24-hour eateries pose health and social danger PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 22:18
In Malaysia, it is very easy to park yourself in a restaurant 24/7. In fact seeing "Buka 24 jam" signboards fronting eateries anywhere in the country is not a remote chance lately.

One wonders, do we really need such round-the-clock eating services? Not so long ago the argument put forth was that there are many workers who plough the graveyard shift and therefore they need to eat too.

But we may be missing a very crucial reality at the rate the 24 hour eateries are mushrooming all over the country.

In most countries - both developed and developing, eateries are closed after a 8 - 12 hour run. In some developed parts of the world, a restaurant is also expected to close for cleaning every four to five hour run.

But in Malaysia, the perinnial operations do not shutdown for hygiene restoration. As such, you see two-shift foreign workers manning the 24-hour premises with cleaning taking place while customers continue patronizing unperturbed.

Even garbage and kitchen waste removal takes place right under the noses of patrons as the garbage truck pulls over daily at the restaurant's frontage.

Such full-time operations also do not ensure the freshness and proper storage and use of perishables especially meat items that are left defrosting or thawing all day and night long. The same goes for vegetables and premixed flour items that are prepared and stored for convenience rather than cleanliness and nutritive value. 

As any nutritionist will tell you, meat or poultry that is left to thaw over extend time, encourages the multiplicity of harmful bacteria.

When eateries are not shutdown for and at reasonable intervals, the hygiene and cleanliness of the eatery is certainly compromised. And they operate at vulnerable levels of infection, contamination and poor food quality.

Further, there is also a social concern. With the 'Mat' and 'Minah Rempit' menace in all major towns, such 24-hour outlets only provide greater incentive to our youth to hang out into the wee hours of the morning.

In fact a quick round-up of restaurants past midnight easily identifies the patrons are not so much night shift workers as claimed but youths 'lepaking'.

As such, it is about time that our policy makers and enforcement units - including town planners and licensing bodies sat down together and revisited this uniquely Malaysian 24-hour eateries.

There is also a need to force operators to close for reasonable periods of time to do housekeeping and cleaning at regular intervals.

Failing to do so may lead us far too deep into a way of life that eventually will be hard to dismantle. It could also be cause for hygiene, health and social deterioration at implosive levels.

But if profit is the sole factor irrespective of the social or health consequences, then these 24/7 operations will only continue to boom and deliberately escape policy makers and those with vested interest.

- J. D. Lovrenciear , Semenyih 

written by Motherchell, November 25, 2008 22:51:17
For sure the food is going to give you diarrhea-- as the cook will rarely want to dispose what is prepared with the high cost of preparing it too.

A Home Minister like Alba should use his army of Musas to check what is safe for public consumption when he drives out for supper with sunglasses! Too many smooth operators here!! Middle man , center man , rear man and bagmans!!

http://sjsandteam.*********.com
written by CM Lam, November 25, 2008 23:03:11
I stay around Dataran Sunway and there are at least 52 shops in the restaurant business. Worst is that after 5pm, most of these shops would put out their tables and chairs at the car park area. It would difficult to get a parking bay and obviously everyone double park in this area. Why are the authorities allowing this and not taking action ? There is also a balai Polis there . All these are bad for everyone...except those operating those makan shops there!
written by Steven Tan, November 26, 2008 00:01:24
Dear CM LAM,

The answer for your question is $$$$$$ . The so called authority are happy because they're getting a big lump sum of money (probably monthly) for "NOT DOING" their job. And as for the Restaurant Owners, they're happy because they're free to do anything asspecially using the car parks as their business area. It's not happening only in Dataran Sunway BUT every where in Malaysia. In another word, the local authority such as a MAJLIS BANDARAYA and MAJLIS PERBANDARAN's VIP Personnel are getting their second pay slip through this concept. I hope I already answer your question smilies/grin.gif
written by renoir, November 26, 2008 00:06:26
I guess 24-eateries are ok if they follow safe, hygienic procedures. There're quite a lot such restaurants in the US. I remember chain restaurants such as Perkins family restaurants and Country Kitchen, both of which were popular in university towns as they allowed students to study during hot, summer nights in air-con comfort. Most students merely ordered snacks and pitchers of coffee, though some enjoyed their suppers as well. Most meals were delicious and affordable: my favorite snack was Perkins' blueberry rollups.

I don't know whether the Mat Rempit problem is widespread here: perhaps that's something for the police to solve: they gotta do something positive besides making a nuisance of themselves at anti-ISA vigils.

written by The Hammer, November 26, 2008 00:21:51
Very soon most of these eateries including KFC and McD will close early due to the recession as most workers will either be out of work, normal shift or will decide to cut cost. Even the workers who are staying at the hostel or residence will set up their own kitchen to prepare basic meals. Money will became a scarce commodity and those who have it will certaintly think twice before spending it.
written by temenggong, November 26, 2008 00:28:21
There must come a time when we say no more to hawkers. At least in the urban areas. We can't be a third world nation forever. It is hawkers that have no recourse to washing and cleaning that are unhygienic.
written by kkselvam, November 26, 2008 00:43:32
Steven Tan

You nailed it man!! Probably another project from BN for the Malaysian people.Hahahaha.....
written by cheekhiaw, November 26, 2008 00:57:59
24-hour eateries pose health and social danger but 24-hour thieveries at high places do not...

written by Hairy Potter, November 26, 2008 04:53:06
1. Stop controlling peoples' lives. The operators pay rents. They have the rights to make full use of it. Time is hard. You want to help paying their bills?

2. The relevant authority is to be responsible when it comes to premise cleanliness and hygiene. I believe we have the law on this and enough manpower but the problem is the implementation and mentality of the top person of the job.

3. Whats wrong with "lepak"? Don't judge people who can only afford to chat at "mamaks" rather than hotel lounges. Is it less "sinless" to "lepak" at a 24 hour hotel coffee house? We should be able to lead our own lives the way we wish as long as we don't trouble anyone. So what if one decided to "lepak" at dataran merdeka till the wee hours of the morning? We are not under curfew, are we?

Salam
written by onnetline, November 26, 2008 07:52:14
There's no denying that these operators are trying to make more money.

But it's the responsibilities of the local authorities not to ' sleep ' on their jobs regarding these social ills matters!
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 26, 2008 10:32:50
All successful business falls under the concept of “Supply & Demand”.

As long as there is sufficient demand, the business will thrive.

Apart from carrying out checks on the hygiene of these 24/7 eateries, the health ministry should also educate the people on the possible danger & perils of patronizing such food outlets.
written by densemy, November 26, 2008 12:18:36
Between Steven Tan and Harry Potter you have all the answers you want.

Dont be such control freaks and let the market dictate who survives and who doesnt

Get local government off their fat arses and out doing the jobs they are paid for... All the problems you highlighted...Hygiene, garbage collection, standard of premises, wages for slaves are all sub sub sub standard
written by sarawakian, November 26, 2008 20:15:24
the writer should have also mentioned that it is not healthy practice to be eating just 2-3 hours before bedtime.

and just because shops close at 9pm does not mean they're doing cleaning work. 95% just let the rats and cockroaches do the cleaning. in fact, go to the rear end of most McD and KFC outlets and you'll see how unhygienic they really are.

Malaysians have a bad culture of eating and obesity and health issues are really something to look into lest the next generation does not live past 40.

written by Tom n Jerry, November 27, 2008 15:25:40
Time to be frugal for all,but the sad reality is not many people have such a word i ntheir vocabulary;what they know is excessive eating & spending,especially taxpayer*s money;I am referring to UMNo putras;their motive in life is to live to eat;not eat to live!