Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Malaysia: The Plight of Penan

Malaysia: The Plight of Penan PDF Print
Tuesday, 25 November 2008 12:21

By Daniel Chandranayagam (Global Voices Online) - “It was around 4pm. Although the school is not far from the camp, the driver didn’t want to continue the journey. The boys and girls were separated into two rooms. I was with my younger sister and another girl.

When night fell, the men in the camp were drinking. In the middle of the night, several men came into our room. One of them dragged me from the room and took me to the bushes behind the camp,”

The Penan tribe, indigenous people of East Malaysia, have taken quite some press and blog space this year. Kopi Sejuk [cold coffee] writes:

On[e] a sunny Sunday morning last year, 16-year-old Cynthia (not her real name) boarded a four-wheel drive dispatched by logging company Samling to ferry students to SMK Long Lama from her longhouse in Long Kawi, middle Baram, Sarawak.

However, the driver did not send the passengers - two boys and three girls - to the school directly. He dropped by a logging camp and told the students that they had to spend the night there. 

Read more at: http://globalvoicesonline.org/2008/11/25/malaysia-the-plight-of-penan-folk/

written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 12:36:55
The Star on Oct 6 where incidences of rape cases and abuse of Penan schoolgirls by timber workers were confirmed.

If the truth could be established by the national task force, then parents of the abused girls should seek compensation from the timber companies as well as the state government.

There was a display of public anger by Taib Mahmud against newspapers when they highlighted the 10,000 Kedayan Muslims who were to be evicted from their century-old settlement in order to make way for an oil palm plantation.
written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 12:37:35
Time to take back your Land !!!
written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 12:38:43
written by Tompios, November 25, 2008 12:41:00
For sure the workers of the loggers in Sabah are Indonesians and Philippines. These people cannot do much for raping our hilly tribes in Sabah because the hilly tribes know how to make homemade gun (Bakakuk). Unfortunately, these workers including their taukey married the hilly tribes women, but then leave their wives just after the 'Kayu Balak' finish.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 12:41:35
Where is Suhakam?Are they dead or still alive ?If you are still functioning,then take those who are responsible to court.
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 12:50:51
The Swiss activist, Bruno Manser, who have been living with the Penans for years in the Kelabit Highlands,Bario, suddenly dissapeared into thin air.The Swiss Government have order a full investigation into the disappearance of Bruno but the Malaysian and the Sarawak Gov't have been dragging their feet and refused to co-operate with the Swiss Gov't.Rumours have been swerling in the longhouse that the gov't have play a role in Bruno disappearance with the help of logging companies.
written by batsman, November 25, 2008 12:52:16
Loggers are gangsters. Their bosses are gangster chiefs. The politicians and police who protect them are the biggest gangsters around. Woe to those who live under their regime - they have hitech C4 explosives easily available and cannot control their sexual urges.
written by batsman, November 25, 2008 12:54:21
Child abusers are like drug addicts. They cannot stop and will not stop. Woe to those who live under their government.
written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 13:00:04
AhmadNiel, don't forget the 2 battalions of UTK that went in to look for Bruno Manser the Day after he set off to Limbang from Bario. Nobody talks about that...
written by Kent Tory, November 25, 2008 13:05:18
The Sarawak Gov't just like the Federal Gov't will do all it can to keep the Natives Of Sarawak in a state of low education and minimal exposure to the outside world. This is the only way those in power can plunder the natural wealth of Sarawak for thier personal gain.

One has to visit the long houses in Baram and listen to their stories to know the truth.

Sarawak is the only state that produces LNG in Malaysia.
LNG is the forth largest income for Malaysia.
All the wealth of the forest in addition.
Why is the native Sarawakians in such a state of dispair?

written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 13:36:33
Dear Kent, not just the Baram/ upper Baram, try the Rejang, or any of its tributaries too
written by Rainbowseahorse, November 25, 2008 13:41:34
It raise my heckles to read bloggers posting stupid remarks like: “Take back your land”, “Make police reports”, “Seek compensation”, and other equally simplistic & idiotic remarks like that.

If it’s that simple and straightforward, our Penan, and other natives, would not have to suffer so. One must remember that we are dealing with very wealthy, influential, and powerful people who have clout over authorities and the law. When even sophisticated Malayans cannot even defend HIDRAF supporters, Bloggers, Opposition Parliamentarians, and Newspaper Reporters from being arrested and detained, what can simple natives do in the face of such adversaries?

The gross abuses of poor simple natives in Sarawak is nothing new, and only now with the advent of the internet do some Malaysians begin to know of such atrocities being committed after being highlighted by the media. There are many more such crimes being committed which go unreported, and it take a very dedicated, self-sacrificing, and extremely brave person to take up the challenge to champion for the rights and survival of these forsaken people. Bruno Manser was such a person, but he has since disappeared in very mysterious circumstances and no one else has come to fill the void. These Natives have no understanding of Politics. They are struggling just to get by on a daily basis, and fighting a losing battle against the people who are ever encroaching on their forest and their source for life.

Which brings up my question of whether DSAI wants Sarawak bad enough to walk that extra mile to win over the hearts and minds of the natives of Sarawak? He has to show them, and to proof to them that he cares, and he will have friends for life. Political promises and speeches? They have heard them all and they know it’s nothing more than cheap empty talk.

As I have wrote somewhere, these natives might be simple people, but they are by no mean stupid!
written by ahmadneil, November 25, 2008 13:49:10
written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 13:00:04
AhmadNiel, don't forget the 2 battalions of UTK that went in to look for Bruno Manser the Day after he set off to Limbang from Bario. Nobody talks about that...

Dear Mick,
Yes,they sent this soldiers long after Bruno Mansor have disappeared. This was done after the Swiss gov't threatened to bring this matter to UN.In fact the soldiers went for picnic only.All this was done for publicity and to please the Swiss gov't.
What we hear outside is different from what we hear from the Penans and those who work in the logging camps.Go to Bario and stay at the first lodge from Bario Airport.Ask the inhabitants there if it was true that there was trackers who were not locals,been sent as hitman to track Bruno down.They knows his route and where he stay but these hitman won't do it within the Penan territories.
The locals are very suspicious of outsider and anyone who track in and out of the jungle are seldom not been seen by the Penans.So when Bruno disappeared,they said ,days before there was 'foreigners' entering the jungle.The sarawak gov't imposed a total ban on those foreigners who want to enter the jungle.A permit is a must if you wants to.So basically the state gov't have succeeded in diminishing the chance of outsiders finding out how Bruno disappeared.
Countless of theories have surfaced but none led to any concrete evidences that Bruno Manser was 'killed'.
written by michael chick, November 25, 2008 14:08:08
Hey friend, I stayed there for 2 weeks. The permit you can get from the Sarawak Forestry Office near the Market in Miri. Yes, I did get a permit.

The first wave of UTK's went in a day or two after Bruno arrived. The second UTK wave went in for the "showtime" as you mentioned.
written by rizzku, November 25, 2008 14:49:41
I think someone has to go and teach the Penan how to fight back (literally). I suggest teach them how to build bomb, guns, the art of kamikaze and sabotage.

Well, actually what I meant was, a group of people from a reputed international organization need to go and live among them, build school and hospital. Teach them to produce cash crops. Provide assistance in education until there are lawyers, doctors and engineers among them. Let this organization funded and answerable only to UN. Stay with them for the next 50 years. Education is still the best solution.

Or may be the former option is better?
written by Democrats, November 25, 2008 15:48:36
Hey AMeno,

These are the real "prince of the earth" - BUMI putera.

And they are the ones getting raped, not you everytime you hear the word removing of NEP.

written by advocatusdiaboli, November 25, 2008 16:21:52
Hang those guilty loggers high in the forests. Is SAMLING running prostitution joints too? SAMLING remember this, if the peaceful Penans decide to engage you fellas in the jungle none of you will survive. Even the UTK is no match lah (wanna try and find out the hard way?). You leave their children alone. Michael Chick alert all ur Mat Salleh brothers about the going ons here.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 25, 2008 16:27:16
Push the peaceful Penans hard enough and one Penan will stand up and unite everybody against you Samling. Then all the other tribes in the Sarawak interior will also rise up to put a stop at all your nonsense. Can you handle that Samling? Don't think the UTK will be able to put a stop to it. Even they can't survive lah. Moreover do you think the other citizens will keep quiet seeing the plight of the Penans? Think again.
written by batsman, November 25, 2008 17:36:41
Doesn't the CM's wife have anything to say about this? After all as a wife and mother she should be heartsick about what's happening - hailing from a country that is supposed to be more civilised than Malaysia and all.
written by Shimshon, November 25, 2008 18:02:37
Michael Chick,
How come you didn't bother to comment/retaliate against Mansor Puteh's "Understanding the Thinking, Mentality and Philosophy of the Chinese"( Sat, 22 No 200smilies/cool.gif ??...
written by Sudahlah tu, November 25, 2008 18:16:06
melayu umno telah merosakkan maruah Ketuanan Melayu dengan bersubahat dengan tauke - tauke jenayah kerana tamak .....
ini bukan pasal anak siapa yang menjadi mangsa kali ini ... ini adalah tentang maruah Melayu yang diperkosakan oleh umno dan menjadi Ketuanan Melayu sebagai perisai mereka dan oragn Melayu sebagai benteng perkauman di Malaysia.
Benarkah orang Melayu mengizinkan umno melakukan segalan kezaliman serta kejahatan atas maruah Melayu sendiri ?
written by arazak, November 26, 2008 00:51:04
The logging companies are UMNO cronies, hence they are responsible for the raping of the Penan girls. Remember, how the Penans saved some staff of a Petronas' contractor(which are also UMNO cronies) when they are lost in the jungles.

Looks like the UMNO cronies paid the kindness of the Penans by raping their saviour's children!