Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Ministry keeping eye on blogs that ‘play up controversies’

Ministry keeping eye on blogs that ‘play up controversies’ PDF Print
Wednesday, 26 November 2008 00:45

By IZATUN SHARI (The Star) - KUALA LUMPUR: The Home Ministry is monitoring blogs to check if bloggers are posting comments that confuse the people on controversial issues.

Deputy Home Minister Datuk Chor Chee Heung said that at the moment, the ministry was merely advising bloggers against the misuse of blogs.

“So far, we are only telling them not to use their blogs as a mechanism to confuse people or as a weapon against those they don’t like,” he said on Tuesday when asked about bloggers posting comments on the National Fatwa Council’s edict banning Muslims from practising yoga.

“However, if the comments are deemed as posing a threat to public security, we will view them seriously,” he said, adding that it would be left to the minister to act on such cases.

“The ministry is always monitoring developments in the blogosphere,” Chor said after the launch of the National Anti-Drug Agency’s new programme, Rakan Anti-Dadah (Rada), to eradicate drug abuse.

written by cheekhiaw, November 26, 2008 00:55:03
There are more thieveries than controversies but they are not watching.
written by arazak, November 26, 2008 01:01:32
Looks like this Syed Al Blur’s “sidekick have the same penchant of intimidating the people! Maybe he has been infected by the “mad-cow dieses” too (or, was ii “mad-camel dieses”). . ., it must be from his boss!
written by Motherchell, November 26, 2008 01:12:13
The Bloggers sit at their pcs and type words and it kills these idiots. There are gangsters, robbers , rapists etc on the loose , and the govt is so damn busy chasing their own shadows .

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by doggone, November 26, 2008 01:15:29
written by fireduck, November 26, 2008 01:31:46
Perhaps we should contribute to a wikipedia on 'anti-ISA', and let this Chor try to monitor and control that. Or maybe he and his boss may say they want to haul in the wikipedia owner ..... hahahaha!
written by Spear Bing, November 26, 2008 02:54:14
The Court of Public Opinion is also monitoring on the re-cycled MCA Deputy Minister's mismanagement of company's funds under auspices of the Tourism Ministry. It was reported that he was the Chairman of the Company that lost huge sums of taxpayers' money.

Any report from him so far?
written by peace lover, November 26, 2008 05:18:13
Chor, why don't you and your Boss also keep your eyes on those ppl like Ahmad Ismail & his gang? They had and are still at the controversies playing game. Let us see you are carrying out your job FAIRLY!
written by Stupid me, November 26, 2008 07:22:38
For a start please Chor look into 'chedek' and see if the writings fall within what you mean if at all you are aware of what you are meaning. Your Sifu has brought you up quite well.
written by NSTPravda, November 26, 2008 07:38:25
Ministry keeping eye on blogs that ‘play up controversies’
We sokong any attempt to prevent all blogging stupidities
In fact, we should ban stupidities by enacting more laws
To stop stupid rakyats from commenting and ban all flaws

Our glorious polis have proclaimed that they are not against free speech
Their high professional standards we praise, they practice as they preach
“Talking the talk” is what UMNO’s polis does best
If you “walk the walk” only then they may make arrests

So now you are merely advised against misusing the blogs
You are all advised to be like me, join UMNO's running dogs
You must support edict banning Muslims from practising yoga
And you must not even breathe the kafir words such as “Altantuya”

If the comments are deemed as posing a threat to public security
We will ISA you to Kamunting and throw away the jail door key
If you don’t praise us just see what we did to the renegade RPK
Piss us off, we can make your life miserable, not semua-nya OK!
written by onnetline, November 26, 2008 07:43:02
Mr Chor,

Your idiotic bosses are getting you to take some of the heat, right? For starters, you may tell BN controlled media companies to report unbiased news. What do you think ?
written by loosecannon, November 26, 2008 08:03:25
The Umno dog is barking again.
written by truthbespoken, November 26, 2008 08:23:20
Chor! Chor! Chor! In cantonese, it means, Wrong! Wrong! Wrong! It's wrong to intimidate the public, even indirectly, Chor!
written by DreamLady, November 26, 2008 08:29:25
When najib takes over the throne, you all could expect some of us, the commentators be hauled behind bars for something we comment that prick their ears. The laws are in their hands, whether they infringe or manipulate them, they are always right to bully the rakyat.

It is going to be a rough ride when MT site is severely penalized in very near future!!!!

When Raja Petra could be reprimanded for articles he wrote in English, the ruling party could easily turn around and accuse him of insulting islam, ironically is the ones who 'read and scrutinize' the articles, and later form conclusion about the contents,are none other than the illiterates in English language....
written by asguard, November 26, 2008 09:19:58
Barang Naik own self create the mess... one after another mess... why want put on watch blogger? It make no sense at all... you fellas at Barang Naik create most of controversial issues.... and so people has the right to know the truth facts... the bottom is you idiots always like to hide the truth story !
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 26, 2008 09:36:25
I am flattered to know that the Home Minister are devoted readers of our postings too!
Perhaps, through us, they will learn a thing or two about the evils of UMNO government and might even be sufficiently educated to take up the cause to eliminate this cancerous government.
written by Areyaar, November 26, 2008 11:20:28
It is a matter of opinion. There have been many controversial issues that have come and gone, and Malaysians generally -- (the Malaysian public that is as we cannot count political parties or others backed by political parties, as the public because they get in on the act for their own agendas) -- have not flared up or gone about beating their chests and screaming in indignation. This shows that most Malaysians are not against open discussion and that they recognize that opinions are a universal right.

The ones who try to work up every controversy into a "threat" are -- guess who.
These are the same people who refuse to allow Malaysians the right to live their lives as mature, responsible, sensible people who have the intelligence to think for themselves. Instead, they seem to want to keep Malaysians oppressed and denied the right to think for themselves. They want to govern a nation of brain-dead "children" who will behave like cattle and blindly follow the herd.
written by carribeanking7, November 26, 2008 12:09:29
Dear Deputy Home Minister,

Please monitor this site link below, its an anti rempit site that from time to time provides info
on mat rempit gathering venues, and tell your police force who have a morbid
fascination with candlelight vigils, to change the priorities

http://anti-rempit.********.com/2006/10/mat-rempit-ride-to-other-states.html

The next link I am providing is a pro-UMNO pro Khairy site that has been known to disseminate
lies, half truths, and fan the fires of racism with potentially seditious comments

http://www.kpmu.net/

So what are you waiting for ? Get busy !

written by Sabahfan, November 26, 2008 20:05:04
Oh my my.... two bloody idiots in the ministry...

DEAR mr Chor Kuey Tiau....

the staff of your ministry are very welcomed to keep their eyes in my blog..

really... I will come to your ministry, poke all your eyes out so i can paste them in my blogsite..

hja ha ha ha ha ha aha ha ha ha ha