Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Parliament: Nazri won't be disciplined; Gobind suspended

Parliament: Nazri won't be disciplined; Gobind suspended PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 13:29
(The Star) KUALA LUMPUR: Deputy Speaker Datuk Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar ruled Tuesday that Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz will not be referred to the Rights and Privileges Committee for making an untrue statement in Dewan Rakyat.

Dr Wan Junaidi said Nazri had no intention to mislead the house when he said that former Lord President Tun Salleh Abas and two Supreme Court judges had not been sacked but were asked to retire.

Nazri later admitted he made a mistake and that the three judges were indeed sacked but the Government had paid them pension on compassionate grounds.

Objecting to the deputy speaker's ruling, Gobind Singh (DAP - Puchong) received a two-day suspension order on Tuesday.

Dr Wan Junaidi delivered his decision at 11.30am and ruled that Nazri had no intention to mislead the house and therefore there was no need for him to be referred to the committee of privileges.

“There is no need for the minister to apologise. My decision is based on point of order. I do not want the Parliament Malaysia to be a mockery,” said Dr Wan Junaidi.

While Karpal Singh (DAP - Bukit Gelugor) was still trying to raise a point that Dr Wan Junaidi’s decision was a mockery of the house amidst protests from the backbenchers, Gobind Singh stood up to defend his father.

It was then that Gobind accused Dr Wan Junaidi of being biased in favour of the minister.

Gobind Singh shouted at Dr Wan Junaidi: “The speaker defends the minister!”

This remark prompted Dr Wan Junaidi to ask him to leave the hall.

To which, Gobind Singh said, “He is the one who made the mistake and I have to go out.”

Refusing to leave the house despite Dr Wan Junaidi ordering the sergeant at arms to escort him out, Gobind Singh pointed at Nazri and said: “The No 1 coward is there. He should stand up to apologise like a man” before leaving the hall.

At the Parliament lobby, Gobind Singh said: “If Nazri is prepared to apologise outside the Dewan, why can’t he do so inside the house.

“I am disappointed with the ruling made by the chair. I stand up for principle, even if it means that I have to be thrown out of the Dewan.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by wildbil, November 25, 2008 13:36:42
What the hell.....Is like the rapist goes un-punish and the victim was punished in this case.

Malaysia bolih.
agree 137
written by jayenjr, November 25, 2008 13:38:38
seriously....did we anticipate it to turn out any other way? All these Speakers are BN appointed lackeys.....

Perhaps the Opp Ldr shd move to pass a motion of no confidence on all the Speakers - just to embarrass these bastards....
written by RumahPanjai, November 25, 2008 13:44:36
What a joke. It took the dpy. speaker so many days to procrastinate and this is what we get. The speaker has open the flood gate. Every MP henceforth can spit out lies/untruth in parliament just like they also do outside. Now we see the lying culture being given the green light in parliament. So, MPs you can now lie to your hearts content in parliament and when prove wrong simply just withdraw apologise and say you inadvertently thought it was correct.
written by doggone, November 25, 2008 13:45:46

Malaysian have been watching all the Speakers of the House for quite some time now. They have been making a mockery of the August House to the point where they blatantly oppress the rights of the opposition while favoring the ruling party especially when they are in the wrong.

I won't be surprise when we get into fist fights one of these days.

Is there no sense of righteousness left in this nation of ours?

written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 13:46:55
written by ellyna, November 25, 2008 13:48:05
“There is no need for the minister to apologise. My decision is based on point of order. I do not want the Parliament Malaysia to be a mockery,” said Dr Wan Junaidi.

For your info, Dr. Wan, it is already a mockery. You cannot fool the rakyat anymore. Your double standards are crystal clear to all. I can only tell you one thing. In the next general elections, it is going to be PAYBACK time!! So make sure, whatever you are doing is going to be worth it!! A PROMISE FROM THE RAKYAT.
written by oct, November 25, 2008 13:49:56
As I have written earlier in my comment, Nazri will get away with it. True and it happens. When do we see any BN MPs been reprimanded even though they have done something wrong. In Bolehland the opposition is always at a losing end. They get suspended for the slightest mistake, arrested for even saying the right thing, harassed in peaceful demo, etc. This is clear cut that shows justice is skewed in Bolehland!!!
written by mountain man, November 25, 2008 13:50:41
Another BULLET for PKR in next GE, those BN morons and their cronies can go on suppressing like using PDRM to deny peaceful assembly and what not, the rakyat is watching.
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 25, 2008 13:56:30
So, what else is new?
Without a complete and utter change in the government, such bias and mockery of parliament will persist unabated, and there is nothing that the Opposition MPs can do to rectify that status quo. But my heart goes out to these MPs, especially DAP Ms Fong Poh Kuan when she fights for the right to speak, while all along struggling with her Bahasa Malaysia in her very Chinese accent. She endears herself to me and most definitely have my fullest support and sympathy.
Keep on trucking, Ms Fong. You are a true Malaysian!
written by Kyle, November 25, 2008 13:57:53
It's like Wild Wild West.
The ones holding the guns will get away with everything.
At present, the gun-holders are the goons from UMNO-led BN.
And they are trigger-happy cow-cows.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 14:00:24
Nazri This coward,who have been taught by racist mahathir,only speak lies. The speaker who sided with Nazri are also of the same class as coward. Next,Anwar,hantam these.
written by miwaki, November 25, 2008 14:02:13
When we have unqualified and incompetent Speakers such as Wan Junaidi and Pendikar amin,this is the result we get in Parliament.I think Bung Moktar can replace both of the them easily because all three of them look very stupid !
written by born2reign, November 25, 2008 14:05:00
Hey no problem! Just continue with all these circus.
Opposition just document all these incidents as history repeats itself.
In the next GE, just print out ALL the goof ups of BN and post it in MT, and oth websites. I'll be happy to print copies for all the old folks to read too. The more the merrier.

BN thinks that their actions have no effect on their future..they are like a drug addict taking cocaine and thinks they are in control. What a bunch of pigs. They are the marking themselves with the mark of the devil.

Soon we'll see if the cocaine (their poison) will take over their lives.
written by Tompios, November 25, 2008 14:10:14
Guys!! only our own fart belong to us. Parliamentary is for UMNO and BN. Gobind, you are right! You deserve to go outside for telling whole world how you bear the honest and fairness hearts of all Malaysians. UMNO gets the dirty sperms when the Chairman asks you to go out.
written by MsiaCTzen, November 25, 2008 14:10:56
Just another Pariah So many PARIAH in the ruling government. lost count So so disappointing. come on Pakatan Ra'ayat. not only people are suffering, MP too are suffering. This UMNO Pariah is killing the country.
written by budakindia, November 25, 2008 14:12:21
A crook defending another crook. Wan Junaidi was involved in the Mercantile Point scam! Ask him about it! He was the God damn chairman! Ask him how he embezzled the money! smilies/angry.gif A crook is always a crook!
written by Bandit, November 25, 2008 14:13:18
An idiot (goblok) speaker. This man is the village(parliament) idiot. May butthole be sealed forever.
written by Colomboloner, November 25, 2008 14:20:52
BN rules! They are every where, every square. Parliment, Police, EC, AO, ACA, Courts, ..... We are living in the Government of Barisan Nasional. Please somebody! Bring back glory of the Goverment of MALAYSIA.!
written by RBJ, November 25, 2008 14:29:57
Hey Deputy Speaker!
Why can't you do the right thing
Always behind this BN shit machinery...
written by kurangfaham, November 25, 2008 14:45:38
Aiya! what else this monkey speaker can do, of courselah this bastard will act in favour to the Bloddy Barisan Nasional members of parliment. This old man has got no balls to ask Nazi to ask for a apolgy. Our young lion is really a greatest Malaysia Hero. Keep it up great GOBIND. Don't worry about the speakers, they were no where better then you.
written by kurangfaham, November 25, 2008 14:49:16
Hey! bloddy deputy speaker go and learn how to lead a parliment sitting from Perak Assembly speaker. He is more advanced then you three orag hutans. How can you three dungus smell the furt by Razak Najib and Pak Lah.
written by Mr Smith, November 25, 2008 14:50:30
What can we expect when UMNO dogs guard the Parliament. Look at ease with which they suspend Opposition members. It's so blatant. The Speakers are not even pretending to be fair.
written by Kamikaze, November 25, 2008 14:50:41
One should be responsible for his/ her words. Since Nazri himself has admitted his mistake, shouldn't he apologise, especially when he is a minister? Shouldn't he lead by example?

The Deputy Speaker is not any better for saying this...

This is the "never admit mistakes" attitude practised by most BN leaders
written by Sudahlah tu, November 25, 2008 14:55:15
melayu umno sekali lagi memperbodohkan rakyat dan mempermainkan maruah melayu ..
inilah apa yang orang melayu dapat selepas menyokong binatang umno ...
si binatang mesti dan pasti mempunyai kes jenayah kollar putih dipegang oleh umno dan rela dianjingkan oleh umno dalam hal berkenan dengan negara.
written by carribeanking7, November 25, 2008 14:57:33
written by born2reign, November 25, 2008 14:05:00

Hey no problem! Just continue with all these circus.
Opposition just document all these incidents as history repeats itself.
In the next GE, just print out ALL the goof ups of BN and post it in MT, and oth websites. I'll be happy to print copies for all the old folks to read too. The more the merrier.

Born2reign -I couldnt agree with you more.
Most pensioners I talked to before GE12, were not happy with BN-but they were wary of another may 13th if opposition gained too much ground.

In Klang I literally converted no less than 40 of such uncles and aunties to vote for DAP canditate Charles Santhiago.

I met them at their homes , badminton hall, residents associations and coffee shops and printed online info (since many of them dont go online) They were shocked to say the least.

So now we have more fodder than ever my friend, in the last General election anyone who voted BN was likely to be labeled ignorant, after all this --in the next GE anyone who votes BN deserves to be labelled a retard.

written by Sudahlah tu, November 25, 2008 14:58:45
si nazri pula tetap menjadi binatang kerana tidak akan dikenakan sebarang tindakan undang-undang mahkamah kerana kekebalan bekerjasama dengan umno dan memperalatkan 'Ketuanan Melayu' sebagai agenda utama mengongkong orang melayu dan memperbodohkan mereka .... tanpa takut mahupun malu ..
bodohnya ... orang melayu dipermainkan oleh umno ..
Perlembagaan negara bagaikan kertas tandas dalam konteks umno ..
written by Counterpointer, November 25, 2008 15:19:01
Faces of two so called 'lawmakers' who, due to their thick heads and thick skin, just cannot and will not comprehend the meanings of two simple words: Fair and Shame.

written by cllim123, November 25, 2008 16:58:50
Calling an MP bloody bastard, calling another MP bocor every month, no need to apologise. Now why Nazri need to apologise? Only lying to Parliament what. Every BN MP lies to Parliament. And those Speaker and Deputies are all dogs. They don't understand why it is so important not to lie to Parliament. How does Wan Junaidi know Nazri had no intention to mislead the house? What a fcuking mockery! BN MPs all low class thieves and robbers.
written by malsia1206, November 25, 2008 17:36:10
Nazri tried to be a hero on his own when the whole Malaysia knew for 20 years those judges were dismisssed. That was open knowledge. Yet this Menteri was so blatant with his own version. And he had this arrogance not to apologise which is the typical trademark of all Barisan MPs. We are looking forward to the next GE.
written by clarity, November 25, 2008 18:11:37
It's just like K.Kangsar by election. The judge declared Rafidah Aziz the winner as her mistake was "unintentional' but if it was the opposition then it's on purpose.
Look at the motion to discuss the economy. Cannot pass, deemed not urgent. The speaker and deputy speaker should be called Mr. Constipation. Everything cannot pass.
written by Sabahfan, November 25, 2008 19:31:15
ANOTHER FAT example of Ketuanan Pendatang UMNO..

FREEE TO DO ANYTHING WHILE others gets punished for doing nothing..!!!
written by Evol, November 25, 2008 19:38:05
the more I love it the more I hate it!

Malaysia is govern by teams of Maroon!!!!
written by onnetline, November 25, 2008 21:00:56
Dr ONE loves and adores liars !!!! Barisan Najis loves him too.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 21:08:26
Gobind,next time throw the chair at them.Teach them a lesson.All these crooks are shamelessly siding with one another.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 21:10:04
I hate to see his face.I would rather die!
written by onnetline, November 25, 2008 21:13:08

You're the real bad joke here, Mr One !!!!
written by mahendra5, November 25, 2008 23:09:36
The Dewan Speaker Wan Junaidi has himself made a mockery of Parliament and not YB Gobind. As a YB he was carrying out his duties as a Parliamentarian and to the eyes of the Rakyat he did a fine job. As a Rakyat we find that the Dewan Speakers
are not giving a fair opportunity to the opposition. WE have a now a breed of classic, qualified and brave Oppostion Leaders you have been elected to represent the Rakyat and the Dewan Speaker should give them due respect and not use his powers at the whims and fancy to suspend them. Is the Dewan Speaker, by doing so stifling justice.
If this kind of treatment is given to our MP's then the Rakyat would show their wrath in the coming General Election to see that the Oppostion takes over the helm of the Government.
It appears that the BN Government is not mending their past weaknesses to win the hearts of the Rakyat in the coming General Election but working in the opposite direction thus creating mistrust on the Government paving a smooth way for the Opposition to take over the Government in the coming General Election.

written by Wakeupmsia, November 26, 2008 13:51:43
As expected. The mindset of these BN goons are all the same. Like Shit Abar said "We detain her for her own safety". Now, we have so-called DOKTOR who would probably have in mind - "We suspend Gobind for his own safety". These BN goons are destroying this country to the CORE.........Sigh!