The Origins of the Malays PDF Print
Monday, 21 January 2008 21:54

Prepared By Michael Chick 

It's been interesting to read such free-flowing comments on the subject of the Origins of the Malays. While we are on the subject, how many of you have read the book entitled "Contesting Malayness - Malay Identity Across Boundaries" Edited by Timothy P. Barnard published by Singapore University Press?

{mosgoogle right} Written by a Professor of National University of Singapore. It reflects the Anthropologists views that there is no such race as the "Malays" to begin with. If we follow the original migration of the Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago, they moved into Taiwan, (now the Alisan), then into the Phillipines (now the Aeta) and moved into Borneo (4,500yrs ago) (Dayak). They also split into Sulawesi and progressed into Jawa, and Sumatera. The final migration was to the Malayan Peninsular 3,000yrs ago. A sub-group from Borneo also moved to Champa in Vietnam at 4,500yrs ago.

Interestingly, the Champa deviant group moved back to present day Kelantan. There are also traces of the Dong Song and HoaBinh migration from Vietnam and Cambodia. To confuse the issue, there was also the Southern Thai migration, from what we know as Pattani today. (see also "Early Kingdoms of the Indonesian Archipelago and the Malay Peninsular")

Of course, we also have the Minangkabau's which come from the descendants of Alexander the Great and a West Indian Princess. (Sejarah Melayu page 1-3)

So the million Dollar Question... Is there really a race called the "Malays"?

All anthropologists DO NOT SEEM TO THINK SO. (strangely, this includes all Malay Malaysian Anthropologists who are of the same opinion.)

Neither do the "Malays" who live on the West Coast of Johor. They'd rather be called Javanese. What about the west coast Kedah inhabitants who prefer to be known as "Achenese"? or the Ibans who simply want to be known as IBANS. Try calling a Kelabit a "Malay" and see what response you get... you’ll be so glad that their Head-Hunting days are over.

In an article in the Star, dated: Dec 3rd 2006

available for on-line viewing at:

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/12/3/focus/16212814&sec=focus

An excerp is reproduced here below:

"The Malays – taken as an aggregation of people of different ethnic backgrounds but who speak the same language or family of languages and share common cultural and traditional ties – are essentially a new race, compared to the Chinese, Indians and the Arabs with their long histories of quests and conquests. 

The Malay nation, therefore, covers people of various ethnic stock, including Javanese, Bugis, Bawean, Achehnese, Thai, Orang Asli, the indigenous people of Sabah and Sarawak and descendants of Indian Muslims who had married local women. 

Beneath these variations, however, there is a common steely core that is bent on changing the Malay persona from its perceived lethargic character to one that is brave, bold and ready to take on the world. "

The definition of “Malay” is therefore simply a collection of people's who speak a similar type language. With what is meant by a similar type language does not mean that the words are similar. (A native Kelantanese native speaker has no clue whatsoever what his Iban native brother is talking about; if both speak their own dialect) Linguists however, call this the "Lego-Type" language, where words are added on to the root word to make meaning and give tenses and such. Somehow, the Indonesians disagree with this "Malay" classification and insist instead on being called "Indonesians" even though the majority of "Malays" have their roots in parts of Indonesia. They refuse to be called "Malay"…. Anyhow you may define it.

The writer failed to identify (probably didn't know), that the "Malay" definition also includes, the Champa, Dong Song, HoabinHian, The Taiwanese Alisan and the Philippino Aetas. He also did not identify that the "Orang Asli" are (for lack of a better term) ex-Africans. If you try to call any one of our East Malaysian brothers an "Orang Asli", they WILL BEAT YOU UP! I had to repeat this because almost all West Malaysians make the same mistake when we cross the South China Sea. Worse, somehow, they feel even more insulted when you call them “Malay”. Somehow, “kurang ajar” is uttered below their breath as if “Malay” was a really bad word for them. I’m still trying to figure this one out.

Watch “Malays in Africa”; a Museum Negara produced DVD. Also, the “Champa Malays” by the same.

With this classification, they MUST also include the Phillipinos, the Papua New Guineans, the Australian Aboroginies, as well as the Polynesian Aboroginies. These are of the Australo Melanesians who migrated out of Africa 60,000yrs ago.

Getting interesting? Read on...

"Malay" should also include the Taiwanese singer "Ah Mei" who is Alisan as her tribe are the anscestors of the "Malays". And finally, you will need to define the Southern Chinese (Southern Province) as Malay also, since they are from the same stock 6,000yrs ago.

Try calling the Bugis a "Malay". Interestingly, the Bugis, who predominantly live on Sulawesi are not even Indonesians. Neither do they fall into the same group as the migrating Southern Chinese of 6,000yrs ago nor the Australo Melanesian group from Africa.

Ready for this?

The Bugis are the cross-breed between the Mongolian Chinese and the marauding Arab Pirates. Interestingly, the Bugis, (just like their Arabic ancestors) were career Pirates in the Johor-Riau Island areas. Now the nephew of Daeng Kemboja was appointed as the First Sultan of Selangor. That makes the entire Selangor Sultanate part Arab, part Chinese! Try talking to the Bugis Museum curator near Kukup in Johor. Kukup is located near the most south-western tip of Johor. (Due south of Pontian Kechil) He is more than willing to expound on the Bugis heritage. Buy him lunch and he can talk for days on end.

Let's not even get into the Hang Tuah, Hang Jebat, Hang Kasturi, Hang Lekiu, and Hang Lekir, who shared the same family last name as the other super famous "Hang" family member... Hang Li Poh. And who was she? Legend tells us that she is the Princess of a Ming Dynasty Emperor who was sent to marry the Sultan of Malacca. Won't that make the entire Malacca Sultanate downline "Baba"? Since the older son of the collapsed Malaccan Sultanate got killed in Johor, (the current Sultanate is the downline of the then, Bendahara) the only other son became the Sultan of Perak. Do we see any Chinese-ness in Raja Azlan? Is he the descendant of Hang Li Poh? But wait a minute....

That's what legend says. Let's look at the proof. The solid evidence. There is a well next to the Zheng He Temple in Malacca which is supposed to be the well built by the Sultan of Malacca for Hang Li Poh. According to legend, anyone who drinks of it shall re-visit Malacca before they die. Hmmm smells like a romantic fairy tale already. But let's look at who Hang Li Poh actually is. Which Ming Emperor was she a daughter to? So I got into researching the entire list of Ming Emperors. Guess what? Not a single Ming Emperor's last name begins with Hang. In fact, all their last names begin with Tzu (pronounced Choo). So who is Hang Li Poh? An Extra Concubine? A Spare Handmaiden? Who knows? But one thing for certain, is that she was no daughter of any of the Ming Emperors. Gone is the romantic notion of the Sultan of Malacca marrying an exotic Chinese Princess. Sorry guys, the Sultan married an unidentified Chinese commoner.

Next question. If the Baba’s are part Malay, why have they been marginalized by NOT BEING BUMIPUTERA? Which part of “Malay” are they not? Whatever the answer, why then are the Portugese of Malacca BUMIPUTERA? Did they not come 100yrs AFTER the arrival of the first Baba’s? Parameswara founded Malacca in 1411. The Portugese came in 1511, and the Dutch in the 1600’s. Strangely, the Baba’s were in fact once classified a Bumiputera, but some Prime Minister decreed that they were to be strangely “declassified” in the 1960’s. WHY? How can a "native son of the soil" degenerate into an "un-son"? The new classification is "pendatang" meaning a migrant to describe the Baba's and Nyonyas. Wait a minute, isn't EVERYONE on the Peninsular a migrant to begin with? How can the government discriminate? Does the Malaysian Government have amnesia?

The Sultan of Kelantan had similar roots to the Pattani Kingdom making him of Thai origin. And what is this "coffee table book" by the Sultan of Perlis claiming to be the direct descendant of the prophet Muhammed? Somehow we see Prof Khoo Khay Khim’s signature name on the book. I’ll pay good money to own a copy of it myself. Anyone has a spare?

In pursuing this thread, and having looked at the history of Prophet Muhammed (BTW, real name Ahmad) we couldn't figure out which descendant line The Sultan of Perlis was. Perhaps it was by the name Syed, which transcended. Then we tried to locate which downline did the Sultan descend from of the 13 Official Wives of Prophet Muhammad named in the Holy Koran? Or was the Sultan of Perlis a descendant from the other 23 non-wives? Of the 13 Official Wives were (at least known) 3 Israeli women. Then you should come to this instant revelation, isn't Prophet Muhammad an Israeli himself? Yes, the answer is clear. All descendants of Moses are Israeli. In fact, the Holy Koran teaches that Moses was the First Muslim. Thus confirming all the descendants of Moses to be Israeli, including Jesus and Prophet Muhammad. But since this is not a Religious or a Theological discussion, let's move on to a more anthropological approach.

So, how many of you have met with the Orang Asli’s (Malaysian Natives)? The more northern you go, the more African they look. Why are they called Negrito’s? It is a Spanish word, from which directly transalates “mini Negros”. The more southern you go, the more “Indonesian” they look. And the ones who live at Cameron Highlands kinda look 50-50. You can see the Batek at Taman Negara, who really look like Eddie Murphy to a certain degree. Or the Negritos who live at the Thai border near Temenggor Lake (north Perak). The Mah Meri in Carrie Island look almost like the Jakuns in Endau Rompin. Half African, half Indonesian.

Strangely the natives in Borneo all look rather Chinese in terms of features and facial characteristics especially the Kelabits in Bario.

By definition, (this is super eye-opening) there was a Hindu-Malay Empire in Kedah. Yes, I said right… The Malays were Hindu (just like the gentle Balinese of today). It was known by its’ old name, Langkasuka. Today known as Lembah Bujang. This Hindu-Malay Empire was 2,000yrs old. Pre-dating Borrobudor AND Angkor Watt. Who came about around 500-600yrs later. Lembah Bujang was THE mighty trading Empire, and its biggest influence was by the Indians who were here to help start it. By definition, this should make the Indians BUMIPUTERAS too since they were here 2,000yrs ago! Why are they marginalized?

The Malaysian Government now has a serious case of Alzheimer's. Why? Simply because, they would accord the next Indonesian who tomorrow swims across the Straits of Malacca and bestow upon him with the apparently "prestigious title" of the Bumiputra status alongside others who imply have inhabited this land for hundreds of centuries. (prestigious, at least perceived by Malays) They also have a strange saying called "Ketuanan Melayu" which literally transalates into "The Lordship of Malays" The Malays still cannot identify till this day "who" or "what" the Malays have "Lordship" over. And they celebrate it gallantly and triumphantly by waving the Keris (wavy knife which has Hindu origins in Borrobudor. Ganesan is seen brandishing the Keris in a bass-relief sculpture.) during public meetings over National TV much like a Pagan Wicca Ceremony on Steroids. Let's all wait for that official press release to see who the "Malays" have Lordship over, shall we?

Of the 3 books listed, "Contesting Malayness" (about S$32 for soft cover) is "banned” in Malaysia; you will need to "smuggle" it into Malaysia; for very obvious reasons.... :( or read it in Singapore if you don’t feel like breaking the law. Incidentally, the Professor (Author) was invited to speak on this very subject circa 2 yrs ago, in KL, invited by the MBRAS. You can imagine the "chaos" this seminar created... :( Fortunately the FRU was not called in.

The other, "Kingdoms of the Indonesian Archipelago, and the Malay Peninsular" (about RM84) are openly sold at all leading bookshops; Kinokuniya, MPH, Borders, Popular, Times, etc. You should be able to find a fair bit of what I’ve been quoting in this book too, but mind you, it is extremely heavy reading material, and you will find yourself struggling through the initial 200+ pages. It is extremely technical in nature. Maybe that’s why it hasn’t been banned (yet)…coz our authorities couldn’t make head or tail of it? (FYI, if I weren’t doing research for my film, I wouldn’t have read it in its entirety)

The "Sejarah Melayu" (about RM 50) however, is freely available at the University Malaya bookshop. I have both the English and Royal Malay version published by MBRAS. Alternatively, you could try reading the Jawi (Arabic Script) version if you are truly a sucker for unimaginable pain...... (may feel like circumcision)

There are actually many sources for these Origins of Malays findings. Any older Philippino Museum Journal also carries these migration stories. This migration is also on display at the Philippines National Museum in Luzon. However, they end with the Aeta, and only briefly mention that the migration continued to Indonesia and Malaysia, but fully acknowledge that all Philippinos came from Taiwan. And before Taiwan, China. There is another book (part of a series) called the "Archipelago Series" endorsed by Tun Mahatir and Marina Mohammad, which states the very same thing right at the introduction on page one. “… that the Malays migrated out of Southern China some 6,000yrs ago…”. I believe it is called the “Pre-History of Malaysia” Hard Cover, about RM99 found in (mostly) MPH. They also carry “Pre-History of Indonesia” by the same authors for the same price.

It is most interesting to note that the Malaysian Museum officials gallantly invented brand new unheard-of terms such as "Proto-Malay" and "Deutero-Malay", to replace the accepted Scientific Term, Australo-Melanesians (African descent) and Austronesians (Chinese Descent, or Mongoloid to be precise) in keeping in line with creating this new “Malay” term.. They also created the new term called the Melayu-Polynesian. (Which Melayu exists in the Polynesian Islands?) Maybe they were just trying to be “Patriotic” and “Nationalistic”… who knows…? After all, we also invented the term, “Malaysian Time”. While the rest of the world calls it “Tardy” and “Late”. It’s quite an embarrassment actually…. Singaporeans crossing the border are asked to set their watches back by about a 100yrs, to adjust to “Malaysian Time”…

In a nutshell, the British Colonial Masters, who, for lack of a better description, needed a “blanket” category for ease of classification, used the term “Malay”.

The only other logical explanation, which I have heard, was that “Malaya” came as a derivative of “Himalaya”, where at Langkasuka, or Lembah Bujang today was where the Indians were describing the locals as “Malai” which means “Hill People” in Tamil. This made perfect sense as the focal point at that time was at Gunung Jerai, and the entire Peninsular had a “Mountain Range” “Banjaran Titiwangsa”, as we call it.

The Mandarin and Cantonese accurately maintain the accurate pronunciation of “Malai Ren” and “Malai Yun” respectively till this very day. Where “ren” and “yun” both mean “peoples”.

Interestingly, “Kadar” and “Kidara”, Hindi and Sanskrit words accurately describe “Kedah” of today. They both mean “fertile Land for Rice cultivation. Again, a name given by the Indians 2,000yrs ago during the “Golden Hindu Era” for a duration of 1,500yrs.

It was during this “Golden Hindu Era” that the new term which the Hindu Malay leaders also adopted the titles, “Sultan” and “Raja”. The Malay Royalty were Hindu at that time, as all of Southeast Asia was under strong Indian influence, including Borrobudor, and Angkor Watt. Bali today still practices devout Hindu Beliefs. The snake amulet worn by the Sultans of today, The Royal Dias, and even the “Pelamin” for weddings are tell-tale signs of these strong Indian influences. So, it was NOT Parameswara who was the first Sultan in Malaya. Sultanage existed approximately 1,500yrs in Kedah before he set foot on the Peninsular during the "Golden Hindu Era" of Malaysia. And they were all Hindu.

PreHistory of Malaysia” also talks about the “Lost Kingdom” of the “Chi-Tu” where the local Malay Kingdom were Buddhists. The rest of the “Malays” were Animistic Pagans.

But you may say, "Sejarah Melayu" calls it "Melayu"? Yes, it does. Read it again; is it trying to describe the 200-odd population hamlet near Palembang by the name "Melayu"?(Google Earth will show this village).

By that same definition, then, the Achehnese should be considered a “race”. So should the Bugis and the Bataks, to be fair. Orang Acheh, Orang Bugis, Orang Laut, Orang Melayu now mean the same… descriptions of ethnic tribes, at best. So some apparently Patriotic peron decided to upgrade the Malays from Orang Melayu (Malay People) to Bangsa Melayu (Malay Race) Good job in helping perpetuate the confusion. And since the “Malays” of today are not all descendants of the “Melayu” kampung in Jambi (if I remember correctly), the term Melayu has been wrongly termed. From Day One. Maybe this is why the Johoreans still insist on calling themselves either Bugis, or Javanese til today (except when it comes to receiving Government Handouts). So do the Achehnese on the West coast of Kedah & Perlis and the Kelantanese insist that they came from Champa, Vietnam.

Moreover, the fact that the first 3 pages of "Sejarah Melayu" claim that "Melayu" comes from Alexander the Great and the West Indian Princess doesn't help. More importantly, it was written in 1623. By then, the Indians had been calling the locals “Malai” for 1,500 yrs already. So the name stuck….

And with the Sejarah Melayu (The Malay Annals in page 1-3) naming the grandson of Iskandar Zulkarnain, and the West Indian Princess forming the Minangkabau. Whenever a Malay is asked about it, he usually says it is "Karut" (bullshit), but all Malayan based historians insist on using Sejarah Melayu as THE main reference book for which "Malay" history is based upon. The only other books are “Misa Melayu”, "Hikayat Merong Mahawangsa", "Hikayat Pasai", "Hikayat Raja-Raja Siak" and “Hikayat Hang Tuah” among others; which sometimes brings up long and “heated” discussions.

Interesting to note is one of the great "Malay" writers is called Munsyi Abdullah; who penned "Hikayat Abdullah" He was an Indian Muslim. Let's re-read that little bit. He was an Indian Muslim. How can an Indian change his race to be a Malay? He can change his shirt, his car, his religion and even his underwear, but how can anyone change his race? This must be The New Trick of the Century, which even David Copperfield will pay lots of money to watch (and perhaps learn).

"Mysterious Race Changing Trick"- created by The Malaysian Government.

Still, Malaysians are still only second to the Jews (who by the way, are the only other people in the world who are defined by a religion) So perhaps David Copperfield has yet to learn a few tricks on the mass deception skills of the Malaysian Government?

Malaysia Boleh...

I find this strange.

I also find, that it is strange that the "Chitti's" (Indian+Malay) of Malacca are categorized as Bumiputera, while their Baba brothers are not. Why? Both existed during the Parameswara days. Which part of the “Malay” side of the Baba’s is not good enough for Bumiputera classification? Re-instate them. They used to be Bumiputera pre 1960’s anyway.

Instead of "Malay", I believe that "Maphilindo" (circa 1963) would have been the closest in accurately trying to describe the Malays. However, going by that definition, it should most accurately be "MaphilindoThaiChinDiaVietWanGreekCamfrica". And it is because of this; even our University Malaya Anthropology professors cannot look at you in the eye and truthfully say that the word "Malay" technically and accurately defines a race.

This is most unfortunate.

So, in a nutshell, the “Malays” (anthropologists will disagree with this “race” definition) are TRULY ASIA !!! For once the Tourism Ministry got it right….

We should stop calling this country “Tanah Melayu” instead call it, “Tanah Truly Asia”

You must understand now, why I was "tickled pink" when I found out that the Visit Malaysia slogan for 2007 was "Truly Asia". They are so correct... (even though they missed out Greece, and Africa)

BTW, the name UMNO should be changed to UTANO the new official acronym for “United Truly Asia National Organization” . After all, they started out as a Bugis club in Johor anyway….

I told you all that I hate race classifications…. This is so depressing. Even more depressing is that the "malays" are not even a race; not since day one.

Truly Asia Boleh”

Comments (61)Add Comment
written by Tompios, January 21, 2008 22:23:29
MC. I think you are one boat with me.
disagree 24
written by metal, January 21, 2008 23:01:42
I hated history lessons n school. The above article with so much facts are totally different. Such an 'entertaining' read. Peppered with wits and humour. Well done. And thanks!

IMG]http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j106/billyblc/yinyangrotate.gif
written by GordonLim, January 21, 2008 23:04:59
I don't know if anyone here knows this Taiwanese Artist called "A Mei"
She does have some feature of the Alisan tribe like what the author said.
I dont actually know how to describe her feature, well, she's slightly tanner than the northern Chinese aka Shanghainese or Pekingese.
Anyone thinks she has a closer DNA relation to Achese or Javanese?
written by datnari, January 21, 2008 23:28:23
The umno dogs will be howling all night long to get a bite out of your arse, Mike.......LOL

Nevertheless, i thought this was a very interesting read.
I was wholly amused and enlightened with what it takes to be a malay aka melayu....or better still - UMNOputera for all i care.
written by C360, January 21, 2008 23:51:35
Interesting views and yes, i have had the distasteful experience of hearing first hand what indigineous east malaysians think of Malays ..

I have also had the equally distasteful experience of hearing what some (and I would presume, many) indonesians think of Malays ..

Living life in Peninsula, I have also developed a significant distaste of significant Malay behaviours .. altho I have many Malay friends, not to mention the extended family ..

It is sad when you see Malays "living it up" what people perceive of them, reinforcing the negative views .. but then "you reap what you sow" ..
written by tom73my, January 21, 2008 23:51:43
Just imagine an abandoned baby growing up into teenager and adulthood. Nobody tells him about his past. He has serious doubt over his identity and origin. He blames his past and constantly feels insecure and lack of confidence. Many people say he suffers from inferiority complex and need urgent treatment. But he refuses to admit that he has a problem. At times, he ran amok and becomes very emotional. He threatens those people who try to give some good advice and help.

The Malays must go back to basic and rediscover their root. In order to develop and progress, they must first courageously acknowledge their origin and rediscover their lost identity. Illness must be solved at the root. The 'bumiputra' status is a false identity. It's like a pain-killer, it only numbs the senses and gives a false sense of wellness. It enables one to enjoy for a little longer, at the expense of one's life. It does not cure. It therfore takes a lot of courages to accept that one is ill and take bold steps to treat. Go seek help, and the first step is to drop the pain-killer 'bumiputra'.
written by Ireland, January 21, 2008 23:53:27
Wow... what a thunderous finding... i couldn't understand why the now coming Indonesian given a previledges compare to indians who came during British reign.
written by RasuahMinister, January 22, 2008 00:01:59
Israelis should be made Bumiputra too.
written by RasuahMinister, January 22, 2008 00:03:09
sorry...the Israelis are Bumiputra
written by Motherchell, January 22, 2008 00:25:50
MC truly exhilarating article !.

The world over , its all a mix of conquerers, traders , pirates, locals etc like Europe.
I cannot understand why here in Malaysia ones tends to be offended. In this case i wonder what the Malaysian Museum officials have to say about continental drifts or have they changed science too ?

All this points to only one guy --- the PM! the way he leads the people is so vital to keeping this country as one mass. I hope they take a page from Mandelas speeches! .
written by Motherchell, January 22, 2008 00:27:26
So now the big doubt is ----- !WHICH CAME FIRST ---- CHICKEN OR THE EGG??????
written by Motherchell, January 22, 2008 00:53:48
NOW I AM REMINDED ABOUT RPK's WONDERFUL ARTICLE ABOUT HOW AND WHAT WE ARE TAUGHT through space time .

Forget about --- Ford's first assembly line for the t-model --- our manufacturers at Museum Negara were deadly assembly line specialists.

They manufactured items to suit UMNO's Laws of CONVENIENCE FOR THE BASE SUPPORTS . They MAdE THEM GO BACK IN HISTORY . They never made the soul for its people.

WHEN AT THE WORLDS PODIUMS, they make a fool of themselves without prepared speeches.Like the Int. Security minister, speaking thro the - you know what...........

NO WONDER WE HAVE Alzheimer Ministers! They are not even able to speak perfect Bahasa Malaysia and yet feel they are Absolute protagonists in the way forward. Examples (Hisham, Pahang MB, Najib,Nazri,Malacca CM --- the list go on -- not forgetting Pak Lah!
written by Colin, January 22, 2008 01:58:42
Truely well presented. Easy for the non-antropologically inclined or people who do not like history to understand.

Yes, I remember my history lessons about Langkasuka and the migration from Champa as well as about the migration from Southern China. Unfortunately it was only a very small part of the Malaysian History books when I was in school perhaps only one chapter.

I do agree with you and has been questioning why the Baba & Nyonya are not classified as Bumiputera as this is the only part of the world they are found and this race is originated here. Which part of Malay are they not.

Then again the days of the Bumiputera are over. I have been filling up in application forms for the past 15 years saying that I am Malaysian or Bumiputera but strangely enough they always change it to Chinese for me. Maybe because of my Chinese name.
written by RumahPanjai, January 22, 2008 02:11:16
Looks like only UMNO and the curator can bestow upon anyone splincter race the classification BUMIPUTRA. The rest of you....eat your heart out. Just bumiputras without the added benefits. Mind you the "Natives" of East Malaysia and the Orang asli are, but second and third class Bumis. Could it be another of the influence of the indian caste system as per your article above?
written by zizjaa, January 22, 2008 02:39:36
Putting it in a right context, it is a very interesting finding. But the puncline is kind of misoriented and less mature. Maybe you should research into 'who benefits most in the country?', while I remind you to be really objective about it. You will find the new dilemma of the Malays (and bumiputera) that you will soon learn that the racial identities of all in the country has long been wiped out. Cheers! smilies/wink.gif
written by Vineeth Menon, January 22, 2008 02:52:21
Very informative with facts and explanation.. Thanks to MT & MC
written by varvoom, January 22, 2008 03:39:42
almurady! which Madrasah did you go to? who pay for all your tuition fee? n your food? your lodging? n your pocket money? did you managed to learn a skill to earn a living in the modern world? other then reciting arab sounding words from the holy book, can you honestly ask yourself whether you can converse with an arab after spending all your time memorising the holy book? Go get a life! there is no virgin waiting for you n if u think about virgins then I think u r a paedophile, farham?
written by caxyz, January 22, 2008 03:51:43
I note the part, in especial, that Jews and Malay have in common, as race = religion.
written by spliff_roller, January 22, 2008 03:59:06
Bob Marley - War

What life has taught me
I would like to share with
Those who want to learn...

Until the philosophy which hold one race
Superior and another inferior
Is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned
Everywhere is war, me say war

That until there are no longer first class
And second class citizens of any nation
Until the colour of a man's skin
Is of no more significance than the colour of his eyes
Me say war

That until the basic human rights are equally
Guaranteed to all, without regard to race
Dis a war

That until that day
The dream of lasting peace, world citizenship
Rule of international morality
Will remain in but a fleeting illusion
To be persued, but never attained
Now everywhere is war, war
written by Counterpointer, January 22, 2008 08:34:04
Mike,
I have always knew this, but could not put it across as explicitly as you did. smilies/grin.gif

written by teo siew chin, January 22, 2008 10:16:18
hoooooweeee the above was a good read smilies/grin.gif.

Definition of race at this time and age should be redundant - I believe only this country has a fixation with this definition, purely political in nature! I mean, how many are truly 'pure' now cos if we trace back our genetic history - mixing of the DNA would surely have occurred then.

So don't go bashing the africans flooding our country now cos some of us might be genetically linked to them!!

Michael Chick - well done!
written by Kal El, January 22, 2008 11:30:54
WOW! i'm impressed..all these just to prove that 'Ketuanan Melayu' is wrong & questions the other ppls claim over the other?..aiyaaa..at the end of the day..well all go 6 feet under or depends...either cremated or dumped into the deep blue ocean or buried inside the caves...
i'm a malay & my parents as far as im concerned they looked pretty much malay...but guess what...some ppl mistaken me for chinese from penang or other area...i cld say that my mom came from bugis & banjar whereas my dad came from kelantan...either way...i have quite a sepet eye...
nuff said...just get an indian man & chinese chinese lady to wed..& presto u get a child that looks like a 'malay' or 'malai' or whatever u call us..
& fyi...moses was not the 1st prophet of islam...based on the Quran...it was ADAM...
& prophet Muhammad's ancestory do came from an Israelite called Abraham...from one of his sons whom formed the arabian nation...
written by Bandit, January 22, 2008 12:43:52
Bumiputera? We are all Bumiputeras. Unless you were born in space or another planet. I laugh whenever I hear the word non-bumi ..... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Loh, January 22, 2008 13:43:51
///even our University Malaya Anthropology professors cannot look at you in the eye and truthfully say that the word "Malay" technically and accurately defines a race.///

That is where the problem starts. The persons classified as Malays do not have the responsibility to defend the honour of the race. Tun Dr Ismail said that the Malays would themselves give up the special privileges accorded to them when they no longer require assistance from the government, out of pride. Tun Ismail prediction does not come true. The people are happy to call themselves Malays when they can avail themselves of special privileges, but they do not bother about the pride of the Malay race because they do not consider themselves Malays in that regard.
written by zanie, January 22, 2008 17:48:14
I'm a Malay but both my parents have sharp pointed noses, resemble Pakistani or Arabian. Isn't it interesting if we have some kind of a software that can trace our blood to where we first belong? Is it the indian, arab or chinese? The writer is right. Everybody in Malaysia is an immigrant.
written by GHT, January 22, 2008 23:38:28
A very interesting and enlightening contribution, indeed.

The truth is not an easy thing to swallow especially when we are being educated with different set of history from very young due to vested interest from people that walk the corridors of power.

For those who are interested to understand further the origins of mankind and their migration to different parts of the world, I would suggest you get hold of these two books written by Col. James Churchward titled "The Lost continent of MU" and "The Children of MU" (MU is a very ancient word for mother. In this case it means Motherland. Think about it, the letter "M" has a profound reference to mother in most if not all languages.
written by ahmadbadrul40, January 23, 2008 09:00:15
There a few criterias to become Malay in Malaysia. Forget about the articles above. Nobody in Malaysia will follow.

1) Sunat Lanciau
2) Masuk Islam
3) Cakap Melayu
4) Ikut adat Melayu.

Thats it. It is not difficult to become Melayu. The only difficulty is during the Ramahdan month. Where you to wake up early and fast the whole day.

After that, you still can go and fark arounds people's wife and look for a whore.

There are more benefits in becoming Malay than becoming a non-malay.

First of all, goverment contract. Second of all, bumiputra privileges. If you secretly eat pork at home, nobody will know.
disagree 25
written by michael chick, January 23, 2008 13:30:32
MC: Hello, am glad most of you found this article entertaining. Hopefully it will be useful, if nothing else, but for corrective educational purposes. You have my full permission to reproduce it in any form, or simply to print it to educate your children, or anyone whom you know will benefit from this. You will never find this in your textbooks; at least not written this way. If the Education Ministry had it their way, they would tell you that Adam and Eve were "malay".

MC: To Datnari,
"...The UMNO dogs will be howling all night long to get a bite out of your arse..."
MC: Actually, you know what? That is an interesting thought. Let us see if ANY UMNO person, particularly Hishamuddin, the keris waving dude, is willing to take up the challenge to disprove what is written here. I officially invite this dialogue. Any of you here who can arrange for the friendly "banter" please let me know. It would be interesting to see what evidence they have, which may shed light to the contrary.

MC: To C360,
"... Interesting views and yes, i have had the distasteful experience of hearing first hand what indigineous East Malaysians think of the malays ..
I have also had the equally distasteful experience of hearing what some (and I would presume, many) indonesians think of Malays .."
MC: I experienced this first-hand, and am compelled to inform others not to make the same mistake. I hear unkind words like "MalingSia". Can someone please translate that for us?

MC: To TOM73my,
"The 'bumiputra' status is a false identity. It's like a pain-killer, it only numbs the senses and gives a false sense of wellness."
MC: I like the "pain-killer" analogy.. Let's look at Malaysian logic for a moment...
"If many students fail the exam, then make the exam easier.." Am I right? Is that the correct way to solve things? Someone please send this to the Education Ministry. We hear about different bell-curves and different qualifying grades and so on. This only serves to severely distort the reality which one has to face when they graduate. Creating this "false sense of wellness" as TOM73my so aptly put it. We often hear about graduates NOT being able to find work after graduation. Why? They are not equipped for real-world situations. But yet, fresh graduates demand an outrageously high starting salary, all because they wave that 35 cents piece of Certificate.

MC: To MotherCell
"...I cannot understand why here in Malaysia ones tends to be offended. ..."
MC: You would be surprised. At least I was. I spent almost 3years travelling all over Malaysia. Into every Kampong and Jungle filming Discover Malaysia. Whenever I spoke to a "malay" about this, each and every single time, I'd be told where they came from. You have to think out of the box. You have been "brain-washed" into thinking that it is offensive to even ask your "malay" friend where he came from. It's not. Trust me. Ask even a total "malay" stranger eating at the "mamak" stall next to you, and he will tell you where his family originated from.

MC: To Colin,
".. Truly well presented. Easy for the non-anthropologically inclined or people who do not like history to understand..."
MC: Initially I was considering writing this article the Academic way. However I changed my mind and decided to run a little humor albeit with some tongue-in-cheek to prevent you guys from falling asleep. smilies/smiley.gif I personally used to HATE History. Until I stumbled on details which directly conflicted the very concept of Article 160(2) on the definition of the "malay". As a Documentary Producer, it wa my job to maintain total accuracy on the facts presented.

written by michael chick, January 23, 2008 13:31:07

MC: I must confess and apologize, for an oversight in the above Article, and that is by not providing you all with the accurate term for which to describe the "malays". They should be called "Austronesians". The same gentle tan-skinned peoples of Bali, Tahiti, Philippines, Brunei, Celebes, Cambodian Khmers, The Vietnamese Chams and so on. The "Austronesian" definition however, would reject Mahathir and redefine him, (as he correctly should be), as an Indian. Badawi would be re-defined as one of mixed-parentage, of a Hainanese and Pakistani decent. His former wife, part Japanese, and his present wife, Portuguese. Friends, this is how race have been defined all this while. Article 160(2) kinda screwed up everything. Remind the next "malay" you meet that they are "Austronesians".

MC: To Rumah Panjai,
"Mind you the "Natives" of East Malaysia and the Orang asli are, but second and third class Bumis..."
MC: Which makes the Indians and the Chinese 4th Class DOGS. I find it strange, because the Indians were clearly here in Lembah Bujang 2,000 years ago. That's 15 centuries BEFORE Parameswara was born. Reinstate the Indians as Bumiputras.

MC: To Teo Siew Chin,
"So don't go bashing the africans flooding our country now cos some of us might be genetically linked to them!! "
MC: In fact, all mankind is related to them. Remember the East African migration theory as explained in the Genome project conducted by the National Geographic Society. On the same note, everyone is related to each other in the larger scheme of things. Why discriminate? Why give to one and not the other?

Did I hear someone mention, removing certain "special privileges"?

MC: To Loh
"...The people are happy to call themselves Malays when they can avail themselves of special privileges, but they do not bother about the pride of the Malay race because they do not consider themselves Malays in that regard..."
MC: Maybe it's time to redefine or remove Article 160(2)? It is by nature discriminatory. I'm just here to present to you my findings. What you do with all this information now, is your business.....

MC: I'd be more than happy to take any questions. Cheers.
written by Eskay Lim, January 23, 2008 16:55:06
A jolly good piece of writing,Michael Chick.
But I wonder why all our learned professors of Anthropology in all the Malaysian Public Universities have been acting dumb all this while. I suppose they prefer to keep quiet & continue drawing their fat salaries & other perks and leave all the work of "race interpretation" to the under-qualified politicians. The same thing is happening in the Religious Dept..... all the ugama experts keep quiet while the politicians run riot with religious interpretations.
written by ahmadbadrul40, January 23, 2008 17:45:32
Remove the article 160(2) in the constitution is every non-malay dream. But why would UMNO want to take away it's power when they are enjoying the monopolising of the country's politics and economy.

It is next to impossible.
written by densemy, January 23, 2008 21:47:23
This information lends significant support to the fact that the shortcomings of the Malay "race" are not genetic in origin
written by Alan Tan, January 24, 2008 09:22:45
That's what legend says. Let's look at the proof. The solid evidence. There is a well next to the Zheng He Temple in Malacca which is supposed to be the well built by the Sultan of Malacca for Hang Li Poh. According to legend, anyone who drinks of it shall re-visit Malacca before they die. Hmmm smells like a romantic fairy tale already. But let's look at who Hang Li Poh actually is. Which Ming Emperor was she a daughter to? So I got into researching the entire list of Ming Emperors. Guess what? Not a single Ming Emperor's last name begins with Hang. In fact, all their last names begin with Tzu (pronounced Choo). So who is Hang Li Poh? An Extra Concubine? A Spare Handmaiden? Who knows? But one thing for certain, is that she was no daughter of any of the Ming Emperors. Gone is the romantic notion of the Sultan of Malacca marrying an exotic Chinese Princess. Sorry guys, the Sultan married an unidentified Chinese commoner

Well, Hang Li Poh may be surnamed Li(may be same as Lee Chong Wei) bcos Hang is a title given to her. Maybe Hang Li Po is a Tang Dynasty royalty(their royalty surnamed Lee=Li)(or pretend to be) but 'kena guling' and the Sultan don't know maybe at that time it's hard to get international news.

Well, it's nice to know that Bugis, and some sultan got some Chinese blood, I hope that make tham understand us more.
written by michael chick, January 24, 2008 10:58:47
MC: To Eskay Lim,
"...But I wonder why all our learned professors of Anthropology in all the Malaysian Public Universities have been acting dumb all this while. I suppose they prefer to keep quiet & continue drawing their fat salaries & other perks and leave all the work of "race interpretation" to the under-qualified politicians..."
MC: Imagine your salary being paid by the very people whom your work is contesting...? How would that look? If any of you personally know Prof Khoo Khay Khim, go have a little chit-chat with him. Anyone near USM, MU, or people with kids there, can also verify what has been presented.
However, I think you are quite wrong about the "fat salary" part. It is known that the salary schemes of these people have not been correctly adjusted since Independence. Ask them yourselves. And it is this form of pathetic pay that keeps civil servants financially dependent on their slave-drivers. "If you vote for us again, we will see what we can do to raise your salary, and promotion..." Sounds familiar?
MC: On the same subject, the government is quite "contented" seeing corruption in the police force. Firstly, they do not have to pay for higher wages, because, the police are more than capable of collecting their additional "side income" from "other sources". Then, the issue of deniability. "We, the government of Malaysia abhor the practice of bribery." "Anti-Rasuah" Campaigns thus becomes a farce...

You might want to read my additional comments posted in "re-contesting Malayness" for additional insight.

Truly Asia
written by Loh, January 24, 2008 13:09:07
MC

I believe article 160(2) was created to implement article 153. Why did "Malay leaders' at that time felt emotional about the need to create a race called Malay when they definitely realised that the only common ground among them was practising the same religion? Malays are multiracial or uncommon within its classification. If they can accept the diversity within the 'race', it is difficult to understand why they are not able to accept other racial groups who have been in the country for ages, but who practice diferent religions. Are the ordinary Malays confused between race and relgion, or are the political leaders using the race-based political setup to continue with the divide-and-rule technique so that attention of the people could be diverted to safequarding the 'right' of the Malays from the actions of their leaders to serve their own personal interests?
written by michael chick, January 24, 2008 14:16:17
MC: To Loh,
"...I believe article 160(2) was created to implement article 153. Why did "Malay leaders' at that time felt emotional about the need to create a race called Malay when they definitely realised that the only common ground among them was practising the same religion?..."
MC: There are those in the Academic field who have been analyzing this issue from the time of the "British Colonial Masters" time period. They were more interested in reaping the "spoils" of Malaya rather than coming up with accurate definitions. While Sejarah Mealyu mentions "Melayu", it is doing no more than referring to Kampong Melayu in Jambi. After all, the original title of Sejarah Melayu was not Sejarah Melayu, but "Asal Usul Raja-Raja". Hence, the book decribes how the Parameswara bloodline came about in the most fantastical way. Being the descendants of Alexander the Great and all that.

MC: Coming back to the British, to make it "simpler", they labeled all brown-colored Austronesians who resided in Malaya as "Malay"/ Melayu. It also made it easier to remember, and appear less confusing especially when corresponding home to Britain. Don't forget that in 1945, there were only 2.5million "malays" residing in Malaya, making them the minority at that time. The British also instituted "uniforms" at that time. Meaning, the Indians were to dress in a certain way, the Chinese in a certain way, and the "malays" in a certain way. This was so they could easily identify an individual when they saw them walking around town. The reality was, the "malays" were "Truly Asia" already. But the British did not have time, and did not really care that their classification was wrong. They also needed a word that the "malays" themselves could pronounce. Try asking a kampong boy of today to pronounce "Austronesian" or "Australo-Melanesian"? It would have been a mouthful back then, when most barely knew how to read or write. Then, referring to 1875. Also don't forget that locals had been using the word "malai"(hill people in Tamil) to describe them in Malaya for the past 15 centuries since Lembah Bujang days.
written by michael chick, January 24, 2008 14:17:01
MC: Look back to the origins of UMNO. It was a Bugis party from Johor. And its slogan was only changed much much later. The identity of "malay" was still not established when UMNO first started. I will completely skip the inferiority-complex issue for this discussion.

Malays are multiracial or uncommon within its classification. If they can accept the diversity within the 'race', it is difficult to understand why they are not able to accept other racial groups who have been in the country for ages, but who practice diferent religions. Are the ordinary Malays confused between race and relgion, or are the political leaders using the race-based political setup to continue with the divide-and-rule technique so that attention of the people could be diverted to safequarding the 'right' of the Malays from the actions of their leaders to serve their own personal interests?
MC: Religion plays a very important role in defining Asian mentality. Very often, it dictates how governments are run. IMHO, this is neither good nor bad. Religion has a firm grip on how leaders behave. Imagine a leader from country "A". Every week, he goes to his place of worship. His religious leader asks him, "Are you a good xxx?" And he dutifully replies, "Yes, I am". Then the religious leader would ask him, "If you are a good xxx, then, as a leader of this country, you must do more for the xxx. GOD told me in a dream to tell you that...."

MC: How would you argue with that? Because, every week, you will be reminded that you have to be a good xxx, and "what have you done so far?" It's a self-perpetuating cycle. Getting deeper and deeper into promoting the religion of the Leader. Then this leader would ask his Cabinet Ministers, "Have you gone to the religious house regularly?" And his ministers would reply, "Yes, we have.." even if they didn't but would lie if nothing else, but simply to maintain their political and economic position. The rest is history....
written by murali, January 25, 2008 12:14:12
SBennit Malacca cettis are Indianlah! Babas are Chinese mah!
written by SBennit, January 25, 2008 15:03:05
Further reading.

http://stateless.freehosting.net/TamilInfluenceMalay.htm
written by defendermalaysia, January 25, 2008 23:21:52
If the writer dare to say all these to a public forum in Malaysia, you bet that he will be imediately arrested and put into ISA for belittle the malay race. Please remember the last time Lee Kim Sai of MCA only mention that the malays in Malaysia is also pendatang from Indonesia, then imediate response from Umno is fiery and he has to loose his datukship away from the late sultan selangor.
It do not bother whether malays comes from anywhere cos ordinary malays is still poor unless that you are not only malays but you must also be umnoputras and belong to their clan of cronies. Only with this condition, then you will not only benefit from the one sided NEP, and on top of that you will get alot of wheelchair benefits such as close door tender given and spoonfeed commission given.
written by michael chick, January 26, 2008 11:05:24
Dear DefenderMalaysia, If the call was to belittle the "malays", then ISA has hope. However, the point of focus, is to correctly re-classify the "malays" as they ought to have been, as "Austronesians", or maybe even as "Malayo-Polynesians". And that, my friends, have always been the reason for this little "banter".

Anyone has any other ideas? Remember to start calling your "malay" friends as Austronesians from now on. Remind them that the term "malai" is actually quite derogatory. Ask any Tamil-speaking friend. This term is akin to calling someone "Sakai" or "Jakun" when wanting to put someone down. "Melayu" in Javanese means "Fugitive". Either way, Austronesians sounds much better. And intellectual. What do our constitutionally defined "malays" think?
written by Rohani Hitam, January 26, 2008 16:32:29
Nothing going to change here. The word Malay has been used repeatedly and found in the constitution of Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei. Anthropologist is trying to classify the true definition of the Malays but has difficulty in redefining them as the culture, politics and religion has interwined into the definition. Actually there is no such thing as race in the first place. It is only for the benefit of those who still wonder who exactly they are. There are people think they are not Malay simply by having sharp nose. Some recall ancestral lineage going back 600 years ago claiming to be Indians, Arabs, Europeans, Chinese, Afgans and Alexander the Great. Whoever you are look at your own language and culture. Is it borrowed or genuine? Try to go back where you think your true ancestral from and see whether they even recognise you. You are assimilated in a different culture. You skin colour also start to look like your host country.
written by Loh, January 26, 2008 18:06:36
///You skin colour also start to look like your host country.///--Rohani Hitam

The new race of 'Bangsa Malaysia' was to take care of the evolution of skin colour. But UMNO leaders prefer to stop it at Malay, so that they can make politics the most profitable job!

written by Rohani Hitam, January 26, 2008 19:33:55
Loh,

You are right. These are the shameless people abusing the trust and support of the people that bring them to power. The Chinese are the smartest to have made use of the votes be it choosing the ADUN or the AP. Their trust on the BN government has been violated. Non-Mlays suffer the greatest tragedy of the century having lost the equal rights to receive aids and be treated equal despite being born, raised and contributing to the economy here. The word Malay has been exploited to the fullest by the BN not only to continuously gaining the Malay votes but enrich themselves in manipulating business and contracts.

But the sore is opening, spewing the worms underneath it, the Malays are also exploited of their right to compete and obtain equal distribution of opportunities. Wealth and opportunities are in the hands of a few. This few commit cronyism, nepotism and abuse of human rights.

So as non Malays you should know how to make use of votes.
written by Rohani Hitam, January 26, 2008 19:59:53
Whatever the word Malay describes, it should not be used as a reason to spew remarks on the people who belong to this race by virtue of their birth, language, culture or religion. You only make this race feel threatened and can provide big advantage to the BN who exploits this situation. The more you display your hatred the easier it become to BN.
I don't think I like what you all have written. Nobody chooses to be born in a particular race, be it a superior or an inferior race. Race should not be used as a yard stick to define status. The more you indulge in this, the worse will be for you as you must realise that power is in the hands of the few Malays who knows how to turn your hatred into popular votes. If you are frustrated of that few, do not throw your frustration on the majority which has nothing to do with the few.

The Malay leaders who fought for independence have racial equality and sharing of power in mind. You should not make the same mistake again as what the opposition did during an election celebration in 1969. That was the gravest mistake and had provided the Malay ultras to turn it into their advantage. Don't blame the people, they are just like you and me - easily emotional and got carrid away at times.

If the opposition ever win handsomely this time, celebrate with decency and mutual respect as not all Malays support the BN.
written by shamadz72, January 26, 2008 21:28:27
Written by a Professor of National University of Singapore. It reflects the Anthropologists views that there is no such race as the "Malays" to begin with.

-----

And if you dig any further, you will find out there is no Chinese Race either! We are all African. smilies/smiley.gif
written by renoir, January 26, 2008 22:04:48
At last we're seeing comments on the true nature of "race," that it's just a socio-political construct. As such we can discuss where the current group now defined as "Malays" come from, noting that like other groups of people, they've multi-ethnic origins. But anyone who uses the concept of race to prove the superiority or inferiority of this or that ethnic group is merely aping the Nazis. We surely can expose bigots, but do it in a way that does not make us seem like the people we condemn.

written by michael chick, January 26, 2008 22:39:12
MC: Dear Rohani Hitam, Appreciate your candidness. However, I can only partially agree with some of your opinions. Perhaps I can help clarify, and hopefully illuminate.

"...Non-Malays suffer the greatest tragedy of the century having lost the equal rights to receive aids and be treated equal despite being born, raised and contributing to the economy here...."
MC: I disagree that the non-Malays suffer the greatest tragedy. It is not that they do not suffer, but I have seen first-hand, Austronesians (read as fromer "malays") left in the dust and abandoned by their own leaders who claim "Supremacy". I, for one should know.

MC: Exactly a year ago I led a voluntary flood-relief expedition into the Endau Rompin Jungle to assist two Orang Asli Villages. They were basically forgotten by the Malaysian government. When asked why, they replied, "There are only 800 of us in these two villages. We do not "supply" them (BN) with enough votes. What to do? Surely the "Orang Besar" will go to the big (high-profile) towns and insist the media record their visit. And the Orang Besar will give aid and put all their money there leaving us with absolutely nothing."

MC: This is so sadly true. In fact I almost wanted to cry when I heard this being uttered by these skinny malnutritioned Orang Asli's. All this I did, without the pomp and glamour of the press. To make matters worse, trucks and trucks of Red Cross Food Aid coming across the border from Singapore were turned away because Najib said, "We do NOT need foreign help". Those Customs Officers should have been STONED!!!

"...The word Malay has been exploited to the fullest by the BN not only to continuously gaining the Malay votes but enrich themselves in manipulating business and contracts..."
MC: And I am redefining the term "malay" to what it originally was, "malays" should be called "Austronesians". Like I've said, this is a racial definition free from discrimination, or racial slurs. It does not put one down as the older definitions have. I am specifically referring to the "malai" and "fugitive" definition. Those definitions are derogatory, and have absolutely NO PLACE in present day Malaysia. Let us put the Government exploitation into the past. Let us start anew. Let us now correctly and PROUDLY use the term "Austronesians". There is a "puak Melayu" (in Jambi) but definitely NO "Bangsa Melayu". Educate them please...
written by michael chick, January 26, 2008 22:39:56
"...But the sore is opening, spewing the worms underneath it, the Malays are also exploited of their right to compete and obtain equal distribution of opportunities..."
MC: Somewhere before, I've reiterated that "The Malaysian Government deliberately wants to keep its citizens "STUPID", so that the poor citizens cannot fend for themselves. Instead, the will be totally dependent on the government for charity and pitiful hand-outs, so that this Government can continue to maintain control. Fortunately, Malaysians are starting to grow out of this "stupidity". They are waking up, and doing something positive about it. Please be a part of this awakening group.

"...Wealth and opportunities are in the hands of a few. This few commit cronyism, nepotism and abuse of human rights..."
MC: Then let the Law take care of them. "Looks like me, sounds like me, but it is not me" should be the most classic example of abuse.

"...So as non Malays you should know how to make use of votes..."
MC: That, my friend cannot be done without the votes of the Austronesians (formerly known as "malay"). Even then, without fair electoral reforms in place, what will all this achieve? If a Parliamentary seat is ranging from 20k seats to 75k seats, and the final count for the ruling party is based on seats, then ALL IS LOST.

"...Whatever the word Malay describes, it should not be used as a reason to spew remarks on the people who belong to this race by virtue of their birth, language, culture or religion..."
MC: I'm merely telling you the origins of the word "malai" . And how I stressed that it is SO INCORRECT AND RUDE. Had I really wanted to insult, I would have kept on calling the Austronesians "malai", so that the insult would perpetuate. I certainly did not do that. I'm instead, requesting the correct name of Austronesians. How bad can my intentions be?

"...You only make this race feel threatened and can provide big advantage to the BN who exploits this situation. The more you display your hatred the easier it becomes for BN..."
MC: You still believe that the "malays" are a race? They are a part of the Austronesians. As I've said many times before; the exact same gentle peoples of Tahiti, Indonesia, Philippines, Cambodia, Pattani, Champa, Brunei, the Alisan of Taiwan and so on. Please re-read and do not skip any parts that I have written. Trust me, you will then understand.

"..I don't think I like what you all have written..."
MC: And that is your prerogative.
written by michael chick, January 26, 2008 22:40:44
"...Nobody chooses to be born in a particular race, be it a superior or an inferior race..."
MC: And therefore my stressing point from day one for the abolishing of such discrimination. The culprit? Article 160(2). But on the other hand, is there really such a thing as an "inferior race"? I have to STRONGLY disagree with you if you insist that there is an "inferior race". I cannot stress enough that we humans are created equal. And therefore, to discriminate would be in direct conflict with the concept of the first Rukunegara. "Belief in God". A God who discriminates is a USELESS GOD. Do not pray to that God.

"...Race should not be used as a yard stick to define status..."
MC: Good. I'm so glad you agree with me. Please tell that "Keris-waving guy" to withdraw his "Ketuanan Melayu" statement.

The more you indulge in this, the worse will be for you as you must realise that power is in the hands of the few Malays who knows how to turn your hatred into popular votes.
MC: What are Malaysians? Slaves with no-brains? We all know that these "few malays" whom you refer to, simply BUY their votes with bags of cash. RM96million for Ijok? Come On... If Malaysians are really as gullible and as greedy as you claim, then they deserve exactly what they are getting. And, I'll be the first one on the airplane out of this country and take ALL my Investment Dollars elsewhere.

"...If you are frustrated of that few, do not throw your frustration on the majority which has nothing to do with the few..."
MC: I apologize if I've said something to slight you. That was never intentional. Perhaps if you re-read my above clarification, then perhaps you will now understand the very good intentions with which it was written. You will need to re-read my posts in a non-emotional way. After all, I definitely did not write it in a emotional way. Read the facts presented. And slowly try to understand why they were written the way it was. Take your time. I took three years to research it.
written by michael chick, January 26, 2008 23:13:44
MC: To shamadz72,
"...And if you dig any further, you will find out there is no Chinese Race either! We are all African..."
MC: Aha !!! Brilliant !!! The East African Migration theory. By default, if you insist that all races are of African descent, it indicates that your are in FULL SUPPORT of the Evolution theory. This directly conflicts with the Creation theory which all Middle Eastern originated religions (Judaism, Christianity and Islam) believe in. Perhaps you might want to revise your stand.
As I know it, only some Hindus, Buddhists, Aethists, FreeThinkers and Agnostics are impartial to the Evolution theory....

MC: For the East African Migration Theory to happen, you have to believe that life originated out of Africa through the constant evolution from Homo Erectus to Homo Sapien Sapien. Out of East Africa, the Homo groups migrated out to populate the World. The Negritos are a direct result of that migration 60,000 years ago. The Bible only dates mankind to be 6,000 years old. During the seven day creation, on which day were all the dinosaur fossils created?

MC: In Africa, the Negritos were called the Australo-Afrikanus. When they reached SouthEast Asia, they were relabeled as Australo-Melanesians. Hence, they still retain their original African looks. The Jakuns in Johor are a mixed breed of the original Africans and the recent Indonesian arrivals, thus they look the way they do today.

MC: I'll end this discussion here. I've given enough lectures to know that I can go on for hours on end just on this topic alone.
written by Rohani Hitam, January 26, 2008 23:59:20
The policy of the national schools using Bahasa as the medium of instruction has deprived many Malays from useful information. There are not enough Malay books that provide knowledge. Many Malay programmes do not provide enough knowledge-based documentaries or discussions. The rich English programmes like Discovery, National Geographic, Animal Planet, History are hardly followed by the Malays as they are not proficient in English. Thus the aquiring of knowledge and international affairs is limited among the Malay population.

The media is much controlled by the government and propaganda takes effect. Look at the Malay programmes, the news and the addiction-prone sitcoms and soap operas. All works well for the designer, the BN. 70% of the Malays, especially the rural Malays, get sucked into this form of media. And the influence is unimaginable. Whether all these arrangements are by design from TDM days or just a discovery along the way that it works very well for the BN, we don't know.

So politics may not be necessarily good for the certain section of the citizns but it works well for the people who held the power. The British system of democracy has it's fall. The US democracy is more promising as it limits the term of the head of state but does not include the monarchy in its equation.
The people who are the one who choose the head of state and not the ruling party. And look at Indonesia and how it transform the entire country into a stable nation despite some concerns over how democracy was implemented after Suharto.

Our democracy promotes despotism as it does not cap the terms of the PM. Our democracy also promotes cronyism as the PM can work well with his own party executives who holds the majority in parliament to enhance his position drawing loyal followers and at the same time promotes wealth for the few.

American democracy selects the President not necessary from the majority (in parliament). He may be from a minority party like Yudhoyono and would find that it is difficult to abuse his power as the congress, dominated by other party, can indict him or block his agenda. But he still holds the executive power to veto the congress. And the check and balance is complete.

However in Malaysia things look very pesimistic. We can only falter further until we have a respectable leader like Tengku, Tun Hussein or TDI. The sign is already on the wall. Falling standard of education, high corruption, increasing crime, failing GLCs, decreasing FDI, racial polarisation and big gap between the rich and the poor.

The only option we have is to deny the BN the 2/3 majority, and this is possible especially during this period of time.

And how you want to call the Malays or re-define the definition of Malays has no bearing towards the path of Malaysia's socio-political development. Calling the Malays Austronesians (southern people) or malai (bukit people) doesn't shake the community at all. It will remain dominant until this country opens up and the Malays have hign command over the English language and knowledge and the other races remove the tag as "running dogs", then we see true progress of democracy and equality.
written by renoir, January 27, 2008 00:44:01
MC wrote:
>As I know it, only some Hindus, Buddhists, Aethists, FreeThinkers and Agnostics are impartial to the Evolution theory.]]

Not really. Some Christians too. Below are excerpts from: http://www.eastbayri.com/story/288249500026587.php

----------------------------------------------------------------
Can Darwin and the Bible coexist in a house of worship?
Tuesday, February 20, 2007

...Michael Zimmerman, a biology professor at Butler University in Indianapolis, initiated Evolution Sunday last year in light of recent court cases in which some public school boards in southern states resisted the teachings of Charles Darwin's theory of evolution. The goal is to get Christians talking about the coexistence of religion and science.

More than 10,000 Christian leaders nationwide have signed the so-called "Clergy Letter," which says the belief that religion and modern science are incompatible is a false dichotomy. This year, more than 600 congregations took part in Evolution Sunday. It is held roughly around the time of Darwin's birthday (Feb. 12). Among those, 29 were from Massachusetts and seven from Rhode Island, including Amicable and Riverside Congregational Church in East Providence.

"Most of us do not see a contradiction between faith and science. We are both describing the world we see, but through different viewpoints," Rev. Sterrett said during his sermon, which included the Bible's creation story, Genesis 1:1-2:3.

Over at Riverside Congregational Church, the Rev. Eugene Dyszlewski doesn't see what all the fuss is about. Although he signed off in support of Evolution Sunday and handed out an essay in support of Charles Darwin's teachings, he didn't deliver a sermon on the topic.

Rev. Dyszlewski guessed that few Rhode Island churches participated in Evolution Sunday not because they were opposed to science, but because they think it's a non-issue. "Science looks at the world in a particular way, the church looks at the world in a particular way. So what?" he said.

However, he said it's still important for more church leaders to come out in support of science. "I was really naive on this. I was absolutely shocked and surprised to find out that so many do not accept evolution," he said, adding that in many parts of the Bible Belt, "Christianity means you read the Bible as science and evolution is evil ... We hold a faith that is not based on a fear of science."

Although he's all for people of faith talking more about Darwin, Rev. Sterrett said that doesn't mean he agrees with everything scientists claim. In fact, he said, today's scientists need to meet the faithful halfway by acknowledging that science can't explain everything. He illustrates his point by telling parishioners his "all-time favorite joke," about some scientists who tell God they've discovered a way to create life out of dust.

"We no longer need God," they say.

"Show me," says God.

The scientists go to work.

"Wait a minute — stop," says God. "Get your own dirt."

After his sermon, Rev. Sterrett met up with Steve Zuehlke, a Fall River cardiologist who gave last year's Evolution Sunday sermon at Amicable. "We're just a little smidge in all this matter. Yet, we're thinking and creating and growing," said Mr. Zuehlke, making the point that science doesn't have the answers for everything.

"I do not see how Christians can deny the scientific aspect of creation," said Rev. Sterrett, adding that he doesn't understand "why scientists are so vocally opposed to people of faith."

Well, apparently not all of them.

Kenneth R. Miller, a professor of biology at Brown University, found himself caught in the middle of the creationism vs. Darwin debate when a Georgia public school district placed a disclaimer sticker on his biology textbook, warning students that evolution is a "theory, not a fact." In 2005, a federal judge ruled the stickers unconstitutional. Although the decision was overturned on a technicality, the district in December agreed to dump the stickers.

Despite being a firm evolutionist, Mr. Miller is also a devout Roman Catholic who believes that science and religion are not mutually exclusive. He's in full support of Evolution Sunday, although he takes a slightly different tack than Rev. Sterrett.

"It's a great program. It's message is that science is not the enemy of religion, and that's important for church leaders to send out," said the Rehoboth resident and author of "Finding Darwin's God: A Scientist's Search for Common Ground Between God and Evolution."

------------------------------------------
written by michael chick, January 27, 2008 14:39:06
MC: Dear Rohani Hitam,
"...And how you want to call the Malays or re-define the definition of Malays has no bearing towards the path of Malaysia's socio-political development. Calling the Malays Austronesians (southern people) or malai (bukit people) doesn't shake the community at all..."
MC: It's meant to be a wake-up call to them. Stop being a statistic for someone else's financial gain. All through my 3 years traveling the entire length and breadth of Malaysia, I've met many Austronesians (formerly known as "malay"). In each and every discussion, not one whom I have met has received a single cent of their rightful "peruntukan melayu" money. This willful deceit cannot go on anymore. And it is up to good people like yourself to champion this.

".. It will remain dominant until this country opens up and the Malays have hign command over the English language and knowledge and the other races remove the tag as "running dogs", then we see true progress of democracy and equality..."
MC: Am glad that you do not think of me as the "enemy" any more. Again, so sorry if you've misread my intentions. Coming to the present issue. Both you and I actually agree on the same issues. It's just the angle taken to approach and tackle the matter which differs. In researching for my upcoming Documentary, I've had to visit Batam and Bintan of Indonesia. It's amazing how well the locals speak English over there. I don't get the "chicken and duck" talking like what is so common here. Shoot LabisMan an e-mail. He'll give you my contact. We should chat.

ciao
written by renoir, January 27, 2008 16:30:21
Loh wrote:
>The new race of 'Bangsa Malaysia' was to take care of the evolution of skin colour. But UMNO leaders prefer to stop it at Malay ]]

And that's only publicly - privately, they'd claim they're Javanese, Bugis, Achenese, etc.