Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Shahrir says Malaysians are greedy

Shahrir says Malaysians are greedy PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 18:03

KUALA LUMPUR (The Malaysian Insider), Nov 25 — Datuk Shahrir Samad, the minister who has faced the brunt of criticism over oil prices, courted even more controversy today when he suggested Malaysians were greedy if they expected subsidies to continue.

The Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister, whose job is to regulate prices, said subsidies are meant to only cushion the burden of high prices.

"When prices come down it will just be greed on the part of consumers to insist that they be subsidised," he said.

Shahrir's comments come as more Malaysians have accused the government of reneging on the promise to maintain a 30-sen subsidy on petrol and diesel.

While the government continues to subsidise diesel, it has stopped subsidies on petrol sales.

A quirk in the method in which pump prices are set and the steep drop in global oil prices have now resulted in the government collecting a "tax" through revenue gained from the difference between pump prices and the actual market price.

"It is not that we are not keeping our word. It is because the drop in prices has been faster than the 30-sen subsidy," he said.

He said it would be destructive to bring down prices quickly, but he offered no explanation for such an argument.

The minister also brushed aside suggestions that consumers were now subsidising the government.

"The Government collects taxes. It is Government revenue. When the price is high, that is when the Government extends it as subsidy," he said.

Oil prices have played a major part in Malaysian politics over the past year.

The opposition successfully used rising oil prices as an effective weapon against the ruling Barisan Nasional government in the March general election.

Playing on widespread dissatisfaction over rising oil prices then, the opposition succeeded in wresting five state governments and also denied for the first time in the country's history BN's two-thirds parliamentary majority.

While pump prices have fallen sharply recently because of a softening global economic outlook widespread unhappiness remains because the government has effectively removed subsidies on petrol sales.

Comments (65)Add Comment
written by cheekhiaw, November 25, 2008 18:08:18
How about the bunch of thieves next to you in UMNO? Are they greedy?

agree 180
written by Ben, November 25, 2008 18:09:48
Some say that the best form of defence is attack but this certainly not the right approach. We dare say with confidence that bn is gone come GE14. Not only do they exemplify greed, arrogance, ineptness and poor governance, they use such labels wrongly on the voters who supported them. Malaysian voters must and will rise to this challenge. Let's get rid of them once for all.
written by user1001, November 25, 2008 18:17:09
Who is greedy anyway? Just ask yourself? Who or What organisation has been taken away malaysians money for their own pocket? Our hard earned money have been taxed to built your pocket money instead of the subsidies! I know why malaysia is a failure.. it is bcoz you take your own people money!!! I wonder this government or this mr shahril knows how to calculate for the benefits of its own ppl or not.
written by AuntyG, November 25, 2008 18:18:08
Corek, corek, corek, Malaysians ARE greedy. Starting with you Shahrir if you also belong to the same kettle of fish - BeEnd goonies/croonies/loonies! For you lot have plundered the country/rakyat left, right, centre that the rakyat have to be 'greedy' for non-removal of subsidies bcos they are poor and hungry and find it difficult to cope with rising prices. People in developed countries have to pay a higher tax structure, but they get back their tax$$ in better infrastructure and benefits to enhance their quality of life.

Shahrir, you have the arrogance to call Malaysians greedy. We also have the gall to say you and your lot are damm avaricious blood suckers. The country and its resources belong COLLECTIVELY to all Malaysians
written by Sudahlah tu, November 25, 2008 18:20:09
benar juga melayu umno ini bercakap tentang orang Malaysia. mungkin dia sedang dalam proses berhijrah ke negara lain selepas ini. seorang menteri melayu umno yang tamak berkumpulan ini. mengejek rakyat dan megatakan rakyat yang tamak. apa ini ?
written by citizenmy, November 25, 2008 18:21:02
Crude oil price was high, palm oil price was high , rubber price was high, our trade hit 1 Trillion mark. All this happened last 5 years. So income tax must be very high too.

But cant see any development for last 5 years. Where are all those monies?????
written by clarity, November 25, 2008 18:21:02
He does not mention that because of the way he regulated the petrol prices, we are now stuck with high food prices and other consumer prices. Anyway what he means is " who are you to vote for us, so don't complain ".
written by malsia1206, November 25, 2008 18:22:13
I have this much to reply to Datuk Shahrir. Do not blame Malaysians for being greedy. If we are not, the revenue your Governments collects are misused anyway. Look at Pempena and the Tourism Ministry. The ways they misused Government funds are outright shameful. There are many more of such cases. And you are still expecting your rakyat to continue paying for more of your Government's abuses? Consider the Government lucky we are still paying our taxes.
written by savemalaysia, November 25, 2008 18:22:25
Bro Shahrir, if we malaysians demanding lower petrol price is termed greedy, how about those UMNOputras that plundering billions of $$ from tax payers' hard earned $$ thru inflated contracts and projects? Do u think without these corruptions and plundering, your bunch of thieves can afford to pay millions of $$ to solicit for votes in the on-going Umno elections.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 18:29:21
"It is not that we are not keeping our word. It is because the drop in prices has been faster than the 30-sen subsidy," he said.

He said it would be destructive to bring down prices quickly, but he offered no explanation for such an argument.

Dear Shahrir,
We have enough of Razak Baginda 's lies and now you are overtaking him to become the mother of all liar.How much longer can you lie when your hair is so white.
written by karyeowl, November 25, 2008 18:31:22

When the price of petroleum is high, the government said that they will slowly removing the subsidy, and to go towards world market price.

Now the petroleum price is low, and they blame us as greedy. Don't know who is greedy, as government said that they are making money from us. for keeping the price high.

Are we fools to believe those BN pirates?
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 18:31:30
Who is more greedy,the gov't or the rakyat.I think you all are the greediest.You not only take but steal also.
written by cllim123, November 25, 2008 18:33:10
Why does our gormen need to subsidise us for our petrol and diesel? It is our fuel pumped from our land. The reason is Petronas now run like it belongs to Umno. Malaysians now must buy oil from Petronas who is cash strapped from funding Umno projects owned by Umno goons. When crude price hike, gormen pay like hell to Petronas. Petronas makes more money but gormen must keep pump price at RM2.70. That is subsidy. But when crude price fall, Petronas make less money, so gormen must pay more to Petronas. Again there is subsidy. Either wat Malaysia gormen ie we the rakyat, will pay more.

That is why our gormen will not compare our fuel price with that of oil nations.
written by future, November 25, 2008 18:34:51
This 15cents minister is not getting any better and he has gone from bad to worst. Shahrir you are mixing with the wrong group of people and your credibility is going down on each passing day.
written by AuntyG, November 25, 2008 18:37:37
If I can go back in time, I want to be Robin Hood. I will plunder from greediest BeEnd to give 100% petrol subsidy to then greedy rakyat.
written by Liberace, November 25, 2008 18:40:31
Only in Malaysia! Good is evil, evil is good. The murderer takes the highest office and the accuser is thrown into jail. The liar in Parliament is defended by the Speaker and the one who demands punitive action is suspended. UMNO robs us by the billions and is rewarded with more while the poor man on the street who's struggling to make ends meet is accused of being greedy.

Look Shahrir, don't blame your incompetence on our greed. You can't work out the numbers to fit the reality? You're too dumb for the job. Go back to your dirty laundry business and don't insult us by telling us we don't know what we're asking for. Why didn't you think about the devastating effects on the people when you raised the pump price by leaps and bounds? And now you complain that we don't realize how damaging a sharp drop in price will be? Hey, we don't give a damn. You raised the price, you drop it. NOW!
written by AuntyG, November 25, 2008 18:43:31
Liberace,
I cant agree with you more, your 1st para in particular. Bolehland must be the 8th wonder of the world !!
written by thor, November 25, 2008 18:43:34
This joker from AMENO wants us to believe he and Bee End cares by taking the LRT, the next day SLEEPY HEAD took d LRT, a lot of publicity but like all things that these jokers from Bee End do only sandiwara aja. The facts speak for itself, when oil price rose from USD96 to USD146, these incompetence fools raise petrol price by 78cts, we were net exporter of oil, causing all prices to rise. Now, oil price fell from USD146 to below USD50, they had reduce petrol prices several times (5 if I am not mistaken) but then it DID NOT even amount to 78cts originally raised and NOW he is calling all MALAYSIANS GREEDY because they want to HIDE THEIR GROSS INCOMPETENCE AND ARROGANCE. Now will economy slowing down and prices rising MALAYSIANS who do not belong to the ELITE group suffer from a DOUBLE WHAMMY. Seriously, u certainly hve make a real S of yrself, with this calibre of leadership do u honestly believe we can face the economic downturn with confidence.

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES

written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 18:47:41
Shahrir,You are lucky that Mahathir didn't send you to Kamunting or otherwise you won't be here anymore.
How's your laundry business going on,bankrupt already or not.Why you so greedy! Give poor people free washing.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 18:49:56
You greedy skinny white haired mother of all liar.Shut your gob.
written by cheekymate, November 25, 2008 18:52:30
YAB Abdullah badawi,
Please save our country from its present abyss. You know murderers with blood on their hands are happily walking around having escaped the gallows, those who lie in Dewan also get away scot free while honest MP is suspended for speaking the truth. Our land is under siege of rampant corruption from the greedy Umnoputras and we the citizens are finger pointed for asking what is due to us. Have you lost your love and compassion for your people? You are the leader of our country, do not desert us now in our darkest hour of need. Hell is just a stone's throw away...
written by Stupid me, November 25, 2008 19:01:40
Our friend performed very very well i.e. spoke very well when he was an ordinary MP and not a Minister but when he was appointed a Minister what he said and has been saying is diamtrically opposite to good sense. He appears to be going to the level of many Ministers particularly from his own State slowly but surely.Pleas take note.
written by SeriousLy, November 25, 2008 19:01:49
Malaysians are greedy because of UMNO policies and not to forget the UMNO politicians are the most greedy and shameless in the world too!
written by The Hammer, November 25, 2008 19:17:03
Correction: Ummo Malaysians and also includes your sidekicks MCA, MIC, PPP and others that are of your creed! You have indeed lost your "marbles".
written by AsamLaksa, November 25, 2008 19:18:57
Orang Malaysia tamak? Yah... betul. Kau orang Malaysia. UMNO member orang Malaysia. Yah... betul. Orang Malaysia tamak, yah... apa kau nak buat? Sudahlah tak ada alasan lagi. Dulu kata harga minyak naik kena ikut harga pasaran. Harga minyak turun tak ikut harga pasaran pulak. Siapa tamak?
written by michaelT, November 25, 2008 19:19:43
Malaysian are not greedy. They have no resources to live normal life. The stupid BN government raise the petrol so high tyhat brought up the inflation. The roadside nasi lemak seller are cursing you and your buddies. The real greedy are the UMNO Putras. They still want to scrap the bottom of the barrel. What happen to the 18 high profile corrupt case as revealed by Rais Yatim. What abouit the Iron Lady, the Taxi tycoon etc. They have plunge the nation to poverty and innocent rakyat has been punished for their greed. Enough is enough and stop labelling Malaysian as GREEDY
written by z3_demarco, November 25, 2008 19:22:02
Guys, just to let you know, the oil price for unleaded in Australia is 99 cent. Would you believe it? I'm staying there and the price dropped drastically when the world oil price. Thats something the Malaysian government should be doing. Every UMNO ministers who voiced out never think properly before saying. Stupid and immature comments most of the time. The people who are greedy are the UMNO and the BN, not the citizens. We paid our taxes and you guys just ripped from it. The unleaded price should be around 1.2 sen. If it reduced to 1.85, it should go much lower. The government is getting a lot back people. Guys, i hope you know who to vote for, no more BN. Look at all the ministers with such stupid remarks. Syed botak, ahmed ismail, Sharil samad. These people don't have the brains for being ministers. I have no idea how they become ministers. The world is laughing at our pitiful country cause our ministers are all brainless. Most are not degree holders and some bought their degree. Lets compare it to our nearest neighbour, Spore. Its a shame. Give me few more years and i'll come back and be a minister. Hope you vote for me mate!! I'll kick their ass off the country
written by Horizonline, November 25, 2008 19:24:45
We're not greedy, we're simply hope for the best. Reading newspaper for few days, I realized you have done so many things past these few days, we really appreciate it. But don't label us as greedy, it is you and you friends made we become like this.
written by mikewang, November 25, 2008 19:24:57
"While the government continues to subsidise diesel, it has stopped subsidies on petrol sales."

Nonsense. The government is not subsidising diesel at the pumps. Even industrial diesel (which are free of subsidy) is cheaper than diesel sold at the petrol station.

The subsidy the government is talking about is given only to large transportation companies and fishermen. Even then, bus fares have gone up.
written by Evol, November 25, 2008 19:39:49
Greedy? It those people are not greedy we will not have so many corruption!

Mr Minister, please think with your brain not your A*#!!
written by HamChak, November 25, 2008 19:40:40
What are you talking about Shahrir? Don't la twist and turn like a SNAKE, lor.
It is the UMNO politicians, the menteri that are the most GREEDY. Look around you,
most of the BN politicians and Menteri are MILLIONAIRES. How la, they got all these
LOOTS from? So they are not Greedy, la. Don't la talk like a uneducated Minister.
written by taishan, November 25, 2008 19:43:13
We won't be calling him greedy in return - just thieves. And UMNO is a thieving organisation.
written by onnetline, November 25, 2008 20:08:11

En Sharir,
Why are you hiding behind your statement? Moreover, 'greed' is a household word & practised widely among Barisan Najis parties. Please don't pretend that you don't know that, ok ? Only the fools doesn't know this !
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 20:13:05
Now it's the rakyat that is subsidizing the government.
Shahrir,you are bullshitting by going back on your words.Is this the way the gov't treat it's citizen!
written by BennyG, November 25, 2008 20:19:54
After Shahrir's stint as Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister, all his voters supporters will forget what had Shahrir contributed especially him being the lone ranger that spoke out against UMNO. When you're a BN (especially an UMNO) Minister, you will have to lie through your teeth. So far only Zaid Ibrahim earned my respect.

Shahrir, wake up!! Do you realise why UMNO chosen you to be the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister? Resign now while you still have some respect from your supporters before you are kicked out!smilies/angry.gif
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 20:23:32
Hey Shahrir,Your mouth is like a frog that croak all day.If you talk so insulting again,I will spray your big mouth with Ridsect.You white hair are crooks,not us.We don't steal from you but you steal from us.We buy from you but you crooked from us.
written by samliyu, November 25, 2008 20:34:23
this dato' is talking world market price than just follow keep your promise don't mentioned your stupid statement that we are greedy, of course people like you don't feel the pain of fuel increase..go out an make a survey how the rakyat have suffer thru' the fuel increase. Look at all those consumer items, construction materials and many others ..an what the govt. can do to bring down the prices..most properly abolish all related import duty and let them compete with outside force rather than protecting a few and making the whole rakyat suffer silencely.
written by azee72, November 25, 2008 20:37:51
Dont go near these people,when they talk, shits come out
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 20:45:48
when they need our votes ,they call us god,when they don't need us they call us greedy.You skinny white hair rusty shit bucket.I will always remember this and if I see you in the coffee shop in Johor,I won't pay your bill .You pay your own bill.
written by est, November 25, 2008 20:49:59
When the price of oil goes up? You want us to pay more. You mess up the market of all other goods by increasing the oil price. Now everything goes up. But when petrol price comes down everything else that has gone up were still up there. A bowl of noodle that cost RM 2.80 is now RM 3.50- RM 4.00. And now you just look at the petrol price solely and said you want to stop the subsidy. Is this what you call managing the economy?

written by uxzee, November 25, 2008 20:57:08
Shahrir looked promising when he was not a minister. But when put to test he failed miserably. What a let down. I guess there are no sensible leaders in UMNO.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 20:58:31
I have just married and we have just bought a house near Shahrir Samad house in Johor.At first we were happy to be his neighbour,but now with his big frog mouth churning out all this lies,we don't want to be his neighbour.Also our laundry will not be sent to his laundry shop.So pete,shall we sell our house or leave it empty for the ghost to occupied it and haunt Shahrir day and night becos he call us greedy.We can't sell it becos due to financial crises.What shall we do,Pete!
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 20:59:50
I switch off the TV when his bananas face comes out.
written by mikewang, November 25, 2008 21:02:01
In the first place, who is the stupid minister who increased price of petrol in addition to removing all subsidies on gas to power producers so that at one stroke we suffered huge increases in fuel and power charges even though we are a net oil producer ?

Will the same minister return our living costs to pre-June level now that petrol price have effectively gone back to where this round of inflation started ?

Please never accuse us of being greedy !
We've suffered as a result of your stupid decisions.
At least be honourable with your promise of a 30 sen subsidy and resign if you can't!
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 21:03:13
His car will break down ,with Gods help ,leaving him stuck on the highway alone and the phone battery dead.
written by johntyc, November 25, 2008 21:25:36
We, greedy? How dare you Shahrir! Both oil and electricity also expensive but I know it's not a problem at all for you guys in Umno and BN.
written by miwaki, November 25, 2008 21:33:23
I thought BN is the most greedy party all these while and now this chap is complaining that the tax payers are greedy.If this minister is not careful,he will be bundled out very soon.We rakyat are asking the government to lower the pump price of gasoline,we do not steal,we do not rob.See what your BN people do all these while ? They do not ask,they do not beg,they just take as if all resources belong to their grand fathers.Still have the audacity to complain about us ?
written by Catharsis, November 25, 2008 21:40:35
Hello YB, you are talking about the BASIC NEEDS of the populace- by the way you ought to point that POTTY FINGER OF YOURS AT THOSE GREEDY LAW MAKERS for being greedy in amassing their personal wealth and that of their cronies and families through unethical practices
written by BUTEK, November 25, 2008 21:47:13
maybe we should throw him pig shit in any press conference !!!!!!! the more the better ......
written by lakshy, November 25, 2008 22:23:23
I wonder if Shahrir will be able to defend his seat and win it in the next GE. Even the cab drivers are spitting at the mention of his name now!
written by alarcarte, November 25, 2008 22:23:28
Who is greedy anyway? Throwing hundred of thounsands or million ringgit to buy vote in return for a RM 240K per annum job!

Please-lah, don't call us greedy, we just want to survive! I already have enough headache already, income tax department just send me a letter asking me to pay RM2K to them within 21 days for tax owed to them in year 2003, why can't they go after the UMNO putras who can spend millions instead of me?

Let me tell you something, BN Gomen, me and my family members will never ever again vote for BN. Pooi!!!!!
written by Michael Pg, November 25, 2008 22:44:54
I will fire you, how could you tell your boss is greedy. You are working for us not the other way. you must be fire and out of office asap.
written by zza11, November 25, 2008 23:06:42
When oil price went up BN govt decided that the oil price must fluctuate with the market and the govt will maintain 30 sen subsidy only. Reluctantly people have to accept that. Five months later when oil price goes down BN govt decided to reduce/remove subsidy. Reluctantly people have to accept that. But this time they also call the people greedy.
written by born2reign, November 25, 2008 23:13:49
Who asked you to hold a Greedy Competition? The question is not whether we are greedier than Najis or Madhater, so don't change the subject. The question is when will you reduce the price of oil AS PROMISED? Since when is your promise to the rakyat construed as the rakyat greedy? Totally 2 different subject. And we admit we are greedy. So give us the grand prize? Lock us up for being non-halal? Greedy is when the govt pay staff RM14000 to do nothing. So as a greedy rakyat to a greedy minister, give us our subsidy of RM0.30 NOW! To demand for a fulfilment of your promise is called WISE RAKYAT, not greedy
written by ez24get, November 25, 2008 23:14:36
For Christ sake, Shahril, you seem to forget that Malaysia is a net oil exporting state! If we follow Venezuela we should be paying only RM0.31 per liter of petrol. Here we are paying above the market price for petrol and on top of that we are paying an exorbitant amount for import/excise duties of cars and spare parts, tolls, road tax and loan interest! Who is greedy - the rakyat or the BN Government?
written by rocky, November 25, 2008 23:18:26
Drastic increase is ok but drastic drop!! what kind of arguments is this? we should live without subsidy but the govt now wants to further tax us cos they screwed up their budget and need help cos they blew the money away on subsidising a few connected individual to get rich. BTW due to the higher prices, the petrol dealers are making more commission, no complaints from them now on credit card charges or their commissions.Just give us actual prices good minister who thinks we rakyat are stupid and can accept arguments about drastic price drops.

these govt is only keen to help the rich and the connected and tax the rakyat. are they really keen to help the rakyat? smilies/tongue.gif
written by archie, November 25, 2008 23:24:59
"He said that it would be destructive to bring down prices quickly....."

It was destrictive when the government raised petrol price abruptly by 40% in June, causing the prices of everything to go up. Who will get hurt when prices are brought down quickly? BN cronies?
written by chrisyong, November 25, 2008 23:28:50
Sure greedy, otherwise there would not be corruption in every single corner of the government departments providing publis services. Starts from top to bottom of the UMNOputras...........What a shame. Having said that, all those involved are not being punished. Even the law is unfairly implemented to protect these VERY GREEDY MALAYSIAN LEADERS.
written by wood, November 26, 2008 00:36:48
"It would be destructive to bring down prices quickly " So it would be okay to bring up the price at once like the last time?????? Are you serious ?
smilies/shocked.gif
written by binkah1, November 26, 2008 00:38:57
omg, this ungrateful dickhead forgets that it is us rakyat that put him in his present position in the first place. Trying to talk like boss? smilies/cry.gif
written by Bigjoe99, November 26, 2008 08:58:04
Malaysians are greedy thanks to him and his colleagues. He should be proud that we learn so well from our esteem leaders and should learn something about what they do wrong in the first place!!
written by batsman, November 26, 2008 09:46:28
Charcoal calling wood coloured.
written by sydput, November 26, 2008 09:52:56
If you go to singapore supermarkets, rice, butter, certain toothpaste, cheese and chocolates are cheaper in singapore than in Malaysia.
written by SCM, November 26, 2008 10:06:46
Well done Shahrir, finally you have said something meaningful, "Malaysians are greedy". It is a rare day when we have a high ranking UMNO putra saying something right. You now understand why the rakyat hates the likes of Rafidah, Hishammudin, Khairy, Najib, Razak Baginda, Samy Vellu, Chan Kong Choy, Azalina, and actually every member of BN because they are all so greedy. Can't you guys just take 2 0r 3 million and leave the rest for the rakyat? Why do you want it all to yourselves? Oh, and one more greedy corrupt bandit I left out, YOU.
written by mountainking, November 26, 2008 11:46:48
shahrir.. we greedy?

you are a shithead... who is the guy who bought screwdriver for RM1000 to screw the rakyat? UMNO and BN.

who is the guy who are involved in rampant corruption?
UMNO and BN

who is the shameful party involved in money politics?
UMNO and BN

who is the guy who raised petrol prices according to market level but unwilling to reduce according to market level?
you, umno and BN

what else you want?

UMNO and BN the axis of all evils.