God save us from the Shariah Lawyers Association! PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 22:32
As a student of Islamic Law, I was surprised by the hadith which says that the differences of opinions between the ulema is in fact a blessing upon the ummah. My surprise was due to my familiarity with opinions like this one Here from the Malaysian Shariah Lawyers Association which basically urges the government to take action against those who contend against the recent fatwa on yoga. I actually thought that the four imams of Islamic law were like these Sharia Lawyer fellows but far from it, they were actually open to debates and discussions.

These lawyers should be very familiar with the legal debates which surround the rise of Islamic law. They should know that there is no agreement as to what sources actually constitute Islamic law. Some schools favour four sources (namely Quran, sunnah, ijma’ and qiyaas) while others accept only two (quran and sunnah). This is no small difference. And that’s not even the end of it, we also have to recognise that even the criteria for accepting who a companion of the prophet varied. If there is no consensus as to who a companion is, dare we ask how much unity there is when it becomes to selecting hadith information? Lastly, we should ask , is there any unity in the application of Quran? Again, we find the answer is no. Quran is subjected to a number of processes such as specification and abrogation and no two legal scholars agree on what’s actually applicable.

In short, what we know as Islamic Law is simply an ad hoc legal formulation by the Muslims at the time in their effort to practise Islam. It was a legal evolution and no has the right to claim that the doors of legal reasoning is for them alone There is no absolute authority to it, no final word.

So what is the Shariah Lawyers Association talking about, with their ‘mempertikaikan majlis fatwa’ complaint?. Instead of engaging with actual intellectual movements like the Sisters in Islam, they prefer to call for action for the protection of ‘kesucian islam’. When, pray tell, was ‘kesucian islam’ ever in question? When did anyone say Islam was in any way deficient? What was called into question was the veracity of the National Fatwa Council. The council made a number of erroneous deductions about the practise of yoga. For a start, they claimed that yoga involved ‘worshipping’ and ‘chanting’ without considering that such physical postures and verbal utterances were to be seen as therapeutic, not religious. There is no sliding from aqeedah here, only a slide from sound research.

No one is perfect. Even Mohamed himself was corrected by Allah as recorded in the Quran. The four imams also made statements highlighting their fallibility and the contingent situations surrounding their legal opinions. So what does our Fatwa Council have that makes them superior to the Prophet and the old Imams? They are human beings and may have missed some vital information in their formulation.

This loud complaint by the Sharia Lawyers Association is nothing more than a flexing of muscles and repeating the self-manufactured delusion that they are the  guardians of Islam. In truth, Islam has nothing of the authoritarian tones which these people preach. Islam allows disagreement and allows people to practise their reasoning. Lets not allow these threats to deter us from the advancement of Islamic discourse.

Farouk A. Peru

www.farouk.name

written by Spear Bing, November 25, 2008 23:00:05
At least we have one Muslim in the person of Farouk who is inclusive enough, engaging enough, sensible enough, sagacious enough, judicious enough etc....to be able to view this issue in its proper perspective.

Obviously there are more 'Farouks' around but they need to come out to walk the talk.

Salam.
written by joeawk, November 25, 2008 23:01:27
when the source of knowledge and understanding cannot even be ascertain, how can anyone claim truth. all said, it has always been man play GOD.

Just like the fatwa on yoga and pengkid, they are craps, simply because it has been around for 10s of years and recently these bloke decided to fatwa pengkid n yoga.

It is so clear that these blokes have got nothing better to do than to create chaos even among the muslims.

Liemall things, even GOD has HIS Plan and his plan is ever progressing and for that matter, man has got to progress with the plan of GOD.

written by Motherchell, November 25, 2008 23:17:40
Farouk !Great piece of work,
Its the politicking that hurdles the search for new horizons .Now we know why Al Azhars discard is so valuable in Malaysia. They have their purpose!

God Bless your work Farouk!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by onnetline, November 25, 2008 23:21:39
Like all other religions, Islam definitely does not need some half baked ' experts ' who call themselves guardians !
written by cheemengwong, November 25, 2008 23:49:50
The Ulamas are always harping on the women's business! Why? Are they trying to put Muslim women in a bottle?

come onlah ulamas. mind your own business with God. Don't disturb the Muslim women anymore.
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 00:05:08
It's good that you bring out these issues. Muslims should challenge blind diktats and rhetoric. Let them know that we know too. Very well!

They should know that there is no agreement as to what sources actually constitute Islamic law. Some schools favour four sources (namely Quran, sunnah, ijma’ and qiyaas) while others accept only two (quran and sunnah).

There is another school that accepts the quran only!

The four imams also made statements highlighting their fallibility and the contingent situations surrounding their legal opinions.

All religionists have difficulties accepting fallibility. Herein lies the problem.

Let there be a debate!
written by arazak, November 26, 2008 00:06:45
It seems that the "Ketuanan UMNO" syndrome had infected the Mullahs in JAKIM. . ., what we have now is "Ketuanan Mullah”.

No one. . ., I mean no one should question the "wisdom" (or was it stupidity!) of these Mullahs.

On a lighter note, just saw the Yoga controversy issue on the BBC world news at 7 o’clock Dubai time. Looks like the Malaysian Mullahs at JAKIM had become the laughing stock in the Middle-East and even globally too! Way to go JAKIM. . . keep up with your arrogant-stupidity ("dah bodoh, sombong!").
written by cheekhiaw, November 26, 2008 00:18:08
Nothing new. Omar Khayyam had already immortalised such idiots in his poems 1,000 years ago.

And do you think that unto such as you;
A maggot-minded, starved, fanatic crew:
God gave the secret—and denied it me?
Well, well, what matters it? Believe that, too.
- Rubaiyat, Omar Khayyam

written by truthbespoken, November 26, 2008 00:26:48
Farouk is a rational human being and a thinking muslim.
written by cheekhiaw, November 26, 2008 00:33:58
You don't have to be a scholar of many years on that subject to tell that you are simply dealing with idiots.
written by cheekhiaw, November 26, 2008 00:50:24
And if those godly idiots cannot agree which one is 'most true', one would think a caring and all powerful god could easily re-send another messenger, this time with DVD and all direct from god himself wouldn't it?
written by Farouk, November 26, 2008 04:30:25
Thanks for the comments, folks.
Take a look at Tok Guru's 100% support for this haraming of yoga
http://utusan.com.my/utusan/in...=dn_04.htm

Never conned by PAS's promises of democracy. That's all nothing but propaganda. If and when PAS gets into power, yoga, taiji , pilates and everything except Arabian exercise of maybe belly-dancing will be haram!
written by Apek, November 26, 2008 09:35:13
Dear Farouk,

Thank you for your illuminating piece of work. I have found knowledge in sound reasoning. I accept the fact that the Muslim Lawyers Association intend to flex their muscle. But of equal danger to the Muslim brothers and sisters of this country is the Fatwa Council.

The Fatwa Council is in fact an advisory body (only) but with increasing usurpation of power and the power to proclaim a Fatwa, they are becoming a power onto themselves and their edicts have the force of the divine decree. They and their Political Masters have already warned non-Muslims that non-Muslims cannot question their decrees OR the grounds and facts upon which such decrees have been formulated (although it is quite clear to all that they have been looking at the wrong and irrelevant evidence). The Fatwa Council has further stated that even Muslims cannot question a Fatwa or the facts, circumstances and grounds upon which such Fatwa’s were formulated. Rather than re-look at the grounds of decision, the Fatwa Council has labeled such Muslims who question the facts, grounds and decree as being "not learned" in Islam.

This clearly shows you that the Fatwa Council is not open to reproach or appeal in its decision or in its reasoning. They are a power second only to the Almighty and this is a danger far greater than the persons presently proclaiming themselves to be Lawyers.

Absolute Power corrupts absolutely. And there would be no stopping the Fatwa Council from proclaiming all sorts of Fatwa’s - from politically motivated fatwa’s to divide the Pakatan Rakyat governments to the ludicrous banning of (maybe) Tai Chi and Line Dancing or even to saying that it is haram to shake the hands of non-Muslims (that will divide our Nation further). Absolute power in whatever guise is tyranny!!!

If sound reasoning and questions are not allowed to assail decrees that affect the people, who then is with power enough to stop such ludicrous decrees and absolute tyranny? The Sultans? The Sultan of Selangor’s recent rebuke of the Fatwa Council can itself be grounds for a further fatwa against the Sultan who the Fatwa Council can deem to be "ill-learned" in Islam or even "un-Islamic" and halal to be removed from his throne!!!

Absolute power corrupts absolutely. And if our Muslim brothers do not limit the human power of the Fatwa Council (which at the end of the day are HUMAN and infallible and open top political manipulation), it will be dim days indeed for freedom for Malaysians. Our Muslim brothers in Malaysia would soon discover that freedom of conscience and freedom from absolute tyranny can in fact be found in Haram and liberated countries in the West rather than in the halal Muslim Malaysia.

What an irony that would be.
written by mountainking, November 26, 2008 11:52:56
they are not Syariah Lawyers Associateion.

they are

UMNO'S SYARIAH LAWYERS ASSOCIATION

to silent muslims who dare to speak up. to intimidate new law students, to put guilt-trip to all muslims and to control your mind.

maybe set-up another association:

The People's Syariah Lawyers Association
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 26, 2008 12:19:20
If the government get these Syariah Lawyers & Fatwah council members more work, like farming or some other more productive jobs, to keep them occupied and from being all cooped up with boredom, I am very sure more sensible and meaningful "Fatwas" will be forth coming!
written by sarawakian, November 26, 2008 20:24:45
The Fatwa Council is in fact an advisory body (only) but with increasing usurpation of power and the power to proclaim a Fatwa, they are becoming a power onto themselves and their edicts have the force of the divine decree

so it looks like the Fatwa Council is trying to usurp power from the Malay Rulers in regards to Islamic matters. what a way to snub Royalty..
written by SiHangChai, November 26, 2008 22:45:18
The Malaysian's Council decides their own law of jungle
written by Proarte, November 27, 2008 05:23:44
We should engage reason, logic and sincerity in discussing religious controversies. Nobody has a monopoly in wisdom. Even Muhammed was tricked by the Devil into including the 'Satanic Verses' in the Koran. This was subsequently abrogated and Muhammed admitted his folly.

If Muhammed can be tricked into including false teachings, how do we know that the Koran, Hadiths or other Islamic sources have not been tainted and corrupted by the Shaitan?

Well, this is where we apply our brain and our personal relationship with Allah for guidance.

Are Muslims willing to engage their brain and seek guidance from Allah?
written by borneoman, November 27, 2008 20:46:02
syariah court will never have jurisdiction over sarawakian because the 20pts agreement said so.please dont push your luck in the nation of sarawak where you are not recognised and a minority.