stations that will stop them from consuming, but banning of sale to both muslim youths and adults, and educating them, will. Their number isn't big. Banning of sale at these outlets will inconvenience non-muslims who have the right of choice in consuming it
written by Littlebird, November 26, 2008 16:46:11
First, protest about anon-malay heading PKNS. Now, banning booze in a state made of many non muslim. Keep up your good work PAS. Come next election many people like me will be queuing to vote you. Please also enforce separate lane for females in supermarkets.
written by ahmadneil, November 26, 2008 16:53:07
What about me ,ahmadneil, who is a alcoholic!You have also to take into consideration of those muslims like me who can't live without alcohol,like Tiger beer.This is how I live my life and I intend to live it like this.I will rather change my faith than my habits.
written by smeagrooo, November 26, 2008 16:54:32
but smoking is ok which is destroying the body. APALAH!
written by ryan giggs, November 26, 2008 16:57:50
Minuman keras adalah haram disisi agama Islam. Ini telah diketahui oleh semua rakyat malaysia. Tetapi PAS nak "ban" jualan alcohol ni apa hal? Nak susahkan orang bukan Islam ke ? Jangan susahkan yang bukan Islam. Prihatin lah dengan kehendak kehendak yang lain jugak.

written by ahmadneil, November 26, 2008 16:58:12
Last time I vote BN in selangor becos we can beer every night ,so I thought that by voting PKR,I will beer all day.But it seem to me that this is not the case.Not only I can beer at nite ,they want to stop it all together.I have to stop them before they stop me.
written by The Voter, November 26, 2008 17:12:07
For sure the decisions of restricted sales of liquors not come from them. It must come as consensus and including those from DAP and PKR. So why pointed the fingers to PAS? Even Kuching City Hall is going the same thing on restricted sales of liquors.
Why in US (may be here) there has a campaign don’t drink and drive.
written by renoir, November 26, 2008 17:15:37
Folks, there's a small PAS group that aims to play their UMNO masters' game, so take this matter calmly and let the PAS national committee talk over with their Pakatan partners. Another thing to remember is that minors - those under 21 - are banned in most Western countries which are supposed to be "liberal." Thus, if there's a problem with underaged drinking, whether for Muslims or non-Muslims, we ought to try to solve it. On the other hand, since non-Muslims have traditionally been drinking liquor, it should be accessible, but only when the customer could produce his/her ID. I think it's not difficult to solve this problem, if we recognize molehills as molehills and not mountains.

written by truthbespoken, November 26, 2008 17:16:42
Keep on imposing this and imposing that on the people. Don't care whether they are muslims or not. Don't care whether this is Kelantan or Selangor. One size have to fit all!

Why are some muslims so openly dishonest? Why don't these people keep to their word? They have always said that muslim laws will not be imposed on non-muslims! By trying to ban sales of alcohol and others, are non-muslims not affected?

These people are inconsiderate. Domineering Liars!
written by KTRaj, November 26, 2008 17:17:40
Are we the voter being FOOOOL by PR???
written by Shiva, November 26, 2008 17:29:23
guys please pay proper respect as we had to understand the issue well.
1.consuming alcohol is haram, therefore any true muslims will not be purchasing it nor consuming it ...therefore there is no need to ban the sale

2.eating pork is haram, therefore any true muslims will not be purchasing it nor consuming it ...therefore there is no need to ban the sale.

3.4d forcast is haram, therefore any true muslims will not be purchasing it nor involved with it ...therefore there is no need to ban the sale

4.temples and statues, is a forbidden practice in islam, therefore any true muslims will not be praying to it or focused on it, ...therefore there is no need to break or destroy the temple

5.driving recklessly ..mat rempit..is a forbidden practice ...opps sorry...there is only a fatwah for riding camel, there wasn't any motorbikes then..

all these forbidden activities are currently not practised by true muslims, therefore, the true muslims do not have to worry about this, as their akidah will remain intact, let the kafirs enjoy these activities and later be punished in hell, by....; you all may know this well..as there is no other god then your god to punish them...therefore let your god to take care of this infidels, and in the meantime, please pursue your salvation by accepting the teachings whole heartedly and try not to impose on the infidels.

last but not least; smoking and heavy consumption of alcohol is damaging to your health; stop smoking,...drink wisely..drive safely..
written by DreamLady, November 26, 2008 17:29:30
I doubt it is a surprise to anyone when siblings quarrel among themselves especially so when the three adopted kids have now reached the rebellious stage: the menace mind of the adolescence..

As the head of the family, he has to balance out between the love for his children and the disciplinary action he is keen to implement inorder to have some peace and quiet....
written by AngryTaxpayer, November 26, 2008 17:35:19
In a way, I can understand the concerns of PAS.

I'm a non-Muslim and I'm just as concerned about the easy access to alcoholic beverages, esp those sold at convenient stores such as 7-11.....there should def be a regulation in place to restrict the sale of these sort of drinks......and while we're at it, the same should be applied to the sale of cigarettes.

We shouldn't make this issue into a religious one bcos I think this is a blanket problem that everyone is dealing with.
written by Wakeupmsia, November 26, 2008 17:37:38
It's so obvious - some of these PAS people are certainly pro-AMNO and they are out to weaken the Pakatan Rakyat's coalition.
Firstly - the proposed banning of Ella and gang concert.
Secondly - MARA open to 10% non-Malays (These particular PAS group went 'Pekak". Thirdly - PKNS cannot have a Chinese GM. IT must have a Malay/Muslim GM.
And Now - Alcohol ban.

If the moderate PAS leaders do not kick the butt of these 'traitors'who are actually FANATICAL and believer in KETUANAN MELAYU.......Soon PAS will become Irrevant. And these 'traitors' will only become richer.....courtesy of AMNO.

written by ahmadneil, November 26, 2008 17:44:08
I have already ask Tiger beer company to pipe the beer into my home.Don't care if they talk 7 or 8.
written by Rashid, November 26, 2008 17:48:36
Advice to both PAS and DAP, go here:

http://scandalasia.********.com
written by crazygweilo, November 26, 2008 18:03:39
Unfortunately this is something I find rather irritating about UMNO vs PAS, Malaysia, and its schizophrenic policy towards alcohol. Malaysia currently has the worlds second highest alcohol taxes, second to Norway. This has had an impact on the tourist industry. Lets face facts, if it were cheaper, and less restricted, the East Coast beaches would be more attractive, and unfortunately, there are not many more natural resources other than the beaches over there. Palm Oil, fair enough. Minyak, ok lah. Gas, ok. But.....lets be realistic.

What has replaced alcohol as the drug of choice for Muslim youth, and not only Muslims, Malaysians in general, although the Sarawakians, Sabahans, some chinese, some Indians, and quite a few Malays (now, now guys, don't lose it just yet....), can/do drink like fish.

If I told you, you would be shocked. But since these things are "Haram", they do not exist.

In place of haram, yet legal products such as alcohol, we get Ganja, Syabu, Ketamin, Ecstasy, and all....yes ALL of these are readily available in all parts of Malaysia with two or three phone calls, and knowing the wrong people. I'll also openly state, at risk of being interogatted and probed that Malaysia, despite its outwardly strict stance on drugs, is in fact, THE MOST LIBERAL place in South East Asia for drugs. Providing that is.....you have enough money, and know the right people.

The tax on alcohol is also a bit crazy.

2004 Budget beer tax shoved up by 20%
2005 Budget beer tax shoved up by 25%

"Untuk kesihatan rakyat Malaysia"

Was'nt Pak Lah as finance minister rather selective when it came to using the words "Rakyat Malaysia". I was glad that i was not in Malaysia for those two Budgets, because they immediately changed my view of Pak Lah, it was hardly as if beer was cheap before he turned up, but he made it worse.

We could always have the tourists in Langkawi alone for the cheap booze. But why not just have it available everywhere, limit the hours of availability just like Thailand from 09.00am until Midnight, restrict the sale of spirits with an ABV of more than 14% to over 21's, and anything with an ABV of less than 8% and tax it more appropriately. The tax increases are a vehicle for smuggling and corruption. They encourage rather than discourage illicit smuggling, production and consumption. They encourage consumption of stronger alcoholic products. These measures were attempted in the likes of Scandinavia, which have serious booze problems and they failed.

Prohibition has never ever ever worked. Sensible taxation, regulation, moderation and a dose of common sense have worked. Oh, come back to me when the state starts enforcing the laws on smoking in air conditioned premises.
written by doggone, November 26, 2008 18:10:17

Only those who have great faith in their own religion can be impervious to such temptation, be it alcohol or anything that is deem forbidden. You cannot ban the internet because of pornographic site. You just control yourself and not visit them. Its as simple as that.

Try not to overstep your boundries and impose restriction onto the culture of other races. Things like this just don't bode well for a multi racial society.

It would be better to channel those effort into finding ways to weather the economic hardship facing the nation. When your tummy is empty, booze will be one of the last thing on your mind, whether you ban it on Muslim or on those who consume it.

written by lamepug, November 26, 2008 18:21:59
what that means???? smilies/shocked.gif

depan tak boleh, (in front cannot)
belakang mari, OK (from back, ok)
written by talk2stop, November 26, 2008 18:53:15
A third world mentality, blaming alcohol for the cause. The goverment should educate the people about alcohol or drugs. By resticting alcohol can only encourage illegal activities and corruption. Malaysia have been saying for many years that the West are killing themselves by indulging with immorality.
Let me tell you that the, West is more worry about Malaysian corrupting their minds than they corrupting Malaysians' mind. The way Malayasia tackle its problems are mind boggling. By the way, I never like alcohol.
written by nothing less, November 26, 2008 19:11:47
Im an Indian from the Christian faith, I enjoy my alcohol from time to time when Im with friends and loved ones. When we want to indulge into this, we buy it aor we go to places that sell this be it a club or some shops. But i fully agree that alcohol SHOULD NOT be sold openly as practised now. PAS and PAKATAN RAKYAT I fully agree with your policy in this matter.
written by Tan Tan, November 26, 2008 19:36:37
To be honest, I am not a fan to alcohol and I think it is bad for health. However, it is also every human right for them to drink it. Banning alcohol to Muslim Malaysian in Selangor states is ok and Pas should be happy.

Or come to a compromise la. Alcohol can only be sold in the following places:
Hotels
Cafe/Restaurant/Bar/Club/Disco/Karaoke own by non-Muslim Malaysian.

Stop selling them in 7 eleven, convienient stores, hypermarkets and supermarket can be impose as our respect to Islam as our country official religion.However, dun ka kacau cau when Non-Muslim do drink it ok. Jakim can stalk out outside of hotels, bars, discos, retaurants, cafes, karaoke and allowed place to sell alcohol to catch Muslim who break the Islamic law BUT CANNOT RAID OR DISTURB THE BUSINESS. Stay outside of the place in a friendly manner and only approach Muslim who suspect coming out drunk. Don't harass ppls going inside or go inside and harass owner and customers.

Deal or not deal!
written by sarawakian, November 26, 2008 19:49:33
why do Malaysian politicians keep treating Muslims like little children? why is there a need to bad alcohol or issue fatwas againsts yoga? can't Muslims decide for themselves what is good and what is bad? do they need to be fined/punished on earth for every mistake they commit in regards to their practice of religion? let God serve the punishment as He sees fit.

banning alcohol will just encourage illegal businesses to crop up and then gangsterism and whatever else that comes with it.
written by NEP, November 26, 2008 20:16:18
PAS dan JAKIM ingat mereka tu Tuhan kah? Gunalah otak babi dulu untuk fikir sebelum buat sesuatu keputusan. Jangan macam menteri besar Kedah yang buat suatu keputusan [isu 50% kuota perumahan] tanpa fikir kesannya.
written by mikewang, November 26, 2008 20:32:33
Sins in religion are not necessarily crimes and we have bigger problems with crimes than sins. PAS, you are out of focus and out of target. Return the responsibility of good morality to parents. They have a bigger responsibility to the moral upbringing of their children than any religious edict.
written by asguard, November 26, 2008 20:45:56
To Pas whatever is your it may have an impact on non muslims when each time you say or opposed something.... be careful for what you wish for it could be a backfire you in coming elections...
written by wannabepatriotic, November 26, 2008 21:39:59
START by example. PAS, if your really serious, start raiding 'alcohol' premises for intoxicated muslims. I know a few places where you can start these JAKIM raids.

BTW: will you have ample cells to keep them all?
written by alarcarte, November 26, 2008 22:28:11
It should be alright if as long as PAS do not ask for an outright ban on alcoholic drinks and just ban the selling of alcoholic drinks to minor and Muslims, but to suggest no new license be issued on selling of alcohol in Selangor will be a big no, no! For Selangor is not Kota Bharu where after 10pm the town is deserted.

Selangor has a large expatriate community and also lots of foreigners and tourist, as we know that entertainment, sex, and cheap alcohol do attarct tourist, we do not have a flourish sex industry which is a good thing, but many tourist are non Muslims and they do consume some alcohol to wind down their tired day though our alcoholic drinks are one of the most expensive in the World.

Dear PAS leaders in Selangor, I would like to make a confession, I got drunk every weekend (Thursday night and Holy Firday) in Saudi Arabia when I worked there for over a year, when I got back here in Malaysia I hardly touch any alcoholic drinks, do you guys know why?
written by citizenmy, November 26, 2008 22:44:05
This issue is number one priority to be addressed now?????

Poverty/ Housing/ Education/ Job Creation...so far anything happening to these issues?
written by gurkha_malaya, November 26, 2008 22:55:31
to all muslim n malay are invited to visits my fren blog regarding this issues

www.saudagarsenja.********.com

written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 22:55:57
The China girls depend on me for their livelihood! My hands hold up have a continent. So don't fccukk with my Anchor beers! Okay?? smilies/grin.gif
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 23:03:32
The local crowd here sitting on some oil, chinese and indians have really gotten to be arrogant. Without these, this nation would be Patpong and Phuket combined!!

We save this nation from prostitution, and their self respect. That's the last word.

And yes, I've been to Jakarta, Surabaya, Bandung and Jogja. I lived in Pacitan and Ponoroko. My family is still there.
written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 00:21:37
May be DAP can setup shops selling booze and PAS setup shops selling anti-booze would stop this stupidity?

PAS can always ask their Allah to teach them how to make anti-booze liquids.

written by cheekhiaw, November 27, 2008 00:32:40
Anything is possible to the all powerful.

After drinking their anti-booze, the customers would never ever want to touch booze. That should solve the problem.

Unless of course their Allah is not that all powerful and unable to tell the PAS fellas how to do that.

written by monstercat, November 27, 2008 00:44:29
I see nothing wrong in controlling sales of alcohol. But please, apply it across the board for those under 21, Muslims & non-Muslims. The set age can be discussed & decided. And also apply to all Muslims since most of them are vehemently announcing that alcohol is adulterated & contaminated stuff. Those who do indulge are not as bold as Ahmad Neil who publicly confessed their love for booze :-). Even with the ban they'll still buy; they'll harassed their non-Muslims friends/relatives to buy for them. Same case as 4Ds, Sports Toto, makan during puasa etc. We'll see an increase in Air Asia ticket sales by such Muslims to Bangkok, Phuket, Manila, Jakarta, Macau etc.
written by ssathia, November 27, 2008 05:35:16
Is any one forcing people to buy alchohol? Those who choose not consume alchohol, do not purchase alcohol. Why can't this nincompoops get it right in their heads?

Which is greater evil? Even ministers smoking in the august parliament house and in all of Putrajaya ministries offices inside aircondtioned environments, getting inducements to do one's work, not doing one's work and getting paid for it, not studying and getting splendid marks in examination, letting criminals walk free, letting prices go up to profiteering?
written by graha, November 27, 2008 10:28:01
Mikewang,

Sins in religion are a crime in Islam