Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow A question of approach

A question of approach PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 November 2008 12:32

The fatwa on yoga, as announced by the National Fatwa Council, in my opinion, was a top class failure in public relation.

The Council gave a short statement. That was it. Till today, I have not read the actual "fatwa" or decree, which I, as a Muslim, am supposed to adhere. All I had read was newspaper reports. Many of us, me included, do not have a clue as to who the members are and quite how these members arrived at their conclusion that yoga is unIslamic. It might as well have been a decision by the Star Chambers for all we know.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Motherchell, November 26, 2008 12:47:17
All this is brought about because we have a HOME MINISTRY that is not in any way involved in guiding the Nation to its glory. They are more involved about making a quick buck, personal benifits and fortunes for them selves and their cronies . When we have such Religious leaders appointed by them and the BBC News Reader smirking when she read the YOGA news of Malaysia. Albar should resign! Yet with all that we as bloggers have written they refuse to engage in meaningful exchanges so as to work than work against.

Obama would not have be successful if he did not read blogs and work with! Should a Made in Englande Law degree have to be tinkled what to do?

Why do we have the problesm we have with little Talibans running wild --- because the POWERS want it this way . So should i not say i challenge the Ministry to tell us where we are wrong then act like Mafia Lords warning its own citizens?? as though in a Communist setup!!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by DreamLady, November 26, 2008 12:54:38
So much time have been wasted wrestling with the issue of yoga, and it is driving every citizen up the wall with its craziness and its absurd validity.

If only fatwa champions the cause of those divorced Muslim women who are being left in the lurk when their husbands fail to pay maintainence to the family, I would be the first to salute fatwa council.

On the contrary,these fatwa council has been going on and on endlessly with these idle issues and spin everybody's head for no valid reason .

Abdul shukor, go and help those who are really in need of your help; go after those Muslim fathers who sin against his children and ex-wives, and if you think you still have plenty of time in your hand, go chase after those who are corrupted to the core within the UMNO regime, it would be an admirable act if you dare to catch them, let them be big or small fish.......the rakyat will surely love you to death!!!!!
written by chanatak, November 26, 2008 13:14:29
The foolishness of UMNO's religious wise men is incomparable. We are continuously fed with a stream of idiotic decisions that is making Malaysia, and especially the Malays a laughing stock of the whole world. Yet this is surely not the last we will see. How can people with such moronic ability to reason ever be selected to sit in such positions is another awesome wonder. I suppose it is "bapak borek anak rintik". With the low mentality of UMNO stalwarts, what kind of quality standards can we expect of the people they appoint?

Sadly, the Malays whom UMNO purpose to protect are being so humiliated by UMNO itself - yet UMNO goons vainly attempt to put the blame on other races. Only their stupidity stops them from seeing that nobody is fooled except the UMNO- fed Malays.
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 13:24:45
Very well written gazer! You should be the Press Secretary to islamic organisations.

I would like to take one small issue with you and islamic organisations.

..the Council's opinion that such mantras and chanting ought not to be practiced by Muslims as the same consist of words or phrases which is praiseful of idols or gods other than Allah..

Is it not a fundamental islamic belief that 'there is no god but god? Barring details, is this not a fundamental belief of all religions?

How can there be any 'other god' when there is only One. Unless islam is suggesting that there is more than one god, and the only sanctioned one is the one called Allah. Is this so?

The entire world is already praying to the One and the same god! Wherever one sees worship and prayers, it is to the same One and only! They differ in the name, due to language, and differ in mode of worship, due to traditional revelations, but at all times it is the one and the same god! Is this not true?

Looking forward to your response.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 26, 2008 13:24:59
That's the problem with people who have not much to do and being cooped up all day long...day in and day out!
So, to pass their time, they "Fatwa this and that" to bring attention to themselves, to show how 'cleaver' they are to come up with such 'bright Fatwas',and to test that they have the power to do so.

After all, they have nothing to loss (and helps pass their time) as they can always recant and say we Muslims don't have to follow their "Fatwas".
written by ssathia, November 26, 2008 15:50:36
Being a religious edict, what else can one expect an edict to be other than a mere statement of beliefs and opinion based on those beliefs?

On the other hand, yoga is a matter of science. Its benefit is best assessed by scientific scrutiny. It is strange that religious beliefs are brought into this subject. It is like measuring efficacy of a medicine based on what the priest says.

So far the scientific community is in strong support of yoga. It is also used in medical treatment. Yoga was not invented as a religous practice by Hindus but that came to be used by the various sects of Hindus as a matter of improving physical and mental health of a person. It shows that Hindus are willing to accept and implement scientific methods in their religious practices.

If there are Muslims and Christians who wish to find fault with Yoga based on their own relgious beliefs, it shows they are using non-scientifc methods in assessing what is essentially a scientific matter. Good luck to them..
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 22:36:09
I guessed as much! There can be no response.

'God is great' would have no meaning, an empty slogan, like Malaysia Boleh, if there is more than one god, wouldn't it? How can one be great when there is a crowd!