Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Islamic councils against Catholic magazine of Kuala Lumpur: forbidden to use the word "Allah"

Islamic councils against Catholic magazine of Kuala Lumpur: forbidden to use the word "Allah" PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 November 2008 09:42

The Islamic religious councils of seven Malaysian states are joining the lawsuit pitting the weekly of the diocese of Kuala Lumpur against the government. The object of the dispute is the use of the word "Allah" in non-Muslim publications. The Sikh community is siding with the Catholics.

(AsiaNews) - The Islamic religious councils of seven Malaysian states and the Malaysian Chinese Muslim Association (MACMA) are turning to the federal court for the ban of the use of the word "Allah" in the weekly Catholic Herald. Muslim representatives from Terengganu, Penang, Selangor, Kedah, Johor, Malacca, and the Federal territory of Kuala Lumpur want the court to rule on whether the law relative to the case has been applied according to constitutional principles.

The Malaysian constitution guarantees full religious freedom for all confessions, but an ordinance from the interior security ministry issued in 1986 prohibits the use of the word "Allah" in publications of the non-Islamic communities. But the law has never been applied consistently. To complicate the case of the Herald, and of other non-Muslim magazines, there is also the fact that there are two parallel judicial systems in the country: one is federal-civil, regulated by the constitution, and the other is juridical-religious, which is supposed to apply only to Muslims and is regulated by Koranic law.

The affair of the magazine of Kuala Lumpur emerged in December of last year. The interior security minister had prohibited the Herald from using the word "Allah" in its articles, affirming that its use "by non-Muslims could increase tension and create confusion among Muslims in the country." The ban brought the risk of shutdown for the only Catholic newspaper in the country, which with its 12,000 copies and 50,000 readers is the only instrument of communication for the 850,000 faithful.

In the last few days of 2007, after the protests of the Catholic community, the interior security minister withdrew the injunction, but on January 5, 2008, the minister of Islamic affairs intervened in of the affair, upholding the ban. Claiming the right to use the word "Allah," the Herald then opted to take the legal route, and the archbishop of the diocese of Kuala Lumpur, Murphy Pakiam, took the government to court (in the photo, the bishop with his lawyers at a hearing last April).

Today, the seven states and the MACMA have been admitted to the court to intervene in the dispute, and have been named as parties in the case in the revision of the procedure initiated by the archbishop of the capital. In the meantime, the Malaysian Gurdwaras Council (MGC), a Sikh group, has informed the court that it intends to present the attorney general's office with documentation that would exclude the Islamic councils from the debate.

According to the documentation from the MGC, a request to ban the use of the word "Allah" for non-Muslims was presented in Perak ten years ago. The prime minister at the time, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, had communicated to the parties in the case that there was no cause for proceeding. Jagjit is now asking prime minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi to use the same approach in the case of the Herald.

Jagjit has asked the court to update the hearing with the request of the MGC. Judge Lau Bee Lan has established February 27 as the date for deciding whether to permit the parties to present a deposition as requested for judicial review.

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 26, 2008 09:52:15
The word "Allah" exists in Sanskrit and it means Mother Goddess. Anyone wants to research on this and intervene in this proceedings? If this can be done and proven in court that the word "Allah" was long in existence in Sanskrit then the UMNO and all the Islamic religious councils can just shove this exclusivity argument up their nether regions. It is an universal word lah. The Christians can use "Allah", the Sikhs can use "Allah" and everyone can use "Allah". There is no exclusivity. Did "Allah' specifically come down from heaven and instruct you Islamic Religious Councils to sue over this word "Allah"? I am now looking for a Sanskrit expert on this. Anyone else cares to look into this?
agree 125
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 26, 2008 09:57:22
Both religions, Islam & Christianity, worship the same Allah/God. To argue over and to differential over the name is blasphemous, to say the least, and unforgivable sin against the Almighty. This petty issue clearly demonstrates human weaknesses and ignorance of Allah/God.
written by Goldfinger, November 26, 2008 10:05:37
By the way the word ALLAH is AL which means "the" in arabic and LAH which means "GOD" so ALLAH IS " THE GOD " in which he is ONE and only ONE GOD . more over the word ALLAH is use by muslims and chrstian and who ever says ALLAH they are automatically saying nothing deserve to be worshipped but " ALLAH" because he is " THE GOD "
written by pixieface, November 26, 2008 10:17:29
Me aks what is malaysia coming to, being in the spotlight for all the wrong reasons. Now suing over the use of word 'GOD'. Hey you fellows, GOD belongs to everyone who believes in HIM, regardles of color race or creed.
written by ylcc, November 26, 2008 10:25:42
Sometimes I wonder why the Islamic Religious Councils do not channel their energies into undoing the frightening decay in the integrity of our leaders ... is corruption condoned in the Islamic Regious Councils' values? I could go on, but I just think it pointless ......
written by sydput, November 26, 2008 10:41:22
the islamic council is imposing on nonmuslims again. If this trend continues, soon, all women will have to cover themselves up
written by miwaki, November 26, 2008 10:54:56
Why don't they check with God first whether this particular word can be used by Christians and other faith before the play God.
written by rizzku, November 26, 2008 10:57:04
The Theory repeated ..

The Moslems worship the God of Adam which is The God of Abraham which is The God of Moses.
The Christians worship the God of Adam which is The God of Abraham which is The God of Moses.
The Jews worship the God of Adam which is The God of Abraham which is The God of Moses.
Adam, Abraham and Moses are all the same in each Moslems, Christians and Jews.
Therefore all three major religions worship the same and one true God.
Thus, Christian's God is Moslem's God, so Christians in Malaysia have to refer their God as ALLAH, otherwise it is an insult to Moslem.
written by CitizenBodohland, November 26, 2008 11:01:28
TUHAN HANYA SATU. Siapa yang sekarang bertindak dan memberikan gambaran bahawa tuhan itu lebih dari satu? Kau ada tuhan kau, aku ada tuhan aku. Masa dunia kiamat nanti kita bersama-sama akan menuju kepadaNYA. Hanya cara kita bersembahyang dan amalan kita yang berbeza. Sila renung-renungkan.

From a faithful Moslem.
written by Tompios, November 26, 2008 11:04:10
Can you imagine how fool Malaysians in the eyes of Arabic nation? Shameless of those who are keep insisting that the word 'ALLAH' prerogative belong to ISLAM alone. Even those who are coming from North African will laugh and keep laughing to know that Malaysian official religion authority keep barking for the right to use of 'ALLAH'?

Please, my colleagues from Middle East laughing at me! They keeping saying that "Malaysians are kinder weird"!! This is no joke, Guys! May be you do not feel what I feel as oversea Malaysian who live in the fully international community. Am proud to tell the whole that I am Malaysian based on 16 September 1963.

Stop issuing this matter!

written by truthbespoken, November 26, 2008 11:05:37
As with most religions practiced by men, it is much ado over nothing! Throughout history, religions had brought more conflicts than reasons amongst men when publicly discussed. More so, when one party is intent on publicly imposing their beliefs on another. It had even caused death of innocent lives. There is just no escape from human weaknesses, no matter which religion they are from. This is God's way of punishing humans for their insecurities.
written by Hakim Abdullah, November 26, 2008 11:11:14
Inciting religious turmoil is part of the job description for an Internal Security minister and Islamic minister?...
written by indianputra, November 26, 2008 11:26:49
What is wrong with these ISLAMIC religious councils of Malaysia. Hello!! Live and let live lah!! No God is going to be angry with anyone if anyone uses the God's name in anyway. Infact, Muslims should be happy that the Non Muslims are calling Allah!

When did this narrow mind get into the minds of Muslim leaders. Why did it get into them? Is there a big plot in Malaysia? A plot to create unstablity in the country? Go ahead... because everyone will suffer including the Muslims!
written by sisa, November 26, 2008 11:45:18
I am hollier than thou.

PAS - state your view, they are trying to divide and rule. This is the starting.
written by borneoman, November 26, 2008 12:09:59
the only solution to this problem is to go to the internation court
written by mucking fuddled, November 26, 2008 12:11:56
what is the fuss over the use of a word? why waste valuable court time and money? why don't we just ask them for an altenative word that others are permitted to use. it would be damn interesting to see what they can conjure up.
written by borneoman, November 26, 2008 12:13:15
christian=2008yrs old umno islam=1400yrs old
written by pinsysu, November 26, 2008 12:13:31
er, how many brains do u guys share anyway? One? and a marinated one too?! GOD/ALLAH is GREAT! dun belittle Him pls.
written by RumahPanjai, November 26, 2008 12:20:50
The arabs whose tongue invented this word didn't copy right it so why should you malaysian muslims? You are more arab than the arabs just like the mak mak who are more malays than the local malays. The chinese muslims in malaysia should learn from their chinese counterpart in China rather than be stooges. Maybe they should ask "Allah" itself for guidance rather than making a mockery of islam?
written by Tan Tan, November 26, 2008 12:37:14
I cannot tahan anymore regarding this nonsense. Non- Muslim Malaysians, give face to our Muslim counterpart, if really they want us not to use the word "Allah", let compromise. Muslim Malaysians, shall we compromise? Really than use force such as banning other ppls, why not have dialogue and request NON -Muslim friends not to use it by doing you a favour out of respect for Islam as official religion in this country.

Prime Minister and Sultans - why don't any of you come out and give recommendation on this matter and rather than let it become such an issue. Can say something like this. out of the respect and feeling of our Muslim brothers, could non-muslim group advise not to use the word Allah and dun force it by a ban. I am sure if Prime Minister or Sultans ever voice to NON MUSLIm ppls, we will respect you and take on your recommendation or advice. However, dun force it as it is sensitive. Ask in a nice way.
written by Mr Smith, November 26, 2008 12:57:51
Now what is the difference between the Yoga Fatwa and the "Allah" ruling, which is also a form of fatwa.
If the Yoga fatwa need be referred to the Rulers before enforcement why not the "Allah" ruling too?
If the Yoga fatwa need further deliberation why not the "Allah" ruling too.
written by tanwi, November 26, 2008 13:04:09
something interesting to share from a book called 'God is not Great'.

ALL religions that believe in god does not teach its believers how to deal with another person from another faith. If you look at the holy books, you will only see punishment and killings (and condemnation to hell) of people of another faith. This is factual. I bet noone can quote a passage in the holy books stating that we must be compassionate and understanding with a person of another faith.

Hence, silly issues like this arise. To me, i dont really care other than the fact that this is a pure waste of taxpayers money.
written by FFT, November 26, 2008 13:12:06
I think both groups should simply convert to Judaism and settle the problem once and for all.

Shalom.
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 13:35:44
Why not call god 'Al' and settle the problem!
written by teo siew chin, November 26, 2008 14:52:30
Temenggong! You are getting naughty! smilies/grin.gif

I am now waiting for the one that says : My religion teaches me kindness, benevolence, generosity, humility and not strife nor quarrel - I will now turn the other cheek.
written by Rozlan, November 26, 2008 15:21:47
There was not religious edict by any Islamic authorities to ban Christians or Jews to use the word Allah instead of GOD.So I dont see any problem with it usage...Why Islamic Councils ban it beyond my imagination...
written by eloofk, November 26, 2008 15:50:31
Here again, the leaders of Islamic Religious Councils are playing God. To me Allah means God. Are they saying that Allah is God only to the Muslim exclusively? Or are they trying to say every human must be a Muslim before they are allowed to call Allah their God?
written by yellowwoman, November 26, 2008 16:00:08
I really don't understand. I really don't!!
Why is it that the most religious people (or those who project themselves as religious, ie the Christians and the Muslims) are the ones who are most unforgiving of their fellow Earth dwellers? Fight, Fight, Fight! It is always the most religious people who are fighting.

Listen to yourselves. To me, the problems of the world are mainly caused by Islamic countries against Christian countries, and vice versa. The rest are caused by natural disasters, ie disasters seemingly allowed by GOD - whatever you choose to call Him/Her/It.

Please, let us have peace.
written by jesse ventura, November 26, 2008 16:17:44
Stop talking crab stories.
Tackle national issues first, crime, corruption,inflation, etc.
written by Ken Wong, November 26, 2008 16:32:55
What on earth is wrong with these Autorities of Islam in Malaysia? Are you guys so afraid that your Muslim brothers and sisters are so weak in their faith that a little Yoga practice and now hearing or reading Christian Articles which uses the word "Allah" will convert every Muslim in Malaysia? I have never seen any religion that is so afraid before. Please remember Christian, Jews and Muslims are all the same. In fact we are all praying to one GOD aka ALLAH! We all have the rights to use the word Allah no matter what Malaysia Law says.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 26, 2008 17:06:35
Find or put all these religious people to work and soon they will be too tired to "Fatwa" this and that.

The problem is, all these religeous people have too much time on their hands and being cooped up all day, 365 days a year, does strange things to human brains.

For attention getter and to show their cleaverness, hey presto, they come up with : "Hmmmm, I-say-man, I have been thinking, shouldn't we have a Fatwa on...."

So, out comes another Fatwa which makes sense only to them, and pleases them to pieces because they thought of it first and even their Arab counterparts haven't thought of it. Tt's another Malaysia First...Malaysia Boleh! smilies/grin.gif
written by rizzku, November 26, 2008 17:12:42
Actually, Ali Cordoba,

Not all sect of Christians accept that their ALLAH died on the cross. And some Bahasa Malaysia (as well as Bahasa Indonesia) Bibles actually use Isa for Jesus, Musa for Moses, Ibrahim for Abraham and Yusuf for Joseph.
written by Aizad 234, November 26, 2008 18:23:01
All these are confusion and 'mengarut'. all the bans and fatwas remind me a dialogue from a film, Nacho Libre. The dialogue .." I dont believe in God, I believe in science."
written by alarcarte, November 26, 2008 18:58:47
Like it or not, these Islamic councils are the representatives of the Muslims in Malaysia. If they claimed that the use of “ALLAH” by 850K Christians will confuse the 10 Mega Muslims and eventually the Muslims may pray to the wrong ALLAH then their views must be true and correct for they represent the higher beings than the average Muslims in this country.

What they are trying to convey is most Muslims in Malaysia are living in coconut shells and they are not mature enough to leave the shells yet and must be protected. I guess its OK for the rest of the non Muslim Malaysians.

The Catholics on the other hand should not pursue this matter any more except to ask for the Gomen to sponsor the reprint of all Holy Bibles in Malay language and change all verses with the word ALLAH in it to TUHAN, of course during printing of these Bibles they should send in the armies to guard these Bibles just in case the Bibles got leak to the Muslims.
written by alarcarte, November 26, 2008 19:07:46
Please bring back English Schools and ordered all Christians in Malaysia to study in English schools, in this way the Catholics will refer to GOD as GOD and not Tuhan or ALLAH. They can also comprehend their Bible in English, no need to import the Malay version from Indonesia and face hostiliy from Muslim councils-lah.
written by yellowwoman, November 26, 2008 19:19:58
"Great minds discuss ideas. Average minds discuss events. Small minds discuss people." - Eleanor Roosevelt

People with no minds fight, fight, fight over words.
Cannot use the word "it-which-must-not-be-mentioned-by-non-Muslim" for God ...
Must use untung, not faedah ...
Must use pembiayaan, not kredit...

Give us a break!!!
Must use
written by yellowwoman, November 26, 2008 19:23:43
I think the Catholics should show that they are worshipping the true God by being real christians... that is forgive people who do not know what they are doing.
Forgive and be magnanimous... for that shows you have the true God in you.

Don't quarrel with people who are pathetic, who do not know the way... Be kind, be true christians.

written by Sabahfan, November 26, 2008 19:56:23
I understand sir..

malaysian Islamic Council wants exclusive rights to call God and use the God.

All the rest are second class citizen... who must not have access to God..

well, God bless you Isolamic council.... and say Hi to Lucifer....
written by kodoktua, November 26, 2008 20:35:29
The interior security minister had prohibited the Herald from using the word "Allah" in its articles, affirming that its use "by non-Muslims could increase tension and create confusion among Muslims in the country."

...but ... but how come the Arab Muslims are not confused nor their tension increase when their Arab Christian countrymen/women call upon Allah every sunday in church.
written by alpha100, November 26, 2008 21:22:58
Malaysia Boleh Land!
written by nana tanjung, November 26, 2008 21:26:20
Then, let us say - There is no God but Allah

written by PeacefulMalaysia, November 26, 2008 21:48:56
There these fcuking muslims go again

Allah is ONLY for MUSLIMS

In short - Fcuk off smilies/kiss.gif

GO study your history and see where the word ALLAH came from - SANSKIRT smilies/grin.gif
written by faridw, November 26, 2008 21:54:40
Let us be consistent in coming out with fatwas. Egypt banned yoga so we also ban yoga. Arab countries allow Christians to use the word 'Allah' so we should also allow it. Right?
written by InEffective, November 26, 2008 22:08:07

Looks like the some folks think they have the privilege of owning the Almighty, and only they can call him.

Looks like there are no-limits to the idiocy in malaysia.
written by Proarte, November 26, 2008 22:30:26
Where is the opinion of the Mulut Murai of Permatang Pauh on this issue?

Notice how is is always quiet when it comes to issues which affect human rights of non-Muslims or when Muslims behave in an unethical or fascist manner towards Muslims.

He must understand that talking about the 'Jeffersonian Focus', quoting the great Christian philosopher A N Whitehead or waxing lyrical about the 'primacy of human rights and freedom' is just cheap talk and insincere if he does not practise or speak up for these values in real life situations.

I am begining to see this person as a sad, deluded individual of low integrity with a puffed up sense of his own destiny. To date, he has let everybody and himself down.

written by Proarte, November 26, 2008 22:31:52
correction:

'Notice how is is always quiet when it comes to issues which affect human rights of non-Muslims or when Muslims behave in an unethical or fascist manner towards non-Muslims.'
written by SiHangChai, November 26, 2008 22:43:33
Allah is a universal word for Muslim God. There is no such thing as prohibiting others from using it. I beg these Islamic Council not to insult GOD.
written by Proarte, November 26, 2008 22:47:20
Abraham, Moses are prophets from the Old Testament. Mary, Jesus, Joseph are characters from the Bible. Muslims have named themselves after these individuals. Some of them are considered 'prophets' by Muslims who have revealed Allah's divine message.

Jesus is a Muslim 'prophet' who founded the Christian Church and was also a Jew.

If Muslims claim to worship a different God to Jews and Christians then they are not worshipping Allah, the God of the Torah, the God of the Injil and the God of Koran.

It seems to me that Muslims in Malaysia have either been deluded by their other 'God' Syaitan into denying that Allah is the God of prophet of Jesus and Moses or, they have inherited an 'idiot' gene which seems difficult not to be expressed.
written by Forex, November 27, 2008 04:14:59
I think fatwa council is a joke.

Are u trying to be a GOD for Islam in Malaysia?
written by faridw, November 27, 2008 07:06:57
The Quran states that Muslims, Christians and Jews worship the same God, "Allah" but that the Christians and Jews deviated from the true path. So the "God" mentioned in the Bible and the Torah is "Allah". To deny this is to deny what is written in the Quran. And this is a sin in Islam. So the half-baked ulamas of the Taliban councils in Malaysia (including that professor who instigated the whole yoga affair) should think logically rather than emotionally or racially. Professors are supposed to open their minds, not close them under coconut shells. How can he teach his students to analyse things with open minds if he has already closed his own? Even the good prophet Muhammad (may Allah bless him) said if we have to go to China in the quest of knowledge, then go. For that matter, it may be India, what difference does it make. We Malaysian taxpayers pay university lecturers to lead our students to think analytically, not end up being bigots. Maybe the University Council which employed this narrow-minded professor should review his contract.
written by My2Sens, November 27, 2008 10:29:03
This is a question of language for me.

When translated from Arabic to English Allah basically means God.

The Arabic language has been around longer (or was there first) before the religion Islam was born.

Everyone is free to speak in any language. No one owns the copyright to a language.

A language is there so that people can communicate with one another, with God and with animals (ask any pet owner).

Why is a group now claiming the sole right to a word in a language?

How is it that a religion now wants ownage of a word in a language that was in used before Islam was born?